Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Didn't think they were here already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I dont care what you say. That is a nice car except for the plastic interior. Its basically a Camry IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

looks like english spec cars. They're for sale over there already. I kinda like the exterior. Really does look like an IS220 from the back. Dunno about the interior though. Centre console looks like the auris a bit. There doesn't seem to be a proper drivers armrest either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I actually love the back of them, they just made a balls of the front. If i was buying something like that i would only for the front. Pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Yeah, UK car alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Jesus, I'd at least pull the plastic off the seats before photo-ing it for the web...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

30K... Jaysus!!!!!

Hogzy wrote: »
    30K... Jaysus!!!!!

That's the "Higher Spec" though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

God, they're bland......but then what toyota saloon isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,563 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Yep, we had about 80 or so in work before the New Year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

Could never bring myself to buy a Toyota.

Bland and boring.

The interior is quite shocking for a new car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

This might seem like a weird question... but, where is the handbrake??? I can't seem to see it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

This might seem like a weird question... but, where is the handbrake??? I can't seem to see it...

Could be a peddle parking brake! the old camry was like that!

Very bland car... considering its rivals i think the only thing that will sell this car is the "Toyota" factor...then again thats probably what sells all toyotas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭LoveDucati2

Could never bring myself to buy a Toyota.

Bland and boring.

The interior is quite shocking for a new car.

Bland and boring.

Toyotas new catchphrase :D
    brilliant

New Avensis looks very American

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

its an electric one.... on dashboard just like the passats!!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

It's sad to think that this will outsell the Opel Insignia (and quite easily too).

Mondeo vs Avensis = No choice IMO.

insignia is just gorgeous imo, wouldnt think of an
    avensis if i was buying , too bland, bulky, insignia is a far
    superior car. id love one:pac:

minxie1 wrote: »
    its an electric one.... on dashboard just like the passats!!!! :)

ohhh, great - just more stuff to go wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Aren't they all just a little bland though!

I like the current run of "rep cars"! I have seen one on the road already and they are ok. But its avensis anybody expecting it have lexus standards alfa looks and drivability needs there head examined.

It will sell but i think with the mondeo and insignia out there it may have trouble in what will be a very tough market.

I know ill get slated for this but for that money E30000 aint it top of the range skoda superb territory which if i was going for bland mobile would have to be thrown into the hat to be thought about!

cabrwab wrote: »
    Aren't they all just a little bland though!

I like the current run of "rep cars"! I have seen one on the road already and they are ok. But its avensis anybody expecting it have lexus standards alfa looks and drivability needs there head examined.

It will sell but i think with the mondeo and insignia out there it may have trouble in what will be a very tough market.

I know ill get slated for this but for that money E30000 aint it top of the range skoda superb territory which if i was going for bland mobile would have to be thrown into the hat to be thought about!

It won't sell really that well as Toyota Dealers are not givin decent "cost to change" deals on new ones taking in old model trade in's.

My sister went in to ask for a deal on a new one, current car is a avensis 2006, good nick etc,average miles,serviced in the same toyota garage, - well, they wanted 26.5k along with her own car.:eek:

Needless to say, she's going to drive on her 2006 avensis.:D

It won't sell really that well as Toyota Dealers are not givin decent "cost to change" deals on new ones taking in old model trade in's.

My sister went in to ask for a deal on a new one, current car is a avensis 2006, good nick etc,average miles,serviced in the same toyota garage, - well, they wanted 26.5k along with her own car.:eek:

thats shocking to say the least.... 26.5 k????:mad:

Yep - thats brand and customer loyalty for ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

But aint that every garage?
    Very few new cars will be sold with no trade in's. Don't care what car you drive they'll sell it for profit at some stage, plus there making money on it. But 26K with a 3yr old car with full service history in said garage is shocking!

Id have to give the garage two fingers and make sure to start using an indi garage for the service! Alot of people will drive there cars on and on until they can give no more!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Not too gone on the stretched front lights,back quarter panel is very lexus(ish) too.
    Why are they all going for this big back pillar?,it restricts viewing imo..
    Reliability will sell it as it's toyota's forte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

cabrwab wrote: »
    Don't care what car you drive they'll sell it for profit at some stage, plus there making money on it.

Id have to give the garage two fingers and make sure to start using an indi garage for the service! Alot of people will drive there cars on and on until they can give no more!!

I'd doubt any garage has made a profit on any second hand car this year. If a new Avensis is €21k, then a 09 demo is about €19k; 08, €15k; 07, €12k; 06, about €9k. That may not be reflected in asking prices, but it certainly is in some places I've seen with my own eyes as opposed to on the net. Asking prices are also not selling prices.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Avensis/D4D/200844190694600/advert

I would imagine your sister got the wrong end of the stick. The new Avensis is €25.5k

http://www.toyota.ie/models/avensis/

She was probably told they wouldn't take her car, but certainly not €26.5k with her own unless she wanted the 2.2 Luna Auto.

