Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2009-Dublin City marathon, is it possible?

• 12-01-2009 10:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭

Hi everyone, I was all gung-ho to write in for your advice last night but by the time I got the courage most of you seemed to have logged off (no doubt for an early night to help with the running) :)

Anyway I did the mini marathon last year, finished in 70 min after running about half and walking half (not overly prepared!! :o). Did the Streets of Galway last Sept too but had a pretty slow time for the 5km (47 min I think). Was anaemic at the time but have been keeping on top of the B12 injections since then and I'm feeling ok. Now that I'm not as sick I'm getting the bug to do some running again....more serious this time though.

Finally to get to the point, I'm thinking of trying the Dublin City marathon in 2009....is this possible? I have checked out Hal Higdon and was thinking of starting the Spring training program before moving on to the Novice program.

I have loads of questions but I suppose my main one and my starting point is, is this really possible with this length of time to prepare? Thanks for taking the time to read and all advice is appreciated, M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Rusty Cogs 08

Certainly, although you may want to look at previous posts to see if they answer any of your questions already. (Not the first person to ask the question you understand).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭McConkey

Thanks for your reply Rusty cogs. Yes, I've been trawling through for a few nights now and I see a number of people that are like me.....going from basically nothing to a marathon in 8 months. Seems like I might be a bit late starting as I see a few posts from Nov time.....still, why not I suppose :)

Some questions then if its ok? I'm 5'10'' and weigh about 9st 10lb so I don't want to loose too much weight. I'm guessing that I need to increase my carbs in that case, so pasta rice etc? I'm not exactly over-flowing with energy these days so any other tips? Thanks :)

Also, if anyone has B12 anaemia in here, do you need to up the frequency of injections in order to mitigate the running?

Well your fairly light already so I'm not sure how much more weight you'd lose. Pasta and rice figure pretty highly in my diet alright. I wouldn't starve yourself, put it that way.

8 months is loads of time. Someone reasonably fit should be able to do one with 4/5 months training. My first bit of advice is to find a running partner if you can.

And with my running gear hanging out to dry, I'm off to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭Peckham

8 months, no problem....assuming you're willing to put in the work! (Although would recommend seeking professional medical advice re the anaemia issue).

You'll get lots of advice here, but would recommend reading a marathon training guide to give you ideas about the types of things you need to be thinking about. Hal Higdon's Ultimate Guide to Marathons is a good one for a first timer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

McConkey wrote: »
    Also, if anyone has B12 anaemia in here, do you need to up the frequency of injections in order to mitigate the running?
    ask your doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Eoin0603

after 10 years of litle of no excercise and also very overweight this time last year (i.e. jan 08) I started to run, I completed the dublin marathon in 4hrs 2 mins and have to say it was one of the best things i ever did, I am now planning to do the connemarathon in March and definetly have the bug.

I would however get the anaemia checked out before you do anything.

if that is ok go for it you have loads of time.

Sorry for the long post....

Wow Eoin0603, fair play, thats a great time you put in for the Dublin City Marathon....inspiration to keep going at it for me :) I was afraid I was a couple of months late starting compared to a number of the other posters here but you seem to have put in a great time after 8 months so maybe there's hope for me yet :rolleyes:

Went to see the Doc today, got another B12 shot and she's going to give one each month now so I can keep running....she's tracking my blood levels pretty regularly so that's helpful. So good news for me as regards the running :)

Thanks Rustycogs, Hunnymonster and Peckham for your replies. I need to get my hands on the Hal Higdon book so, I imagine it would be easy to get in any bookshop?

Had my first run this morning from the Hal Higdon Spring training so only 1.5 miles....shock horror I had to walk for some of it, even less fit than I thought :eek: An hour later I was in the doc's office (just for a b12 injection and not after collapsing from my 1.5 mile run :D) and had a resting heart rate of > 100 bpm :eek::eek: she thinks the anaemia might be something to do with it though-even though my levels aren't too bad at the mo.

Would someone usually start a training log at this point? I have another couple of rookie questions I'd like to ask but this post is getting too long....

