Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

yano whats really funny

• 19-01-2009 8:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭

was at a quite upper class golf club recently and as i was waiting behind a massive que of golfers to tee off i noticed every single one of them had top of the range golf sets. from callaway to cobra titlest , ping, every single one had (15+ golfers) a very expensive trolley load of clubs. As i watched them approach the tee and take there shot not one hit a decent shot. i laughed to myself because these people thought they were the real macoy. im not boasting but my irons cost me 70 quid for the set howson and i smashed there shots!! i find it funny that people go and spent 2000+ euro on a top of the range set , and they cant hit 50 yards! it goes to show buying all these fancy sets dont make a huge diff!! within reason obvioulsy! i just think its crazy people spending all the money and they havnt even got the basics learnt! mini rant over :p:p:p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla

Bit harsh really. Golf has a lot to do with the mind. People feel if they have the right gear great build quality they will perform better. Its only a game....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭1stuey1

cabla wrote: »
    Bit harsh really. Golf has a lot to do with the mind. People feel if they have the right gear great build quality they will perform better. Its only a game....

yeah i just cant see why these people buy the 'best gear' out there just doenst make sense is it too show off? because i know some good golfers who dont need the gear to be good, i know ther is a point when you will need to move onto to some serious kit but when your not very good...i think its a bit of a waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

This is very very very true.

How many people here prefer to play a Pro V1? I would love to do a test were you take a standard run of the mill (top flite or pinnacle etc) golf ball with no markings and a Pro V1 with no markings and see how many people could actually tell the difference. I'm 95% certain I couldn't but I still feel better hitting a Pro V1 than hitting a pinnacle. Its all in the head!

Regards
    Ian

How many people here prefer to play a Pro V1? I would love to do a test were you take a standard run of the mill (top flite or pinnacle etc) golf ball with no markings and a Pro V1 with no markings and see how many people could actually tell the difference. I'm 95% certain I couldn't but I still feel better hitting a Pro V1 than hitting a pinnacle. Its all in the head!

Regards
    Ian

and would you spend 2 grand? golf balls are one thing but to spend crazy money on the best clubs is another!! i felt like i was advancing so i upgraded slightly not going out knowing im brutal and spending a mint to have brands and look the part but not play..silly in my opinon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

1stuey1 wrote: »
    was at a quite upper class golf club recently and as i was waiting behind a massive que of golfers to tee off i noticed every single one of them had top of the range golf sets. from callaway to cobra titlest , ping, every single one had (15+ golfers) a very expensive trolley load of clubs. As i watched them approach the tee and take there shot not one hit a decent shot. i laughed to myself because these people thought they were the real macoy. im not boasting but my irons cost me 70 quid for the set howson and i smashed there shots!! i find it funny that people go and spent 2000+ euro on a top of the range set , and they cant hit 50 yards! it goes to show buying all these fancy sets dont make a huge diff!! within reason obvioulsy! i just think its crazy people spending all the money and they havnt even got the basics learnt! mini rant over :p:p:p:p:p

You could get a few people's backs up with a topic like this.

What I will say is that it's a little bit unfair to criticise high handicap golfers for buying good clubs, given that they are in a group of (as you say) "upper class" folk where top notch clubs are the norm. It's human nature to conform.

It's no different to guys who like to buy Honda Civics, Imprezas or even Toyota Starlets etc and spend thousands doing them up. You or I might say: "you could have spent that money on upgrading to a better/newer car", but they'd rather have an older, cheaper model and use further money to "soup it up". It's what they and their mates want to do.

You could get a few people's backs up with a topic like this.

What I will say is that it's a little bit unfair to criticise high handicap golfers for buying good clubs, given that they are in a group of (as you say) "upper class" folk where top notch clubs are the norm. It's human nature to conform.

It's no different to guys who like to buy Honda Civics, Imprezas or even Toyota Starlets etc and spend thousands doing them up. You or I might say: "you could have spent that money on upgrading to a better/newer car", but they'd rather have an older, cheaper model and use further money to "soup it up". It's what they and their mates want to do.

true but i still think its funny not trying to offend but buying top rated clubs when there is really no need too! but its true everyone to their own i just personally find it a bit mad,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

it just depends what you want out of the game.

