Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Markus Schulz @ Letrik, Tivoli, February 14th 2008

• 13-01-2009 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭

LETRIK meets PLANET LOVE

Saturday February 14th 2009

@ Tivoli Theatre Francis Street Dublin

Main Stage
    MARKUS SCHULZ [3HR SET]
    JOHN GIBBONS
    + Support

Doors 10pm-till late. Strictly over 18s ID required
    [Garda|Passport|Drivers Licence] (R.O.A.R)

Tickets avalible from ticketmaster outlets nationwide

Can't wait for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

how much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Dunno yet, maybe €20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Tiesto

no freaking way am i missing this!!
    My favourite!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Has anything been done about the absolutely ridiculos Queing situation outside this place? Doormen searching and checking eveyones ID and still people out of there face inside. If theyre goign to hold the q up that much theyd want to be doing a good job otherwise move it on a bit quicker. I know many peopel who have stopped going to these vents cause of the q outside. ****in joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Slunk wrote: »
    Has anything been done about the absolutely ridiculos Queing situation outside this place? Doormen searching and checking eveyones ID and still people out of there face inside. If theyre goign to hold the q up that much theyd want to be doing a good job otherwise move it on a bit quicker. I know many peopel who have stopped going to these vents cause of the q outside. ****in joke

Nope the Q is still the same. If your only waiting 45 minutes after doors your lucky. Hope they learn their lesson eventually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭madma

would be up for this gig but a year ago went to above&beyond in tivoli it was a joke 2 hours in the q freezing and i remember was there so long had about 4 cans thats how bad it was missed another dj i wanted to see too. that puts me off goin to places like that where your standing in a q for half the night, should be able to walk straight in or 5 minutes at waiting

madma wrote: »
    would be up for this gig but a year ago went to above&beyond in tivoli it was a joke 2 hours in the q freezing and i remember was there so long had about 4 cans thats how bad it was missed another dj i wanted to see too. that puts me off goin to places like that where your standing in a q for half the night, should be able to walk straight in or 5 minutes at waiting

I queued for close on an hour to see PvD in Tripod last May and over in Ministry of Sound on December 19th there were folks queuing to see Markus & Armin from 9pm (Doors open at 10pm), when I showed up at 10:30pm the queue was back out and around the corner for a good stretch so there was a long wait there too in the cold.

It wouldn't put me off in the slightest but I wonder if there's a guestlist

Tickets are €25, available now

dcdggn.jpg

483001431a9922412428l.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Tickets are €25, available now

dcdggn.jpg

483001431a9922412428l.jpg
    All the queuing and yet the establishment still doesnt achieve its goal?

Time they employ a bit of common sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Ian Mac

1.cloak room was full by 11
    2.idiots keep jumpin up on stage to the disgust of mr schulz
    3.some guy walks straight across him hands in the air thought nothing of it till you see blood pissing from his back.
    4.fighting erupts when the chap finally makes his way to the cloak room.
    5.just seemed like random people fighting in a texas bar room brawl.6.bouncers got slaps
    6.they had the shutters down tryin to stop the little skangers from gettin back in
    7.more jumpin on stage resulting in schulz putting his headphones down an gonna walk
    8.continues on wiith it then garda swamp the place..
    9.at this point i thought not again left the place to see more fighting with an ambulance and a gang of scumbags killing each other while the paramedics trying to do their job

Absolute havoc up there last night according to a friend of mine on another board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Tiesto

Ian Mac wrote: »
    Absolute havoc up there last night according to a friend of mine on another board.

summed it up pretty well.
    Forgot to add that someone got stabbed at it too..
    serious amount of scum though...
    I really enjoyed it up until they kicked off..

i need an i.d aswell
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdBQ-OLJWMo

What a disgrace.

1.cloak room was full by 11
    2.idiots keep jumpin up on stage to the disgust of mr schulz
    3.some guy walks straight across him hands in the air thought nothing of it till you see blood pissing from his back.
    4.fighting erupts when the chap finally makes his way to the cloak room.
    5.just seemed like random people fighting in a texas bar room brawl.6.bouncers got slaps
    6.they had the shutters down tryin to stop the little skangers from gettin back in
    7.more jumpin on stage resulting in schulz putting his headphones down an gonna walk
    8.continues on wiith it then garda swamp the place..
    9.at this point i thought not again left the place to see more fighting with an ambulance and a gang of scumbags killing each other while the paramedics trying to do their job

The guy in 3, the one with the blood, that's the fella that got stabbed. When he got his coat there was a bit of a mill alright.

Markus was within seconds of walking off by the looks of it, can't say I blame him because the night was heading downhill and FAST!

There were a lot of new tunes played last night, and the night before in Ministry of Sound, including that one you want an ID of there Tiesto. You'll have to wait for it though, you're/we're probably only the second live crowd to hear that one :D

Markus has a compilation out on March 8th called Toronto '09, so get in your pre-orders, gonna be massive!

