Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cartell finance question!!!!!!!!! help needed quick!!!!

• 19-01-2009 07:29PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭

i am going down to look at a car in wexford tonight but i have just done a check on cartell.ie and it says there is finance owed on the car from a company up north ,now i have rang the seller and he says that its has no finance owed on it and that it just hasnt been updated on the system yet.

what should i do the bloke im buying it from says he is a dealer and that i have nothing to worry about. what do yez think i should do lads???????

by the way the car is on yellows and the vrt will be paid by the seller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Tbh, i'd walk, or at least get everything in writing, both from the finance company and the seller before handing over cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭markos79

thanks for the reply, ye he said he would give me something in writing to say it was finance free and not to worry about it, heres a link to the car.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A4/S-LINE-1/200903191470340/advert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I wouldn't go buying tonight. I'd be ringing that finance company and making sure it's not owed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

if there is finance owing, the finance company will take the car and your dispute will be with the dealer - not a good place to be.

DO NOT buy this car this evening, or any time until you have written confirmation from the finance company that they have no rights to this car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Never view or buy a car in the dark. Go view it in daylight and go through the service history with a fine tooth comb, ringing all the dealers and confirming when services were carried out.

Trust me, most of those UK or NI import A4's/3 Series/Passats, etc usually have a lot more than finance owed on them, so it would be pay to be extra vigilant when buying one.

thanks for all the replies lads im gonna wait till tomorrow and ring the finance company in the morning,hopefully it will be clear by then.cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

One solution would be to find out how much finance is owed, then pay that to the finance company and whatever is left to the dealer. Thats assuming everything else checks out ok. Ensure you get the car fully checked out by a mechanic.

Nice motor btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

A friend of mine is going to the UK on Wednesday for a very similar car, he is only paying €11.5k-€12k all in. Have another look around if yoou're not too concerned with warranty or convenience.
    Fair play for doing the finance check BTW, could save you a lot of hassle later. You could still sort out the issue with the finance company, ask them for the clearance letter not the dealer for that bit of extra security.
    As others have said be a little patient & look into the service history too, ring the Audi dealer in Belfast & ask to be put through to the service dept. Quote the reg & they should be able to give you a blow by blow account. It costs nothing & might give you a bit of piece of mind.

Remember: There's always another one (except if it's something like a Ferrari 250GT California :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,169 ✭✭✭✭Berty

HEY ATTENTION

This is certainly not an S-Line or was crashed at least. The boot is not an S-line boot but the front bumper is.

Those wheels are not S-line and are not Audi. They are replica.

I would be concerned as well as to why the drivers seat belt is plugged into the socket in behind the seat. Is there an issue with the seat belt alarm?

That chrome gaiter around the aftermarket gearknob is not original. Its a downward pointing exhaust. I would be concerned how they got a Audi B8 exhaust onto that car without damaging the exhaust system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Mookato

HEY ATTENTION BERTY

That is an S-Line. As the advert says they're S4 wheels, S4 rear spoiler, the gear knob is original and so is the exhaust. The owner has put a few extras on the car but you seem to think it's been crashed. How did you manage to come to that conclusion? The guy has the seat belt plugged in an the seat belt behind the seat so that he can drive it without wearing the seatbelt and not have the light on. You're some genius.

And we have our dealer lol.

Nope, we have an A4 S-Line driver. Maybe mine was crashed too because it looks the same as the one in the advert although in black.

Mookato wrote: »
    Nope, we have an A4 S-Line driver. Maybe mine was crashed too because it looks the same as the one in the advert although in black.

Lol, Berty is an S line driver as well.

Maybe Berty's one was crashed! lol Or maybe Berty bought a "Pack 4 " 1.9TDi S-Line. 1.9 has the turned down exhaust, 2.0TDi has the twin. "Pack 4" is the exterior kit only, none of the nice interior goodies.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

HEY ATTENTION BERTY

That is an S-Line. As the advert says they're S4 wheels, S4 rear spoiler, the gear knob is original and so is the exhaust. The owner has put a few extras on the car but you seem to think it's been crashed. How did you manage to come to that conclusion? The guy has the seat belt plugged in an the seat belt behind the seat so that he can drive it without wearing the seatbelt and not have the light on. You're some genius.

I actually disagree with Berty, it looks to be an sline. However they certainly aren't S4 wheels or an S4 spoiler, and that exhaust doesn't look to be original.

The wheels are standard enough on UK slines, eg:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1257184
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=1100713

The spoiler is a cheap copy put on badly, the chrome tips look to be the same, the look silly but are unlikely to be anything more than stuck on jobs.
    The chrome mirror caps are another silly additon. Imo someone who does this kind of crap may have also had a cheap remap done and is more likely that most to drive the car like an idiot.

