Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Match v Soccer Forum

• 19-01-2009 10:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭

Whatever happened to this match we were to play? The soccer forum played against the poker forum over the weekend and got well and truly stuffed. I think we should get a game going, forget all the nonsense about training and stuff cause it will never happen if we try to do that. Pick a date and play the match, if we get to meet before it to kick around and familiarise ourselves with each others games, then good enough but if we dont we dont.

Blackbelt this was your baby, where was it left?

Poker forum won something like 10-3, this was against the soccer forum not the Boards.ie team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

yes, i was playing a key role in negociations on the soccer side, but it was the boardeaux team, not the forum. never did happen, but no reason why it cant. Most of the Boardeaux team dont post on the soccer forum, alot of them actually hate it!

im permanantly banned off the soccer forum for almost a year now, so f*ck em, i will play with the GAA board, if im allowed :)

can somebody post a thread on the soccer forum??

im in anyway with the GAA team :). getting them to play gaa though is going to be hard, boardeaux would be your best bet. which team you want to play? i say play against the soccer forum anyway, theres about 2/3 of the boardeaux team on it i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Apaarently there's plans for another Soccer v Poker game on the 22nd of Fed.

How about one before that on say the 8th or 15th? (Cause I'll be home then :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

yes, i was playing a key role in negociations on the soccer side, but it was the boardeaux team, not the forum. never did happen, but no reason why it cant. Most of the Boardeaux team dont post on the soccer forum, alot of them actually hate it!

im permanantly banned off the soccer forum for almost a year now, so f*ck em, i will play with the GAA board, if im allowed :)

can somebody post a thread on the soccer forum??

im in anyway with the GAA team :). getting them to play gaa though is going to be hard, boardeaux would be your best bet. which team you want to play? i say play against the soccer forum anyway, theres about 2/3 of the boardeaux team on it i think.

To be fair I would expect Boardeaux to kick our asses, being a legitimate team and knowing each others games etc. We might be able to beat the Soccer forum though, as the poker boys really stuffed them (No harm in rubbing that on e in). We could also arrange games against other fora too afterwards.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Apaarently there's plans for another Soccer v Poker game on the 22nd of Fed.

How about one before that on say the 8th or 15th? (Cause I'll be home then :D)

so soccer v gaa in a "soccer" match on the 8th/15th you say? who can organise from the soccer side? can u start a thread on it? and i assume you would play with soccer ya?

BTW, you coming to a few Boardeaux games?

so soccer v gaa in a "soccer" match on the 8th/15th you say? who can organise from the soccer side? can u start a thread on it? and i assume you would play with soccer ya?

Damn right. I might even wear an AFL jersey for a bit of extra spice! :p

Yeah I can start a thread if you guys pick a date.
    BTW, you coming to a few Boardeaux games?

Ah yeah I'll be down to have a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I think the problem the last time was getting enough people from the GAA forum to play. Poker and Soccer are busy forums. GAA is a little quieter so I would say wait and see how many people are available before challenging the soccer guys.

If I was in Ireland I would be interested, but I am stuck in cold, rainy Glasgow :( But I am in Dublin for the two home 6 Nations games, so I could play on either Sunday if there was a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I wouldn't mind getting involved actually. I go to college in DCU so I'm up in Dublin most days a week. But I'm not back until the 8th February so I won't be able to do anything before then.

I post on both forums pretty regularly but I'd still choose GAA or soccer any day of the week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

right now we couldnt put a jigsaw together ..never mind a soccer team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Lads I organised the soccer forum for the match against the Poker Team.
    I'm currently organising a rematch. However if you's wanted a game I'm sure I could get a team together.
    There's an idea going around of having an inter forum tournament.
    Four forums that play off in one day.

Poker
    Soccer
    GAA
    AN Other

Would you's be up for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Tournament sounds good. Any pics around from poker v soccer?

Sherifu wrote: »
    Tournament sounds good. Any pics around from poker v soccer?

Unfortunately I don't think any were taken

Frisbee I like the idea but we have not got the numbers of posters that you guys have. Leave it with us and we will see what we can do.

