Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lying on your C.V?

• 08-01-2009 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 keeva101

Does anybody do this! now I don't mean a few white lies, for instead my Brother had dropped out of College a few years ago never even got his Diploma but proceed to snag a fantastic job in Accountancy saying he had his Degree and everything he just BullS**ts his way through interviews and has about 5 different CVs done up, and uses whichever one suits a particular Job! I myself have been know to lie about my age and added the odd phantom job to fill in any gaps! Anyone else done this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Wow, Your brother is a complete douche.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

keeva101 wrote: »
    Does anybody do this! now I don't mean a few white lies, for instead my Brother had dropped out of College a few years ago never even got his Diploma but proceed to snag a fantastic job in Accountancy saying he had his Degree and everything he just BullS**ts his way through interviews and has about 5 different CVs done up, and uses whichever one suits a particular Job! I myself have been know to lie about my age and added the odd phantom job to fill in any gaps! Anyone else done this?
    Well done to your brother. He has very good initiative and its not as if he is pretending to be a brain surgeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Ive never lied on my CV but I would do it in order to get the job. I would lie about no so significant things though, for example, say a 1 month job was a summer job, or say I had roles of responsibility if I didnt. I big up everything I have done though, theres not a thing wrong with that.

However, I would never lie to the extent that the OP's brother did, although fair play. I would never be that good to get away with it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

blinding wrote: »
    Well done to your brother. He has very good initiative and its not as if he is pretending to be a brain surgeon.

No, he's only taken a job that someone else who actually completed their degree deserves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭pepsicokeacola

you should sit in your ventrillo playing some dota challengemaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I once interviewed a guy who purported to have a degree in IT, supposedly the same year and college as myself. Unfortunately he couldn't recall too much about the class or course details and was sent packing for wasting my time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

No, he's only taken a job that someone else who actually completed their degree deserves.
    The politicians are spoofers
    The bankers are spoofers
    The clergy of all types are spoofers

This guy is ahead of the game .If you cant beat them join them.

The society that we live in is controlled by a bunch of spoofers.
    This guy just recognised this and used it to his advantage.By understand the world he lives in he has already shown that heis a class A spoofer.
    He will probably be Taoiseach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

you should sit in your ventrillo playing some dota challengemaster.

You wot mate? Keep your crazyness to yourself or post ON-TOPIC. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Anyone else done this?

A lot of people do this, and they seem to get away with it. I've given this example before, but my old flatmate - he was a labourer - lied about having a business degree and walked into a fund accountant job.

It's obviously unethical, but when you look at the bigger picture of life, is it worth it? Probably.

Having a degree doesn't mean that you deserve a job - but I see your point. On the other hand tho if the employer cannot discover that this person IS NOT AN ACCOUNTANT then someone that spent time studying the oodles of exams to become one is better off working someplace else.

In these recessionary times I say fair play to your brother keeva101.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

In these recessionary times I say fair play to your brother keeva101.
    People have been doing it for years, recession or not. It will still happen in the future.

Anyhow it's hardly a massive crime, not on the same level as saying you can swim when taking a job as a lifeguard :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

its ok the posih do it all the time

Presume you were trying to spell "Polish" but failed.
    Banned for a month for racism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

If the employer finds out that he doesn't have a degree would that be grounds for dismissal? He got the job under false pretenses so why not?

What if he wants to get a promotion to something senior in his company where they have to check his degree? Chances are he'll get away with it now but if he ever wants to move up he's stuck.

I'm not an accountant but in my area if somebody spoofs their qualifications your peers will be able to notice if you're missing stuff that is required for the qualification. They wouldn't do anything (unless you were totally incompetent) but it'd certainly limit your potential for moving around or up in a company.

People can get through interviews on BS. But that's why there are probation periods in most contracts. I've seen a couple of companies use those over the last year. Before it used to be we'll take whatever we can get.

If the employer finds out that he doesn't have a degree would that be grounds for dismissal? He got the job under false pretenses so why not?

From what I've seen, employers don't care if they lied or not as long as the employee is doing a good job.

