Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Time Like The Present

• 10-01-2009 12:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

Hey Guys,

well it is the start of yet another year, and with all the undesirable job news lately i guess we can only make this year a good one ourselves!

I have set myself a few goals for this year, with the main (and hopefully attainable) one being to compete and COMPLETE the Dublin City Marathon in October.

I am not a runner by any means, in fact i have previously said that i hate running as it is boring, however, i have recently had a change in mind set towards running.

I am 27, male and weigh in at about 14 Stone. I used to train heavily in TaeKwon Do, swimming and Basketball, but in recent years my fitness has taken a back seat to enjoying myself socially (which is important, but hell, it has to relax). So i have decided along with some other people to aim for the Dublin City Marathon. I have never copeted in a road running race, and the big turning point was when i was lying in bed last october and i heard the Marathon runners running past the window, i decided that i wanted to be on the outside in 12 months times!

I know the biggest thing/choice when running are the shoes, i have a pair of Asics Blackhawk runners which i have had for about 6 months, i used (used being the important word here) them in the gym and when cycling. Would anyone know if these are ok for road running?

To build up the miles towards the big 26.2 i was looking at competing in some smaller challenges, 5k and 10k. I was looking at the Cupid Run in February and the Great Ireland Run in April. My question is if you have to be a member of a club to take part? On another note, is it more realistic to join a running group? I live in Phibsboro, so would like to get in contact with people who regularly run in Phoenix Park?

ok enough questions, any help would be great, cheers!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

I posted this about two weeks ago in the fitness forum.

eposhea is my brother. If anyone happens to be interested in our long arduous road to a marathon we will be doing the best we can to keep this thread updated!

Hi All,

This is my first post in this particular forum.

I am a 24 years old guy who is quite out of shape.

6'4 and 17 stone.

I quit smoking two months ago.

In my day I played basketball and swam very competitively, but its genuinely been a long time since I really trained for anything.

I want to run the Dublin City Marathon at the end of October this year.

*pauses for gasps and stiffled laughter*

This isnt a "new years fad of a fat guy" I have very little issue with my weight. Also, I am very dedicated to do this as I see it as the ultimate fitness goal.

I have read a lot of information about this and have decided to give it everything I have.

THIS IS MY SECOND POST BUT I AM MOVING IT ALL TO THIS THREAD

Hi All,

I said I'd keep ye updated so here I am.

Unfortunately I have been scuppered from the word go. At the moment I am recovering from a nasty chest infection and pretty serious sinusitus. Though I was disheartened I am rearing to go again!

I have my new running shoes ordered they are arriving on Monday.

One thing I have realised too, before I begin actually running I am going to firstly concentrate on losing the extra weight I am carrying. My father has terrible problems with his knees and it all stems from his weight. So I figure its a good option.

In tow with my weight loss my diet has changed drastically. Though I have to take in big amounts of energy to burn while running, with the first phase I am on a major cut back. Lot of veg and lean meat, little carb and no fat. I will also be doing a lot of walking some cycling and possibly a little swimming too! The food part is not going to be the problem, I mean, on my gastronomical and static journey to becoming 17 stone 8 lbs I realised that I will actually eat anything. The quantity is where I am going to find the difficulty!

Anyway, thats what I am planning at the moment. I'll post agin in a week or so if anyone is interested in this post I guess!!

Thanks again

m3llowship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Rusty Cogs 08

cliches aside, if you want it you can do it.

Cheers RC

We definitely want it, pretty badly too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭eposhea

Yea, the want is definitely there alright! the problem will probably keeping the motivation. I have not been this determined to do something in a while and at least the the two of us are doing it, so we can motivate (guilt) each other along the way!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Rusty Cogs 08

Four and a half months before my first marathon (Dublin) a mate phoned me up and said he wanted to run it and did I want to train with him, I hadn't done any running before but thought why not. We ran together every weekend (turn off Brokeback Mountain music please) and kept each other motivated and the prize was ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Heya lads! It seemed I have been roped into this too. The general consensus from various websites seems to be that anyone can do a marathon with the right training. I suppose my primary concern is staying motivated - I can see myself pushing the boat out for a fortnight, straining my legs and packing it in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

TelePaul wrote: »
    I can see myself pushing the boat out for a fortnight, straining my legs and packing it in!

That's the key - take it nice and easy and first and only build up to what you're comfortable with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭milligank

Sucess never sleeps....

A friend of mine coined this phrase... when we trained for our marathon..

Rain Drys,
    Pain is Tempoary,
    Shut the F&uk up and go running..

His core motto was / is ... Excuses are yours, nobody elses. Its you own fault. You make excuses not me.

I know its a bit harsh but thats what he used to say to me all the time.