Lads,in the last thread the following expressed at least a firm interest

Blackbelt
    Tom The Post
    Pride Fighter
    Waylander
    Alany
    Nalced IRL
    Gerire
    Aidan 24326
    Homerjay 2005
    holymoly hs
    Villains77
    Delta Bravo
    An Citeog

Only read the first few pages so there were probably more but anyone know if some of the lesser spotted names above would still be interested? Any other forum regulars interested?

i could get a few gaa heads off the boardeaux team to play. i defo could get 3 lads, if not 4 to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

I'd be up for this anyway.

I'd hold off on trying to organise anything just yet.
    Will be very hard to try and organise two matches at the same time.
    I think one of the Poker lads put forward the idea of a tournament so we'll see where he takes it

Frisbee wrote: »
    I'd hold off on trying to organise anything just yet.
    Will be very hard to try and organise two matches at the same time.
    I think one of the Poker lads put forward the idea of a tournament so we'll see where he takes it

At the minute we are only trying to establish if putting a team together is feasible. Dont worry we are not getting carried away, I doubt we have enough regular posters in the forum to get a team together.

a lot of you will have read my pre season post so hopefully expectations are realisticly low ... but .. Im in ! lets do it !

now where did those last 2 jigsaw bits go

Waylander wrote: »
    At the minute we are only trying to establish if putting a team together is feasible. Dont worry we are not getting carried away, I doubt we have enough regular posters in the forum to get a team together.

If it came to it I'm sure someone could wrangle a mate or two into playing..

I am sure we could if push comes to shove. For now, confirmed interested players in this thread, or to me by PM are:

1)Waylander
    2)HomerJay2005
    3)Deise59
    4)Alany
    5)An Citeog
    6)TomThePost
    7)Blackbelt
    8)Reganio2
    9)Nalced Irl
    10)PrideFighter

I will update this as we go to see how many players we have in a squad. By the way anyone a GK?

Alany wrote: »
    a lot of you will have read my pre season post so hopefully expectations are realisticly low ... but .. Im in ! lets do it !

now where did those last 2 jigsaw bits go

Yes it was an inspiration to us all :)

Now where did those last 2 beers go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Make it Gaelic Hurling and give me the center back spot and I'll consider it. :P

Orizio wrote: »
    Make it Gaelic Hurling and give me the center back spot and I'll consider it. :P

Are you not on strike :p

He is until Waylander is replaced as organiser :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I'm up for it.Always was.I tried to organise it last year but couldn't get enough numbers or interest and then I had my finals which put in a spanner in the works.

Soccer and gaelic football...count me in.:D

blackbelt wrote: »
    I'm up for it.Always was.I tried to organise it last year but couldn't get enough numbers or interest and then I had my finals which put in a spanner in the works.

Soccer and gaelic football...count me in.:D

Lets do it one step at a time for now.
    We will worry about getting a one off soccer game in first. Then we can try for more.
    I dont think we will get much competition in the GAA, maybe we should play the Aussie rules forum in a compromise game :-)

Right I'm off to get a metal bar inserted in my arm.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

1)Waylander
    2)HomerJay2005
    3)Deise59
    4)Alany
    5)An Citeog
    6)TomThePost
    7)Blackbelt
    8)Reganio 2

Admitadly I don't post in here that much (Like 2 posts ever :D) but I do read up, but if you don't want me in its cool.

I am sure we could if push comes to shove. For now, confirmed interested players in this thread, or to me by PM are:

1)Waylander
    2)HomerJay2005
    3)Deise59
    4)Alany
    5)An Citeog
    6)TomThePost

I will update this as we go to see how many players we have in a squad. By the way anyone a GK?

Don't worry about the goalkeeper.I have an ace up my sleeve should it come to that.:cool::cool:

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    1)Waylander
    2)HomerJay2005
    3)Deise59
    4)Alany
    5)An Citeog
    6)TomThePost
    7)Blackbelt
    8)Reganio 2

Admitadly I don't post in here that much (Like 2 posts ever :D) but I do read up, but if you don't want me in its cool.

