Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Major Garda Checkpoint

• 13-01-2009 06:08PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25

I was driving north on N15 from Sligo - Donegal last Tuesday afternoon, about 2 mile North of Grange Village was a large Garda Checkpoint..
    Advanced flasing warning signs were in place "slow down now" "caution" "Garda/Customs Checkpoint Ahead".
    on approach i noticed 2 Garda motorbike's parked about 800m away from checkpoint on either side... there were maybe 2 -3 Garda cars, custom cars etc on side of road... this checkpoint apparantly lasted several hours.. why?
    at the checkpoint there were Garda, Customs, RSA, and also wat is believed to be social welfare officers?

I was stopped insurance, tax checked, lisence checked, asked few questions were i was going etc..
    I had no NCT imported car from NI (Vrt Paid)! garda never said anything.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,274 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Garda bikes for anyone doing a runner but social welfare officers, that's a new one on me. Maybe it was a big show to draw attention away from another operation they may have been mounting.

Good to hear he wasn't too worried about the NCT though.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭road_2_damascus

I dont know this for sure, but id be convinced that someone stole the social welfare checkbook, it has happened before in the NW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,274 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I dont know this for sure, but id be convinced that someone stole the social welfare checkbook, it has happened before in the NW

Surely the cheques would be useless though? Haven't ever been eligible for any kinda of state handout but would they not have to be stamped or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭road_2_damascus

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Surely the cheques would be useless though? Haven't ever been eligible for any kinda of state handout but would they not have to be stamped or something.

It happened in Buncrana last year, a 'youth' from Belfast broke into the office and made off with the checkbook, and left a trail through Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan and was caught in a Dunnes Stores in North Dublin trying to cash a cheque. As far as I know he got time for it. Most places would cash a social welfare cheque as its guarenteed money...not sure how the whole id and verification thing works though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 james08

ya but i heard from a few friends that people who were stopped in work vans, lorries etc were asked for their pps numbers? possibly claiming benefits while working? ya ther never bother bout NCT have been stopped a few times now.. its a 2001 car anyways so it in good condition!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

How would anyone know it was social welfare officers at the checkpoint?

Also if it was social welfare officers, its possible a child abduction by an estranged parent could have happened. It happens quite regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

My gut says its a move by customs to recoup VRT on imported but unregistered cars.
    Only this week the SIMI were harping on about this issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Celtic Mech

One of the guys i work with was stopped a while back at one of these Checkpoints before on his way home. First stoped by the gardai, asked a few questions etc..most likely checking him out for any hint of drink also. She asked was the car petrol or diesel...he said it was a diesel. She asked him to proceed up a few yards and pull over on side of road. It was the Customs...they dipped the tank checkin for Green Diesel. He then said the guard came along and asked him to proceed up another few yards to the Gentleman ahead from Dept of Social Welfare!!! He said the guy was one of these serious heads...asked him a few questions..where he was coming from, where he lived, marital status, how many kids, PPs number...he said he would be verifiying all the information and if anything was out of order he would be in contact within 7 days! He said he wasnt worried at all because everything on his behalf was above board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Hotwheels

Nothing new in this...From the indo Fadó Fadó

By GENE McKENNA

Monday October 04 1999

THE multi-agency checkpoints aimed at clamping down on social welfare fraud, among other things, are to continue despite Garda misgivings. THE multi-agency checkpoints aimed at clamping down on social welfare fraud, among other things, are to continue despite Garda misgivings.

Official sources have confirmed to the Irish Independent that contrary to some recent reports no decision has been taken by the Garda authorities to discontinue participation in the checkpoints.

Some reports had suggested that gardai were less than enthusiastic about the ``shared'' checkpoints and would not be co-operating in setting them in the future. It is the gardai at local level who take the lead in setting up the checkpoints and invite the inspectors and officials from the other agencies to take part.

And, it is known that two multi-agency checkpoints have operated since the doubts about their continuation emerged.

The most recent figures from the Department of Social, Community and Family Affairs covered l9 checkpoints over a period of several months.

These revealed 118 people engaged in dole fraud and their detection saved the taxpayer around £360,000.

The Garda, it is understood, will be concentrating heavily over the coming weeks on measures to cut down on speeding to try to reduce the level of road fatalities.

They will also be stepping up their efforts to clamp down even further on drink driving. This will then be carried forward into the annual pre-Christmas blitz on drink driving.