24qr7fq.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Queued for about 2 mins, in by about 10:45, didnt see a hint of trouble anywhere tbh. Not a fraction of the amount of scum at the Lisa Lashes gig in December, **** me that was hairy.

shane86 wrote: »
    Queued for about 2 mins, in by about 10:45, didnt see a hint of trouble anywhere tbh. Not a fraction of the amount of scum at the Lisa Lashes gig in December, **** me that was hairy.

Did you have your eyes closed? :p

There were lumps being torn out of people left right and centre, from the dancefloor where people landed on others after getting off the stage, to the bloke being slashed/stabbed with the knife, to the massive scuffle over by the coat room and out onto the street.

All it'd take to stop at least some of the fights would be to keep people off the stage by putting those crowd control barriers about 4 ft away from the stage and throwing two security guys in there to stop folks climbing over it. Then people don't land on other people when they get down and there's no need to fists to fly over it :pac:

I don't think I'll be heading to a Tivoli gig though, I like my crowd a little classier with less of a scum element. I also like knowing there's more than 10 or 11 folks on security (including the 4 who do tickets/outside queue and the VIP area :eek:) ..7 blokes have a hard time keeping a crowd of 800 folks under control if a ruck breaks out

..7 blokes have a hard time keeping a crowd of 800 folks under control if a ruck breaks out

+1000

I feel sorry for the security in the tivoli they definitely need a few more bodies.

Davei141 wrote: »
    +1000

I feel sorry for the security in the tivoli they definitely need a few more bodies.

Yeah, definitely could do with some more bodies. Ministry of Sound holds like 2000 and there are easily 30+ guys on security (or maybe they all look different on the second pass, I can never tell :p)

This just confirms what I knew already. Absolute joke of a venue. Was persuaded to give it another go with Ferry and after all that comotion I swore id never go again and now this. Obviously they have not learnt there lessons and will continue to run nights like this until more people realise what a ****in joke the place is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

haha bunch of f*ckin clowns running these events. What's better is the absolute gobsh1tes that pay money to go to these circuses. I know most were pre-booked, but I don't know how anyone could be stupid enough to pay money to go to another Tivoli/PLM event after the Ferry Corsten fiasco (which I'm still sans refund for, btw).

Another laughable cocktail of a pi$$ poor venue, security etc / scum element / joke of promoters inevitably passing the buck of responsibility, yet continuing to book this sh1tehole on the cheap for their events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

This just confirms what I knew already. Absolute joke of a venue. Was persuaded to give it another go with Ferry and after all that comotion I swore id never go again and now this. Obviously they have not learnt there lessons and will continue to run nights like this until more people realise what a ****in joke the place is.

Its the Dj that attracts the crowd and not the venue. Security has a bit to do with it but I dont think you can blame the venue for somebody getting stabbed. Thats purely down to the individual who does it and unfortunatly people who carry knives like Trance and not Techno, Electro or DnB. Plenty of nights in Tivoli go off without a hitch. Its only the Trance ones that have problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

consultech wrote: »
    haha bunch of f*ckin clowns running these events. What's better is the absolute gobsh1tes that pay money to go to these circuses. I know most were pre-booked, but I don't know how anyone could be stupid enough to pay money to go to another Tivoli/PLM event after the Ferry Corsten fiasco (which I'm still sans refund for, btw).

Another laughable cocktail of a pi$$ poor venue, security etc / scum element / joke of promoters inevitably passing the buck of responsibility, yet continuing to book this sh1tehole on the cheap for their events.

you can't blame the promotors, for the people who are let in the door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

What would you think if you paid me 30 blips, as the main dance promoter in Ireland charged with bringing popular DJ's to Eire, for a show I was putting on, and I booked an absolute shitehole of a venue with wildly inadequate security/bad drugs problem/no late licence/issues with the gardai/scum crowds?

Let's say said venue got shut down by gardai at said event; and low and behold the next event is in the same place.

Promoter's not responsible for choosing the venue? GTFO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Jaysus this sounds shocking and back to the dark days of the Harp or The Olympic when it reopened when there was regular fights, a stabbing though is very serious, im certainly glad im not into todays trance nonsense if this is the type of crowd it attracts, you certainly cannot blame the Tivoli, sure i was at 2 nites there last year Kenny Dope and Joey Negro and both nites were excellent and the crowd were sound, evidently trance and hard house attracts undesirables in Dublin:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

Have to agree, went to see Tony Humphries there a couple of months ago and it was one of the best nights I had in a long time. Brilliant crowd, brilliant tunes and I actually thought it was a great venue for a house night. Planet Love events attract knackers.