All comers are welcome Reg, fair play to you!

yeah we are real picky* around here..feck off* to where you came from !
    ..unless..your not really Ciaran Whelan are you ?

* thank god fresh blood
    **Please stay !

I'll play full back.That was my natural position for soccer otherwise I roam up further up the pitch in the dizzying full forward line for the real game.:cool:

Corner Forward... leave me there and dont fuc king pass after the first 10 mins cause im knackered

Alany wrote: »
    Corner Forward... leave me there and dont fuc king pass after the first 10 mins cause im knackered

Don't worry Al,by that time you'll have done the groundwork with 4 or 5 beauties and the defense will be taking a more attacking role to get warmed up.The goalkeeper will be too busy picking the ball out of the back of the net.:)

Cheers lads. I am not Ciaran Whelan but I have scored against his cousin who is a fine goal keeper :D

If we're talking soccer, I used to play left wing with my local club until I quit a few years ago, so that's probably my most natural position, but I can move into the middle of the park if needs be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Up front if possible for me. None of that offside rubbish I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Why did I get a load of PM's regarding this? I have not even posted in this thread. If you want me that bad I'll play:cool:, I normally play Centre Mid but I can only play on sundays.

yay spam works... I have been doing the same to Shane Ryan ... no responce yet ..keep your fingers crossed people.... I have penciled in for Mid field ( both positions )

Why did I get a load of PM's regarding this? I have not even posted in this thread. If you want me that bad I'll play:cool:, I normally play Centre Mid but I can only play on sundays.

You got PMed because you previously said you would be interested when Blackbelt was organising the Soccer\GAA games against Boardeaux.

If you are not interested that is cool.

No no he's in - its a binding contract. If he doesnt play we will sue his ass

lol this team is looking good its like a shotgun football team. I can play where ever you need me, although I am not the fittest guy in the world but just call me Darragh O'Se I stand in the middle and hit anyone that walks by me :D. Nah I can pass the ball and am a lethal finisher so I can do a job CF or CM but can do a job anywhere I am needed.

Sadly it is looking like we dont have the numbers or interest to go on with this.

Rather than a full 11 vs 11 match, would it make more sense to do 5 a side? We could have 2 teams representing each board playing 2 matches against each other. That way if we end up short on the day we can have some players playing for both teams, assuming the 2 matches aren't playing at the same time.

Just a thought.

What?I just checked the team listing and we have 10.Can't just give up when you are 1 short of a full team in the early going.Anyway,that ace I was talking about,it might come to the table and then we'll be sorted.The only problem then is getting 4 more players.:);)

We don't even need the subs, we will be playing on smaller soccer pitches we should be fitter :D.... Ok we need loads of subs actually :D

blackbelt wrote: »
    What?I just checked the team listing and we have 10.Can't just give up when you are 1 short of a full team in the early going.Anyway,that ace I was talking about,it might come to the table and then we'll be sorted.The only problem then is getting 4 more players.:);)

We have 10 players now, but that means even if we find one more, we have to play at a time that everyone can make it, and ensure we have no injuries for any match. To be fair, this is just a kick around and we are unlikely to find a time where everyone can make it. I just dont see it as realistic.

Deise your idea is not bad but I think their will be plenty of boards able to get 11 players, and some of them already have, so I am guessing they are unlikely to want a 5 a side format now.

well as i said, i could get a few ringers in, well, gaa players that play for boardeaux. that qualifies them doenst it? sorta granny rule or something like that.

yep Im all in favour of the granny rule.

I think I might be able to get a long time reader...never posted member of the forum to come out to play to

so if we have

Plus my one
    Plus Blackeys one
    plus Homers two or three
    Plus Im still waiting on Shane Ryan to get back to me

That makes a squad of about 23 by my reckoning :)
    may need to trim that down to ..say 14/15 or so

actually a 7's match for both soccer and GAA might be an optioin ??

Would anyone be interested in turning out for the Soccer forum against the Poker lads on Sunday? We've had a few drop outs in the last few days.

The game kicks off at 4pm in Leicester Celtic's grounds which are located near Nutgrove Shopping Centre.

sorry I missed this ... I would have loved to play ..oh well