Three years later, a few sprint and olympic distance triathlons, Dublin Marathon and a Half Ironman this year... I think I now agree with him.

milligank wrote: »
    Sucess never sleeps....

A friend of mine coined this phrase... when we trained for our marathon..

Rain Drys,
    Pain is Tempoary,
    Shut the F&uk up and go running..

I like it milligank - i'll prob use it in the future!!

Went for first run today, it really is true that you dont know how unfit you are until your first run - it was only 20 minutes and only covered 3km. I was fairly tired after it and had to walk some of distance, but i am already looking forward to the next one! Bring It On!

I am confined to the bike until my new shoes manage to arrive from England!

Did cycle for half an hour todayn though.

True to the testament you dont know how unfit you are, I nearly died afterwards. My legs are killing me.

But as EP said, Bring it on. I may be hurt but I'm looking for more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

m3llowship wrote: »
    I am confined to the bike until my new shoes manage to arrive from England!

Should have mail ordered from Johnny Buckley in Cork and not only would you have them now but also with a 10% discount!
    Very unpatriotic.:eek:

eliwallach wrote: »
    Should have mail ordered from Johnny Buckley in Cork and not only would you have them now but also with a 10% discount!
    Very unpatriotic.:eek:

See I would love to order Irish but I have quite big feet so need to order online. Otherwise I would be buying irish everytime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭McConkey

Hi guys, best of luck with the training, enjoying reading through yer posts...in the same boat myself, just started my first days running today and hoping to run the Dublin City Marathon too. Will be back to check in and see how ye are getting on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭plodder

THIS IS MY SECOND POST BUT I AM MOVING IT ALL TO THIS THREAD

One thing I have realised too, before I begin actually running I am going to firstly concentrate on losing the extra weight I am carrying. My father has terrible problems with his knees and it all stems from his weight. So I figure its a good option.
    That makes a lot of sense
    In tow with my weight loss my diet has changed drastically. Though I have to take in big amounts of energy to burn while running, with the first phase I am on a major cut back. Lot of veg and lean meat, little carb and no fat.
    There's a good article on diet on the Dublin Marathon web site
    http://adidasdublinmarathon.ie/drinking-for-marathon.pdf
    I've always found that when running, there isn't really any need to cut down on carbs, to lose weight. It's simply a matter of cutting down the crap in my diet (ie. high energy snacks and beer principally). And of course, once you are at a stable weight, your intake of carbs should be quite a bit higher than "normal", when you are training (eg. 60% carb as opposed to 40%)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 EcoBrats

I have to say, I'm really pleased to see this thread.

I am a 27 year old female, 5' tall and almost 10 stone.

I've never liked running, always thought it was boring and out of all the sports I tried could never work out why I found running the hardest.

However, I have always said that at one time in my life I would complete a marathon, just to prove to myself that I could do it.

Since my son was born almost 18 months ago, I have never been so big or been so inactive, so I am resolved that this is going to be the year.

Found a training plan to get me started (very slowly but surely!) but still finding it hard to get out for those runs, between working around my son, my partner and my business that I run from home.

Following your story so far has been the kick I needed to get off my bum and just do it - thanks very much lads! :)

Will be keenly following your progress.

EcoBrats wrote: »

I've never liked running, always thought it was boring and out of all the sports I tried could never work out why I found running the hardest.

However, I have always said that at one time in my life I would complete a marathon, just to prove to myself that I could do it.

i was the same EcoBrats, i never liked running at all, i found it extremely boring, although i have come to realise that this is because i was always running on a threadmill.

Although i have only started running i now find it a good way to relax, listen to music and to think about what ever the hell ya want to!! I'm running in Phoenix Park and it is a pretty cool place, loads of varying directions/routes that you can take!!

Back to the training...yesterday was meant to be a rest day, so i just went for a walk, the legs were pretty sore from Monday, but still covered 6k, so much easier to cover distance when walking!!!:D

Today i went for a 12k cycle and back to the running tomorrow!! I'm back home in Waterford now, so will have a run down here instead - race the bro (m3llowship);)

Cheers for all the support in our endeavour for the 26.2, we'll keep the thread updated!!!!

eposhea wrote: »

Today i went for a 12k cycle and back to the running tomorrow!! I'm back home in Waterford now, so will have a run down here instead - race the bro (m3llowship);)

I'd say you might take me to be honest! Had my first run today. The word humbling comes to mind, very quickly. I covered 3.5 KM which was difficult and I had to walk some of it. I think I just need to learn how to regulate my speed. Still learning the rope I guess.

Still, I am mad to get out again and get some more miles under my belt. Tomorrow is a rest day, so I'm gonna have a short walk to keep myself moving.