Yeah im gutted i missed Tony Humphries heard it was excellent but it clashed with Bohs away in Cobh the fancy dress trip and that was some buzz:pac:

Promoter's not responsible for choosing the venue? GTFO.

yes the promotors do choose the venue

and when do you think these promotors booked this venue.. last month!!
    more than likely last year

what does GTFO mean
    wildly inadequate security/bad drugs problem/no late licence/issues with the gardai/scum crowds

none of this has anything got to do with the promotor

GTFO = Get the **** Out!

MikeHoncho is talking bull****, I've been to see Markus in Donegal, and three times so far at the Ministry of Sound in London (including Friday, as in the day before the Tivoli gig). Not a hint of trouble at the venue, outside or in.

The promotor doesn't have that much control (if any) over the late license, security, who's let it at the door etc etc. However, people were searched that night, the knife was concealed pretty damn well if what I hear is to be believed.

I don't know if it's the Planet Love name (which as somebody said already may attract a bad crowd) or what the story is, but I went to see PvD in Tripod last May, and a friend of mine went to see Armin in Tripod the month before that and there wasn't a bit of bother at either so you can't quite blame the genre of music. I've been to a few Letrik events too in other locations, no real bother there either.

The last two trance events, at the Tivoli, promoted by PLM, there was trouble so something is clearly amiss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

GTFO = Get the **** Out!

MikeHoncho is talking bull****, I've been to see Markus in Donegal, and three times so far at the Ministry of Sound in London

We are talking about Dublin though and the crowd that Trance attracts in Dublin can be undesireable. Im not talking bull**** by the way. Why can the Tivoli have nights like Kenny Dope, Joey Negro, Tony Humphries, Ricardo Villalobos or any of the nights put on by Plug, Electric City or Remedy and have no problems at all but put on a Trance night and you have killings.

Look maybe its a combination of a few things (Venue + DJ + promoter). Tripod as you mentioned rarely has any problems but they have and always have had a pretty strict door policy. I did say in my first post that security is probably partly to blame but you have to admit that these things happen more often at Trance nights. Im not putting it down as a genre or saying everyone that listens to it is scum just that it does bring a certain element with it.

Also it must be stressed that Psy Trance wouldn't attract any desirables whereas your normal Euro Trance unfortunately does appear to (im not suggesting everyone into Trance is an undesirable but there does appear to be quite a few which is evident from the nite in question)

Somehow i cant see Mr Shulz returning to Dublin in a hurry:eek:

jonny68 wrote: »
    Also it must be stressed that Psy Trance wouldn't attract any desirables whereas your normal Euro Trance unfortunately does appear to (im not suggesting everyone into Trance is an undesirable but there does appear to be quite a few which is evident from the nite in question)

Somehow i cant see Mr Shulz returning to Dublin in a hurry:eek:

i can't see planetlove or letrik doing another gig in the tivoli either, too much bad publicity, a mate of mine(female) was bottled in there in saturday night

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    We are talking about Dublin though and the crowd that Trance attracts in Dublin can be undesireable. Im not talking bull**** by the way. Why can the Tivoli have nights like Kenny Dope, Joey Negro, Tony Humphries, Ricardo Villalobos or any of the nights put on by Plug, Electric City or Remedy and have no problems at all but put on a Trance night and you have killings.

Look maybe its a combination of a few things (Venue + DJ + promoter). Tripod as you mentioned rarely has any problems but they have and always have had a pretty strict door policy. I did say in my first post that security is probably partly to blame but you have to admit that these things happen more often at Trance nights. Im not putting it down as a genre or saying everyone that listens to it is scum just that it does bring a certain element with it.

I didn't mean to sound so harsh, I'm sorry. You just said it was the DJ that draws the bad crowd, so I was highlighting it's not really because many Markus gigs over here and elsewhere don't attract that bad crowd. What you mean is it's the genre? Because I agree that Trance does seem to have way more incidents that any other genre that I've been to an event for :)

Hard Trance (e.g. Lisa Lashes, Tidy Boys) does definitely bring in that scum element, it's a shame really because I don't do the drugs thing, nor the scum thing. I'm just a normal joe who likes this type of music and then my night goes and gets ruined by this sort of carry on by complete muppets!

Markus will be back at some stage, I'm sure he understands (like Ferry) that this wasn't the fault of any of his real fans, just the minority as per usual!
    senan s wrote: »
    i can't see planetlove or letrik doing another gig in the tivoli either, too much bad publicity, a mate of mine(female) was bottled in there in saturday night

Jaysus, sorry to hear that. Hope she's all right, as well as the dude who got stabbed and anybody else caught up in the crossfire of the hooligans. I really think for gigs like Markus, Armin, PvD you need somewhere strict like Tripod or even The Vaults because thats what it takes. MOS is incredibly strict, you get patted down, complete bag checks and have to pass through metal detectors before getting into the place. There's easily 10 blokes on security OUTSIDE the venue, never mind inside. Show up in a tracksuit? Haha, you must be joking :P

jasus Gary is there any venue that you will go to in Dublin?? anway trance is pants(well all that new stuff anyway)

Trance/Hard House should have one venue where they can all go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭FLYNN-DOG

jonny68 wrote: »
    Trance/Hard House should have one venue where they can all go.