Sure, start the log, it can only be self motivating. There's guys (and gals) who will always out train / mile / run / race me but for 99% of us, running isn't about beating everyone else, but to improve yourself.

Definately need all the motivation I can get so I'll go ahead and start a log then :)

Just out of curiosity.....

How long do you leave it before running after eating?

How much water do people drink in a day, I don't think I ever drink enough...any opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭jlang

I find waiting an hour after eating is sensible. Depending on what and how much food and how vigorous the run is, on occasion I can and do get away with less.
    I drink a few pints of water, but don't really think about it that much.

Thanks jlang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 fizal

With regards your water question, based on your weight, your approximately daily calorie req is around 2000 kcals, so on a sedentary day (no exercise at all) you should aim to drink a minimum of two litre of water ( 1 ml per kcal ).

1 hour of med paced running ( approx 12kph ) will burn 655 kcals, so on running days up your water intake accordingly ( if running for 1 hr, add 655 mls of water.

This is as approximate as you need for your level of training, hope thats of some help.

Oh, an i know that might sound a lot, but if it's a lot higher than your current intake, build up to it slowly and the excessive bathroom visits should even out after about a week or two!!!

Thanks a milion Fizal for your very scientific explanation there, you must have done lots of research on this stuff :) Christ I think I'm probably only taking in about 500 ml of fluids a day....so I need to start carrying a bottle of water with me all day and topping it up a few times a day just to catch up :eek:

Was out for three miles this evening, waited 45 min after me sandwich and still had a stitch, I just don't seem to be able to get a grip on these aspects :(

I do my evening runs before my dinner, so I've eaten lunch around 1pm, try to snack (maybe a plain bagel) at 4pm and run by 7pm. I generally wouldn't eat within a couple of hours of running.

Hi Rusty Cogs, how far are you running then, would you not be starving?

Yeah I think I need to figure out a plan for the days I'm working. In a single week I work two 12-9pm shifts, one 9.30-6 and two 10-6 shifts so its a pain trying to sort out my approach. Next week I'm in a different county for work for three days and back here for two...but my new approach is going to be just bring the runners-you can run anywhere :)

So eat well and get the run in a couple of hours after eating sounds like a good bet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

A lot of this stuff is trial and error as well. Some people have no problem going for 8 or 10 mile runs having eaten nothing all day, others need very precise food at set times before a run or they can't do it. Experiment a bit because what works for me may not work for you. Ditto on trainers, clothes, training times, plans...all of it!

Advice is great (and vital) but don't let it interfere with your own judgement.

One last thing - if you are getting a stitch or needing walk breaks in a 1.5 mile run then you are probably running too fast. All runs at the start should be at a "conversational" level - you should be able to hold a conversation while running. If you are too out of breath to do that you are running too fast and need to slow down. At first you may find that you have a "running action" (You're going through the motions) but aren't going much faster than someone walking. Ignore that - it's about training your muscles, we all went through it and the speed will come in time. For now you need to teach your muscles and CV system how to run and that means slow and steady.

And good luck!

Thanks --amadeus--, I will probably be kicked off from here for admitting it-maybe even earn a lifetime ban, it's embarrasing, but I have a dirty secret....I'm a smoker. Not a huge amount, about 5-6 a day so that is bad news as regards getting my breathing sorted. I feel like I can run fine, my body feels able for it but after about ten min of running I can't really converse too well. I can keep running but just not really able for chat. You can probably see from my times that I am a fairly slow runner anyway but I'm hoping that by going with this Spring training guide that I can build up my lungs a bit. Even getting out the last few nights is having a bit of an impact, I skipped two out of my usual four cigarettes at work today-so you could say I've cut down by a third-which can only be good.

I'm becoming a bit more zen on the smoking thing. I'd say if you got into the running you'd cut down to a fairly modest level or give up all together. I wouldn't 'not' run because you smoke and think you're some how not worthy of the pursuit. Have a look at Odysseus' log, I believe he used to have a few crafty smokes during his 100k ultras. I'm by no means condoning smoking but getting out there is more important IMO.