When I raced bikes, there was a chap who couldn't ride out of your way who had a pair of £4K handmade wheels from holland, absolute mint stuff, not to mention the rest of the bike.

Didn't get it at the time. But this was his thing, he obviously worked hard to afford the gear, and if you're working hard you're not training hard.

To each their own tbh, as long as they're not dicks about their superior club or clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

First you are making assumption about the internal motives of these guys ... that they want to show off - you may be wrong. They may just love the game and while the money involved might be crazy to you perhaps it isn't to them. If they earn good money then spending a small per cent of it on good golf gear is hardly a crime even if some people watching make their own assumptions. Secondly, you could make the argument that if cost isn't an obstracle then it makes good sense to get decent gear to minimize at least one aspect of the challenges facing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

stupid small minded rant imo

why not spend a few bob, was thinking of the car analagy myself

most of us start off with loaned or 2nd hand gear,and generally treat ourselves to something nice when the funds are available.

being able or not able to hit the ball is irrespective of the gear so don't see the funny part really, I THINK ITS THE SAME AS SOMEONE THINKING LESS OF A GOLFER CAUSE HE DOES NOT HAVE BRANDED GEAR

in these meagre times spend a few pounds to help your local pro shop

SPEND SPEND AND GOD WILL SEND!!

soundsham wrote: »

I wouldn't go that far. A lot of people could do with shaving a couple of hundred from the cost of their clubs, and spending it on lessons instead.

why not spend a few bob, was thinking of the car analagy myself

most of us start off with loaned or 2nd hand gear,and generally treat ourselves to something nice when the funds are available.

being able or not able to hit the ball is irrespective of the gear so don't see the funny part really

in these meagre times spend a few pounds to help your local pro shop

SPEND SPEND AND GOD WILL SEND!!

thats wht they make begginers sets IMO.

pro's use the good gear becasue there good. am i wrong in saying its harder to play with these clubs than oversized begginers? i just think its funny when i see the best off clubs and they cant hit two feet seems quite pointless to me wasting all that money.(spending it on lessons seem more benifical)but yes each to der own its just my opinon!! its just like any hobby you dont go in and buy the best gear the best of everything you should go by year and progress then when good enough buy the gear! hey maybe its just me i guess

uberwolf wrote: »
    I wouldn't go that far. A lot of people could do with shaving a couple of hundred from the cost of their clubs, and spending it on lessons instead.

THATS NOT THE POINT AT ALL

NOT SPENDING OR SPENDING IN THIS CASE WILL HAVE HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THESE GUYS GOING FOR LESSONS,

YOU HARDLY THINK ITS MONETARY

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

To be honest mate, its how you feel with certain clubs.

I wanted a big name brand, mainly Ping when I started but I got a set of dunlop, after 3-4 months of playing I found a cheap set of TM R7 irons, a cheap TM Burner recovery, Decent priced putter and bag, now getting the TM burner driver because I am picking it up at a decent price. The clubs have improved my game and while on the tee sometimes I duff it I'm still learning and I'm only playing golf since about last May. Once the golf bug bites your hooked and thats it. You want all the gear in the world that will help you lower your scores.

I know a few people would laugh at me at times on the course but there have been a few that have been gobsmacked when I hit a peach aswell.

thats wht they make begginers sets IMO.

pro's use the good gear becasue there good. am i wrong in saying its harder to play with these clubs than oversized begginers? i just think its funny when i see the best off clubs and they cant hit two feet seems quite pointless to me wasting all that money.(spending it on lessons seem more benifical)but yes each to der own its just my opinon!! its just like any hobby you dont go in and buy the best gear the best of everything you should go by year and progress then when good enough buy the gear! hey maybe its just me i guess

pro's use diferent (wouldn't say good) gear for many different resons depending on their level,but generally because it suits their swing, they got it for free or even better get paid to do so

just gets on my wick how guys are worried what someone else is using be it beginners stuff or top of the range ......just golf your own ball.

i actually know a guy plays off 18 or 19 and he went to buy himself a scotty putter and the guy in the shop also knew him and says
    " sure you wouldn't need that at all"

what do you think the outcome was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Don't agree with the original post at all. Sounds to me that you perhaps feel a bit inferior about your own gear, to be honest. No reason why you should, but why else bring it up in such a way as this?

