Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boasts, Brags and General Stuff

• 21-01-2009 10:41pm
    Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭

OK, after a suggestion in another thread and chatting to other mods, we'll give this a go.

The general purpose of this thread is to post big wins, big losses, near misses, and gnerally just put anytihng that doesn't deserve it's own thread. A lot of forums have their own off topic type threads and if you feel like sharing any off topic stuff with th eforum posters, this is the place for it.

General rules apply in here, but mostly it's common sense. If this isn't working or not popular then we can just let it die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I'll go first so.

I'm on McIlroy at 150/1 for the British Open. Had 50e/w with Hills a few months ago when he started his run of form and his price has been plummeting since. Already looking forward to Turnberry this year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Kdub

I had Vadasco €10 e/w paying 125-1 he just lost to nadal in 5 sets oh so close!!:( it was a free bet promo on pp!! so close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Backed United at 3/1 a few weeks ago for the Premiership:D

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

pwhite587 wrote: »
    I'll go first so.

I'm on McIlroy at 150/1 for the British Open. Had 50e/w with Hills a few months ago when he started his run of form and his price has been plummeting since. Already looking forward to Turnberry this year!

Wow, that was a prety good shout.

My longest shot bet to come in was a 387.5/1 4 team to win their leagues bet in 1994/95.

Blackburn
    Middlesborough
    Birmaingham
    Rangers

Only had £2 on it, but nearly £800 for a student at the time was a lot of drinking money.

5starpool wrote: »
    Wow, that was a prety good shout.

I wish i could claim full credit for the bet but it was a tip from a mate who actually knows about golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Fishyfreak

I had Sol Campbell 1st scorer in the Arsenal v Barcelona Champions League Final a few years ago, just a €5- bet but it was 50/1!!!

When Henry dropped the cross on his ball-o-lead I nearly killed my dog which was lying on my lap at the time. Happy Days.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭aya14

Villa draw 11/5
    Hamburg win 5/6
    United win 1/4
    S.Braga win 6/4 all up
    come on fiorentina 8/13 tommorrow
    €10 accum 1 time....

aya14 wrote: »
    Villa draw 11/5
    Hamburg win 5/6
    United win 1/4
    S.Braga win 6/4 all up
    €10 accum 1 time....

Ah, proof that this sticky is worthwhile.........

I'll be cheering on Fiorentina for you.

Be a nice 300 or so quid return there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Lol Dom,
    Starting another BBV, wp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

aya14 wrote: »
    Villa draw 11/5
    Hamburg win 5/6
    United win 1/4
    S.Braga win 6/4 all up
    €10 accum 1 time....

Lay Fiorentina on betfair to guarantee urself a profit??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,498 ✭✭✭✭cson

Lay Fiorentina on betfair to guarantee urself a profit??

Ah thats how your accountant would bet premier, no fun in that :p

Mellor wrote: »
    Lol Dom,
    Starting another BBV, wp

As some of the Chinese Omaha players in the Fitz say, "try, try, try".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

cson wrote: »

And thats why my accountant has infinitely more money than me aswell ;)

cson wrote: »
    Don't cancel it out, just cover the intial stake

boooo:mad:
    Fiorentina 1 down 20 mins to go
    I didn't lay it off i'm an all or nothing kinda guy.

Also Dom this is a great idea can see it ending up like the BBV thread which has a lot V not so much of the BB anymore:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭fonda

Had a 10 match accum on the premiership a few years back. First 9 games came in and then on super sunday it was Chelsea against Birmingham I think.

Had a home win down for Chelsea and they missed a penalty with a couple of minutes left and the game finished 1-1

That peno cost me about €4500 :mad:

You really should of stuck a monkey on lay for chelsea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,129 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Had a nice double come in yesterday - CSKA & Tim Clarke to beat Tiger..score

nice what price Clark?
    had 2 nice trebles myself
    CSKA(4/6),Udinese(4/9) and Man city(4/9)
    S.Cink(evs),R.McIlroy(10/11) and L.Donald(evs)

Boast: sent my suit to dry cleaners for cleaning, the Latvian lady found a betting slip in the pocket and kept it for me.

good: the bet was a cska/udinese double i did for uefa cup last week so it was a winner

bad: the hot Latvian(i've chanced at least 3 times now) dis-approves of gambling:rolleyes:

You obviously didn't ein enough on it to impress the latvian. Next time make a bogus slip that has won, and make sure to write something like 1000 @ 33/1 and ham it up when she gives it back to you that you have won a shítload of dosh and ask her to dinner to celebrate.

That'll get her :)

Warning, might not work if you are penniless and can't carry it off.

5starpool wrote: »
    You obviously didn't ein enough on it to impress the latvian. Next time make a bogus slip that has won, and make sure to write something like 1000 @ 33/1 and ham it up when she gives it back to you that you have won a shítload of dosh and ask her to dinner to celebrate.