Yeah.....hell!

senan s wrote: »
    jasus Gary is there any venue that you will go to in Dublin?? anway trance is pants(well all that new stuff anyway)

Yeah, Ill go pretty much anywhere :) Just havent been in ages due to severe lack of funds and others going unfortunately mate. Paying for a few trips away so cant be blowing money going out here anymore :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Ian Mac

Schulz's Blog:

"After a little bit of sleep and recovery, Saturday morning was spent getting my mind set for a Valentine's Day in Dublin. My flight was delayed by a couple of hours due to the snow, but I managed to get checked in early evening and began working on some edits for the night, in between reading all the Valentine's e-cards I received. I met up with a few friends and sympathised with the lack of Valentine's attention they received on the day.

We headed to Tivoli in good time, to catch the tail end of resident John Gibbons’ set. He was throwing down some cool groovy tunes, and the crowd were pretty boisterous already. I have said many times in the past, that I love playing in Ireland because of the passion of the crowd, but unfortunately, there were a few moments on Saturday night when a couple of individuals overstepped the mark. Without going into specific details, the gig was forced to end slightly early due to the intervention of the police, and security being unable to handle the volume of trouble caused by certain people. I really didn’t want to have to end the set, and despite asking if I could continue playing, I was advised to leave the stage for my own safety.

My overriding feeling was nothing but disappointment. I know that some of you have commented on the message boards saying that you could see the look of unhappiness on my face towards the end of the night, and I do apologise for that. But there is something I want to make very clear to everyone who attended the club on Saturday night.

I feel so incredibly sorry for everyone who had travelled the length of the country to come to Dublin, including a few people from my forums who I had hoped to meet after the set had finished but couldn't. It is just so sad that a small portion of people, who probably had no interest in being there for the music, has tarnished the reputation of the promoters and 99% of the Irish clubbers. I want to assure you all that Saturday night was not the last time I will play in Ireland. I love and appreciate your support, how passionate you are for the music and faith you continually show in me, and I promise you, I will be back. The bottom line is, if we give in to the mindless idiots who spoil the night for everyone, we are the ones who ultimately lose out. My job is to go out there and entertain, but at the same time, it has to be fun and safe for both the fans and myself.

I am due to play at the Planetlove Summer Session festival at Fairyhouse in June, and despite the incidents of Saturday, I will be immensely looking forward to it."

Honest and true , just the way I like it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭FLYNN-DOG

Ian Mac wrote: »
    Schulz's Blog:

"After a little bit of sleep and recovery, Saturday morning was spent getting my mind set for a Valentine's Day in Dublin. My flight was delayed by a couple of hours due to the snow, but I managed to get checked in early evening and began working on some edits for the night, in between reading all the Valentine's e-cards I received. I met up with a few friends and sympathised with the lack of Valentine's attention they received on the day.

We headed to Tivoli in good time, to catch the tail end of resident John Gibbons’ set. He was throwing down some cool groovy tunes, and the crowd were pretty boisterous already. I have said many times in the past, that I love playing in Ireland because of the passion of the crowd, but unfortunately, there were a few moments on Saturday night when a couple of individuals overstepped the mark. Without going into specific details, the gig was forced to end slightly early due to the intervention of the police, and security being unable to handle the volume of trouble caused by certain people. I really didn’t want to have to end the set, and despite asking if I could continue playing, I was advised to leave the stage for my own safety.

My overriding feeling was nothing but disappointment. I know that some of you have commented on the message boards saying that you could see the look of unhappiness on my face towards the end of the night, and I do apologise for that. But there is something I want to make very clear to everyone who attended the club on Saturday night.

I feel so incredibly sorry for everyone who had travelled the length of the country to come to Dublin, including a few people from my forums who I had hoped to meet after the set had finished but couldn't. It is just so sad that a small portion of people, who probably had no interest in being there for the music, has tarnished the reputation of the promoters and 99% of the Irish clubbers. I want to assure you all that Saturday night was not the last time I will play in Ireland. I love and appreciate your support, how passionate you are for the music and faith you continually show in me, and I promise you, I will be back. The bottom line is, if we give in to the mindless idiots who spoil the night for everyone, we are the ones who ultimately lose out. My job is to go out there and entertain, but at the same time, it has to be fun and safe for both the fans and myself.

I am due to play at the Planetlove Summer Session festival at Fairyhouse in June, and despite the incidents of Saturday, I will be immensely looking forward to it."

Honest and true , just the way I like it :D

I can't stand his music...but fair play to the guy...