Also indy mechs can be a rip off too. I started a thread on quotes I got the other day.

VSC and TRC despite protestations from E92, have been retained as standard across the range, however the Terra Spec seems redundant as does the 1.6 Valvematic given that the 1.8 (even in auto) is in the same band as it (C.) Even the 2.0 maintains a band D status with no apparent CO2 premium for Multidrive.

The diesel is only just as impressive with the 2.0 in band B, the 2.2 in band C and in firmly at the top end of D for the Auto, which is disappointing, but given Toyota have never released a diesel auto for the European market I expect improvements in the mid-life facelift.

ninty9er wrote: »
    I'd doubt any garage has made a profit on any second hand car this year. If a new Avensis is €21k, then a 09 demo is about €19k; 08, €15k; 07, €12k; 06, about €9k. That may not be reflected in asking prices, but it certainly is in some places I've seen with my own eyes as opposed to on the net. Asking prices are also not selling prices.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Avensis/D4D/200844190694600/advert

I would imagine your sister got the wrong end of the stick. The new Avensis is €25.5k

http://www.toyota.ie/models/avensis/

She was probably told they wouldn't take her car, but certainly not €26.5k with her own unless she wanted the 2.2 Luna Auto.

Also indy mechs can be a rip off too. I started a thread on quotes I got the other day.

you're a good man @ stating the obvious!:D
    anyway,my sis (yer wan who gets the stick wrong) was offered 4.5k for her car, top end 6k she was told depending on her choice of model/spec etc. She was interesting in the 2.2 diesel, well her husband is anyways.
    I'm only telling what i was told.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

It actually looks prety nice. For me new 3series bmw are more bland and boring then any Toyota.

I sow Opel insignia dealers photo and they looked lovely, but when i sow photos of real deal i was shocked. Car is just pure ugly.

And here, i hated those photoshoped by toyota pictures. The real thing looks alot nicer.

you're a good man @ stating the obvious!:D
    It's a necessity sometimes:pac:

i know only too well,...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭ahmed89

wow nice
    looks cooler then the last model,way cooler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

I think that this new Avensis looks quite nice opposite to the old one.

Bobo78 wrote: »
    I think that this new Avensis looks quite nice opposite to the old one.

would'nt be hard.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭finbarrk

I can't understand that quote. I was quoted €16,500 today for similar.

finbarrk wrote: »
    I can't understand that quote. I was quoted €16,500 today for similar.

well, don't shoot the messenger! All she's getting is between 4.5 to 6k for her 2006 avensis - its the state fo the nation!:D

Sorry, the one I was quoted for was the basic model to basic model but I was allowed €10k for my own.

finbarrk wrote: »
    Sorry, the one I was quoted for was the basic model to basic model but I was allowed €10k for my own.

10k? what year and engine and spec is yours Finbar? Could be a decent offer in this climate?
    You gonna go for the new model?

Avensis Deal bucks Recession Trend
    Written By: Editorial Team, Posted: 09/01/2009
    "They are currently offering the Avensis Strata 1.6 for €22,000 including a year’s free tax, which is drastically lower than the original retail price of the car."
    Toyota has sparked a flurry of activity by allowing its dealers to offer some very attractive deals on the multi award-winning Avensis. A new model is on the way later in 2009, and Toyota is clearing their stock of the current one now. The Avensis has been unfailingly popular since its launch in 2003, hitting the top ten in the sales charts regularly. It is liked for its reliability, and high levels of comfort and quality.

Ken Carey is Sales Director of Carroll and Kinsella in Blackrock, Co. Dublin, who are a main Toyota dealer. They are currently offering the Avensis Strata 1.6 for €22,000 including a year’s free tax, which is drastically lower than the original retail price of the car.

Speaking to Car Buyers Guide, he said the following
    “It is rare for such a popular car to be offered with such a large discount, and in these testing financial times we are pleased to be able to offer customers a good deal on a great car. Uptake so far has been high, and we have just ten of these cars left in stock at the moment. The net effect of the offer is that someone who was previously in the market for a second hand Avensis or similar family car can now have a brand new one, for a similar price”

And 19,995 for a new diesel, ya 22k is very cheap:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Originally Posted by CarBuyersGuide Newsletter
    Avensis Deal bucks Recession Trend
    Written By: Editorial Team, Posted: 09/01/2009
    "They are currently offering the Avensis Strata 1.6 for €22,000 including a year’s free tax, which is drastically lower than the original retail price of the car."
    Toyota has sparked a flurry of activity by allowing its dealers to offer some very attractive deals on the multi award-winning Avensis. A new model is on the way later in 2009, and Toyota is clearing their stock of the current one now. The Avensis has been unfailingly popular since its launch in 2003, hitting the top ten in the sales charts regularly. It is liked for its reliability, and high levels of comfort and quality.