But Ministers feel there is no reason why the multi-agency checkpoints cannot be set up occasionally in tandem with Garda road checks.

The checkpoints operate under legislation passed early last year and all the agencies involved are convinced that they have been of value.

As well as gardai, the checkpoints are also manned by officials from the Departments of Social, Community and Family Affairs; Environment; Enterprise, Trade and Employment; Public Enterprise as well as Customs and Excise officials.

In addition to spot checks on social welfare fraud, the officials check for illegal fuels, excess vehicle weight and tacograph checks .

By their very nature, the checkpoints carry an element of surprise and are decided upon by the Department and agency officials themselves on an operational basis.

Ministers have stood back from direct involvement in how they are run but are particularly keen that they should be maintained.

- GENE McKENNA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

bigkev49 wrote: »

Good to hear he wasn't too worried about the NCT though.;)

'Cos clearly your tax being out of date by two months is more of a risk to the safety of other road users than a car without an NCT that could be driving around with bald tyres. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Gardai rarely care about NCT as no revenue involved. I really stretched their patience the last time though & was probably one checkpoint away from impound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Buffman

I know both Garda and Customs have a legal right to stop and question a motorist, but social welfare??? I'd be intersted to know if we are under any legal obligation to stop for them, let alone talk to them and give out all our personal information.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Darragh29 wrote: »
    'Cos clearly your tax being out of date by two months is more of a risk to the safety of other road users than a car without an NCT that could be driving around with bald tyres. :rolleyes:

It makes a mockery of the car safety campaigns when the NCT isn't taken as seriously as car tax and insurance.

What is the point of it, if all it comes down to is revenue?

mcwhirter wrote: »
    It makes a mockery of the car safety campaigns when the NCT isn't taken as seriously as car tax and insurance.

That's my point, look at the amount of money invested in a system that is designed to improve the mechanical standard of road vehicles and everyone knows that the gardai don't inforce it. You could have a car out of date for an NCT for years and they'll wave you on, and if your tax is out by two months, you have a problem, muppets the lot of em.

Buffman wrote: »
    I know both Garda and Cutoms have a legal right to stop and question a motorist, but social welfare??? I'd be intersted to know if we are under any legal obligation to stop for them, let alone talk to them and give out all our personal information.

You are under no obligation whatsoever to answer any questions relating to social welfare at a Garda checkpoint, whether asked directly by a Social Welfare Officer or indirectly by them through a Garda. I know someone will say here that you have to answer any question a Garda asks you. Well you don't.

mcwhirter wrote: »

This is because you have to go to court for this offense, no on the spot fine. This means the guard having to go through all the motions of summons, etc, for what is considered a minor offence by most judges. The only times i've heard of people being done for it is when they have no tax/insurance aswell.
    And those people don't give a fart anyway.

But you could easily meet a guard who will cease the car, if only for a drive back to the station if on foot patrol.:D

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

You are under no obligation whatsoever to answer any questions relating to social welfare at a Garda checkpoint, whether asked directly by a Social Welfare Officer or indirectly by them through a Garda. I know someone will say here that you have to answer any question a Garda asks you. Well you don't.

Thats what I was thinking. I think i'd be availing of my right to silence, not because I've anything to hide, as I don't, but to 'stick it to the man' 'as they say in the states'.

(I've no probelm with the guards or customs, but social welfare checkpoints are really taking the mike.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

NCT make NO difference to ensuring the safety of a vehicle, in two years lots of stuff in the car could be shot to sh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Thats what I was thinking. I think i'd be availing of my right to silence, not because I've anything to hide, as I don't, but to 'stick it to the man' 'as they say in the states'.

(I've no probelm with the guards or customs, but social welfare checkpoints are really taking the mike.)

So what happens when the man decides to "stick it to you" back? At best he gets to waste half an hour of your time searchign every inch of your car. At worst he makes it his business to find somethign up and takes the car/you.

Much easier to answer any questions they want to ask and be on your way. There really is no victory, moral or otherwise, in pissing people off that are doing their jobs.

Stekelly wrote: »
    So what happens when the man decides to "stick it to you" back? At best he gets to waste half an hour of your time searchign every inch of your car. At worst he makes it his business to find somethign up and takes the car/you.