If those guys can afford it and have the will to buy it, then fair play to them. Absolutely nothing wrong with what they're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

I think this is a rant at people better off......jealousy possibly.

If they used Howson's then all would be ok?

If the guys you are talking about can afford it and it gives them pleasure then what's the problem.

The game is about enjoyment - not worrying what others can or can't afford.

And don't exaggerate to make your point. I'm sure many of them can hit the ball further than 50 yards and many of them may also have a pretty good short game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Regards
    Ian

I'm 95% sure that I would tell the difference but it would be an interesting test.

I dont really agree with the OPs thoughts. If people want to spend that money on golf clubs then so be it.

i,d have to say most regular golfers would tell the difference between pro v and top flite blindfolded

stockdam wrote: »
    I think this is a rant at people better off......jealousy possibly.

If they used Howson's then all would be ok?

If the guys you are talking about can afford it and it gives them pleasure then what's the problem.

The game is about enjoyment - not worrying what others can or can't afford.

And don't exaggerate to make your point. I'm sure many of them can hit the ball further than 50 yards and many of them may also have a pretty good short game.

no no certainly not jealously haha far from it i just thought it was strange the way they werent great at golf and they had top of the range clubs seemed odd thats all. would personally feel like a bit of an eegit spending that money and not being able to play.. seems strange to me but its just my opionon thats all. each to their own i guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,658 ✭✭✭kingshankly

This is a ridiculous thread tbh. Surely if a player wants to spend big money on clubs it's up to him and nobody elses buisness . Who knows they might be 2nd hand . He might not drink or smoke and his luxury is his golf and his clubs. You should never judge a golfer by his clubs and who's not to say some of theese guys went on to shoot level par

can a mod delete this thread then im gettin slated here haha

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

you started it stuey! no harm to have a bit of debate.

It is a common enought point of view in all sports, 'all the gear, no idea'. Especially in sports like cycling and triathlon where it is all about fitness. Golf is a little different imo.

personally I see three or four issues with your post though.

firstly looking at people teeing off the first tee is never going to get you good golf, people get nervous with an audience and I've seen good to average players go to pieces on the first tee every time. I generally deliberately try not to pay attention to someone in a different group.

Secondly, you seem to think they are all beginners or poor players because they didn't hit good tee shots. The average handicap is 18 plus. These guys may have been playing years and years and are as good as they are gonna get and use the best equipment they can afford to help their games.

Thirdly, you list some brands that are available at very reasonable cost. Plenty of people pick up very nice gear second hand or last seasons models on the web etc. Most of my gear could be considered 'top end' but I picked nearly all of it up pretty cheaply and have sold some bits on for what I bought them for a year or two later.

Lastly, everyone has different points of view on what is expensive. For plenty of people the price of golf clubs is peanuts. It just doesn't come in to the equation. Eg for some people a €400 driver is a weeks worth of green fees in the summer.

copacetic wrote: »
    you started it stuey! no harm to have a bit of debate.

It is a common enought point of view in all sports, 'all the gear, no idea'. Especially in sports like cycling and triathlon where it is all about fitness. Golf is a little different imo.

personally I see three or four issues with your post though.

firstly looking at people teeing off the first tee is never going to get you good golf, people get nervous with an audience and I've seen good to average players go to pieces on the first tee every time. I generally deliberately try not to pay attention to someone in a different group.

Secondly, you seem to think they are all beginners or poor players because they didn't hit good tee shots. The average handicap is 18 plus. These guys may have been playing years and years and are as good as they are gonna get and use the best equipment they can afford to help their games.

