Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NEW Éireman X - Off road Triathlon race

• 22-01-2009 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

This is the nugget I was mooting. Its been brought to my attention that we are up on the TI website already (took me by surprise) so heres a taste of whats to come.....
    There are a few things to be teased out yet but that will move on quickly i expect. The venue is - Courtown Harbour, Co Wexford.

In all likleyhood there will be ppl interested in this and have questions. Could i ask you pls to be patient. It will be going up on the Eireman website www.eireman.org when the last pieces are in place.

Welcome to Éireman X – The Off Road Triathlon. Xx/xx/09
    For those who are looking for an extra Stimulus or a break from Triathlon, Mountain biking, Cyclo-cross or Adventure Racingthis will be right up you street. I quickly caution that this is neither a classic Mountain bike course nor a straight forward Triathlon. Éireman X is a test of nerve and endurance that will bring out the strengths and weakness of Triathletes, Mountain Bikers, Cyclo-cross riders and Adventure seekers alike. We still have the familiar format of swim, cycle and run. But the ‘Devil is in the detail’ of how this course is going to test your mind, body and spirit.
    The world famous ‘Ironman distance’ triathlon was born out of a debate – who is the fitter swimmers or runners. We propose to extend this debate to whom will be the faster - Mountain Bikers, Triathletes, Cyclo-cross or Adventure racers over an Off Road Triathlon course. Each discipline have their own advantages. Let’s race them and see.....
    3 x points to note:
    Bragging rights may be delayed as this pilot race may turn into a series of 3.
    Don’t bring your best gear – you will be getting dirty and wet (not just the swim). Old runners recommended.
    People who have entered the Éireman –Long or Middle distance triathlon will receive a discount off that main race if they enter Éireman X.
    Leave it at that for now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭RICHIE-RICH

Fair play to you Eoin
    You are certainly doing good things for the sport.
    Wish you all the best in this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭OuterBombie

Damn you :mad:

This is as tempting as the box of mini "Heros" that are hidden since christmas in my house.

Indeed, great for the sport, the more quality races the better.

Ray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Sounds good!

I'll be checking the website over the next while to find out if it would be modelled on a sprint/olympic/half-iron/iron distance. Then again it might not follow any of the typical distances. Will be interesting to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭trinewbie

Any more info on this yet -

Was planning on doing Xterra UK but this may work instead....great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Do we know if it's on the 10th of May (the date on the Triathlon Ireland calendar) and if it's sprint distance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭eoin ryan

Hi All,

Sorry all for delay. I wasn't ready for this to go public when it went public.

Hopen to have something up by this weekend.

Glad to see there is interest.....

E

Hi All,

Thanks for your patience. The website is now live for you to have a gander. www.eireman.org

Entries will open on Monday at 9am. First 100 get a snazzier t-shirt.

You will need a mountain bike. And when you leave transition with your bike you have to return with a bike (preferably your own).... :D
    This is gonna be different

Cheers

Eoin

Cool stuff -

Re bike route: how technical is it? i.e would you be faster around it on a cross bike than an XC MTB?

Good question.
    And i don't think there is an answer to it. Ideally you'd need all three in one....
    Road. Mtn. Cross

Coillte have been cutting trees there recently so I'm going down on Fri to see what the lie of the land is like.

I'll let you know even tho i still reckon its the same answer...
    U won't go wrong with a Mtn bike

In terms of bike - defo a mtn bike.

Some of my nice quick trails have completly vanished under a weeks heavy machinery as Coillte felled a good few of the trees. The place looks like a scene form an apocalyptic movie..... Excellent! Even better

The race opened today. I saw some of the times ppl put down for the bike. Optimistic to say the least!! :o

I will have photos up on the website soon. All nice ones - naturally!

This is different and it will test yor wits, fitness and nerve.
    www.eireman.org for more info

Eoin

Hi All,

Less than a week to go before the Eireman X off - road triathlon the first of its kind in Ireland....!!
    (feel free to correct me if I'm wrong about that statement. I believe I'm right)

Anywhoo - down to business...

All the details are on the website at http://eireman-x.eireman.org/entry start times etc.