Much easier to answer any questions they want to ask and be on your way. There really is no victory, moral or otherwise, in pissing people off that are doing their jobs.

I was specifically talking about social welfare people, not garda or customs. (As I said in the brackets)
    As for social welfare people searcing my car, I don't think so.

I think this is a really lazy option for them, if they really wanted to catch out welfare abusers they should be calling to their houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

That's my point, look at the amount of money invested in a system that is designed to improve the mechanical standard of road vehicles and everyone knows that the gardai don't inforce it. You could have a car out of date for an NCT for years and they'll wave you on, and if your tax is out by two months, you have a problem, muppets the lot of em.

You are a liar, you cant know all the guards in the country!!! :rolleyes:

Nice sweeping generalisation though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

You'd be obliged to stop for the social welfare peeps as its the gardai telling you to stop, but as for asking me where im going and where im coming from, they can f**k off, thats for me to know and them not to care about, theyll get my name and address, cause they will just ask the gards for it othewise! :D

timmywex wrote: »
    You'd be obliged to stop for the social welfare peeps as its the gardai telling you to stop, but as for asking me where im going and where im coming from, they can f**k off, thats for me to know and them not to care about, theyll get my name and address, cause they will just ask the gards for it othewise! :D

Yeah, your obliged to stop for a cop. If the Social Welfare gimp starts quizzing you, you are well within your rights to tell him to go fu*k himself as you are under no obligation to even listen to him/her, never mind give them a reply.

If the cop wants to become a middleman between the two of you, take his ID and head straight down to the Superintentent in whatever station he is operating out of and if you don't get an apology, make a formal complaint to the Garda Ombudsman against the both of them. The day you allow this sh*te to go unchecked is the day we are all fu*ked...

craichoe wrote: »
    NCT make NO difference to ensuring the safety of a vehicle, in two years lots of stuff in the car could be shot to sh*t

A car that is within it's NCT is a lot more likely to be safer than a car that is overdue an NCT. People who don't bother getting an NCT are the same people in my experience who don't bother getting a car serviced until the wheels are falling off...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Occam

Yeah, your obliged to stop for a cop. If the Social Welfare gimp starts quizzing you, you are well within your rights to tell him to go fu*k himself as you are under no obligation to even listen to him/her, never mind give them a reply.

Hmm and now I see why its not a good idea for people to give legal advice on Boards :rolleyes: See S.26 Social Welfare Act 1999 .

You are obliged to stop for the social welfare officer if he\she is accompanied by a Garda. You are obliged to listen to the questions, however obviously you may use right of silence. The social welfare officer may also inspect and or seize documents in the car relating to employment.
    If the cop wants to become a middleman between the two of you, take his ID and head straight down to the Superintentent in whatever station he is operating out of and if you don't get an apology, make a formal complaint to the Garda Ombudsman against the both of them. The day you allow this sh*te to go unchecked is the day we are all fu*ked...

If you carry on as you suggest I've a feeling they will bring you to the station themselves. While you are fully entitled to make a complaint to the ombudsman, in this case it would be totally unfounded :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Checkpoint at Barntown , Co Wexford last Monday morning 8/10 Garda AND Social Welfare Officers ...............Checked for everything including tachographs ........

Asked for PPS Number , employer name and if he/she was paying you correctly ie. deducting paye/prsi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭reverandkenjami

Asked for PPS Number , employer name and if he/she was paying you correctly ie. deducting paye/prsi

Would that not be an issue for revenue instead of social welfare?

Occam wrote: »
    Hmm and now I see why its not a good idea for people to give legal advice on Boards :rolleyes: See S.26 Social Welfare Act 1999 .

You are obliged to stop for the social welfare officer if he\she is accompanied by a Garda. You are obliged to listen to the questions, however obviously you may use right of silence. The social welfare officer may also inspect and or seize documents in the car relating to employment.