That'll get her :)

Warning, might not work if you are penniless and can't carry it off.
    sounds like a plan i'll fake a slip,
    only thing now is where am I gonna get a fiver to dry clean my suit again:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Got 3 tips today for cheltenham, first 3 races
    1.30 Go Native, got him at 10/1, €10 e/w
    2.05 Forpadydeplasterer, got him at 9/1, €10 e/w
    2.40 Millenium Royal, got him at 11/1, €10 e/w
    Did a €10 treble as well

First two win, I make €300! But if Millenium royal won I would have got €13200!!!! :eek::mad::eek:

Ah well, suppose I will just have to settle for what I got:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

such a sick call for the tricast

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Knobs

Bad day at cheltenham yesterday so last nyt said id do few soccer bets:

B Munich -1 2/1
    Chelsea 2/1 50 double

B Munich -1 2/1
    Villareal 7/4
    Chelsea 2/1
    Liverpool -1 7/2 50 accum

:pac: CHELSEA BASTARDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I had O'Drioscall @ 12/1 to score the first try yesterday. Happy with that one :)

Fancied Fulham yesterday too ... but not enough to put my money on it!

I hope you don't fancy Fulham in their next league game :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I did a 20c bet on 5 numbers in the irish lotto about 6 months ago at
    100000\1 on paddypower and got 4 of them. one number off a 20 grand score

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 lilywhites1982

I know not many would fancy Dundalk tonight against Cork City but I think that they are a good tip for an upset. I just threw a small bet on Declan O'Brien to score anytime during the 90 minutes and Dundalk to win @ 60/1 with Paddy Power. I couldn't believe the price! I know Dundalk played pretty poor against Shamrock Rovers but when they're backs are against the wall they will come out fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

villa west ham match (crackin game btw) with about 15mins to go i legged it onto the computer to have a glance at spoilsports live prices, saw draw was 13/2 in the villa game with villa 1-0 thought the next goal could go either way and west ham were pressing,was a good price stuck a fiver on it and booya tristan ya beaut :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭JCos

My GAA team are doing €20 bets every week from now until the end of the season to raise funds for a holiday. Different player makes the bets every week. One of the lads stuck a tenner on 4-4 in the Liverpool Arsenal game on Tuesday. €5000 in our fund. Dubai here we come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,607 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

7 selections today, 50c Trebles, 4folds, 5folds, 6folds, €1 7fold.
    €50 stake in total.

Managed to get Ipswich, 9/2, Walsall 9/1 and Accrington 11/4 for one €105 treble.
    But a load of shorter priced ones let me down for serious cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭scheister

had a 5 e/w double in clomel. american prince at 11/2 and sadlers native 5/1 returns were around €225 which would have made it my biggest win ever/ 1st came in a winner 2nd lost by 3/4 lenght was gutted got back €26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Two weekends in a row have been done on Sunday in golf. Backed at start of both tournaments Tim Clark at 33/1 and Nick Dougherty at 20/1. Both tied for lead after first round, tailed off a bit on Friday (a fair bit in Dougherty's case) and tied for lead going into final round. Clark bogeys the 18th on Sunday before losing on play-off and did not even back him each way for some reason. Dougherty has a disastrous 79 today to finish in tie for 37th.

Watch out next week for my selection. Could be an excellent oportunity for a back and lay job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Walsh

It's not really my brag but me aulfella won 690 quid on Richard Dunne last night the fecking fecker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Irishbugger

Have a few quid on Mike Weir @ 80's at the minute, also Garcia and Villegas, though obviously more excited about Weir! All each way except Villegas as I forgot to click the button online, rooops, still he looks buggered anyway.

Best bet ever placed? United for the treble in 99 @ 125/1, placed the day before the Liverpool cup match. Good times.

Hi by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭glanman

In this years sigerson cup paddypower never changed the odds on the winners after the semis. Both CIT and DIT were 5/2 to win it outright and both qualified for the final. It said on the bottom that the betting was closing the next day at 12pm so I lumped €1000 on each and they took the bets! I couldnt believe it. Checked the account an hour later and the bet was still there so I was winning €1500 either way. Next day, match was on they emailed and cancelled my bets:( took them on about it but the ruled prior knowledge... gutted

backed cork at 9/4 to win the munster before the first semi, come on the rebels:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,941 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Fulham v Liverpool
    4th of Apr 2009 5:30 pm
    First Goalscorer
    Y Benayoun @ 16/1
    20 euro

and with that bet I did this one

Fulham v Liverpool
    4th of Apr 2009 5:30 pm
    Correct Score
    Liverpool 1 - 0 @ 9/2 ----10 euro

the minute I saw benni coming on I knew what i had to do

400 euro

also im proud of these bets

Liverpool v Man City
    22nd of Feb 2009 3:00 pm
    First Goalscorer
    C Bellamy @ 10/1
    10 euro

Ecuador v Argentina
    10th of Jun 2009 10:00 pm
    Win-Draw-Win
    Ecuador @ 16/5
    15 euro

that bet ^^ im very proud of because Argentina destroyed Ecuador in the first half but couldnt get that goal and i knew with the high altitude and Rookie manager, Ecuador could steal it and wouldnt you know Ecuador came out and trashed Argentina in the 2nd half,2-0 or somthing