Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snapshot of modern PO policing

• 14-01-2009 5:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

Amazing how the same faces surface at all these events, be it climate change or Gaza protest. Mostly 20-30 something masked/hooded european males, with very little knowledge of climate change issues, who probably couldn't pick out Israel on a map.

To quote a more senior colleague: "Once there, we can stand in rows and people can then throw lumps of wood or bricks in our direction. Things will then happen which you won’t see on the telly; up close they will spit in our faces, try and punch us in the groin area or stamp on the top of our feet with work boots".

Maybe I'm getting cynical in my old age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

It always amazes me how people say their protest is peaceful until you see the likes of videos above. No doubt videos will be heavily edited to show the police in a bad light and the blame laid squarely on the police

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Then of course you have groups like this; http://www.fitwatch.blogspot.com whose aim, per their own site is to: "act in solidarity with each other, supporting campaigns by being at meetings and protests, making it harder for the police to film and gather intelligence.

We hope to encourage a culture where their presence is not acceptable and to act when we see people being followed and harassed.

We aim to make it harder for them to photograph and intimidate us by getting in the way of their cameras, taking photos and publishing as much information as we can about them on our blog."

These types have no interest in the event at which they pitch up, instead trying to hijack and agitate in an attempt to have a poke at the Old Bill. Genius.

metman wrote: »
    Then of course you have groups like this; http://www.fitwatch.blogspot.com whose aim, per their own site is to: "act in solidarity with each other, supporting campaigns by being at meetings and protests, making it harder for the police to film and gather intelligence.

Had a quick look at their site. Small pieces about Gaza and the rest about the police. Really makes me wonder if they protest for the cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Good footage. A strong, disciplined presence works.

Metman=met-man? Have ye met, men?

picture.php?albumid=383&pictureid=1965

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I see they have cushion yokes on their shields...the Gardai are aware of this and are using such devices which will be issued to all Gardai by 2050...

Woolworths-cushion.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

donvito99 wrote: »
    I see they have cushion yokes on their shields...the Gardai are aware of this and are using such devices which will be issued to all Gardai by 2050...

Woolworths-cushion.jpg

The contract has gone to a local nursing home, and there residents are currently in the process of hand making/stitching 14,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

deadwood wrote: »
    Good footage. A strong, disciplined presence works.

Metman=met-man? Have ye met, men?

Sorry, we got a new Bobby on the boards?...

Nope..just seen what the problem was....

Bowing back out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/july/18/newsid_2514000/2514727.stm

They don't make riots like they used to....
    Apparently Garda tactics on this day involved throwing the bricks and missiles back at the crowd before charging them, also a truck that was being used to blare out provo propaganda had its tyres slashed by some enterprising garda with a knife. Proper order!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Used to work with a hippy type in a former job. He was on all those may day marches and the like. The one that kicked off a few year sback put an end to that. A few smacks of a baton for acting the dick and the guy decided to skip future marches :). Funny how the attitude changes when you arnt let freely fling rocks and swing sticks at the Gards without fear of reprisal. Pity they all dont feel the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Climate Expert

What the Gardai did at the Reclaim the Streets event was a disgrace.

No law abiding Garda or citizen should be proud of their actions on that day.

What the Gardai did at the Reclaim the Streets event was a disgrace.

No law abiding Garda or citizen should be proud of their actions on that day.

been done to death here thb. no point going over it again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

by the accounts i read the police trapped people into a space, with one set of police telling the people to go that way and the other set telling to go the oppposite and pushing them when they don't comply, people start to get squashed and injured and thus have to defend their space.

i've seen police laugh when they told they telling people to go two directions at once and squashing them.

by the accounts i read the police trapped people into a space, with one set of police telling the people to go that way and the other set telling to go the oppposite and pushing them when they don't comply, people start to get squashed and injured and thus have to defend their space.

i've seen police laugh when they told they telling people to go two directions at once and squashing them.

Surely people are not that indecisive that when given 2 options they cant choose even one? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

I worked with a girls whos father was a career protestor. Every protest in Ireland and the UK with a few in mainland europe and he was there.

He was serious about all this and against the government until Thursday arrived and he collected his dole money from the stinking government. Thats true by the way, he even admitted it to me and justified it by saying planes and lodgings arent free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

TheNog wrote: »
    Surely people are not that indecisive that when given 2 options they cant choose even one? :pac:

ah yes fun and games for you, how are people supposed to react to pushed into space smaller then there are.

Check out the restraint exercised by the serials despite blatant attempts to injure and incite. In the second vid, take a look at some of the weapons being carried by so-called peaceful protesters ha ha.

Usual rubbish from Tarquin in the second video, 'end state oppression and violence'.....amazing how many of these numpties come from very well-to-do families......yet have such little common sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Yep STATE violence was clearly evident allright. :rolleyes:

Theres three points here,
    1. If asshole wants to use violence to save Palestine from Israel then why does he not get a on a plane and actually fight Israelis??? Answer: because hes talking **** and knows what would happen to him if he ever encountered a genuinely oppresive state.

2. How much patience and restraint can you have? Ever instinct in the cops body must have been yelling 'charge' and in my opinion, its that very order that should be given faster. Why should we stand back watching these guys throwing missiles at us, private premises and destroying the public area?

3. Fair play to the horses. My dog would **** himself and hide behind me if someone so much as raised their voices at him.

Eru wrote: »
    My dog would **** himself and hide behind me if someone so much as raised their voices at him.

You need to get yourself one of these furry landsharks, they're super dooper :D

And yeah the horses did a sterling job as always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Metman,

Is it part of Public Order Policing policy in the Met to kinda grunt/shout when charging, cos its damn well effective, I was crappin myself lookin at it.