This is true:eek: They also appear to have powers to enter certain buildings without a warrant, which is more than the Gardai can do.
    Welcome to communist Ireland.:confused:

Below is robbed from some goverment site:

SOCIAL WELFARE ACT, 1999

PART VI
    Miscellaneous Provisions
    Inspection of premises by social welfare inspectors.
    26. —(1) Section 212 of the Principal Act is hereby amended by—

(a) the substitution for subsection (3) of the following subsection:

“(3) A social welfare inspector shall, for the purposes of this Act, have power to do all or any of the following—

(a) to enter, without prior notification, at all reasonable times, any premises or place liable to inspection under this section,

(b) in such premises or place—

(i) to make such examination or enquiry,

(ii) to inspect and take copies of or extracts from any records (including in the case of information in a non-legible form a copy of or extract from such information in permanent legible form), found there, and

(iii) to remove and retain such records for such period as may be reasonable for further examination,

as may be necessary to ascertain whether the provisions of this Act are being complied with,

(c) to secure for later inspection any such records,

(d) to examine, either alone or in the presence of any other person, as he or she thinks fit in relation to any matters on which he or she may reasonably require information for the purposes of this Act, every person whom he or she finds in any such premises or place, or whom he or she has reasonable cause to believe to be or to have been an insured person, and to require every such person to be so examined and to sign a declaration of the truth of the matters in respect of which he or she is so examined, and

(e) for the purposes of answering or clarifying any questions that the social welfare inspector may have consequent on the inspection of the premises or place, to summon the occupier of the premises or place, any person who is or has been employing persons there or such person as may be designated by the occupier or employer as competent to answer or clarify any such questions, to attend at such premises or place (or at an office of the Minister), at any reasonable time specified, by notice in writing given to him or her at the premises or place or sent there to him or her by registered post.”,

(b) the substitution in subsection (6)(b) for “document” of “record”, and

(c) the insertion after subsection (14) of the following subsections:

“(15) A social welfare inspector may, where he or she considers it necessary, be accompanied by a member of the Garda Síochána when performing any power conferred on a social welfare inspector under this section.

(16) A social welfare inspector may, for the purposes of ensuring compliance with this Act if accompanied by a member of the Garda Síochána in uniform—

(a) stop any vehicle which he or she reasonably suspects is used in the course of employment or self-employment, and

(b) on production of his or her certificate of appointment, if so requested, question and make enquiries of any person in the vehicle or require such person to furnish him or her with any record relating to his or her employment or self-employment which the person has possession of in the vehicle, and examine it.”.

(2) Section 2(1) of the Principal Act is hereby amended by the insertion after the definition of “qualifying contribution” of the following definition:

“‘record’ means any book, document or any other written or printed material in any form including any information stored, maintained or preserved by means of any mechanical or electronic device, whether or not stored, maintained or preserved in a legible form;”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 james08

An NCT certificate means only that the car is roadworthy at the actual time of the test, so when you drive it of the test centre and crash because an indictaor bulb has fused, they dont care...
    the onlything is does this affect your insurance? i was never asked had the car an NCT or was it wrote on any documents from insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭lynchie

This is true:eek: They also appear to have powers to enter certain buildings without a warrant, which is more than the Gardai can do.
    Welcome to communist Ireland.:confused:

Below is robbed from some goverment site:

SOCIAL WELFARE ACT, 1999

PART VI
    Miscellaneous Provisions
    Inspection of premises by social welfare inspectors.
    26. —(1) Section 212 of the Principal Act is hereby amended by—

(a) the substitution for subsection (3) of the following subsection:

“(3) A social welfare inspector shall, for the purposes of this Act, have power to do all or any of the following—

(a) to enter, without prior notification, at all reasonable times, any premises or place liable to inspection under this section,

(b) in such premises or place—

(i) to make such examination or enquiry,

(ii) to inspect and take copies of or extracts from any records (including in the case of information in a non-legible form a copy of or extract from such information in permanent legible form), found there, and

(iii) to remove and retain such records for such period as may be reasonable for further examination,

as may be necessary to ascertain whether the provisions of this Act are being complied with,

(c) to secure for later inspection any such records,

(d) to examine, either alone or in the presence of any other person, as he or she thinks fit in relation to any matters on which he or she may reasonably require information for the purposes of this Act, every person whom he or she finds in any such premises or place, or whom he or she has reasonable cause to believe to be or to have been an insured person, and to require every such person to be so examined and to sign a declaration of the truth of the matters in respect of which he or she is so examined, and

(e) for the purposes of answering or clarifying any questions that the social welfare inspector may have consequent on the inspection of the premises or place, to summon the occupier of the premises or place, any person who is or has been employing persons there or such person as may be designated by the occupier or employer as competent to answer or clarify any such questions, to attend at such premises or place (or at an office of the Minister), at any reasonable time specified, by notice in writing given to him or her at the premises or place or sent there to him or her by registered post.”,

(b) the substitution in subsection (6)(b) for “document” of “record”, and

(c) the insertion after subsection (14) of the following subsections:

“(15) A social welfare inspector may, where he or she considers it necessary, be accompanied by a member of the Garda Síochána when performing any power conferred on a social welfare inspector under this section.