AARRRGH wrote: »
    From what I've seen, employers don't care if they lied or not as long as the employee is doing a good job.

I agree (to a certain extent) but in my current job I was working away happily when I needed to apply to an external body for an ID that everybody in my dept has to get (we're doing work in a different country and they required us to do this before allowing us to do it). They required 5 years of references and they were checked. I would have a hard time explaining to my HR dept why a reference didn't check out. Maybe they wouldn't have fired me but it would limit my job severly if I couldn't get the ID.

In the current climate people are being fired left, right and centre whether they're doing a good job or not. It might be a handy excuse to avoid having to pay redundo. Maybe that's not legal (I don't know) but if a company was looking around at who to chop and how much redunancy was going to cost them and they knew this guy lied to enter the company then he'd have a target on his head.

In the OPs case his brother is an accountant. What if his company wanted him to become a Chartered Accountant. Maybe they wouldn't and I don't really know what a CA is but if it's a step up and his company wanted him to do it what excuses could he provide for not having the entry criteria that they expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

A few white lies are grand..like hobbies interests etc..future plans...but lying about having a degree...:eek: is a serious big whopper of a lie and these things have a habit of always getting out.. I would never lie for that reason...lying is grand as long as you can get away with it or have you rtracks covered...no degree is pretty easy to find out...so in that sense the guy is very very foolish...

In the current climate people are being fired left, right and centre whether they're doing a good job or not. It might be a handy excuse to avoid having to pay redundo.

Yeah, I've wondered about this too. If I had a useless person working on my team, and I re-checked their CV to make sure everything is correct and I found out their lied about their qualification, can I fire them?

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/employment/unemployment-and-redundancy/dismissal/fair-grounds-for-dismissal

Specifically
    Qualifications

Fair dismissal on grounds of qualifications can happen in two ways. One situation is where you misled your employer about qualifications you had when applying for the job. The other is where your employer made continued employment conditional upon your obtaining further qualifications and you failed to achieve this, having been given a reasonable opportunity to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭hatful

Sake. The laziest people I know are accountants. I don't think it's particularly hard to get onto the bottom rung of the ladder without acca qualifications. I hear the tests are mostly MCQ's......:rolleyes: Ultimately you have to be pretty intelligent (Not pretty just intelligent) to get on the top few rungs.

hatful wrote: »
    Sake. The laziest people I know are accountants. I don't think it's particularly hard to get onto the bottom rung of the ladder without acca qualifications. I hear the tests are mostly MCQ's......:rolleyes: Ultimately you have to be pretty intelligent (Not pretty just intelligent) to get on the top few rungs.

Even the bottom rung pays quite well though, right? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

win if you can
    loose if you must
    but always cheat

i lied on my cv from 2000 onwards

i had to and i'll explain

i have a hons diploma in applieds chemistry and a diploma in electronic engineering systems but i didn't want to work for the americians (political and other reasons look at dell the heartless bastards).now i had approached college as a learning experiance a chance to grow and mature rather than to ghain stills directly for employment i always was interested how things work and so my choices of course were set by that rather than a desire to be a lab rat

so after college (which i worked through and paid my own way through living in a flat and not gettinmg supported by the parents) i had to get a better job and so i applied for loads of stuff and i was getting turned down just a standared letter not even an interview for jobs that i could do with my eyes shut. i finally decided that it was that i was over quallified removed cthe college from my life (as i had worked through there were no holes) and hey presto jobs happened)

after that i realised that this was the way to go and lied the other way more experiance better qualifications and no one ever checked (well one company checked i think but i'm not sure) on rolls 2006 christmas party and i'm the top earner in a small to medium irish owned business. so i announdce that i had been lying all the time (drink less at work do's than i do thats my tip for the top) md goes "well that explains a lot of things" (i got a 30% pay raiose 6 weeks later so it wasnb't a big deal.

i saw a job in the paper the other day tyhats needed ten years experiance i reckon thats ageisim and itsa to make sure the appliciant is 30 odd but i do think that a bit of creative thinking on ones cv is the only way to go

not doctors or stuff tho thats wrong
    g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭FeelingTired

People tell the truth in CV's? Weirdos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

There is a world of difference between marketing yourself well and outright lying.
    Even the bottom rung pays quite well though, right? :)

Not if you're somewhere like KPMG on the qualification route. I think it is/was about 40K once you qualify, but the few years before that are not well paid at all.
    Tigger wrote: »
    i saw a job in the paper the other day tyhats needed ten years experiance i reckon thats ageisim and itsa to make sure the appliciant is 30 odd

That's a ridiculous statement. You think that someone should get an exemption because they're not old enough to have achieved the requisite experience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭JDLK

This thread is pretty depressing.

I started out as a building site labourer cos I couldnt afford full time college, did my degree at night- worked my ass of to get a first class hons- which basically meant no social life for about 4 years, then I saved every penny so i could afford a full time masters degree with a reputable university and its still tough to get a a decent job.

I suppose its just life but I hope these people who lied about their qualifications get the karma they deserve

eoin wrote: »

That's a ridiculous statement. You think that someone should get an exemption because they're not old enough to have achieved the requisite experience?

no but i think that a good person with 5 years experiance at a certain level is better than an avereage with 10

but since you ridicule my statement i don't feel like debating the point with you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

In certain economic areas such as Medicine and Engineering this cheating would be a criminal act and land your brother in jail.
    At the very least he would lose his job and be unemployable for a long time until the dust settles or he moves away from Ireland.
    The comments re: Bertie Ahern bring to mind the way he said he went to the London School of Economics yet they have no record of him being awarded a degree........ Bertie was an ordinary worker who wanted a toe in with the college boys but look what lying got him.
    Not as bad as Charlie H. though..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

doolox wrote: »
    In certain economic areas such as Medicine and Engineering this cheating would be a criminal act and land your brother in jail.

Agreed, as an engineer I would never outright lie about my basic qualifications. Running calcs on structures etc or gas pipe integrities and they failed would leave me open to prosecution as my company would not stand by an employee that lied about qualifications. But for jobs where there is no chance of you killing someone, ya go for it!! ;)

no but i think that a good person with 5 years experiance at a certain level is better than an avereage with 10

And a good person with 10 years experience will be better than a good person with 5 years experience.
    but since you ridicule my statement i don't feel like debating the point with you

Sorry, but I can't make any sense of your logic.

eoin wrote: »
    Sorry, but I can't make any sense of your logic.

that dosen't surprise me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭tom-thebox

before i worked for myself i always made sure my DOB was correct on my cv...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

JDLK wrote: »
    This thread is pretty depressing.

For sure on that - I've never lied on my CV except for one time, last year when I was desperate to get work, any work. It was for a shop so I said I'd worked in a shop for years, hardly a sin since I knew I could do the job (I've worked with cash registers before at least)

Didn't get it though, although that was either because it was a small town owned by a small amount of people and I'd already applied to a business owned by the same person with a different CV, or, more likely, I applied too late since I only heard about the job a week after.

Still, it's not a cheery thought that not only am I going up against 100s of people for every job I go for, and that plenty of these truthfully have more experience than I do, but that so many that I'm better qualified than are lying to seem more qualified than me. Dog eat dog world, I guess. I still don't think I'm going to start being dishonest, though.

that dosen't surprise me

Please do elaborate.

hatful wrote: »
    Sake. The laziest people I know are accountants

Maybe the only accountants you know happen to be inheritly lazy people. I work on a daily basis with plenty of hardworking accountants that are a credit to any profession.

You know what, sometimes the people who dont have the degree are better than the ones who have went through college in the first place.

My brother is amazing with computers, building them, fixing them, programming them, he can fix any problem Ive ever had, not always at first, but he gets there. He has no degree at all, has never been to college. We are all trying to convince him to just get the piece of paper to say he can do it, but he wont. he has tried, but just cant stick it, he lasted a full year once, but it was so easy and tedious to him he just left.