Ken Carey is Sales Director of Carroll and Kinsella in Blackrock, Co. Dublin, who are a main Toyota dealer. They are currently offering the Avensis Strata 1.6 for €22,000 including a year’s free tax, which is drastically lower than the original retail price of the car.

Speaking to Car Buyers Guide, he said the following
    “It is rare for such a popular car to be offered with such a large discount, and in these testing financial times we are pleased to be able to offer customers a good deal on a great car. Uptake so far has been high, and we have just ten of these cars left in stock at the moment. The net effect of the offer is that someone who was previously in the market for a second hand Avensis or similar family car can now have a brand new one, for a similar price”

flogging-dead-horse.jpg

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,272 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

That sounds weird to me.

We ordered a new Insignia SRi, with loads of optional extras (AFL, CDC400, parking sensors, and more) from Joe Duffy Motors, and trading in an 05 Astra, we got it for 26k.

It pays to shop around and play dealers against each other.

What's the retail on the Insignia with all those extra's. Sounds like the makings of a very nice car, get pictures up when you get it. What colour?

Retail on that spec is just over 36k (think it's €36,324 or something). We haggled and haggled over the extras and the trade-in value of our Astra.

May not have teh Insignia until March, due to the number of extras we ordered.

Ordered it in black.

Really looking forward to getting it. Will certainly post up some picts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Just had our discounts on the new Avensis through. If I accept what our usual dealer has given us that makes it the lowest discount % we get on any car.

More discount on Merc/BMW/Lexus than a feckin Avensis:mad:

If I can't get more discount anywhere then F**K Toyota and their ****e - had enough of it in 03 when they launched the last one. Will remove them off the system and refuse to quote on the damn things.

Any Toyota Salesmen around who want prospective business for the next few years, who aren't just looking at the short term gains of selling them full cost to taxi drivers?

R.O.R wrote: »
    Any Toyota Salesmen around who want prospective business for the next few years, who aren't just looking at the short term gains of selling them full cost to taxi drivers?

That's the one thing about the Insignia - you won't find taxi drivers buying them. They's a bit too small/tight in the back for comfortable passenger transport. :D

It is a little mad though, how many dealers just won't give good deals or haggle.

We were in Airside Opel, getting a quote on the Insignia, and we said that we were getting better prices from Joe Duffy motors. His response - "We can't match that". Not even an attempt to keep/get the business.

10k? what year and engine and spec is yours Finbar? Could be a decent offer in this climate?
    You gonna go for the new model?

The one I have is a 06 1.6l petrol aura. I don't still know wheather I'll buy a new one or wait another year.

Just had our discounts on the new Avensis through. If I accept what our usual dealer has given us that makes it the lowest discount % we get on any car.

More discount on Merc/BMW/Lexus than a feckin Avensis:mad:

If I can't get more discount anywhere then F**K Toyota and their ****e - had enough of it in 03 when they launched the last one. Will remove them off the system and refuse to quote on the damn things.

Ever thought that maybe there's more margin anywhere than in the Avensis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Ever thought that maybe there's more margin anywhere than in the Avensis?

Nope! Toyota tried to wangle their way out of selling any cars to Fleet customers when the last Avensis was launched, purely because they can sell them retail at very little discount.

Thats all well and good now, but they need to look longer term. I'll still be buying them in 3 years time when the retail side of things has decreased - they'll be ringing trying to get me to take some. If they support now like Ford, Opel, VW on their big fleet sellers then we are more likely to back the vehicles further down the line.

The discount % I've been offered is 60% lower than the outgoing model - that discount % has been on the Avensis since before the old model was launched. I doubt Toyota have slashed it that much (to less than Merc?). Very short term view in my opinion.

Nope! Toyota tried to wangle their way out of selling any cars to Fleet customers when the last Avensis was launched, purely because they can sell them retail at very little discount.

Thats all well and good now, but they need to look longer term. I'll still be buying them in 3 years time when the retail side of things has decreased - they'll be ringing trying to get me to take some. If they support now like Ford, Opel, VW on their big fleet sellers then we are more likely to back the vehicles further down the line.

The discount % I've been offered is 60% lower than the outgoing model - that discount % has been on the Avensis since before the old model was launched. I doubt Toyota have slashed it that much (to less than Merc?). Very short term view in my opinion.

Fair enough, but is it not shortsighted to shop on price rather than product?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Healyc

Fair enough, but is it not shortsighted to shop on price rather than product?

R.O.R situation is a bit different than most. He is purchasing these vehicles in volume and as he said he will still be (hopefully, well not for me:D) buying the same amount of cars in 3yrs time as he is now!

The new Avensis is a bit drab alright and hope they got rid of that fuel injection issue with the 2.2d4d