OP, I personally wouldn't pay that money for a car that has been messed around with like that with such a high mileage, you could bring in a much better example yourself for a fair bit cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭victor1

Technically there may be financing owing - i bought a car last year and went to view it at a dealer up the country on mon, i paid the cartell fee over the weekend and had to wait until mon and they then contacted me with the finance details, when i was in dealer i got a text saying there was still finance owing, i said it to dealer, he said that the last owner had only traded the car in the week before and he took additional finance out on the car he changed to and that paperwork was not completed yet, i said yeeaaa right to myself, i rang cartell and was talking t really helpful bird, she said there was finance outstanding but on the side she said there was paperwork in progress regarding the previous owner's old car and that i should wait 2 days and ring them back, i did and the finance cleared, so its possibly something similar, or Yes the opposite could be true and you could get shafted.

Also i thought there was a section on the agreement of sale from dealer if you have bought car that they have ran the hpi check already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭RentDayBlues

Did a check for my dad last year on a car he was buying, finance was owing on it. Cartell were really helpful, called them and they double checked all details for me. Seller paid off the money owing and cartell called me 2 days later to let me know it was clear. No issues.

Yes I have an S-Line, yes its the exterior pack. That being said.

A full S-line or only a partial S-line should have the actualy correct boot lid. This is the correct boot lid not a stuck/glued on lip spoiler.

Spoiler.jpg

Here is a 2.0 Ltr S-Line with a downward pointing exhaust

CB966741a.jpg

Its not an S-line. If they are lying about this then what should we expect from the stories about the finance?

How did you manage to come to that conclusion? The guy has the seat belt plugged in an the seat belt behind the seat so that he can drive it without wearing the seatbelt and not have the light on. You're some genius.

Welcome to the forum. Nice start on your short visit because Im going to presume you wil be gone soon enough coming on here with that attitude.

BTW, I am a genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

I have to go with Berty on this one, I am not an A4 driver, but that boot is wrong and the exhausts are wrong for that car,

and never ever take the sellers word that the finance is clear, or any bit of paper they give you to cover you, the only person who can tell you the finance is clear is the finance company, and an added bit of caution, make sure you ring them, don't let the seller ring them for you or let the seller have the finance company call you....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,567 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Nice spot Berty.

May have saved the OP a world of trouble

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Whatever about the authenticity or otherwise of the car, it's got 90,000 miles on it. Quite a bit of leg imho.

Once it goes much over 100,000 it'll become increasingly hard to move on eventually.

And all ye're talk of cartell, and none of ye even took the time to look up the reg:rolleyes:

Registration GEZ5480
    Make AUDI
    Model A4
    Description S LINE TDI
    Engine Capacity(cc) 1986
    Year Manufactured 2005
    CO2 Emissions (g/Km)* 156
    VRT Rate % ** 24

And all ye're talk of cartell, and none of ye even took the time to look up the reg:rolleyes:

Registration GEZ5480
    Make AUDI
    Model A4
    Description S LINE TDI
    Engine Capacity(cc) 1986
    Year Manufactured 2005
    CO2 Emissions (g/Km)* 156
    VRT Rate % ** 24

* Gold star on your forehead. Cant believe that never crossed my mind. However, the OP said they spoke on the phone with Cartell. Did cartell not even notice this or the OP through the course on the conversation?

Where is the OP? Did he buy last night? I hope not.

BTW, those exhausts are from Ebay or alike and are for a 2008+ Audi A4 B7, I bought them for my colleague recently for his new car and they fight like a glove.(straight exhausts btw)

Circa €100 including delivery
    8923_1.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Daibheid

markos79 wrote: »
    i am going down to look at a car in wexford tonight but i have just done a check on cartell.ie and it says there is finance owed on the car from a company up north ,now i have rang the seller and he says that its has no finance owed on it and that it just hasnt been updated on the system yet.

what should i do the bloke im buying it from says he is a dealer and that i have nothing to worry about. what do yez think i should do lads???????

by the way the car is on yellows and the vrt will be paid by the seller.
    On the finance question -always essential to check on a car of recent vintage 'cos of the liklihood it's bought on a loan. I checked a few years back on a 9 month old car I was buying privately and discovered it had finance owing. The seller was quite open about it when I asked and he assured me that as soon as I paid him he was going to go and clear the finance. A bit innocent:o but if he didn't pay the finance for whatever reason the car could have been repossessed from me so I recommend you take no chances there.

Despite the fair point the seller needed the purchase money to clear the finance, I didn't know him from Adam or have any comeback on him. I rang the finance people and offered to pay it off - after buying the car less the finance owed. They would only discuss their contract with the person they had the agreement with - which is fair enough - so you won't get anywhere there.