I have tried to convince him to just stick it out, its some qualification after all, better than the call centre job he has at the moment!! Although at the moment any jobs a gift!

But the thing is I know if he went for an interview and said he had a degree in, whatever, say, computer programming, unless they asked him about specific modules of the coursework, or asked for the cert, he wouldn't get caught.

Chances are, if the OP's brother has blagged himself a job in Accountancy, he's not an idiot who can't add, in fact he's probably better than the accountants already in there.

Btw, I know no-one actually said the OP's brother was an idiot, Im just making the point that just because you have a degree, does not automatically mean you deserve the job more than someone who doesnt. It does mean on paper that you are more qualified however.

Xiney wrote: »
    For sure on that - I've never lied on my CV except for one time, last year when I was desperate to get work, any work. It was for a shop so I said I'd worked in a shop for years, hardly a sin since I knew I could do the job (I've worked with cash registers before at least).

Whats the difference between what you did and what the OP's brother did.

You know what, Im a teacher, with a degree. I am in my third year in the school Im in at the moment, and the only time I showed them my degree was to get them to certify a photocopy of it, so I could apply for my HDip. They never asked to see it. In a school. Now I think that's pretty serious. But hey, it goes on everywhere, employers can be lazy. You can't blame people who are out of work and need a job for taking advantage of that.

• before i worked for myself i always made sure my DOB was correct on my cv...

Strangely enough, my boss said to me a while ago that I might want to 'make' myself a bit older on my CV and in interviews. I have all the qualifications for my job (teacher), but people seem to lose some respect for me when they realise I'm a good bit younger than most of the others. It's ridiculous because they can't tell from meeting me or observing my class that I don't have a few years experience, only when they hear my age, they realise I can't have been teaching that long (and I haven't, I don't lie about it). To me that's silly. If I'm mature enough to come across as 26-27 and a decent enough teacher to come across as having 3-4 years experience, what does it matter? I doubt I will lie though because that would mean changing ALL the dates for school, college etc and I'm a terrible liar.

To answer the OP's question, I too know someone who dropped out of college and pretends he has a degree. Gets loads of jobs out of it.

peanuthead wrote: »
    You know what, sometimes the people who dont have the degree are better than the ones who have went through college in the first place.

I absolutely 100% agree with you. I know you weren't implying it but that doesn't mean that somebody can say they have a degree just because they know the same or more than somebody with a degree. The employer can ask for whatever they want (that's legal). It's not up to the employee to say they have it just because they think they're equivalent to somebody who does have the qualification. If you're not applicable for jobs because of your lack of qualification then go out and get the cert or degree. In the long term it's worth it.

[quote=[Deleted User];58543933]Strangely enough, my boss said to me a while ago that I might want to 'make' myself a bit older on my CV and in interviews. [/QUOTE]

I'd be more inclined to leave your age off the CV. It's not required for a job. If you're telling the truth about your experience and qualifications then who cares what age you are. If you get the interview and they think you're young, then you're face to face with them and you can convince them you're worth hiring.

[quote=[Deleted User];58543933]To answer the OP's question, I too know someone who dropped out of college and pretends he has a degree. Gets loads of jobs out of it.[/QUOTE]

I also know a guy who makes his CV better than his experience. I met him a while ago and he said he got loads of interviews but never gets hired. Sounds about right. His CV looks great but any half decent interviewer can identify BS. Some of them can't and you can be lucky to get one of those.

I've been on interviews where people have said they've got experience (that they didn't have) of X or Y and as I had the same experience I asked them about it. After 2 mins you just want to finish up the interview as you know you're wasting your time.

[quote=[Deleted User];58543933]Gets loads of jobs out of it.[/QUOTE]

Does that mean he can't hold the jobs?
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• I'd be more inclined to leave your age off the CV. It's not required for a job.

I do, but I have the years I was in school and college which makes it obvious what age I am anyway. I was starting secondary school the same year a lot of my colleagues started college!
    Does that mean he can't hold the jobs?

They're usually temporary jobs, but he's still not officially qualified to do them!