Thanks to everyone thats showing interest and pointing the brother and I in the right direction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭uglyjohn

eposhea wrote: »
    I like it milligank - i'll prob use it in the future!!

Went for first run today, it really is true that you dont know how unfit you are until your first run - it was only 20 minutes and only covered 3km. I was fairly tired after it and had to walk some of distance, but i am already looking forward to the next one! Bring It On!

we all have to start somewhere big guy, keep it up and you'll be fine.

it'll get easier once the weather improves and the evenings get brighter.

Cheers for that uglyjohn!

Feeling better at the running now alright! went for another 3.5k Thusday, 22 minutes this time, loadsa hills - SUCKED!

went for longer run today, hit the big 6k mark, although at about 5k, my feet were burning, turns out i gots blisters on both of them - WHOOP! think i may have to upgrade my socks, i read all the posts saying cotton are not good, but i only used cotton socks so far....own fault really! they better go down soon, need a run tomorrow or monday! anyway, did the 6k in 35 mintues, including walking for the last 1k - unfortunately!!

i'm aiming to race in the great run ireland race on April 5th, so think i am well on the way to that! If the runs go goos i ay even enter the Cupids Dash! although think i may not have enough training for that one!!

Anyway, thats all for now! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

If you're getting to 6km now, I see no reason why you shouldn't be able to run the Cupid's Dash. My longest run in training for the Aware 10k was just over 8km/5 miles - on the day adrenaline will carry you to the end.

Also - keep an eye out for when Aldi or Lidl have running gear on special. My preferred running socks at the moment are the ones I got in Aldi a few months ago (€3.99 a pair), but then again I don't have any of the fancy twin-skin socks or anything.

Yea Kirby, think i'll do the Cupids Dash alright, cheers!! Start getting times together so i can start getting PB's...been a while since i had a PB in any sport!ha!

good call on the Aldi/Lidl specials, never thought of that, i'll keep a look out for them!!

Well, been a few days since my last run, but college only started back on Monday and blisters flared up, so i'll blame them!

I'm taking part in the UCD Get In Gear programme and I had a full health evaluation yesterday, which was better than expected to be honest.

Weight: 88.7 Kgs
    20.1% Body Fat
    66 Resting Heart Rate
    132/80 Blood Pressure

I have a post evaluation in 5 weeks time, so am looking forward to comparing both! Although, my weight is 18kgs down since the summer, whoop and body fat down 3.6%! So your target weight is achievable alright!

Anyway, went for a run this morning, 4km 20 minutes - but blisters came back up AGAIN :(, and i was wearing those compeed patches! Although i have not bought technical socks, so i think that is the reason!

Anyway - on with pounding out the km's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I was actually tempted to try the UCD Get in Gear thingy just for the health evaluation, but I couldn't spare the €40.

yea the health evaluation was the big pulling factor, 2 of them, so 20 quid! and 5 passes to the gym, and access to any of the classes.

Although, the work has piled on already, so not sure how many classes i'll be hitting!:D

Sorry its been so long since I posted guys. I joined the gym in WIT today. I thought it was a good idea because with college and work sometimes I don't get home until after 9 and I wasn't really fond of running so late. This way when I have an hour or two of in college I can get a run and a shower in with out having to go home!

Ive only been running for about two weeks now yet already I can see the improvement. Not quite up the standard of the brother but I find that I can make it a lot farther now without needing to stop or walk. I've also discovered that I am becoming addicted to it! Every time I get back from a run I wish I could go again, but my legs wont allow me!! The rain wind or cold, which there has been a lot of, has'nt thrown me off at all.

I have also, much to my detriment, realised that putting my phone into a plastic bag while running is a good idea! The screen will never be the same again I'd say!

One thing, can someone link me to some good stretches for after a run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

I have also, much to my detriment, realised that putting my phone into a plastic bag while running is a good idea! The screen will never be the same again I'd say!

You could just leave it at home.:cool:
    It's an unnecessary distraction (and an unnecessary weight!).

But kudos to you for arranging running into your life; it's an addiction that will never leave you. :)

Hi All!

Its been 18 days since my first post on this topic.

Honestly, I cant believe my progress so far! Three weeks ago I couldn't rush down the hall to answer the phone without gasping for breath!

Today I ran 4.6 KM with a lot of hills, in 29 minutes. I was tired but I could have gone on. I know I'm not breaking any records or anything but I've never felt so good about myself! The best thing about it was I couldnt wait to get back out there and go again! (but of course, knowing the importance of a rest day I'll take it easy tomorrow)

I'm getting alot of advice from a college friend who has been running long distance competitively for about 6 years. He is helping me with mapping my weight loss, my progress, my times and my scheduling!

