Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy In Dungarvan Waterford has car with flashing lights like garda lights

• 10-01-2009 11:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35

I was in Dungarvan recently and noticed a guy driving around in a gray citroen essate. He and another guy in the car were wearing hi visability vest. they came up from behind me in there car with red flashing led lights in the dash of the car and also lhis headlights flashing. i pulled in to let him pass. as i came into dungarvan and came to one of the many round abouts the driver was out directing traffic at one of the round abouts. for what i could see no apperent reasion. but later saw a road race heading towards the round about escorted by a garda motorbike just wondering what story about the red leds and the headlights flashing witch were the same as a garda car. is he aloowed to have them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Masquerade

This'd probably be best asked in the garda forum.

Well if the driver got out to direct traffic, presumably to let the Garda escort through, then I would assume it was an unmarked Garda car. Was there anything to suggest that it wasn't an unmarked Garda car?

As far as I know, although I'm sure others would know more about it, there are laws that restrict the use of flashing blue lights (not sure about flashing headlights, but I'd imagine their restricted too) and sirens to emergency vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 gardatrafficop

i remember that it was an old car reg in its 90s wasnts a cop it was a plain jacket no graphics at all on it and the motorbike cop was escorting a van that was apped to be lead car for a race.

i was just wondering what the story was with red LEDs and the headlights are the legal and for what suitation

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Apart from your username im guessing your not a traffic cop. As a member of the traffic corps i can tell you that was no official car. We do not have red led lights. In fact there is no provision in law for them except for red static lights to the rear at lighting up times (darkness). As for the wig-wag headlights thats a breach of lighting regulations. Prosecution for section 51 or 52 RTA. driving without reasonable consideration. Hope this clears it up some bit.:D

Some of the newer marked Garda cars have red lights in the light bar on the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

I may be wrong but me thinks the OP is looking to do this to his car and is trying to see if its legal or not without telling outright what he wants to do...
    thats just my opinion..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

As a member of the traffic corps

*slows down and acts casual*
    :cool:

Am I right to think Ballyb is Bally Bunion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭Martron

sounds like a work jeep we did up. i installed white strobe in the head lights and yellow leds in the grill. i suppose if the lights were blue it would have looked like an unmarked garda jeep.

i would not pull over for anything other than blue lights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭miceal

Martron wrote: »
    sounds like a work jeep we did up. i installed white strobe in the head lights and yellow leds in the grill. i suppose if the lights were blue it would have looked like an unmarked garda jeep.

i would not pull over for anything other than blue lights

haha i was in the same boat wouldn't pull over for any thing other then a blue light then this happen to me

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055427183

EXACTLY !!!

we did at the time thing about putting in blue ones aswell but you would look good driving behind a cop car after forgetting to turn them off.

you here of sstories the whole time!!

anyone thinking of doing it.... this is where i got mine]\

http://www.projectresponder.com/pse/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭leon8v

Slightly OT but there was a car going around dublin before with the alternating headlights flashing trick. Three "dodgy" looking guys in it, they came up behind me late one night and flashed the lights at me trying to get me pulled in when I was driving my Alpina. I kept going and spotted a marked Garda car so stopped and told them. They half heartedly went after them to see if they could find them.
    Apparantly it was spotted plenty of times around dublin up to similar antics.

it would not be the first timei heard of this and it is very easy to do with cheap kits.

its dangerous.

if in doubt i think you are well in your rights to ring the gards and say you are going tto be pulled over and you do not think it is a legitimate car and would it be possible to go somewhere local to proceed with the "pulling over" local garda station perhaps. if it is legitimate i am sure they would have no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Pull over when you hear the siren.

Not your ornery onager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

Martron wrote: »
    it would not be the first timei heard of this and it is very easy to do with cheap kits.

its dangerous.

if in doubt i think you are well in your rights to ring the gards and say you are going tto be pulled over and you do not think it is a legitimate car and would it be possible to go somewhere local to proceed with the "pulling over" local garda station perhaps. if it is legitimate i am sure they would have no problem
    I think i raised such an issue in the garda forum a while back. I drive a fairly expensive car. There is no way i am pulling over for some unmarked banger who happens to flash a blue light at me. Best thing to do would be ring 999 and report it straight away that an unmarked car is signaling a pullover. I value my life to much to take the risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

Isn't it illegal to show a red light to the front of a vehicle!!