(16) A social welfare inspector may, for the purposes of ensuring compliance with this Act if accompanied by a member of the Garda Síochána in uniform—

(a) stop any vehicle which he or she reasonably suspects is used in the course of employment or self-employment, and

(b) on production of his or her certificate of appointment, if so requested, question and make enquiries of any person in the vehicle or require such person to furnish him or her with any record relating to his or her employment or self-employment which the person has possession of in the vehicle, and examine it.”.

(2) Section 2(1) of the Principal Act is hereby amended by the insertion after the definition of “qualifying contribution” of the following definition:

“‘record’ means any book, document or any other written or printed material in any form including any information stored, maintained or preserved by means of any mechanical or electronic device, whether or not stored, maintained or preserved in a legible form;”.

Above seems to only relate to being able to ask questions of your employment and matters relating to your employment. Also, they can only stop vehicles driving during the course of employment. Stopping somebody on a Sunday or driving outside regular working hours would probably not fall into this category.
    Its not clear whether using the vehicle in course of employment means you are driving a vehicle owned by your employer or simply driving your own private vehicle to/from work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

I for one am happy to hear that social welfare are cracking down. The country is in serious debt and we could do with saving every cent we can. Not to mention the importance of catching & punishing the thieves that abuse the system!

You have the typical Irish attitude of sticking your finger up at authority just because you can. And as someone already pointed out, you clearly don't have a clue about the legislation in regards to this matter :rolleyes:

Can someone tell me why they're looking for tachographs?

lynchie wrote: »
    Its not clear whether using the vehicle in course of employment means you are driving a vehicle owned by your employer or simply driving your own private vehicle to/from work.

Thats the problem, plenty of ambiguity and wiggle room in that piece of law.
    John_Mc wrote: »
    I for one am happy to hear that social welfare are cracking down. The country is in serious debt and we could do with saving every cent we can. Not to mention the importance of catching & punishing the thieves that abuse the system!

You have the typical Irish attitude of sticking your finger up at authority just because you can. And as someone already pointed out, you clearly don't have a clue about the legislation in regards to this matter :rolleyes:

Can someone tell me why they're looking for tachographs?

Lets look at it sensibly, how many people are they going to catch on the dole at a checkpoint, compared to them actually going around to their houses to check on them? I'm guessing very little.

Tachographs are looked at to make sure the truck drivers are not working more hours than allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

Thats the problem, plenty of ambiguity and wiggle room in that piece of law.

Lets look at it sensibly, how many people are they going to catch on the dole at a checkpoint, compared to them actually going around to their houses to check on them? I'm guessing very little.

Tachographs are looked at to make sure the truck drivers are not working more hours than allowed.

Well they seemed to catch 118 people back in 1999 so it obviously works. I don't care if they do it at a road block or if they do it house to house, just as long as they do it.

Some of the attitudes here, in particular Darragh29, would resist helping them in any way just because they can and that's what I was referring to in my post.

Nice one for the tachograph info, had no idea about that but it makes sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

It has been a well known "sport" in the NW to be on the dole on one side of the border while working on the other.

Probably something to do with that.

John_Mc wrote: »
    Well they seemed to catch 118 people back in 1999 so it obviously works. I don't care if they do it at a road block or if they do it house to house, just as long as they do it.

Some of the attitudes here, in particular Darragh29, would resist helping them in any way just because they can and that's what I was referring to in my post.

Nice one for the tachograph info, had no idea about that but it makes sense!

I just don't think the roadside is the place to be doing this type of thing. Road checkpoints are for vehicles & drivers only, and it should be left to Garda & Customs to enforce vehicle related laws or any law for that matter.

Whats next? A t.v. licence inspector at a checkpoint searching your car for any evidence that you may have a t.v. at home and may not have paid for the licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭rubensni

Stekelly wrote: »

If social welfare inspectors were to carry on the way you suggest they could/should then I for one would certianly make life difficult for them, only later to sue them for false imprisonment, unlawful arrest, and a whole litany of other abuses. This is because they would be vigilanties who need to be stamped out.

