Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pat Kenny v Darragh O'Se

• 10-01-2009 3:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭

I'm sure ye all watched the Late Late Show Gaa special last night.
    Am I alone in thinking Darragh O'Se should have pushed the robot down the stairs?
    How humiliating was it for Darragh to have the photo of Brian Dooher lifting Sam shoved into his face while Dooher was sat right next to him in the audience.
    To treat one of the greatest midfielders of all time (6 all-Ireland medals) like that on a special night for the GAA was an absolute disgrace.
    Darraghs Hurling equivelent,Henry Shefflin (6 all-Ireland medals) was rightly lauded by Kenny but surely O'Se deserved the same level of respect.
    The BBC suspended Jonathon Ross from radio and tv last year for humiliating a much loved national icon,I doubt RTE will do the same but I'd love it if they did.
    Ciarrai abu.
    Ger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

gerocks wrote: »
    Am I alone in thinking Darragh O'Se should have pushed the robot down the stairs?
    How humiliating was it for Darragh to have the photo of Brian Dooher lifting Sam shoved into his face while Dooher was sat right next to him in the audience.
    To treat one of the greatest midfielders of all time (6 all-Ireland medals) like that on a special night for the GAA was an absolute disgrace.
    Darraghs Hurling equivelent,Henry Shefflin (6 all-Ireland medals) was rightly lauded by Kenny but surely O'Se deserved the same level of respect.
    The BBC suspended Jonathon Ross from radio and tv last year for humiliating a much loved national icon,I doubt RTE will do the same but I'd love it if they did.
    Ciarrai abu.
    Ger

Another Kerry conspiracy, brilliant:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

All-Ireland final defeat for Kerry has to be the most entertaining thing in 2008.

Darragh O'Se is smarter than to assault a Irish celebrity.

Kerry Conspiracy No.8008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭gerocks

What conspiracy?
    Did ye actually watch the programme.
    The fact is that a player from the losing side in an all-ireland final was put in a very embarrassing position by rte.
    It doesn't matter if he's from Kerry,Cork,Dublin,Kildare,Derry or wherever.

I'm sure ye lads think that this another Kerry "everyones against us" post but it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭gerocks

All-Ireland final defeat for Kerry has to be the most entertaining thing in 2008.

Darragh O'Se is smarter than to assault a Irish celebrity.

Kerry Conspiracy No.8008
    Why did you find it entertaining?
    Kerry beat Galway in what was for me the most entertaining and unique game of the season. Great scores by both teams in shocking conditions.
    Nothing but love and repect for Galway down here in Kerry.
    If Galway won that day,I would have shouted for them against Cork & Tyrone.
    Not just because it's Cork & Tyrone but because I think Galway play great football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

haha your way over reacting. Kenny said heres some motivation for next year and then showed himthe picture. it was a joke, nothing more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Why did you find it entertaining?
    Kerry beat Galway in what was for me the most entertaining and unique game of the season. Great scores by both teams in shocking conditions.
    Nothing but love and repect for Galway down here in Kerry.
    If Galway won that day,I would have shouted for them against Cork & Tyrone.
    Not just because it's Cork & Tyrone but because I think Galway play great football.

A polite Kerryman, that changes everything. It was entertaining as Kerry have dominated the Sam Maguire for years.
    I'm sure you would feel the same way about Killkenny in hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Lol could Gerocks be an early nomination for most annoying poster in 2009??.....stay tuned to find out.:D

Yeah I must say it was embarrassing but he handled it well.Certainly didn't rise to it at all.It was in good taste if you were from outside Kerry which is all that matters really.Darragh O Se is big enough to fob something like that off.Its not as if his family were being insulted and besmirched like the guy that played Emanuel out of Fawlty Towers.

I would have payed anything to see what would happen if he went up to Galvin and did that...those wasps are somehow living longer and dying later in the winter.:D

As for Pat Kenny getting suspended a la Jonathan Ross....get real.Don't you know RTE will probably add another 100k to his salary for "acting up".He was always going to out of his depth for the show and luckily it went off without a hitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭YDMHSSB

darragh o shea has more class than to be bothered by that overpaid fool. water off a ducks back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

not sure if O'Se is a much loved national icon now but sure twas only a bit of fun anyway. The Robot showed he had some bit of a sense of humour and was one of the few rays of light in a dour show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

I watched the show and have to say what Pat Kenny did to Dara was totally out of order. The audience didn't really know how to react and Dara himself was looking at Pat thinking what the hell is he doing!