esel wrote: »
    Pull over when you hear the siren.

you can buy them too

if in doubt i dont think its bad to ring and check if you were in doubt.....

but dont accelerate just carry on driving normally.... obviously call the guards using your handsfree kit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

I was pulled over once by an old Laguna 96 or 97. I was drving from Kilsheelan to Carrick when the car behind me started flashing and blowing the horn at me constantly . It was bout half 8 so it was dark and i wasnt gonna pull over on a fairly deserted road. Evntually got into carrick and he pulled up beside me at the roundabout and instructed me to pull over. it turned out to be a gaurd wearing the guarda tie and shirt.(no real uniform i presumed he was finished his shift?)

he told me i was doin approx 120 kph in a 100kph zone and i tried to explain to him the reason was because there was some lunatic behind constatly flashing his lights and blowing his horn...(he wouldn't even let me talk....was a right @ss)

He left me off in the end with a warning but at the end of the day was he legally allowed to do what he did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

My bit of advice on this, if you are unsure do not stop till you are in a safe place to do so, i.e. somewhere public with people around, then lock your doors and open your window a little bit and ask to see identification, no ID get his reg and ring the gaurds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

I actually know the guy your talking about.

He always directs trafffic at local road races, etc etc.

Couldn't get into the guards but likes to think of himself as one :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

jamieh wrote: »

Am I missing something here?! What are these local road races? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Farls wrote: »
    Am I missing something here?! What are these local road races? :confused:

Ah you know how it is.

N25 has few beers and starts bragging about how "you're nothing if you're not a national route", then the Regional and Local roads get pissed off and challenge N25 to a race, to see which road is faster.

They get it out of their system once in a while and then get back to being just roads again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Hartyk87

Yes I totaly agree with the first post with the gray citroen estate. This young man just thinks hes a cop he is now driving a white caddy van with the flashing headlights also. he used to sit outside a gate in his van with a imitation speed camera out the window.. im sure this is illigal immitating a cop this is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

I actually know the guy your talking about.

Couldn't get into the guards but likes to think of himself as one :rolleyes:
    Hartyk87 wrote: »
    Yes I totaly agree with the first post with the gray citroen estate. This young man just thinks hes a cop he is now driving a white caddy van with the flashing headlights also. he used to sit outside a gate in his van with a imitation speed camera out the window.. im sure this is illigal immitating a cop this is.

Don't worry lads, I have a visual on the suspect.........

43290df9826bb-58-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

sounds like this lad really needs a ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Whats the law on wig wag alternating high beams?? or orange / white flashing strobes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Whats the law on wig wag alternating high beams?? or orange / white flashing strobes.

Not entirely sure on alternating headlamp flash.

But Road Traffic Law does make provisions for white (headlights), yellow/orange (for construction traffic etc) and blue lights only (emergency vehicles).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I've come across a few recovery trucks with the alternating headlights.

This lad sounds like a right nutjob....

Aghh hes not a nutjob just loves ta think that hes a garda!! His dad was a garda in neighbouring town so thats why he gets away with it. shur teir all corrupt neway!!!

are you serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I saw a 4x4 with the blue flashers inside the grill and in the rear windows also. Just in Citywest heading towards b&Q in Lucan (by the prison) and the traffic was at a standstill.
    Woman in the 4x4 comes up behind me and stops, and then the lights go on and she pulled out into the other lane. Undercover you would think if it weren't for the baby in the car seat in the rear....

Sleipnir wrote: »
    Undercover you would think if it weren't for the baby in the car seat in the rear....

they did get rid of the height restriction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

TheNog wrote: »
    they did get rid of the height restriction

Ah but this baby was a girl and let's be honest now, they'll never let da wimmin in.

What? Are you sure? Padraig Flynn, come back to us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

Well said Harty boy ;)

I rele do need to change my username ne idea how??

You must subscribe first, then you can change your name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭by8auj6csd3ioq

he used to sit outside a gate in his van with a imitation speed camera out the window.. .
    LOL LOL:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

This young man just thinks hes a cop he is now driving a white caddy van with the flashing headlights also. he used to sit outside a gate in his van with a imitation speed camera out the window.. im sure this is illigal immitating a cop this is.

Lol that fella's about as sound as a kick in the bollocks :P

V - Can't beat this guy for imitation :D

0001907210dr.jpg