Consider this: where does it say in the legislation that the social welfare inspector has the right to search a private car? or worse to seize the car? and as for "takes you" I certianly didn't see anything about powers of arrest (without a warrant) in the act, that's assuming that welfare have ever arrested someone in the first instance, which is unlikely considering that they'd have no place to detain that person. As for the throwaway line "At worst he makes it his business to find somethign up " are you seriously suggesting that they would plant evidence? Like what in any case, a trowel, maybe some bricks, and a small bag of cement? That'd get em banged up, right?

Realistically, the social welfare inspector has very weak powers under this legislation other than to demand documents. It seems to be more a case of putting the frighteners on builders doing nixers while on the dole. No real powers - just show of force stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

I work for a foreign multi-national, plenty of non-EU people come over here from HQ on "holiday" visas but in reality are working. Some of the people here, with genuine work permits, are driving solo on Irish provisional licences. Lots of their work is also in the UK, where they need a permit t go to, so quite a few drive to Belfast and fly to the UK and come back that way.
    I believe that there will be a large increase in the number of checkpoints in the border areas for these sort of occurences.

All my workmates are concerned about this. But I guess they should be here the legal way, well thats what I think anyway, but of course can't say that in work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭DubDani

There was a huge Control North of the Border on Monday between Newry and Banbridge.

Police, Border Agency, customs etc. involved. While approaching a turn it suddenly went to one lane, then you saw a guy standing on the road with a machine gun, then you had to slow down and three policemen were looking at you and your car and waving you through. While doing that they were transmitting Infos to some officers a few meters down the road.

There they were then taking out vehicles. They had a (prison-like) van standing there that already had some "guests". They also had confiscicated several cars (Irish and NI) that were juts loaded onto a Trailer. They were most likely out of Tax/Insurance.

Overall there seemed to be about 30 people involved (5 of them guarding the operation with guns).

Event worse, after you passed the checkpoint there were 3 (!!! no kidding) speed checks between Banbridge and Lisburn. Every time in one of the Building Sites with a 40mph restriction. Must be lucrative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Possibly a crackdown ahead of the Irish World Rally Championship..... oh hang on all the people who go to that behave themselves what was I thinking;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I for one, dont see the point in pissing off anyone, be it a garda, customs officer, social welfare officer etc at a checkpoint..

If they are being courteous and mannerly and doing their job, then being difficult and rude to them is only gonna piss them off and they will be the ones making your life difficult and looking for an excuse to get you on something or other..

Chances are if they do find a fault and you are mannerly and accept it, you might just get off with a warning, being abusive and rude will probably get you a fine/points etc

Just my 2c

Tox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    I for one, dont see the point in pissing off anyone, be it a garda, customs officer, social welfare officer etc at a checkpoint..

If they are being courteous and mannerly and doing their job, then being difficult and rude to them is only gonna piss them off and they will be the ones making your life difficult and looking for an excuse to get you on something or other..

Chances are if they do find a fault and you are mannerly and accept it, you might just get off with a warning, being abusive and rude will probably get you a fine/points etc

Just my 2c

Tox

exactly, you're only causing more hassle for yourself, if you have nothing to hide then why not answer the questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

So you can be arrested for refusing to comply with the SW Act, 1999 (quoted previously).

If you did make it to the Superintendent, I doubt he will see things any differently to the Garda, who is there because he was directed to do so by the divisions Traffic Corps Inspector(s) or Superintendent(s) in the first place.

Your attitude in thread reeks of selfish irresponsibility, unanswerable to the higher authorities. I'm glad most people I meet at checkpoints are more reasonable.

DubDani wrote: »

There they were then taking out vehicles. They had a (prison-like) van standing there that already had some "guests". They also had confiscicated several cars (Irish and NI) that were juts loaded onto a Trailer. They were most likely out of Tax/Insurance.

What are the psni doing impounding Irish reg cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

If they are being driven by non Schengen visa holders coming from the Republic, i'd imagine they are repatriating the people and impounding the cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

mumhaabu wrote: »
    Possibly a crackdown ahead of the Irish World Rally Championship..... oh hang on all the people who go to that behave themselves what was I thinking;)

Nice trolling, we're not all that bad. How about sticking to the topic? :mad: