Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People in the College

• 09-01-2009 11:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭

I've been getting mixed reviews on NUIG.

I've got two questions so if each person could answer each just to give me all the different opinions. :)

1. How many days a week does it actually rain? Like I'm imagining a change of clothes like twice a day by the sounds of it!!

2. Are the people nice, sound, not stuck up? Would you get all that d4 aspect that you'd get in Dublin?

Contemplating moving there you see...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ionix5891

i graduated few years back from NUIG, recently finished a masters and now run own company

anyways to answer you questions (i presume your from dublin?)

1. i wont lie, it rains about twice more than Dublin, but I don't see how that would matter in NUIG the campus is huge and you wont get wet going between lectures and the nightlife is great craic so you wont notice

2. you def wont get the D4 types :) (i lived in D6 and worked in large company @ D2 for quite a while) Looking back puts a smile on my face thats why I went back for more studies and currently live and work in Galway

what course your applying for? if you don't mind asking

anyways i hope you don't turn out good opportunity cause of weather :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    1. How many days a week does it actually rain?

2. Are the people nice, sound, not stuck up?

no, they are all a bunch of ****s.
    Would you get all that d4 aspect that you'd get in Dublin?

yes. except think culchies who have really high opinions of themselves.
    Contemplating moving there you see...:D

sucks to be you that you would have to stoop this low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

no, they are all a bunch of ****s.

yes. except think culchies who have really high opinions of themselves.

sucks to be you that you would have to stoop this low.

I agree with this with leninbenjamin being a perfect example of what's wrong with Galway. :)

Yes it rains a lot. Deal with it. This is a life changing decision and your bringing rain in as a deciding factor.

Also, your going to college. Of course there are stuck up twats. That's the definition of a college student.

student_suicidal_id242549_size450.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ionix5891

some very "helpful" comments there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭SamuelFox

I've got two questions so if each person could answer each just to give me all the different opinions.

1. How many days a week does it actually rain? Like I'm imagining a change of clothes like twice a day by the sounds of it!! Honestly, it rains a lot. However, when are you really going to be outside? Buy an umbrella for the mornings (or waterproofs if you really want) and you’ll be grand. Unlke a lot of places all the buildings seem to be linked. Its really not a big deal.

2. Are the people nice, sound, not stuck up? Would you get all that d4 aspect that you'd get in Dublin? Not at all in my experience. Its there, don’t get me wrong, but its so rare you won’t come across it unless you look for it. Its an incredibly chilled out college and most people just couldn’t be bothered being stuck up.

Contemplating moving there you see... Best decision of my life was to come to Galway.

My reply in bold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

SamuelFox wrote: »
    My reply in bold

This is pretty much everything you need to know.

Honestly, it's a great place. And you get used to the rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭pointofnoreturn

2. Are the people nice, sound, not stuck up? Would you get all that d4 aspect that you'd get in Dublin?...

NUIG has quite a good student culture, + it's in the center of town, which makes a big difference, GMIT is total different much smaller and far outside town, unless you have a car, you will get sick of studying their, people in both colleges and the city are sound, but if it's a studenty thing you want then NUIG is the better option.

like in all parts of citys your going to meet idoits and then nice ppl, depend on the person you are you won't have to too hard to makes new friends, just be aware it's not all happy happy joy joy ;)

If you come to Galway I'm going to kill you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

If you come to Galway I'm going to kill you...

ehhhh thankkkssss....(?)

I agree with this with leninbenjamin being a perfect example of what's wrong with Galway. :)

:mad:
    ionix5891 wrote: »
    some very "helpful" comments there

it was 3.30 in the morning, what did youe expect?

on a serious note: It rains more in Galway than in Dublin, but not as much as people say, you can still cycle or walk as your main mode of transport handy as the rain is rarely very heavy, there'll just be a few days here and there when you'll have to get the bus.

another note: the only people i've met in NUIG who didn't like it were from either Dublin or Cork, primarily because they found the place too small, which kind of leads me to wonder, what they hell were they expecting? the population is only 80,000, you can walk the entire town centre in about 10 minutes, and you will find yourself frequenting the same places a lot. However, for a town as small as it is, there's a fair bit to be done in it so i can't see this being a huge problem. just bear it in mind.

ehhhh thankkkssss....(?)

Wasn't aimed at you, but everybody. Hahahaha

But seriously I can get pretty violent.

:mad:

it was 3.30 in the morning, what did youe expect?

on a serious note: It rains more in Galway than in Dublin, but not as much as people say, you can still cycle or walk as your main mode of transport handy as the rain is rarely very heavy, there'll just be a few days here and there when you'll have to get the bus.

another note: the only people i've met in NUIG who didn't like it were from either Dublin or Cork, primarily because they found the place too small, which kind of leads me to wonder, what they hell were they expecting? the population is only 80,000, you can walk the entire town centre in about 10 minutes, and you will find yourself frequenting the same places a lot. However, for a town as small as it is, there's a fair bit to be done in it so i can't see this being a huge problem. just bear it in mind.

It's actually so small that you will run into leninbenjamin eight times a day and then you have to listen to his fanspastic opinions on Galway being small and full of twats like me.

one problem. I dont live in Galway anymore... I've moved onto bigger and better things. :P

Dublin doesn't count as "better".

no no it doesn't. unfortunately living in Dublin is a necessary evil for the 'bigger and better' things.

Too true...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

It rains an awful lot but the people are so sound.

Ive never met anyone, not one, who regretted going to Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭KStaford

it's like no way man, it's like, so not d4, i mean like no way man (dear god I can't believe I'm speaking like this . . . . . . . . . . like no way)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭cianl1

OK, time to intervene...

Don't listen to the culchies Cheeky, listen to the civilised people i.e. Dubliners, such as myself. While Galway was most definately not my first choice on the auld CAO (****!), I got over it and never looked back. I'm in second year now and yes there will always be the stigma of being from the only sophistcated part of the country but get a group of friends together and it won't matter since it's all in good fun.

Galway's decent, and while I'd rather spend my time in Dublin, that's just me longing for home. Oh well.

If you ever do come here, look me up.:D

P.S. With regards to the D4 thing, there's more Yanks here in NUIG than D4s, they're all off in UCD and are going to drop out in the second year of their Arts/Commerce course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

cianl1 wrote: »
    Don't listen to the culchies Cheeky, listen to the civilised people i.e. Dubliners, such as myself. While Galway was most definately not my first choice on the auld CAO (****!), I got over it and never looked back. I'm in second year now and yes there will always be the stigma of being from the only sophistcated part of the country but get a group of friends together and it won't matter since it's all in good fun.

So sophisticated that you couldn't get your first choice on the CAO? FAIL.

Sophistication has nothing to do with intelligence:D, infact they're the antithesis of each other.

That said, I'm working on it...at least I'm not in Arts:cool:

I don't mean to generalise but all people everywhere are tossers.

That include you or are you the only sound one?

cianl1 wrote: »
    That include you or are you the only sound one?

my use of the word "all" is intended to be 100% inclusive

I must commend your humility and self-restraint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

1. How many days a week does it actually rain? Like I'm imagining a change of clothes like twice a day by the sounds of it!!

As of late, it seem only to rain when I decide to walk to colege. Not even joking! Its dry when I leave and dry again about 5 minutes after I arrive and it lashes in between!
    All the rainy days are made up for by glorious summer evenings drinking down at the spanish arch. Galway is the only place I want to be when the sun is shining!
    2. Are the people nice, sound, not stuck up? Would you get all that d4 aspect that you'd get in Dublin?

Galway people are generally easy going and sound yes! There is a certain amount of stuck up people in the city too, but most galway people are nice easy going folk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

It rains an awful lot but the people are so sound.

Ive never met anyone, not one, who regretted going to Galway.

Ooooh pick me, pick me!

Going to be honest, I hated it and it's one of the biggest regrets of my life. But that's just me.

Honestly though Cheeky, I'm not entirely sure that you'll like it.

Look, we can argue about this back and forth until we're blue in the face, but the fact of the matter is Cheeky, you have to do what you feel is right and not listen to anyone else.

Sometimes we're not given any choice and have to deal with whatever gets thrown in our lap, which I'll admit was what happened to me, but it's how we deal with these situations that reveals who we are.

You're worried about rain? This is Ireland, it rains 364.5 days a year. Who gives a flying ****?

As far as I'm concerned, the D4 situation in Galway only applies if you are one. So there's my answer, but please make your own choices or get to grips with whatever chooses you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭pagancornflake

ehhhh thankkkssss....(?)

No, seriously, I will try to kill you too. Stay out of galway. You have been warned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

No, seriously, I will try to kill you too. Stay out of galway. You have been warned.

Bring it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I'm thinking about going to galway too, am I safe?

Not if I'm around.

Also, it depends on how you look.