Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Airsoft Girls

• 13-01-2009 6:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

Hi guys and girls,

I have noticed OzCam had kindly started a thread, I have been away from my computer so never got a chance to comment on some of your posts.

I can see there is mixed views about NAG which is understandable.

I can see the point about "why should there need to be NAG or a move to push more females into the sport"

This is a very good point.. yes airsoft is for both male and female players, NAG just wants to help the exsisting female players and also new recruits to communicate, support and improve the gameplay.

I found it slightly intemidating when I first started by being surrounded by a mass of men..but with time I got used to it... but still there was something missing..comraidship.. the guys didnt have a problem of me joining them during the game and i am a welcomed part of a large team of 30 odd guys that attend big events here in the U.K.

when your out on the field its amazing and inspiring to watch team formations moving stealthy thru the game, accomplishing tasks and working as a group.
    This dosent come over night this is from many months training but also socialising, when you communicate outside the airsoft site you get to know your fellow team mates so well you build up that trust and comraidship...

Some ladies may find this a challenge, I thought personally it was a good idea to try to help assist this by having the website, forum and training schedules. It started off as a much smaller idea of me getting a few more females to join me at my local site but its now become something much bigger.

Many girls are really happy that NAG is there, its comforting that there will be a friendly face there to help support and get you thru your first few skirmishes and help give you advice on what gun to buy or what sort of loadout (I choose certain products as I know its easier to wear and play a game in becuase its suitable for a girls body).

I personally have gone out of my way to help girls who were "interested" into doing airsoft, to providing them with loadouts and guns, taking them to a site and showing them the ropes..these are girls who would have otherwise not dared to just turn up at a site by themselves or with another friend. I know some of my other girls have done this also. It has provided these newbies a sense of "belonging" to something and then they have come along week after week.

For the more experience girl airsofters I know we benifit from teaching each other tactics, or just generally have a laff about airsoft, just as you guys do no different. Some girls maybe interested in having training and pushing themselves harder in the sport by learning tactics but just dont have the facilities or contacts to do so, so were helping facilitate that.

Also I know my other half was comforted by the fact that I was going to catterick with a few other girls when we went for the Scotland vs England game, as there were 150 other guys there too, its a fact of life, us ladies have families also and having to fit airsoft around a busy homelife, its nice to have someone else there to talk to about these sort of things too.

NAG is a good thing, im not out to proove a point or to become a sufferagete movement amongst airsoft theres loads of girls out there and have been out there for some time, and maybe NAG isnt for every girl but the posistive responses I have had and the smiling faces I see on the girls after a good day skirmishing/milsiming makes it worth all the hours spent training, researching and speaking to fellow airsofters all worth it.

Its not been an easy task so far but thank you to the support I have been given it certainly helps us girls continue :)

well thats my rant over, im happy to reply to any of your questions or hear any type of comment..i love a good healthy debate..especially about something i am passionate about.. ohh and the guy who took that rediculious very demeaning female picture was shot in the hand by me, something I do not approve to do as was very childish like behaviour but sometimes accidents happen :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Welcome to the Forum.,:)

My better/other half tried out airsoft too and as you said, she found it a little intimidating. She hasn't been back out but i intend on getting her out again., :)

I think its great to see you've went out of your way to bring airsoft to girls and i would love to see more playing the game. I think before we do though the attitudes of some of us blokes needs to be changed before hand , I feel thats partly the reason my own partner hasn't been so enthusiastic about getting more involved.

good luck with the team and hope to game against ya sometime.,:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

Yeah good on ya, some girls (gizmo I'm looking in your direction ;)) didn't need the likes of NAG to overcome the intimidation of breaking into a male dominated sport, other girls, it seems, get a lot out of the support offered by NAG and I applaud yuz for it.

Plus the training programme on your website is a lot tougher than the training that many of our all male teams do, so respect where respect is due and hats (but not facemasks) off to ya. I hope to get the chance to play against yuz at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Well my GF is all fired up to go to a game with me, so i'm gonna save a bit of money and buy her some kit so we can settle arguements on the skirmish field :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 christina-nag

... hopefully somepoint ill be able to cross the waters and go do some airsofting and visit my family

Thanks for your kind comments

Christina

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Jimbobak47

At the Dkit airsoft soc we have a small group of girls who play/train regularly and get involved, we have them integrated into the main team but also as an all girls team. I hope you guys do well with the NAG and if you would like pictures or anything at all, I can help as best as I can. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

fair play to you gals, i dont see harm in what you are doing, good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

G3-Nut wrote: »
    fair play to you gals, i dont see harm in what you are doing, good luck!

I do not think anyone sees any harm in it, because there is none there in the first place.

It feels like previous threads were made just to see what sort of stupid debates could happen.

There is no debate or anything. More players the better. And with a more consistent female player base present at various sites I think that will help greatly to attract new female players, who as mentioned, may find it hard to break straight in and might prefer to have other woman there.

I know this is the case with my girlfriend, although im well confident she would be grand, and would b ea heck of an airsofter , shes a shy type of person and i dont know exactly how to go about getting her into games.

But yeah fair play to you for giving up your time for the good of the sport and aiding the growth of female players.

Good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

the world is filled with 2 distinct groups and we all need to accept it....

there are airsofters and then there are 'those' people who have not played yet

and remember

(said in my best full metal jacket US marine Colonel accent)
    inside every one of 'those' people is an airsofter trying to get out....

I know this is the case with my girlfriend, although im well confident she would be grand, and would b ea heck of an airsofter , shes a shy type of person and i dont know exactly how to go about getting her into games.

But yeah fair play to you for giving up your time for the good of the sport and aiding the growth of female players.