Thanks RC, yeah I'm hoping that the more running I do the less I will be interested in having a smoke. Will be continuing with my running, keeping the log is handy because it gives a bit of motivation. After a couple of weeks of logs I'm sure it will become more difficult to skip a run...hopefully :)

Lets hope you never find out (we send lads 'round to your gaff) ;)

Lads-my gaff-hmmmm :rolleyes:

Yeah, well if they sent 'round a gang of girls for not getting off your ass I don't think I'd get too many miles in. :)

True, true RC....

Just found the 1000 mile thread so signed up-pity I'm at the very bottom but maybe it'll be an incentive to keep slogging on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I will probably be kicked off from here for admitting it-maybe even earn a lifetime ban, it's embarrasing, but I have a dirty secret....I'm a smoker.

Hmmm, ever hear of Jeanne Stawiecki?
    Jeanne M. Stawiecki doesn't want you to think she's out of the ordinary.

That's a tall order.

At 56, she has run seven marathons on seven continents in five months, 68 days faster than any woman before. And she finished the last one on Feb. 26 in Antarctica, one of 180 "adventure marathon" runners who raced in 15-degree cold, up a glacier, through mud flats and soaking streams, against 40-knot winds and after two days on a churning Russian research ship. She's one of 135 men and 41 women to complete the feat of seven marathons on seven continents.

But she's not done yet. On Monday, she's heading back to the Himalayas, determined to reach the summit of Mount Everest in May. When she does - and she has no doubt she will succeed - she will have climbed the seven highest mountain peaks on seven continents, from the volcanic ash of Aconcagua in Argentina to the daunting Denali in Alaska.

Going by online lists of "seven continent" marathoners and summit climbers, that will apparently make her the first woman to do both.

Impressive, but so what? Asked why she started running...:
    She said it was closing in on 40 years old. She was working the equivalent of two jobs at Mercy Hospital in Springfield to build a home in Charlton that she calls her dream house.

She was also smoking two packs of cigarettes a day. A persistent cough and not being able to climb a flight of stairs without getting winded made her try to quit smoking, a habit she picked up when she was 18 in nursing school pursuing her RN.

"I didn't want to be 40 with those health issues," she said. "I was at a crossroads."

Link to the article, which is worth a read. Anything is possible, if you have the will to put the effort in :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

go for it man. the key seems to be 'GRADUAL' training

let us know how its going.

That's one great woman...she has amazing drive to get out and do all that. Thanks for the link :)

On a rest day today-missing going out this evening...ever so slightly-30 min walk scheduled for Sat and a three mile run on Sun. Seems funny to be reporting such short distances when some of ye are covering in an evening what I am doing in a week but I suppose we all have to start somewhere ;)

Hi everyone, I was all gung-ho to write in for your advice last night but by the time I got the courage most of you seemed to have logged off (no doubt for an early night to help with the running) :)

Anyway I did the mini marathon last year, finished in 70 min after running about half and walking half (not overly prepared!! :o). Did the Streets of Galway last Sept too but had a pretty slow time for the 5km (47 min I think). Was anaemic at the time but have been keeping on top of the B12 injections since then and I'm feeling ok. Now that I'm not as sick I'm getting the bug to do some running again....more serious this time though.

Finally to get to the point, I'm thinking of trying the Dublin City marathon in 2009....is this possible? I have checked out Hal Higdon and was thinking of starting the Spring training program before moving on to the Novice program.

I have loads of questions but I suppose my main one and my starting point is, is this really possible with this length of time to prepare? Thanks for taking the time to read and all advice is appreciated, M

The Streets of Galway was actually an 8k not a 5k and time was about 57 min...mea culpa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 skii29

Hi

I would like some advice please.
    I'm hoping to do the Dublin City Marathon in October. I have ran 10k's in the past. I did cross country and athletics when I was younger. My best time for a 10k was 50 minutes. I'm not slim. I'm 5'8 and 11.5 stone, 29 year old female. I'm hoping to lose weight while I train for the marathon
    What kind of a training programme/ diet plan should I be following.
    Your advice is much appreciated
    Thanks in advance
    :o

Hi skii29,
    OP here, welcome to the forum...I'm fairly new myself to all this running but I think you'll get great advice from the posters here regarding any aspect of running.

Hoping to run Dublin myself although I have an injury at the moment and am worried about the length of time it will take to get back out running. Starting a training log here is something I have found quite helpful for motivation though. You have had great times in the past so I'm sure its just a case of building up the milage slowly....I was recommended the Hal Higdon programs and this has been going well so far (apart from the obvious-injured now).

Best of luck, let us know how you are getting on :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 caitR

I've found this book "The Non-Runner's Marathon Trainer"
    http://www.amazon.com/Non-Runners-Marathon-Trainer-David-Whitsett/dp/1570281823
    really good for running training for a beginner....they reckon 5 months gets you running & finishing a marathon from scratch.

Dublin city Marathon here i come ;-)

good luck!

Hi McConley, CaitR
    Thanks for taking the time to reply to my message.
    Just looking at the Hal Higdon programme. Should I be following the Novice programme level 1 or level 2?
    Thanks for letting me know about that book. I must check for it in my local library. Does it include information on diet plans? Thanks again

Hi Skii29, I just bought that book from Amazon last night along with a couple of others so if you want I guess I could give you a lend of it...so far I've found it difficult to find running books in shops in Galway (new/secondhand) but then I definately didn't try the library and I suppose there is a good chance they will have a running section.

If you can't get it though, you can leave a message in my log or pm me or something.

Hi McConkey

Thanks for replying. I might see if I can get a book in the library tomorrow. Thanks for offer though.
    How are you getting on with the training? Are you following the Hal higdon programme? Which programme are you following? Novice 1 or 2.
    Thanks again

Hi
    I forgot that you told me you were injured.. sorry.
    Which programme had you been following prior to injury?

Hey,

No problem, let me know if you can't get the book. I'm hurt at the moment so the training has stalled, I have a fallen arch in one foot and can only limp around so no training for me. Will try get some swimming and bike work done instead after the physio on Wed.

I started on the Higdon Spring training program so I'm a few weeks into that, I plan on starting probably novice 2 half-marathon in a few weeks hopefully and then later in the year the marathon program. I've done up a spreadsheet of what I planned on doing in the run up to Dublin but I got injured the next day. Hoping to get back into it asap though, I'm depressed without the training and have spent lots of time eating crap :o

skii29 wrote: »
    Does it include information on diet plans? Thanks again

skii29 - there is a chapter or two in the book around fluid and nutrition, but not specific diet plans as far as I can see, just general advice re the type of foods you'll need to eat and vitamins/minerals etc....

the program contained in the book is all tried and tested many times in a university in Iowa, with folks who'd never run before to experienced runners.
    one of the first things it tells you is that your aim is NOT for a certain finishing time, but to finish.....takes a bit of the pressure off i reckon!

throughout the book, there's tidbits from folks who participated in the "marathon class" throughout the years.....fairly encouraging (i find)!

McConkey - have you considered water running? (if your injury allows?) great way of keeping up the training with minimal impact!
    good luck!

Hi CaitR, McConkey

Thanks for the feedback regarding the book. I'm going to see if I can get it in the library.
    As regards training I only started last week. I havn't started running on the road yet. I've been doing some cross country training ( although there are no hills involved yet). Yesterday I did 5k cross country. I'm going to build it up that way. Today I have basketball training but tomorrow I'm going to do another 5k/ 6k cross country. I'm going to wait another two weeks before I start on the road. What have you done so far?

Hey skii29,
    I'll be going back to running on grass soon (hopefully) so you had a good plan to start out on the grass and build from there. I was on about week 5 of Hal Higdons Spring training program before I got hurt.

Now will be doing swimming and exercise bike for a few weeks until I can get out running again. Sounds like you are going well anyhow :)

hi Skii29,
    I've really only started my running training, I'm on wk 1 of the "non runners...." book...so doing 4 miles on the road. It's going grand so far, only problem i having is fitting in the runs between other stuff i'm doing (circuits and swimming), but for the first time ever....i'm almost liking running!
    Oh and I've signed up for a half marathon at end of April.....nothing like a deadline to ensure the homework gets done! :)
    g'luc!