In the end I told him to go to the credit union or his friends/ family and clear the finance and I'd give him a deposit and a written undertaking to buy pending finance clear proof by a given date. That worked out fine but if I'd had any hint he had deliberately held back on the finance I'd have walked immediately and remember there'll always be another bargain. Hope that helps you.

ok lads i rang the finance company today and they said that they had "no more interest in this car" so hopefully thats the end of that,but now berty has me worried about the boot spoiler,i know two blokes that drive s-lines and they have the boot lid like berty so now im thinking it might of been in a bump before,but i am going down to wexford on thursday to view the car and ill take a closer look at everything ill also give cartell a buzz before i go to double check everything is AOK.

thanks for all the help and advice lads!!!

Check all the gaps are the same width on all the panels. You wouldn't mind if the car was in a light tip, as long as it was repaired right. You know all the things to look out for don't you...

I know a few things to look out for but if your offering a list limerick man go for it im all ears.:D

markos79 wrote: »
    I know a few things to look out for but if your offering a list limerick man go for it im all ears.:D

Never look at a car in the dark or rain. Just don't
    Things to look out for:
    Firstly service history, make sure it's there, if you get any excuses about it being lost etc. etc. i'd be walking away. Once you have your hands on it make sure it's not all in the same colour ink or handwriting. If it's a dealer that's been servicing they will generally leave a stamp on it, so that another thing to look out for. Make sure the mileage matches up to the service history as well. You have to remember, since it's an English import people will know, and the only thing you have backing up the mileage is the service history.

Next thing i would be doing is opening the bonnet. Under hear you can check a few things. Just have a quick glance and the bolts etc. that hold on the lights, make sure they are all intact and haven't been badly repaired etc. List up the oil filler cap and make sure it's all gunk free (should just be black, no white gunk or anything). I don't know if they have a timing belt off hand, but if they do check when it was done. It will normally be written in tipex over the timing belt cover. Also while your there, have a look at the tops of the bolts on the wings. Just a quick glance (generally when someone replaces a wing they'll use the old nuts, and you will see signs off wear on these). When you close the bonnet, stick your a finger between it and a headlight each, both fingers should go in the same distance etc.

Now, while your standing have a walk around the car. If it's raining or dark this is just pointless and there is no way you should be looking at it. You want to have a good look around all the panels. Check for no major dents, bumps, scratches etc. Likewise with the bonnet, check a few other spots to make sure all gaps are the same. Move on then to opening the boot. Make sure all is as should be, check the spare wheel. See if it's been used, or more importantly check if it's there. While your looking down here, check for signs of previous damage, welding etc.

Check the wheels, just for your own info, see if they all have the same tyres. Lock the front wheels fully to the left and to the right. Look for the tyres balding on the inside or outside, tracking could be off if they are balding and it's going to cost you a few euros to replace the tyres. Have a look at the wheels themselves, make sure they are not all curbed and scrapped. Shows sign of a previous owner who doesn't give too craps about the car.

Once your happy with the outside, move to the inside. Anything electric, make sure it works. Windows, sunroof, diesel filler cap release etc. etc. etc. Press all the buttons. When you turn on the ignition, look for warning signs like "Service due -1000kms". If that -number is big, it'll either mean it wasn't serviced at all, or it was serviced by a dealer who could clear the warning. Check for wear, if the car has 20,000 or 200,000, the steering wheel/gearknob/hand brake should of the worning accordingly. If they shows signs of over wear, you could be a bit worried as to if that it the correct mileage. If they feel brand new, were they just replaced? Take out the cigarette lighter, if it's clean, you're buying a non smoker, if it's not, well your buying a smoker. Check the seat moves up down left right whatever, make sure it all works. Check for signs of mould/dampness. Any leaks?

Test drive, when you're starting the engine, make sure it's cold. You want to know what it starts like when it's cold. (Since it's a diesel, a pigs tail, or small little curly yellow symbol will show up on the dash, this is the car warming up. Wait for it to go off before starting.) Leave the car running, get out and listen. Make sure you are hearing no odd noises etc. etc. Get back in, and off we go. Don't take it up and down a small road. Get a good spin. Use all the gears and use reverse. Make sure everything goes smoothly. No crunches grinds etc. etc. The car has a 140bhp, it should feel like that. Give it a bit of welly, remember if something goes wrong after you buy it, your stuck with it. When you have your foot down, take a look in the mirror, any clouds of smoke? No?-Good Yes?-Bad news. Shouldn't be smokey. Use the indicators, if there is any very rapid ticking, one of the bulbs is gone. Make sure you drive it enough to get the engine warmed up, when you get back. Turn it off. Start it again as it is warm, make sure it starts perfectly again.

