Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your first post in the GAA forum?

• 15-01-2009 3:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭

A quick how-to first before any of you ask

1) Click search forum in the top right of the GAA topic list, and then go advanced

2) As a keyword, type your username

3) Then in the bottom left of the same page, choose sort results by last posting date in ascending order

4) Your first result is your first post

I know we all feel stupid looking back on posts we made years ago but it could be a bit of a laugh to see what people came out with.

Here's my first post, a reply to a survey carried out by cruiserweight back in 2005.
    Where are you from: Waterford

Football
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Laois
    Why: Because micko has done a fantastic job with them and he and the county deserve an all ireland

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Armagh
    Why: Because their style of football puts me off football for good and makes me thankful i have a hurling team to support and not a football team. They should concentrate more on skill then strength and realize that there are other ways of playing a football match.

Hurling
    Who is(are) your second team(s): Wexford
    Why: Great, passionate fans and they manage to be all ireland contenders every year even though they lack real quality stars in their team.

Who is(are) the team(s) you dislike: Cork
    Why: Apart from the fact that they beat us twice this year, cork hold acclaim to the worst supporters in the country. Firstly, they come over to dungarvan and buy our tickets for munster matchs. They have their share, so why cant we have ours? Then, those cork fans who stand in the waterford terrace shout disgusting abuse at john mullane, and surprisingly, paul flynn, one of hurlings most likable characters. The one advantage about this is seeing the look on the cork fans faces when we beat them.

PS Why is everone having a go at john mullane. So he passionate about his county, so what? In my opinion he has every right to say what he wants to opposing fans who abuse him during matchs. The fans obviously let the public know what they think of him, so why cant he?

Ok maybe I came on a tad too strong :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Good thread deise. :)

Me in response to Lemlin on April 7th 2006...
    Donegal are already assured of Division 1 football next year. As for the Division 2 title, we have a score to settle with Cavan after last year. Beware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

27/10/2006 -
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    All this bitching and moaning by the Irish supporters is getting boring. If the players can't hack the physical nature of the game then scrap it. End of. The Australians are bigger and tougher than the Irish and that's just the way it is.

Anyone who has watched Aussie Rules will know that the stuff that happens off the ball is horrendous, but part of the game. These players can't be expected to switch off what is a big part of their game.

Playing with a round ball has always been to the advantage of the Irish players with regard to skill so the Aussies use their own 'skill' of being a tougher side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

First day out in 2003

So with the opening of the national league campaign rapidly approaching I am just wondering if there are any predictions for the big game in Croker on Sunday. I have just bought my tickets so I now expect the boys in blue to deliver to me a victory with a winning margin of 5 points.

Posted on 27/1/03. Think me and Alany, and a couple of Tyrone guys were the only regulars at the time. The good ould days when the dub fans were as numerous as all the other counties put together :-)

Think we were playing Armagh in Croker in the league that day, and if I recall correctly it snowed lightly and I froze my nads off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

My first post was in the aftermath of Dublins U-21 victory in '07:

First of all let me congratulate Dublin on a fantastic victory a very welcome result indeed.

But just a word of caution success at underage level does not gaurantee that it will be translated to senior level just look at Limerick - 3 U-21 all irelands in a row and untill this year hadnt won a munster championship game in 6 yrs so it is only now that the real work begins and also Dublin have the problem of dual players and with the pool of players they have they cant afford to be loosing players of the calibre of Conal Keaney and Shane Ryan to the ''big ball'' but unfortunately this is inevitable as the big ball will always come first in Dublin.

I genuinely hope im wrong and that dublin translate this success to senior level sooner rather than later but i have my reservations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Great idea Deise!
    The title of the thread was Cluxtons All-Star. Funny Blackbelt agreed with me on the Declan O Sullivan matter. Probably the last time we agreed on anything:D

22-10-2007, 14:36 #24
    Tomthepost

Adverts | Friends

On balance I think that the selection was quite good this year. Not sure if Bradley would have got in ahead of Donaghy if not for the fact that he has not got picked in previously years which was definitely a disgrace.

Remember Donaghy scored that winning point in the Munster final, turned the game back in favour of Kerry when coming out to midfield against the Dubs and was a contender for Man of the Match in the final.

Indiscipline and injury in the League early in the season might have been a factor also against Donaghy.

With that said he was over-rewarded last season and getting footballer of the year ahead of Dara O Se was a baffling decision.

Galvin and Young are two players that will feel harder done by at not getting picked. The committee took the handy way out picking Barry Cahill and giving the young player of the year to Young.

Stephen Bray was woeful when it mattered against Cork and should not have been picked. Just consider that Cork probably went into the All-Ireland final with about 4 All-Stars and lost a few as a result of their performance in that game and I think I have made my point. Galvin whilst a rogue was important in every game to Kerry.