I have one question...... This may not be the most glamourous part about running but I'm sure others have been affected!

Is there something I can do to combat chaffing in a specific area...

I have always liked John Wayne but impersonating him is not something I have ever considered.

Peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Bodyglide or vaseline will help with the chafing!

Hi All,

Sorry its been so long since this thread has been updated.

Let me bring ya up to speed. After a dodgy knee, one visit to the doctor, one consultant, a few sessions of physio, orthopedic soles, new stretching regimes and an a recommended core session three times a week..........I'm still going for it.

I'm covering about 30km a week now which again isnt breaking any records, but considering I scoffed at the thought of running to the shop a few months ago I aint doing to bad.

I have had some problems, mostly with my left knee. I was getting a pain in the entire joint and focused pain under my knee cap on the left hand side. This was due to my knee cap twisting as oppossed to sliding along my knee. I finally found out it was to do with an ever so slightly flat foot and improper stretching. My quads need to be stretched out a lot more and even once during my longer runs. Battered and Bruised but certainly not beaten.

Also, my endevours have now made their way to the ears of my work mates. There was a very unflattering picture that circulated around wirk of me puffing and panting my way u a steep hill in all my glory. Though the laughing was muffled out by the wheezing of long term smokers and thunderous sounds of greatly overweight people. I joked along with them all the while taking solice in my new founds health.

[/FONT] This is my regime on a weekly basis.

Monday 8km
    Tuesday 5km and 30 minutes core at night
    Wednesday 5km
    Thursday No running but 30 minutes core at night.
    Friday 8km
    Saturday 5km slow run and 30 minutes core at night
    Sunday Rest

I know further down the line I will have to decrease my frequency and increase my mileage, but for the moment this suits to build fitness and reduce weight.

This is a program I am finding challenging and rewarding.

Sine I have begun I have lost nearly 20lbs. I feel f*&cking fantastic if you'll excuse my language.

When I undertook this task I thought it was a pipe dream, an ignorant excuse just to get my fat ass off the couch, but now I revel my time on the road. I can't wait to get out there and do more, sweat more and ultimately be more. I have a much better sense of health and self.

Until Next Time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭uglyjohn

well done! great to hear you're still at it.

good job getting over the setbacks and sticking to it. you'll probably inspire a lot of people to get off the couch and follow your example.

the one thing i would suggest is some cross training. like swimming and cycling. Swimming is great for strength, flexability and fittness. it counts as core training too.
    i find if my muscles are aching after a long run a bit of a swim and then some time in the sauna goes a long way.

Hi to anyone that might read this.

I dont know how interested anyone is in this thread anymore but its good to keep for myself I guess?

Anyway, I ran the Great Ireland Run in Dublin over the weekend. It was fantastic, I was grinning from ear to ear as I passed the finish line. From the second I got there I was enthralled. I loved every minute of it!

I crossed the line in 55:49. A time that I was personally very happy with. I wanted to get it below 57/58 so this was a great bonus! Also I know I could have done a much better time, I wasnt pushed to my limits by any means. I think with some better experience and concentration I could do it in 52/53.

Managed to beat the brother by a thin 18 seconds too!

One thing I did realise too, is that running races is definitely for me. I cant wait to do another!

Peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭milligank

mini-marathon on Monday 5th May - 10km in the park

check out www.arccancersupport.ie or some variation of this address

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭lecheile

Hi to anyone that might read this.

I dont know how interested anyone is in this thread anymore but its good to keep for myself I guess?

Anyway, I ran the Great Ireland Run in Dublin over the weekend. It was fantastic, I was grinning from ear to ear as I passed the finish line. From the second I got there I was enthralled. I loved every minute of it!

I crossed the line in 55:49. A time that I was personally very happy with. I wanted to get it below 57/58 so this was a great bonus! Also I know I could have done a much better time, I wasnt pushed to my limits by any means. I think with some better experience and concentration I could do it in 52/53.

Managed to beat the brother by a thin 18 seconds too!

One thing I did realise too, is that running races is definitely for me. I cant wait to do another!

Peace
    Are you involved in a club m3llowship? I know that West Waterford have a very active club with a very broad range of ages, abilities and goals. That will get you in a group of similar ability to you and bring you along in leaps and bounds. Dont tell your brother - it'll be nothing like 18 seconds next time.

Keep on running!

milligank wrote: »
    mini-marathon on Monday 5th May - 10km in the park

check out www.arccancersupport.ie or some variation of this address

The brother signed us both up for this I think, looking for a rematch I'd say!!

Unfortunately I keep rather strange hours with work and college, so joining a running club is something I cant do at the moment!

Thanks for the help guys!!