Thirdly, you list some brands that are available at very reasonable cost. Plenty of people pick up very nice gear second hand or last seasons models on the web etc. Most of my gear could be considered 'top end' but I picked nearly all of it up pretty cheaply and have sold some bits on for what I bought them for a year or two later.

Lastly, everyone has different points of view on what is expensive. For plenty of people the price of golf clubs is peanuts. It just doesn't come in to the equation. Eg for some people a €400 driver is a weeks worth of green fees in the summer.

true! although i said about watching them drive as an example i saw this case throught the day and on many other outings the full shibang but cant play! your points are good tho! i admit im wrong with some of my points but as you said the all gear no idea does pop into my head

can a mod delete this thread then im gettin slated here haha

Stuey don't worry about it happens us all now and again

Well here is a few points to consider.

1) Pro's use good clubs yes. But they also use forgiving clubs like hybrids. Also you say beginner sets with low centre of gravity etc....you can spend hundreds of clubs with that kind of technology. All the top brands cater for every golfer.

2)You say these people are upper class. Why wouldnt they spend money on it. Get the good equipment if they can afford it.

3) A car is a car right. Some people cant drive them very well and crash. So why spend loads on a car. Cus you can afford it and want the luxury. Same with golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 JONATHANM

LOL...Welcome to my world...check my post here:

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055461752

look alittle down the page.I beleive these people would fall under the golfer personality type #5.

Stay cool/Play well,

Jonathan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

i,d have to say most regular golfers would tell the difference between pro v and top flite blindfolded

I agree, it's not hard to tell the difference, espescially when putting. But I reckon a lot of golfers would have lower scores with the top flite than the ProV1.

Also, you do realise your posting on a golfing forum where a lot of players have very good equipment, but may not play up to your standard. Why does what people have effect you?

I think stuey has realized his op isn't to everyones liking I think we can ease off with the lambasting

THATS NOT THE POINT AT ALL

NOT SPENDING OR SPENDING IN THIS CASE WILL HAVE HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THESE GUYS GOING FOR LESSONS,

YOU HARDLY THINK ITS MONETARY

*removes virtual earplugs*

No I don't think it's monetary. It's mentality. I'm haven't said anything against that mentality - in fact my cycling comparison stated that I understood it.

In France is there not a minimum competency level on a lot of courses? showing that you've done a certain number of lessons before you're allowed out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I think stuey has realized his op isn't to everyones liking I think we can ease off with the lambasting

Well Said... but I think Stuey should now have to do a forfeit...

Stuey - I suggest you streak the 18th green on Sunday @ this year's Irish Open with "boards.ie/golf" scribbled on your back... it's only fair...

:D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Par72

I couldn't give a fiddlers what type of clubs other people are playing with, especially if they are hackers! If one of my mates got a new stick and suddenly starting hitting the ball much better then I might take notice.

People buying expensive brand names isn't any revelation really is it? It's the same with clothes, cars, sunglasses etc. There is a certain element of posing involved. People like to look the part even if their golf game doesn't match up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

When I see a nice set of clubs I admire them, I don't question what handicap the individual has to justify them.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

1916 wrote: »
    When I see a nice set of clubs I admire them, I don't question what handicap the individual has to justify them.

good attitude. I'm the same with bikes, cars and golf clubs. If I see a lovely set of 80s blades in someones bag I have to go over and have a look and a chat about them, same if they have the very latest driver. Nice gear is nice gear! I couldn't give a monkeys how good the player is, or if they can actually get the best out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Plus 10

I agree everyone to their own - would be more concerned if these persons had attitudes, etc. You could also extend the principle to people who join expensive courses versus public courses, etc.

One questions this prompts

1. What actual difference woudl using a top of the range set of clubs vrs a beginner set of clubs make to your score - could be way off but I reckon circa 2 shots?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭gerp

A guy can use a cheap set and be a much better player than a guy with an expensive set.

Its all about the time you put in and what you are prepared to put into it.

I do think a better set is generally more forgiving than a cheap set.