Good times!

• I try not to pressurise the newbies at all take her along when shes up for it ..( not around that "special" time of the month as it will hurt her more when she gets shot, some girls have lower pain threshholds)
    • making it as fun as possible for her is the best thing to do ... one thing to suggest is leave her with a trusted friend and go on the opposing team .. then her mission for the day is to shoot you as many times as possible .. I know Im often shy around my better half then when im around my airsoft mates a different side of me comes out. She my fine great pleasure in this lol
    If she gets into it let me know and your area/site and ill give you a shout if i get in contact with any girls, then can always try sorting ut a game playing alongside them... safety in numbers and also a chance to have a manhunt :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

I had my sis out with me last year and she will definitey be out with me again. Her girlfriends looked at her, as if she had two heads, because she "wants to play war like the lads" (direct quote).

She has actually got some of them interested in trying it. I just have to arrange a date that they can come with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Am I the only one to link women to nag?
    As in "Nag nag nag nag"?
    Thin ice? You bet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

As in "Nag nag nag nag"?
    Thin ice? You bet!

no, not thin ice...

very very thick ice...

problem is...

you landed youreself underneath it lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Don't worry Genghiz, that joke was made a few threads ago.

Like I said before, it makes no difference to me what the gender of the player is.
    It feels like alot of blokes are eager to push this just to show that they're not exclusionary, but I suggest taking it easy, you could scare them off from being too eager.

I had my sis out with me last year and she will definitey be out with me again. Her girlfriends looked at her, as if she had two heads, because she "wants to play war like the lads" (direct quote).

She has actually got some of them interested in trying it. I just have to arrange a date that they can come with me.

Great stuff!, I hope it goes well ;)
    Don't worry Genghiz, that joke was made a few threads ago.

Like I said before, it makes no difference to me what the gender of the player is.
    It feels like alot of blokes are eager to push this just to show that they're not exclusionary, but I suggest taking it easy, you could scare them off from being too eager.

I actually agree with something you have written :eek: but jokes aside...

I Let girls know about the site and then leave it to them to sign up using the facilities on there.

If they want to receive information about the training they can. All materials on the site are avaliable for both male and female airsofters.

The 18 ladies that have signed up , have done so of their own accord.

The only time i have "cold called" personally to ladies, was when I was out in Canterbury city in Kent UK in full combats with some of the girls handing out flyers and showing them what the sport is like using magazines etc. I love the sport and if all i do on a local level is just raising awareness then thats fine by me :-)

As in "Nag nag nag nag"?
    Thin ice? You bet!

oh the irony of the name :-)

• I try not to pressurise the newbies at all take her along when shes up for it ..( not around that "special" time of the month as it will hurt her more when she gets shot, some girls have lower pain threshholds)
    • making it as fun as possible for her is the best thing to do ... one thing to suggest is leave her with a trusted friend and go on the opposing team .. then her mission for the day is to shoot you as many times as possible .. I know Im often shy around my better half then when im around my airsoft mates a different side of me comes out. She my fine great pleasure in this lol
    If she gets into it let me know and your area/site and ill give you a shout if i get in contact with any girls, then can always try sorting ut a game playing alongside them... safety in numbers and also a chance to have a manhunt :)

Thanks for the info and the offer :D

She is not up for going out in the cold or rain, so its going to be summer time for her. Warehouse might be a bit too intense, then again shes a tough nut so I dont know.

But I'll be bringing her out eventually, and the plan is that I'd just stick with her to show her the ropes, then if she wants to go solo or against me fair enough.

But it is great to know that there is someone there actually giving their time to this sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Doc tell her to screw the cinema and take her to the warehouse tommorow, ah go on

I do not want this thread to diminish into how girls pick the ****test films ever, and "being dragged" to see rambo, somehow automatically allows you to choose the next 50 films regardless...but whats the deal..

Christina, i know we have sobr traininge etc, would you be willing to hold

"Inside the female mind " training classes.

Dieing to crack that bloody nut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

I do not want this thread to diminish into how girls pick the ****test films ever, and "being dragged" to see rambo, somehow automatically allows you to choose the next 50 films regardless...but whats the deal..

That has to be the most sensible thing you have ever said doc, so bloody true.

But in fairness doc, she is only human how the hell can she give us an insight to the female mind, no one has any clue what the hell goes on in there half the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rhinocharge

That will never happen. For 40,000 years women have confused men.
    Even if they do tell you what they really want & mean, in 5 minutes they'll have changed their minds anyway. You need to learn to negotiate with ice-cream & chocolate. The same way your better half will negotiate herself & your airsoft. :P:P

hahahahaa

Yes of course but you must fill in the below disclaimer , I will not be held resposible for your wife/partners actions and any injury that may be a result of training ::

I UNDERSTAND THAT:
    a. The Events are physically and mentally intense and may require extreme exertion to Learn
    b. The Events can be dangerous if not carried out in accordance with the stated rules which will be fully explained
    to the players.
    c. The possibility of injury to myself and others exists. (I agree/disagree)
    a. I am fully aware of the risks to myself and others involved in the activities and that I will never, under any circumstances, deliberately break any (better halfs) rules.

b. I am physically fit and mentally able to take the strain and exertion involved.
    c. I will comply with the (better halfs) rules and use the equipment as instructed and not so as to injure or hurt others.
    d. I will wear my safety equiptment and not remove them at any time with the exception of the designated safe zone.

RELEASE
    I hereby release, remise and forever discharge from any claims and liabilities whatsoever without limitation that I might have against the organizers/site owners, and any other player who might injure me howsoever arising, and I make this release on behalf of myself, my heirs, executors and administrators.

Signed.............................................................................Date..................................