Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you eat a.......

• 14-01-2009 10:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭

I was looking at a thread in the Nature and birdwatching forum and there were people talking about eating pigeon. I've had it before in a swanky restaurant and it was savage. Now I'm not talking about the ones that hobble around city centres on diseased stumpy feet and look manky. I'm talking about free range, from the country pigeons.

What about grey squirrel? They are an invasive species that do great harm to our native red. What about rat? Again I'm talking about wild and clean animals.

These are all considered pests and if we ate them we'd be helping to protect our environment. So who's joining me in squirrel burger, roast pigeon and rat kebab?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭IsMiseConor

Swan... roasted... just like the Polish have it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The Saint wrote: »
    I was looking at a thread in the Naure forum

Which forum? :confused:
    I've never heard of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

A few of us went to an "authentic" chinese restaurant on Parnell Street last friday. I ordered the crisp fried chicken dish.

The chicken wasn't deboned and looked like the wasted/leftovers after giving the chicken breast fillet to someone else.

They simply hacked the chicken up and served it in breadcrumbs... including the entire CHICKEN HEAD :eek:

Feck sake, we may be in a recession but we don't need to eat leftovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Nope.

I'll stick with cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

mikemac wrote: »
    Which forum? :confused:
    I've never heard of it
    I've fixed it now princess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Pigeon - maybe
    Rat- are ye mad:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Yeah in a Chinese once abroad. Was amazing. It was roasted and had that crispy skin like duck but the meat wasn't as tough. It was lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

how about deer? phoenix park style :):p

This is no ordinary cat: this is a cat flattened by some fat bas|ard driving a mercedes while eating a hot dog on the wrong side of road with added sh1te from his mudguards..
    this is not just food this is M&S :)

I'd really like to try squirrel. Apparently it's really nice. Bushy tailed little bastards messing with our poor oppressed little reds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Watching channel 4 by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Jesus I'm actually starving now.

Melion wrote: »
    Watching channel 4 by any chance?
    Yes actually.:D But the idea for the thread was from a thread in nature and birdwatching. Keep it local, ya know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've fixed it now princess.

Hey I wasn't being smart
    There are many forums here I've never visited and I've seen some without any posts.

Was a genuine question, and got a bitchy answer in return :mad:

qz wrote: »
    Jesus I'm actually starving now.
    Set a few mouse traps and preheat the oven at 200C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

What about knackers:confused: they are a threat to the civilised:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭foxshooter243

I have ate pigeon and rabbit and duck, phesant ,woodcock. frogs, snails and plenty of wild deer, squirrel wouldnt be a problem but the rat would need to be washed down with a fine chianti:eek:

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Could also start eating the unemployed. That would sort out the dole issue saving the government some cash and there'll be plenty of them around in the next while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

jaffa20 wrote: »

OK , I give in .
    Wtf are you talking about?

On topic , I only eat free range chicken , only because I don't really like beef , lamb ect.
    But there are lot's of things I wouldn't eat , and rat would be at the top of the list.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

I remember something on Eurotrash an few years back, it showed a group of Belgians who regularily meet up in a restaurant to devour a big platter of roast rat and loads of yummy Belgian beer.

The French are known to eat frogs legs but what to they do with the rest of it?

Once stayed in a village in Thailand for a few weeks hols. The family decided to have chicken for dinner as a special occasion. The whole chicken was chopped up into mince, bones and all. Kids got the feet, apparently a delicacy.

Didn't try the roast beetle. Could buy them by the bagful and supposed to taste like chicken with a crunchy shell. Was tempted but not enough.

What about snails? They're everywhere and they're yummy. I wonder are the ones in the garden ok to eat. Must check some recipes.

What about snails? They're everywhere and they're yummy.

Free delivery too, as long as you're prepared to wait.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

I would be 1 of those "safe people" regarding eating new animals. Put horse or frog legs on my plate and i would cringe. Psychologically it would taste bad before i even tasted it - therefore 1 bite and i'm done regardless if it even tasted nice but put a lump of pigs blood mixed with intestines on my plate (pudding) and ya thats grand.