Pat Kenny was not the right person to be doing a 125th anniversary show for the Gaa, he just doesn't know enough about it.

It should have been someone like Des Cahill doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

It was bad taste by a plank that can't present a show to save his life. In fairness everyone is saying he shouldnt have done it! I dont think Henry would have cared either, he was happy with that one beside him :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

It was very bad taste from a guy who knows nothing about football. And to put him sitting next to dooher rubbed salt into the wounds. You could see the hurt in his eyes looking at the pics. But no one said it was a conspiricy, Pat Kenny was being annoying to make good telivision. To treat a man who has achieved more in his life than anyone could hope to achieve, with so little respect is awfull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

I laughed! It was entertainment.

In fairness I'm sure O'Se is used to a bit of slagging and I'd hope he'd be able to take it. I'd say he's heard worse down the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Frogdog

The whole show was a disgrace, not to mind Pat, who clearly knows nothing about football, yet alone the GAA. I agree with the above poster, Des Cahill should have been presenting it. It was a complete Dublin & Kerry from the 70s/80s show.

What Pat did was a disgrace. Yes I'm sure he's heard enough of it out and about and in the pub, but for one of the country's best paid television presenters to try and provoke him was going too far. Especially when he was sitting beside them. Maybe Darragh should have asked Pat how he was getting on with his neighbours?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Would ye grow up the lot of ye. Ah poor little Darragh. Wrap him up in cotton wool, in case his little sensitive feelings get hurt. That is the way you are all going on. I am sure Darragh wasn't one bit insulted by it. He'll have got far worse abuse in Kerry over the last few months. In fact, far from seeing a photo of Brian Dooher hurting the Kerry players, Jack O'Connor will probably have that photo nailed to the wall of every dressing room that they enter this year as a way of motivating them. If anything, showing that photo to Darragh O'Sé could have done more damage to Tyrone. So it is Brian Dooher and the Tyrone players that should be most upset about what Pat Kenny did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Flukey going for the 2 in a row already.:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Ciarrai abu.
    Ger

Brilliant! I laughed heartily at this post. You sir are a comic genius. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I thought what Pat Kenny did was in very bad taste alright, it was as much insulting as it was inappropriate - the way he held the picture of Dooher right into his face was very contemptous. I suppose in a perfect world, Kenny should apologise but i can't see that happening. I know if he had done this to a Limerick player i would be raging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

I though having Eamon Dunphy on was bizarre and weak effort by a clueless production team to pull a show together, and Bertie on was samo, samo.

It was as if in the mind of the late late show producers that GAA = Dublin vs Kerry = northsiders vs culchies (or something like that). It was a shallow puddle of a show that should have celebrated 32 county and international success of a very special and always very local organisation. It was only when Des intervened to talk about every parish in the country, and ladies, juniors and juveniles that the show started to hit the mark. Bit of a disaster tbh.. Eamon Dunphy ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

grenache wrote: »
    I thought what Pat Kenny did was in very bad taste alright, it was as much insulting as it was inappropriate - the way he held the picture of Dooher right into his face was very contemptous. I suppose in a perfect world, Kenny should apologise but i can't see that happening. I know if he had done this to a Limerick player i would be raging.

I wouldn't. They probably didnt show them a picture of Shefflin lifting the Cup in 2007 and look what happened in 2008;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭lukin

It could have been worse;he could have showed him this picture instead:
    http://xs135.xs.to/xs135/09036/dara730.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

lukin wrote: »
    It could have been worse;he could have showed him this picture instead:
    http://xs135.xs.to/xs135/09036/dara730.jpg

You should have attached a warning to that! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Flukey wrote: »
    Would ye grow up the lot of ye. Ah poor little Darragh. Wrap him up in cotton wool, in case his little sensitive feelings get hurt. That is the way you are all going on. I am sure Darragh wasn't one bit insulted by it. He'll have got far worse abuse in Kerry over the last few months. In fact, far from seeing a photo of Brian Dooher hurting the Kerry players, Jack O'Connor will probably have that photo nailed to the wall of every dressing room that they enter this year as a way of motivating them. If anything, showing that photo to Darragh O'Sé could have done more damage to Tyrone. So it is Brian Dooher and the Tyrone players that should be most upset about what Pat Kenny did.

Agree completely would you believe!!!