Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to uninvite someone to a hen night??

• 09-01-2009 10:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭

Ok, so here's my problem. In my excitement, I invited people to my hen night a bit too early i.e. end of Novemeber for a hen in Feb. The problem is that I invited this girl from work, who I got on with. Some of the other women had been complaining about her and the way she throws her weight around at work.
    However, I didn't really see what the others were on about and invited her.

Fast forward to staff night out, where she arrived totally overdressed, got hammered, came onto every male that moved and completely wrecked everyone's (including mine) head with her main topic - herself. I now know what they were on about!

My dilemma - how do I uninvite this t*t? I really don't want to be dealing with her at my hen and especially my wedding!

I'm not a hateful person, I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings or a confrontation. But how?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

The only way to do this is a tangled web of lies involving "cancelling" the hen party and "deciding to have a smaller wedding as money is tight so it's just going to be family" - but everyone would have to be in on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

TBH if you dont run the risk of being found out or hurting her feelings I would advise you to suck it up and go ahead with the night as planned. Its just a night out! If you must ask a few of your mates to keep an eye on her.

You work with this girl and will see her every day- do you really want to run the risk of her finding out that she wrecks everyones heads. That would be such a horrible thing to do-and believe me she would find out that she was uninvited.

How would you like it if you were the one that was being talked about in this way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭catho_monster

Have the hen someother time and not tell her, making sure everyone else keeps hush?
    Blame it on a bridesmaid, she "surprise" arranged your hen for you and didnt realise this girl was invited, and it was a suprise so thats why no-one talked about it in the office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

women!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

women!
    Cant live with em , ,, thats about it really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Just go ahead with your hen as per planned.

It sounds all very childish tbh. You thought she was nice but then some others b*tched about her behind your back, sullying her image (nice friends there) and now you don't like her. Everyone behaves a bit off when drunk, but it's not a reflection on her personality overall, which you seemed to like beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

Thanks for the help guys. The elaborate lie isn't an option, tis a small workplace.

Think you're right axel, gonna have to suck it up. She is a right dose though! I never believe things til I see them:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭taztastic

This may be more hassle then its worth but could you give her a job that necessitates her staying in some way sober for most of the evening. Not sure what you could come up with by way of job but perhaps more experienced hens could make a suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Ask your boss on the quiet if there's any way she might need to travel somewhere on business that night? If it's really worth it to you, offer to pay for her flights :)

Jaysus lads at most shes a bit of pain! Noone wants to be the david brent of the workplace!
    Deemark, this may sound odd but low expectations generally make for the best nights out! What I mean is that if you planned for the ultimate night out, with the perfect entertainment and the best hair day, you generally end up having a dry sh1te night.........however less perfection is often more fun. :) (some of my best nights started out as a 'quick one').

Anyway please dont focus on this and try not let the fact that shes coming be a focus of all things negative. You wouldnt like people to speak about you in that way. (btw you didnt tell me where we are all meeting up :D)

Thoie, we're all 9-5ers, so that's not a goer I'm afraid. Might invent a job though....

You're very glass half-full axel and you're right. My best nights have been the ones that had the potential to be disastrous.

And sure if I'm the drunkest there, I won't give a sh*t* anyway, roll on Feb!

The venue is a (not so) closely guarded secret...

DID YOU JUST UNINVITE ME? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

deemark wrote: »
    Thoie, we're all 9-5ers, so that's not a goer I'm afraid. Might invent a job though....

She needs to go on a training course! In a shop somewhere! In Kilkenny!

Yeah, I'm out of ideas (and enthusiasm ;) )

axel rose wrote: »
    DID YOU JUST UNINVITE ME? :mad:

Oops, I have incurred The Wrath... good practice though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

Its a tough one. Would it be too difficult just to say "Your actions at the staff do made me uncomfortable so I would prefer if you didn't come to my party"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭fifomania

Maybe DundalkDuffman has a point? But as you don't like confrontation, I'd just go ahead with it, I can't imagine she'll be the only tit at your hen party as these things usually get messy! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭TutuKaka

Could she 'win' a ticket to a show/concert that night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭road_2_damascus

deemark wrote: »
    Ok, so here's my problem. In my excitement, I invited people to my hen night a bit too early i.e. end of Novemeber for a hen in Feb. The problem is that I invited this girl from work, who I got on with. Some of the other women had been complaining about her and the way she throws her weight around at work.
    However, I didn't really see what the others were on about and invited her.

Fast forward to staff night out, where she arrived totally overdressed, got hammered, came onto every male that moved and completely wrecked everyone's (including mine) head with her main topic - herself. I now know what they were on about!

My dilemma - how do I uninvite this t*t? I really don't want to be dealing with her at my hen and especially my wedding!

I'm not a hateful person, I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings or a confrontation. But how?

live and let live, she may be a torture, but she also may have some very decent hidden qualities that you dont yet know of... and in these challenging times, the more people that you have on your side the better? She sounds like she could be a bit of a loner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 danielleabell

Just wondering did you sort your problem out