Cluxton??? To be honest no goalkeeper stands out. 15 outfield players might have been the way to go.

I also think that Declan O' Sullivan probably deserved to shade the player of the year category.
    Was the committee trying to apeace the O Se family for getting it so wrong last year???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

My first post was in a thread that I started back in 2004 trying to make predictions for upsets in that years championship
    championship surprise????

Which team do you think will spring the biggest surprises in the championship?

For example in the football pool some people have tipped teams like Limerick,Fermanagh and Wexford for provincial success.

Personally I think that Wexford have a good chance of winning Leinster if they can gain confidence. Two years ago they had both Dublin and Tyrone on the ropes in games that they should have won only to bottle it. I also expect Limerick to make the Munster Final and once there who knows what will happen.

As for the hurling the big 3 have dominated the last few years will there be any change this year?

I see this years big team as being Clare. I tip them to win Munster even though it will require three games to do it. As for Leinster there could be a big surprise in store. Laois and Dublin will never have a better chance to reach the final, with Offaly seemingly in turmoil. What about Westmeath I think that they could be this years surprise package. I would not be surprised to see a shock Wexford vs Westmeath final.

Also in the hurling as a shock I would tip Antrim for the semi's. Had they played Offaly in the quarters last year they would have been in the semi's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

In refernece to Galway Jerseys in 05
    Sherifu wrote: »
    It's a joke really.
    I'd heard Pat had started selling them.
    He's a great businessman, doesn't miss a trick.
    Even had a banner up outside supermacs takin'
    the mick out of how long the squares taking
    before they made him take it down.
    Least i bought the new jersey back in July so im sorted. \o/
    This azurri crowd are a joke, bring back o'neills, ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Same Post as Waylander. Of course Waylander and I were posting in Sports before the powers that be created the Forum and made me a mod ( idiots)

however my post is as true today as it ever was

Alany wrote: »
    I have several predictions

1 . The Dubs will win
    2. Armagh will loose
    2.1 Armagh will loose badly
    3. I will by 3 bars for a euro from shoe tart with a cart outside croker
    4. I will get drunk at the big tree or somewhere like that
    5. My girlfriend ( who is going to her first GAA match) will be bored outta her mind
    6. Im having chips and a QTR pounder for me tea

God I love Dublin matches

Remember when you could get 3 bars for a euro ??

Jesus remember when it was 4 ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

Me in response to a thread What are the best Gaa stories?
    on the local radio bit a few years ago ex laois player michael lawlor was playing for his local club the commentator says 'and heres the red headed mickey flying it up the pitch'
    biggrin.gif

another story i remember reading in the paper a number of yrs back if anyone can remember the full and correct facts of this story i would love to hear it. iirc i think it was about an intermediate or a junior team in carlowconfused.gif, but there was a fella who never missed training went for yrs turned up for every match but never got a place on the team, one particular sunday for some reason or another only 15 members of the whole panel arrived for a match, the manager decided to play the game with 14 players and leave yer man on the subs bench!!!! i remember feeling very sorry for the poor fella but couldn't help but laugh! that story is probably told all arseways but is the general gist of it so if anyone can shed some light on it please do. sorry in advance for wrong details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Feb 07, NFL Rd. 2 thread.
    Seanies32 wrote:
    Heard good reports about Mayo against Kerry. Very fit but thats to be expected from O' Mahony! Is there many new faces in the team? How do u rate them? How do u think Sundays game will go?

Hard to see how the game on Sun will go. Big win for Donegal on Sat. First game under lights for Donegal. Neill Gallagher back at Midfield should improve us there and they're trying Kevin Cassidy there as well. Definitely a big physical midfield but time will tell. The Defence is as solid as ever and no surprises there. Getting a settled Full forward line is our big problem. Trying McMemamin, Devenney and Bradley on Sunday. I'd say it will be a 2 man FF line with Bradley moving out. McMenamin is a good player with an eye for goal tho could be abit small and who knows about Devenney if he doesn't get sent off! Think Leon Thompson should get more of a run though.

Donegal seem to be going well. A few new faces added to the panel. The McKenna Cup hasn't really been a test yet. UUJ, Down and Antrim plus an experimental Armagh. Cork was good tho Cork seemed not to expect such a physical battle. Revenge for the QF defeat last year methinks!

Sunday and Tyrone in the McKenna Cup Final on Sat week should tell us more. All going well good outside tip for the League with four Home games and with Armagh at home in the championship who knows! U have to be a dreamer if u follow Donegal!

