Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nick Faldo

• 19-01-2009 2:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭

I was watching last nites final round of the Sony Open and couldnt help but notice that Nick Faldo talks about himself an awful lot. For those of you who dont know, Faldo works for a US TV station called the golf channel who setanta sports share coverage with. Anyways Faldos co-hosts kept asking him what he thought about this shot or that shot, or this guy and that guy, and every time Faldo would turn the question around to talk about himself and his past achievements.

Any one else notice this??

Dont get me wrong, he's one of the best golfers ever but he's no great shapes as a commentator. Keep an eye out for him. Its like he's taking part in one long interview about himself. The next part of that interview can be seen at the Bob Hope Classic at Bay Hill next weekend.:)

PS - That female co-host of his is pretty hot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Yep, was watching it last night after the snooker, and noticed this too, although I have disliked the man for a long time so maybe my opinion is tainted..:eek:

Is there anybody out there who likes him, either as a person or as a golfer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

He was a fine golfer but for me his single mindedness in achieving that success alienated him to many people. I think he is egotistical and during the Ryder cup I was cringing watching some of his comments and antics (opening ceremony and being caught out with the sandwich list!) Id listen to David Feherty and Johnny Miller anyday over Mr Faldo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Par72

I can't find much to like about the guy either. He does seem to steer the commentary around so he can big-up himself. I don't think he knows how to be charming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭irishtoffee

Ye was watching last night and every 4 shots there was an ad break and lets have a look at the leaderboard for the 20th time in 10 minutes.Disgraceful coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

Faldo is a grade A arsehole.
    Had the misfortune to meet him years ago and he acted like a total prick.
    Gutted that he won so many majors, truely gutted.
    What a w@nker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I know Ewan Murray can be a bit smarmy at times, but European golf fans are spoiled by the coverage on Sky. The commentators are generally first class. I know there are a few critics on here, but the bbc is also great.

I liked watching the US golf when it was on Sky, but i rarely bother with Setanta. I'd rather watch golf night!

As for Faldo, i don't like the guy at all. Stood at the Scottish Open collecting autographs when i was a kid. Everyone obliged all day, except Faldo. He came of the Physio Trailer and when we all shouted on him to come and sign our programmes , hats etc, he sjouted 'I wasn't in there for no reason you know' and stormed away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    As for Faldo, i don't like the guy at all. Stood at the Scottish Open collecting autographs when i was a kid. Everyone obliged all day, except Faldo. He came of the Physio Trailer and when we all shouted on him to come and sign our programmes , hats etc, he sjouted 'I wasn't in there for no reason you know' and stormed away.

Told me and my pal to "fcuk off" when we asked for his autograph at Portmarnock in the mid-80s. Much bigger names were happy to oblige like Seve, Langer etc... but Faldo was the only one who was horrible.

Never forgot it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Have to agree about Sky's coverage, it's first class - many a thursday was skipped in college in favour of sitting on the couch watching the golf on Sky instead!

Boxhall, Wayne Reilly etc are very good although I get the impression Boxall is really envious of the amounts of money today's players make... he's always talking about money, it's quite funny!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,663 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Can everyone please read the charter, abuse for the sake of it is not acceptable. Infraction for Dublin Spur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

I really admire him as a player but it's no hidden fact that he was never liked that much either in the locker room or by the media.

His single mindedness and determination helped him to become the great player he was and unfortunately gave him the unlikable personality he has.

No doubt he has tons of knowledge but why he reverses every bit of information so he can talk about himself is beyond me.

I can't stand listening to him, although if he looked like Di Stewart it may be a little different.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

ThunderCat wrote: »

PS - That female co-host of his is pretty hot!

That would be Kelly Tilghman.....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭WaldenByThoreua

That would be Kelly Tilghman.....:)

She of lynching fame...