There are 130 entries and the split between triathletes and non (shall we say non registered with Triathlon Ireland people) is 60% - 40%. So the mtn bikers, cyclo cross and adventure racers (plus people who should know better - but don't) are in the mix. This is going to make for a most interesting race. Who gets bragging rites......?! Time will tell

Couple of things to get your head around.

The single river crossing with your bike can get up to 3-4ft deep. It is deceptive so don't Kamikaze into it!! It looks shallow. You've been warned....

On the bike course there is a part that is reasonably technical for about 400metres. For many it will be a stroll BUT there are two spots that need to be noted. Both parts are like a step - the ground drops by a foot and a half (due to roots of trees) We will have marshals here with red flags.

There are sections on the bike course where you will have to carry your bike for a few metres - marshals will tell you where to dismount and remount. Some parts you will have to carry over a tree (too big to move) and one place over a mound of gravel (we didn't put it there and we can't get it removed. So over ye go...)

Despite saying i wouldn't - i did clear the paths as much as possible....

Remember the bike is 2 laps. Call your number when requested along the course - so take note of it in your head.
    You will know your number that morning when you see it at registration (not before).

As mentioned bring old gear for this one. Your gonna get get wet and muddy (the wetter the day, the more....).
    On that note and this is very important: I would ask that everyone bring a bin liner (black plastic bag) to put your gear into afterwards and this is before you enter the Coral Park Leisure centre for a shower. Strip off before you enter - they have allowed us in on this condition and if we don't stick to it - the next Eireman X will have no showers!
    We need to leave the place like we found it - clean.
    Also note: you are in for a shower ONLY. No pool time included - please respect this.

Prize giving is in the Courtown Hotel. When you exit the car park it is on your right 10metres from the exit. Walking distance.

Ok - look forward to seeing you down there. Entries close on Friday 8th May.

If we have any changes to the route we will tell you at the race briefing. Location for race briefing will be signposted (it will be at the pedestrian bridge between registration and transition. Pls note it is not in transition)

Best bike to bring question....?? the jury is still out on it. I'm suggesting mtn bike... but its not a defo. Both have merit

We are going to have feedback sheets at the end of the race - appreciate if you could fill them in.

Eoin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭snack_ie

Hate to steal your thunder but the McCabe brothers organised a low key event last July in Carlingford which was awesome. The mountain biking was really technically, just like the XC-NPS (trails were used in the XC-NPS as far as I know) and the run was straight up and down a mountain, so needless to say it was a tough challenge.

Hopefully you'll be extending the series, as would interested in the future, just have an exam this Saturday unfortunately.

Best of luck though,
    Good to see something different on the calender,
    and lucking forward to August.

D'oh! Wasn't aware. Sorry
    One serving of Humble Pie coming up.... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Enduro

snack_ie wrote: »
    Hate to steal your thunder but the McCabe brothers organised a low key event last July in Carlingford which was awesome. The mountain biking was really technically, just like the XC-NPS (trails were used in the XC-NPS as far as I know) and the run was straight up and down a mountain, so needless to say it was a tough challenge.

Hopefully you'll be extending the series, as would interested in the future, just have an exam this Saturday unfortunately.

Best of luck though,
    Good to see something different on the calender,
    and lucking forward to August.

Is that the CLEC you're referring to? The CLEC is an adventure race rather than a Triathalon.

I think there was an X-Terra held in Bray about 4 or 5 years ago though.

Eoin, Don't worry about whethere its the first or not, just make it the best :)

nope, same venue though.

It was on the Saturday before the CLEC. That's how we ended up doing the CLEC, as we found out about it after the race. I dont think its on this year as far as I know as its not listed on the TI calendar. There were only about 40 entered though.

Nice work with the running ENDURO (insane:eek:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭bwardrop

I'm signed up to do this on Sun... First triathlon this year and only my second ever... should be interesting!

Results for Eireman X are up on the website - www.eireman.org

We may also have some camera footage of the bike section of the race shortly - I'll keep you posted....

Well done to all who took part and thanks to all the Helpers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭griffin100

Did this yesterday and had a great day.