Should have taken my advice on the outside tip!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

July 27th 2003
    In reply to Need help RE: Getting a Laois Jersey in Dublin
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1018989&postcount=2
    Elverys at the bottom of grafton street should do

See us Dubs aren't all bad we will give a helping hand now and again even to someone from Laois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

i think mayo have a good chance.i hope they win it,same for the dubs.naturally i follow dublin and mayo as i am born in dublin and my family originated anfd camr from mayo.

i think fermanagh might surprise people this year.they could win the ulster title.i think westmeaths chances are slimmer this year.

counties pretty much without a hope are wexford,louth,monaghan,antrim,sligo,roscommon,waterford and wicklow

offaly are a good team but aren't in the same class as dublin,kerry,armagh,mayo and galway.

i think kerry will be in the final but i wish someone would knock them out because they are cocky.their attitude is...."we won't go to the semis cause we're going to the final".......hence the poor turnout at the games you see on tv.apart from wishing dublin or mayo win sam,i would love if kerry were brought to shame and get beat by some team like limerick......oh wait that should've and could've happened 2 years ago

Great thread idea Deise.We're going all retro here.Speaking of retro,the above is my first post in the GAA forum in March 2005 from the thread entitled "Mayo Probably The Best County In Da World".

As you can tell,I was still bitter after Mayo were torn apart by Kerry 6 months previously.6 months later I changed my tune.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

It's so weird looking back years seeing what you write though. Just browsing through some of my first posts it seems that nearly every 2nd entry was me sprouting some anti-Cork sh1te.

Next retro thread idea: the bumping of old threads like Rule 42 debates and any Dublin related threads where "the culchies" got involved.

In other words, World War III all over again :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

from 22-7-04
    T'would be fantastic if Antrim could win but I cant see it happening. They did run Waterford to just 2 points last weekend (3-24 to 4-19) but Antrim quiet simply dont get enough games at full on championship pace against top opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

deise59 wrote: »
    It's so weird looking back years seeing what you write though. Just browsing through some of my first posts it seems that nearly every 2nd entry was me sprouting some anti-Cork sh1te.

Next retro thread idea: the bumping of old threads like Rule 42 debates and any Dublin related threads where "the culchies" got involved.

In other words, World War III all over again :P

I invite you to look at the Hill 16 thread from 2007.Now that was a hot potato.:D

iStock_can%20of%20worms.jpg

I am so so sorry, but I just had to......forgive me!

mark_hogg_worms.jpg

Now that we've got that out of the way...:p

Even though a lot of the posts in those bish-bashing topics were pretty mindless, it was still an interesting read, especially the Rule 42 debates. Looking back it's hard to know what all the fuss was about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

He was a bit biased. There is the incident when he gave a free for too many steps less than a second after conal keaney got on the ball. Both teams were poor on the day but the game would have flowed better if there was a better ref. Colin Moran is captain as he is a good leader in training and all the players respect him. I think he should not be in the team, Jayo should start on the 40 instead. The extra week of rest for the final will do the Dubs good and we should beat Laois in the final by 5 points. Up the Dubs!!

That one is mine, it dates from a 2007 thread about Dublin vs Offaly in the Leinster Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

deise59 wrote: »
    Now that we've got that out of the way...:p

Even though a lot of the posts in those bish-bashing topics were pretty mindless, it was still an interesting read, especially the Rule 42 debates. Looking back it's hard to know what all the fuss was about.

Jaysus, Yeah, they where great craic.

The "Hill 16 should be demolished with a bulldozer with everybody on it" was class.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It shows only 500 posts. The earliest shown of mine goes back to May 21st 2004, about the Sunday Game, but I can't say that that was my first ever. I was saying that they should bring back the old theme tune and that in relation to Pat Spillane, that to paraphrase himself, he was a puke presenter.

In the intervening years he has improved a bit, but there are others who would be better in the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Flukey wrote: »
    It shows only 500 posts. The earliest shown of mine goes back to May 21st 2004, about the Sunday Game, but I can't say that that was my first ever. I was saying that they should bring back the old theme tune and that in relation to Pat Spillane, that to paraphrase himself, he was a puke presenter.

In the intervening years he has improved a bit, but there are others who would be better in the job.

You watch games on TV too:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Danno wrote: »
    Fair enough - €50m is not too much to ask for. The govt have already squandered €250m on *bertie bowel*. The govt are sh1tting money anyways. if they get it well and good, if not it was worth a shot...

20th November 2004 in thread entitled: GAA to seek €50m for ditching Rule 42.

The writing was on the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

personally, I think it's impossible to put an exact figure on how much more or less a goal should be worth than a point or how much harder one is than the other so i'd agree - why change anything?

i can't think of a match off hand that has been won by the worst team or lost by the better team purely because goals are worth too much/aren't worth enough... anyway, the best points you see are still only worth the same as easy points - and should arguably be worth more than some of the ****e goals i've seen - so the scoring system can never be exact in terms of reflecting difficulty/skill
    August 2007 in a thread about whether how many points a goal should be worth.

I'd still stand by what I said - but my, how I'm glad I'm over that phase of typing only in lower case :)