After that, make sure the logbook is in order, tax disc and all that line up. Make sure the spare key is there, costly to get another one of those and you do need a spare key (cost alot more if you loose yours). If yo do buy, make sure to fill out your name, address and all that on the back of the log book. Sign and date it.

I could of missed something, but that should keep you going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

some more:

-make sure that the log book and serial number for the car match
    -when you turn on the ignition, make sure that airbag light turns on and when car is started turns off. If car has an airbag but no light, then don't buy.
    -park the car, turn the tyres completely to the left or right. Accelerate, if you hear a knocking sound then again dont buy.
    -check the carpets in the front and firewall, if they are wet it might be a leak in the heater matrix.

I could actually think these a lot more but here is few.

Never look at a car in the dark or rain. Just don't
    Things to look out for:
    Firstly service history, make sure it's there, if you get any excuses about it being lost etc. etc. i'd be walking away. Once you have your hands on it make sure it's not all in the same colour ink or handwriting. If it's a dealer that's been servicing they will generally leave a stamp on it, so that another thing to look out for. Make sure the mileage matches up to the service history as well. You have to remember, since it's an English import people will know, and the only thing you have backing up the mileage is the service history.

Next thing i would be doing is opening the bonnet. Under hear you can check a few things. Just have a quick glance and the bolts etc. that hold on the lights, make sure they are all intact and haven't been badly repaired etc. List up the oil filler cap and make sure it's all gunk free (should just be black, no white gunk or anything). I don't know if they have a timing belt off hand, but if they do check when it was done. It will normally be written in tipex over the timing belt cover. Also while your there, have a look at the tops of the bolts on the wings. Just a quick glance (generally when someone replaces a wing they'll use the old nuts, and you will see signs off wear on these). When you close the bonnet, stick your a finger between it and a headlight each, both fingers should go in the same distance etc.

Now, while your standing have a walk around the car. If it's raining or dark this is just pointless and there is no way you should be looking at it. You want to have a good look around all the panels. Check for no major dents, bumps, scratches etc. Likewise with the bonnet, check a few other spots to make sure all gaps are the same. Move on then to opening the boot. Make sure all is as should be, check the spare wheel. See if it's been used, or more importantly check if it's there. While your looking down here, check for signs of previous damage, welding etc.

Check the wheels, just for your own info, see if they all have the same tyres. Lock the front wheels fully to the left and to the right. Look for the tyres balding on the inside or outside, tracking could be off if they are balding and it's going to cost you a few euros to replace the tyres. Have a look at the wheels themselves, make sure they are not all curbed and scrapped. Shows sign of a previous owner who doesn't give too craps about the car.

Once your happy with the outside, move to the inside. Anything electric, make sure it works. Windows, sunroof, diesel filler cap release etc. etc. etc. Press all the buttons. When you turn on the ignition, look for warning signs like "Service due -1000kms". If that -number is big, it'll either mean it wasn't serviced at all, or it was serviced by a dealer who could clear the warning. Check for wear, if the car has 20,000 or 200,000, the steering wheel/gearknob/hand brake should of the worning accordingly. If they shows signs of over wear, you could be a bit worried as to if that it the correct mileage. If they feel brand new, were they just replaced? Take out the cigarette lighter, if it's clean, you're buying a non smoker, if it's not, well your buying a smoker. Check the seat moves up down left right whatever, make sure it all works. Check for signs of mould/dampness. Any leaks?

Test drive, when you're starting the engine, make sure it's cold. You want to know what it starts like when it's cold. (Since it's a diesel, a pigs tail, or small little curly yellow symbol will show up on the dash, this is the car warming up. Wait for it to go off before starting.) Leave the car running, get out and listen. Make sure you are hearing no odd noises etc. etc. Get back in, and off we go. Don't take it up and down a small road. Get a good spin. Use all the gears and use reverse. Make sure everything goes smoothly. No crunches grinds etc. etc. The car has a 140bhp, it should feel like that. Give it a bit of welly, remember if something goes wrong after you buy it, your stuck with it. When you have your foot down, take a look in the mirror, any clouds of smoke? No?-Good Yes?-Bad news. Shouldn't be smokey. Use the indicators, if there is any very rapid ticking, one of the bulbs is gone. Make sure you drive it enough to get the engine warmed up, when you get back. Turn it off. Start it again as it is warm, make sure it starts perfectly again.

After that, make sure the logbook is in order, tax disc and all that line up. Make sure the spare key is there, costly to get another one of those and you do need a spare key (cost alot more if you loose yours). If yo do buy, make sure to fill out your name, address and all that on the back of the log book. Sign and date it.

I could of missed something, but that should keep you going.

cheers for all that limerick man ill make sure i check everything you said.