Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GMIT next year

• 14-01-2009 8:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭

Hello everyone just about to fill in the cao. Im fairly sure my first choice will be Business Computing & Digital Media.

Just wanted to know a bit about the course, the reason i picked it is because it doesn't seem to have as much maths as the other computer courses. What type of job can be got from it and any other details would be great.

Also theres about 5 of us heading down and hoping to get a house together any recommendations of houses near the college. Was looking at a few of the villages like http://www.glasan.com/ http://www.cuirtnarasai.com and TirNagCapall.com any one of any know much about them and is there anymore villages?

Thanks for the help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

strongr wrote: »
    Hello everyone just about to fill in the cao. Im fairly sure my first choice will be Business Computing & Digital Media.

Just wanted to know a bit about the course, the reason i picked it is because it doesn't seem to have as much maths as the other computer courses. What type of job can be got from it and any other details would be great.

Also theres about 5 of us heading down and hoping to get a house together any recommendations of houses near the college. Was looking at a few of the villages like http://www.glasan.com/ http://www.cuirtnarasai.com and TirNagCapall.com any one of any know much about them and is there anymore villages?

Thanks for the help!

I'm actually in first year at the moment, first of all it does have Math's which can be difficult at times (believe me I know,grr).

Their are a few aspects to the course:

Multimedia, (Graphic's,photo/video editing,the web)
    One language you choose (French or German)
    Math's (:mad:)
    Business Application's (like Microsoft Office etc...)
    Business Adminstation (Intro to Law,Economic's)

Type of job's you could come out with: You better hope this recession tone's down :pac: Photographer,Web Designer,TV among other's...

As for accomidation: Cuirt na Rasai+ Tir na gCapall,do not go anywhere near these place's unless you or one of your good mate's has a car,because there a good 30 min. walk to the college! (I live in Cuirt na Rasai....:()

Glasan is the best for 1st years really,good craic to had down there,right beside the college,just be wary of two things:

1. The management,they will screw you over at every opportunity.
    2. The noise if you require sleep :rolleyes:

There is also Gleann na Ri which is 15 min walk and not great from what Ive heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

donmeister wrote: »
    As for accomidation: Cuirt na Rasai+ Tir na gCapall,do not go anywhere near these place's unless you or one of your good mate's has a car,because there a good 30 min. walk to the college! (I live in Cuirt na Rasai....:()

I've done that course and did stay in Cuirt na Rasai.
    And lol, it's no 30 minute walk.
    You can do it in under 20 minutes at a brisk pace if you go through Castlepark no bother. And no more then a 10 minute cycle.

It's not so far :)

I do agree with you on the noise in Glasan, it's terrible
    Yep, the management screwed me over too!

Edit: The course had a different name back then and the points were far higher but meh, it's more or less the same course

mikemac wrote: »
    I've done that course and did stay in Cuirt na Rasai.
    And lol, it's no 30 minute walk.
    You can do it in under 20 minutes at a brisk pace if you go through Castlepark no bother. And no more then a 10 minute cycle.

It's not so far :)

It is a 30 min if relaxed,:pac: but it is awful far when you consider Glasan is right across the road,I ended up in Cuirt na Rasai because I was really rushed into my decision,regreting it right now!:(
    do agree with you on the noise in Glasan, it's terrible
    Yep, the management screwed me over too!

So it's safe to assume this happen's to everyone! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It is a 30 min if relaxed,:pac: but it is awful far ..

Lazy fecker :p
    I'd say a person on crutches could get from Cuirt na Rasai to GMIT in 30 minutes, you're one slow walker!
    A good cycle too but that hill in Castlepark is a bitch when you're dying from a hangover and feeling terribly unfit. Been there, done that.
    I'd definitly advise cycling over walking, sure you could even go back to your flat for a while in your lunch hour if you wanted
    So it's safe to assume this happen's to everyone! :eek:

I'd imagine so. Happened to just about everyone I know who stayed there.
    This was 2000, it was still being built and people moving in would be landed with bills for hundreds. It was the builders who ran up these bills!
    Hey, we didn't even have internet in Glasnan back then and oh, we were promised it'd be installed. No shops or launderette either.

A good cycle too but that hill in Castlepark is a bitch when you're dying from a hangover and feeling terribly unfit. Been there, done that.