Swim was really nice - not too cold or crowded so really enjoyed it. Just a small complaint - there were no marker buoys between the start and finishing buoy so it was difficult at times to see the finish marker, one or two intermediate distance buoys would help with sighting (the fact I'm blind without my glasses doesn't help).

This was my first ever off road riding of any sort and it was a rude awakening. I had assumed that we would be riding on forest tracks, i.e. nice wide pathways. Not so for most of the race. Some of the tracks were less than a metre wide with overhanging branches, tree roots and deep ruts (I cycled full tilt into an overhanging bracj at one stage almost taking my head off in the process). It was great fun altogether but the first lap was a bit of a blur of jump off bike, bash shins off pedals, run up hill, bash shin of pedals, jump back on bike, get stuck in rut..... I learned the hard way that there's no such thing as free wheeling in off road riding - you stop pedalling you come to a standstill very quickly. The second lap was better as I had gotten a bit better at that stage but my shins are destroyed today.

The bike course was well marshalled. I did have some concern that morning when it appeared that most of the marshals were boy scouts (and whatever the girl equivalent is), but they did a good job. I did hear from my wife though who was a spectator that when the leaders were coming to the end of the first lap there was a lot of confusion about the route with riders heading up the wrong paths. This was well sorted by the time I trundled to the end of my first lap.

Run was great fun. Again a mix of nice wide forest trails and quagmired narrow pathways where it was difficult to pass other runners. The main river crossing was a nice touch and it was difficult enough trying to get up a mud bank after other runners had turned it into a slippery mud slope - much digging of fingers into soft mud to get a grip for pulling yourself up the bank - a rope would have helped.

This was the first tri my kids had come to watch and it was perfect – visible beach start and finish points for this swim and lots opportunity for them to see me on the bike course as a chunk of each lap was back on the road near transition.

Well done Eoin and thanks to all the marshals on the day (there’s nothing quite like the sacarism that a 15 year old girl can direct at an aulfella like me struggling to get a bike up a hill to get you moving quicker).

griffin100 wrote: »

The bike course was well marshalled. I did have some concern that morning when it appeared that most of the marshals were boy scouts (and whatever the girl equivalent is), but they did a good job. I did hear from my wife though who was a spectator that when the leaders were coming to the end of the first lap there was a lot of confusion about the route with riders heading up the wrong paths. This was well sorted by the time I trundled to the end of my first lap.

I was racing yesterday aswell....have to disagree with you on the marshaling unfortunately, I was in the lead bunch as we came into the end of the first lap, a few of lads were directed onto the return leg of the bike route, rather than continue straight up the road. this meant that we faced oncoming traffic on tight single tack at going at full pelt : Pretty dangerous TBH and something that would really need to be looked at for next year...I generally dont criticise any races,and I dont really mind losing two minutes due to getting sent wrong by a marshall (these things happen- Not her fault at all,she was pretty young, maybe she wasnt briefed fully..dunno anyway..), but when somebody could end up mangled in a head on collision its kinda worrying.

Have to say overall the race race was excellent, registration was well planned and stress free, the safety crew for the swim was top notch, and the run was probably the most enjoyable i have ever done.
    the river crossings were a bit mad , could have done with a rope to get out of more than one! the warm showers afterwards were great,

Cheers to all Marshalls and Organisers, great event -

will be back again for more if its run next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭griffin100

I was racing yesterday aswell....have to disagree with you on the marshaling unfortunately, I was in the lead bunch as we came into the end of the first lap, a few of lads were directed onto the return leg of the bike route, rather than continue straight up the road. this meant that we faced oncoming traffic on tight single tack at going at full pelt : Pretty dangerous TBH and something that would really need to be looked at for next year...I generally dont criticise any races,and I dont really mind losing two minutes due to getting sent wrong by a marshall (these things happen- Not her fault at all,she was pretty young, maybe she wasnt briefed fully..dunno anyway..), but when somebody could end up mangled in a head on collision its kinda worrying.

Exactly as the wife described it to me. She said she ran to find a marshall when all of this confusion was going on and the one she found hadn't a clue what to do or what the route was supposed to be. Like I said, by the time I came to this point it had been sorted.