After mentioning snails I'm actually very tempted to go looking for some to eat. I've had them before and liked them. Just checked some recipes on the net and I'm feeling hungry now. I don't know why people are so squeamish about eating them. They're no different than eating mussels or other shellfish.

Cause they are too squishy.:(
    All those kind of shellfish are like that , and yes I did taste them , thats how I formed my opinion.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I'd like to know what monkey tastes like. I'd bet it's hilarious!

Does anyone know if garden snails hibernate? I might go for a hunt tomorrow since I've nothing better to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 tiger325

I draw the line ..I would gladly pass on those critters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Would you eat a.......

minge ?

yes as long as she doesn't wake me up when she's getting out of bed to make my breakfast....

sure sometimes i'd even go ahead and light the fire myself :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

A few of us went to an "authentic" chinese restaurant on Parnell Street last friday. I ordered the crisp fried chicken dish.

The chicken wasn't deboned and looked like the wasted/leftovers after giving the chicken breast fillet to someone else.

They simply hacked the chicken up and served it in breadcrumbs... including the entire CHICKEN HEAD :eek:

Could have been worse. At least it wasn't greyhound:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,831 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

I'm a regular pigeon eater myself. I love the little critters. I'd certainly have no problem eating squirrel & would love to try it.

Rat on the other hand would not be high on my list of meat to try. However, in a desert island setting I'd rather eat rat than go veggy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

When I lived in Brighton there was a restaurant that put grey squirrel on the menu and I had some. Tasted like rabbit, very nice. Sadly the local critter-lovers kicked up so much fuss that the restaurant took the meat off the menu because of the bad press from the local rag.
    I get pigeon and rabbit on a regular basis and always a fine meal to be had with them. I'm also very partial to those strong flavoured burgers that you buy in French service stations...cheval? :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,831 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

OldGoat wrote: »
    When I lived in Brighton there was a restaurant that put grey squirrel on the menu and I had some. Tasted like rabbit, very nice. Sadly the local critter-lovers kicked up so much fuss that the restaurant took the meat off the menu because of the bad press from the local rag.
    I get pigeon and rabbit on a regular basis and always a fine meal to be had with them. I'm also very partial to those strong flavoured burgers that you buy in French service stations...cheval? :)

Some restaurants refer to squirrel as "tree rabbit" on their menus so their more sensitive diners don't get squeamish.
    As a matter of fact - if those so-called "critter lovers" really did love critters they would be glad to have to little grey feckers killed so that they won't be doing off with the native reds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mgoraf

Rat :eek: :sick: No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

earthworms and spiders... yum :pac:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Blush_01 wrote: »
    I'd like to know what monkey tastes like. I'd bet it's hilarious!

Not as hilarious as a clown!

Oh, and this is an ideal 'yore ma' thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

I have ate woodcock.

Keep your private life to yourself, buddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

antodeco wrote: »

clowns are nice but the shoes taste awful ,too fcukin' long

as in "yore ma's a clown but i still ate her" :D

No, as in 'Yore ma took it up the ass' then I wiped my knob on her forehead. :D

then tea-bagged for good measure

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h14/eldudarino/Teabagged.gif

But of course! Touché!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

My father used to go our hunting in the fields near our home with his Winchester rifle and a knife:o. He brought home the odd rabbit which i ate. Looked like chicken but a different flavour,nice:). He also came home with pigeon, yes I ate it. Deep fried and crispy....f*ck all meat, greasy but full of flavour. Think I'd eat any living creature once it tasted nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

I think it's because the Chinese use the tastier parts of the animal, i.e., the parts with fat and skin. Chicken breast is plain and dry so is not as much of a delicacy as it would be to us.

Anyone looking to pick and eat their own snails, I think you have to keep them in a fresh water environment for a day or two first to get any possible toxins out of their system.

I don't think I'd like to eat rat, but squirrel would be interesting.