Same as,unfortunately! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Cheers for the reply's, although you say there's maths involved would i be right in saying there would be a lot less then the other computer courses. Also do you have to do a language the whole way through the degree or can you drop it after first year. Id be interested in doing some of the other Computer courses as i think i would be more suited to programming/technical side of things rather then design, but then again maths is my downfall :D

And last but not least is there any decent houses for students to rent around GMIT? I think it could be hard for al 5 of us to get into the same house in one of the student villages.

Cheers for the reply's, although you say there's maths involved would i be right in saying there would be a lot less then the other computer courses. Also do you have to do a language the whole way through the degree or can you drop it after first year. Id be interested in doing some of the other Computer courses as i think i would be more suited to programming/technical side of things rather then design, but then again maths is my downfall :D

A considerable amount less to be honest! If design isnt your thing there is Software Development,which might be more suited to you,and alot of those subjects I mentioned above tie in with this course(Math's,the Language's) As for dropping one after 1st AFAIK it's for 3 year's,so out of luck there :pac:
    last but not least is there any decent houses for students to rent around GMIT? I think it could be hard for al 5 of us to get into the same house in one of the student villages.

Of course,there loads of house for rent,in place's like Lurgan Park,Mervue,and Ballybane,plenty with room for 5 lad's,just make sure you check out the www.Galway Advertiser.ie regularly to see whats available,and if not I think you can request to places like Glasan for 3 to be in one apartment then the other two sharing in an adjoining apt. Or a 4 bed,with 2 sharing?

Hope this helps ye on yer way! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 manunited104

yup its true that management are a pain. You dont even have the liberty to wash your own clothes but you have to go to a laundrette. Also thhe glasan store is ridiculously dear for students. you'd buy two items an they'd cost 10euro you may as well say. The staff at reception are not one bit helpful, they are so slow at responding and when you ask them to solve a problem in the house it's like pulling teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Wexler12

Ive got my course deferred and im starting in September,any advive on accommodation for someone going by them self. Any more info on Glasan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭mike o

would the languages require you to have studied them before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭redshoulder

For Mechanical Enginnering, They start from scratch in first year.
    You can drop the languages in second year if you want. I'm sure its the same with most courses.

mike o wrote: »
    would the languages require you to have studied them before?

For Software Development and Digital Media you dont have to have any knowledge of them when starting off in first year.

Currently in Second Year of Business Computing & Digital Media. To be honest the title itself is a bit of a misnomer. You do do some Digital Media aspect in first year (photoshop, video editing, flash etc.), but not so much in the second year. For the first part of the year you do what's called Quantitive Methods (it's pretty much just statistics). After that you do Accounting for the second part.

You don't have to do a language this year. You can decide to do an elective (photography and then computer forensics - it's not like it sounds. It is basically how to collect evidence from computers and whatnot).

The biggest aspect of the course is web design. You'll have a group project and an individual project. Both are pretty easy if you put the work in. But the biggest advantage is that you'll have Dr. Bob as a lecturer.

As for jobs - during the year Dr Bob sets you up with some possible contracts; people who want websites designed. You get paid to do these. And the money can be pretty decent too.

With regards to accomodation; if you intend to have parties stay the hell away from Glasan. Their security are nuts. Cuirt Na Rasai are nice houses, but they are a bit out - though I think the number 9 bus goes out by there? Gleann Na Ri are nice too - but I don't know if you can get a place for 5. Why just stick to the Student villages? There's plenty of house in and around there- check out daft.ie or the Galway advertiser for accomodation in Ballybane, Lurgan Park, or even Wellpark (if you don't mind the 15 minute walk in)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 elcy86

Dont go near Tir na gCapall ... living here now ..the woman running it is a dope and never here! our water doesnt work properly, our oven doesnt work, the door to our apartment wouldnt lock at one stage and took her 2 weeks to sort it out, none of the lights in our sitting room work, she moved our 3rd person to another apartment making our esb between 2 instead of 3, and is definitely ripping us off with it!!!!

Im just a little annoyed :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭mike o

would you need to have prior knowledge of any of the topics covered going into the course?

mike o wrote: »
    would you need to have prior knowledge of any of the topics covered going into the course?

Not really to be honest,as long as you have an interest in Computers beforehand, like at the start of last year, I dint have a clue of Photoshop,Flash or Premiere Pro (All adobe products) but now I have a really good handle on them! Its a clique,but if you are willing to learn,it will all fall into place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

This is my first choice and software development is my second, however I wish now it was other way around. I'd prefer more programming rather than accounting. Is there much accounting in the course?
    I think both courses can lead to a lot of same jobs.....true?