Is it just me or are the results up on the website?
    Where abouts are they?
    Maybe I am blind!

Where abouts are they?
    Maybe I am blind!

yes you are blind

http://eireman-x.eireman.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

Where abouts are they?
    Maybe I am blind!

I will make it easier for you, here is a direct link to the spreadsheet

http://eireman-x.eireman.org/sites/eireman-x.eireman.org/files/Eireman-X_Results2009.xls

Exactly as the wife described it to me. She said she ran to find a marshall when all of this confusion was going on and the one she found hadn't a clue what to do or what the route was supposed to be. Like I said, by the time I came to this point it had been sorted.

Fair play they seem to have got the issue sorted quickly:fair play to your wife also - good to see that sort of support...., 2nd lap everything was fine....I decided to go with the hardtail over the cross bike in the end and Im really glad i did, some sections were nice and rooty/ off camber.....It was a nice surprise as I was expecting there tO be quite a bit of fireroad stuff....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭boomdocker

really enjoyed this event - luckily i wasn't far enough up the field to be mis-directed! In fairness though from what I hear it was just 1 marshall at fault..

as a mtb'er I was very pleasantly surprised at the bike section - passed loads of people on the singletrack - fair play to those people who are not used to off road - that would have been real energy sapping stuff.

agree with poster above re swim - even with my recently laser acquired 20-20 vision it was difficult to see a buoy 750m away!

and the run - well i cant remember sliding ar$e first into a river like that since I was about 10!

all in all a great day out. and for me and my clubmates it was just as griffin describes - a great opportunity for the wives and kids to come and support.

Thanks All for the feedback....

To quote the website: - "Éireman X is a test of nerve and endurance that will bring out the strengths and weakness of triathletes, mountain bikers, cyclo-cross riders and adventure seekers alike".

I think we delivered on this.....?! Some were surprised how hard it was and some were surprised that it was more technical than they thought. Mind you in saying that only one fifth of the course has you weaving through the trees - of which 200m is what you might term technical. The rest is straight line cycling.

Naturally a non mountain biker will find it hard to find the sweet gears to get around on the techical part (i did) so a bit of banging of shins and profanity is assured. Also nobody has a chance to reki (due to the special permission we got to use it) the course so there will be an element of 'Geronimo....!'

In terms of the marshal mistake. I take full responsibility for this. I believe I apologised to all the affected people. I am clear on what happened. It won't happen again. There are other tweaks that will be made to improve safety on the course.

I think i might be correct in saying there is an appetite for another one in 2009...?
    Already people have been asking who didn't make it. We'll take stock and see what the vibe is

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Congrats Eoin. SOunds like it was great. What stage of the year would you be thinking of aother? I'd be tempted but it would depend on timing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 folgi

defo have this event again next year- i live in gorey, and run these roads all the time-i mangled my hand the week before, playing tag rugby but went out to watch the event- it took me all in my power not to grab my bike and join in as i watched! would loved to have been in the thick of it!
    it broke my heart not being able to take part in an event on home turf- great to have local events like that though- august should be good!
    well done eoin!

Hi All,

Just a quick heads up.... We are looking at having another Éireman X in late Sept early October this year. Plan is to have it end of season so more can get involved. Call it the end of season Derby...

Also thanks for all the feedback - we will be making some changes ;)

Cheers

Eoin

Hi Eoin -

Any more photos from the race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭bwardrop

Yeah - I remember a photographer on the course and would love to see some more shots. Any idea where / if they exist?!!

Hi All,

Its work in progress.... I'll let you know as soon as i have word back.

E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Looking forward to the Autumn event Eoin. You never know, I might even have a mountain bike by then if my employer ever get's the cycle to work scheme up and running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 dsheridan

The bike course was well marshalled. I did have some concern that morning when it appeared that most of the marshals were boy scouts (and whatever the girl equivalent is), but they did a good job.

There are NO boy scouts in Ireland. Scout are refered to as boy scouts in mainly america and a few other countries but not in Ireland anymore. (There are still girl guides though). At present there are more female member in Gorey scout troop than male members.