Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

would you got to see a dj by yourself?

• 08-01-2009 6:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭

there was a thread recently in afterhours about going to nightclubs in general by yourself, personally wouldnt do it, but if there was a big dj who you've wanted to see, playing a club would you go by yourself if you had to?
    my situation is this-none of my mates like any form of dance music.some would be indifferent to it but would be hard to drag them to a club to pay 25euro too see someone they never heard of. steve angello is playing the academy this month.dying to see him but if i go ill be going on my own.considering just gettin pissed before and headin along-would many on here do it or will i just look like a loner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

df1985 wrote: »
    there was a thread recently in afterhours about going to nightclubs in general by yourself, personally wouldnt do it, but if there was a big dj who you've wanted to see, playing a club would you go by yourself if you had to?
    my situation is this-none of my mates like any form of dance music.some would be indifferent to it but would be hard to drag them to a club to pay 25euro too see someone they never heard of. steve angello is playing the academy this month.dying to see him but if i go ill be going on my own.considering just gettin pissed before and headin along-would many on here do it or will i just look like a loner!

I wouldnt do it myself mate, what you need is new friends!!! ;)
    Nah seriously, I know if I talked to somebody and they said they were on their own I would be a little bit weirded out. I'd be wondering why they were on their own. I wouldnt be nasty though and after a while I'd probably have a great buzz with ye. The initial feeling would be one of scepticism towards ya. However if you have your heart set on going, go for it mate, ya never know ye might meet a couple of heads there, have a great time and make new acquaintences. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭The G Child

I've never gone in on my own, but have been to Tripod on my own when mates were not allowed in. I just went in anyway. Each to their own and all, but when I go clubbing I like to drop an eckie, so when your on that buzz you couldn't give a rats arse who your with, your just dancing away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Go for it, it's not as if your going to a normal club, your always bound to meet people on the nite and hang out with them, ive done it once or twice, one time in particular when i was in London my mate wasn't into going out and i really wanted to go to an event so i thought fcuk it ill go anyway so i went to Anti-World a Techno/Psy Trance nite and it was brilliant and i met a gang full of people who invite me back to a squat party, ended up i didn't get home until Monday morning:o:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭InTranceWeTrust

I might be going to this, also on my own. If you do drugs we can hang out.

As far as going to things by myself I went to a few psyy trance things by myself and it was grand, but I was guiced up and its mainly friendly people at psy trsnce events anyway.

I'm kinda in the same boat as you. Have mates that just go to pub every weekend and get sloshed. No drugs and no dance music:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

sad as it sounds i ****ing hate going to clubs on my own.too loud to chat to anyone to "make friends"and dancing by yourself isnt really that much fun.
    thats being said if your off your face im sure it wouldnt matter.
    hit up a forum(maybe this one) and ask if anyones going,see if you can tag along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

just a thought though.even if there not into it why not try and convince your mosy open minded friends to go.itll be an experience after all.get pissed before hand and roll in.im sure theyll do it if you pester them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭just pete

If you really want to see him then go, be it on your own or with someone.
    I got sick of mates telling me they were all mad to go to see djs and then when it comes to it, they realise that they still have that fear to leave the pub or club they always go to.

Enjoy the gig :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Weird Scientist

you never had a little rave in your bedroom on your own? If you cant have a good time on your tod I'd be worried, who gives a **** if you dont know anyone, you may get a bit bored when having a smoke or summit if your not too talkative to other people but other than that you wont notice the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla

TBH I'm lucky enough to have a good few mates, (3 of which are DJs) that love going to dj gigs with me. But if I didn't I dunno. Hard to say... probably wouldn't. Would just be kinda lonely and the best thing about going to these gigs is actually having the fun with the lads. Its such a great buzz... Love it, but friends make it even better my point it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Vamoose Killers

Usually go on my own as none of my mates are into this. Went to Modeselektor on my own, met loads of people too. Come to think of it they were probably freaked out by the idea of going to a club on your own but it didn't even occur to me, I didn't give a ****. Probably stems from me starting to go to clubs on my own in Berlin and nobody giving a **** over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭The G Child

I wouldn't go out to a commercial club or disco bar on my own, as you just look like a sexual predator on the prowl. But I'd have no trouble going raving on my own now. If theres a DJ on that I want to see and none of the lads are goin in, I'll just go on my own. Initially it might seem wierd but it will be grand when you get in there. Everyones on a love buzz anyway and wont think anything of you on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

cheers for all the responses lads.i bit the bullet and ordered my ticket today.really lookin forward to it and tbh dont think ill end up caring if im on my own ravin away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭madma

fair play to ya man angello is gig of the year so far im gettin my tkt next week cant wait for it, sure you'll have a mad one buzzin off randomers there always the best nights and sure get a few good magic beans into ya and you'll only be interested in dancing and wont have a care in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Go to see a DJ on your own, is that what you're worried about?

I drove 3 hours up to Letterkenny to see a DJ on my own in the middle of last year, spent the whole night on my own but it was well worth it.

I flew to London to go to the Ministry of Sound on my own in October, I'd arrange to meet folks there but if they didn't show up I wasn't gonna not head in. I did it again there in December, and I've to book my plane again in February (Markus Schulz, Mike Koglin, Simon Patterson and Josh Gabriel, you don't have to ask me twice :D)

I could be heading to Ferry at the end of the month in the Tivoli and then Markus Schulz is in Tivoli on Saturday the 14th of February - I could be on my own then, who knows!

There's not a whole lot to think about really, if I want to go I'll go. Whether or not I talk to folks while I'm there doesn't really come into it but most times I'll make an effort with somebody. Sure, if I had friends who were into dance music like I am then I'd drag them along, I could do with some new trance-loving friends :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 DaMooseDog

Have done it many times when there's no other takers, and tbh a few of them have been the craziest, most amazing times ever so never be afraid to go it solo.

An example: I remember one summer when I was in Toronto where I went on a 48 hour bender (btw I drink a fair amount and love clubbing but never have done drugs ). Started off in a boat cruise rave on the Friday night, met two girls and a guy and went on with them to a morning club that went till about 9am Saturday morning. Then went to a pub to watch Ireland playin Holland in the world cup qualifier which was on in the morning there (the one where mcateer scored and keano played out of his skin), got pissed and by the time I sobered up there was an all day rave on in the middle of the city till about 11 pm - went from there to the Guvernment (huge trance/progressive club that holds about 10000 punters), stayed there till about 7 am Sunday morning, randomly met the same two girls again after the club while sleepwalking home, ended up going with them to another morning club till about 5pm Sunday. Went back to mine with one of them + we had the sexy times from there + all day Monday, both of us ended up pulling sickies....gotta love randomness!

On that one night I met so many cool people along the way, stayed in touch with many of them for that summer and beyond......

Maybe its easier to do it in somewhere like Canada than Dublin, I dunno but good times....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Shaniev

there are different clubbing forums where loads go to gigs try them

e.g www.irishclubbing.ie
    www.sessions.ie
    www.clubeire.net

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭DJ Alex Black

I go to clubs on my own every now and then.

Because I am a DJ, I always meet someone wherever I go. So technically it's not being alone in a club:)

A few drinks and I don't care if I have a buddy or girlfriend that I know dancing near me.

Sometimes I just want to get out of the same crowd and dance there without having to play music for someone else or being judged by how I am dressed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭FLYNN-DOG

Yeah i know you're pain. I go with the bird these days though which is handy, seen Alex Under in Fabric, SMD in Matter, Anja Schneider in Spy, Claude von Stroke in Button Factory amongst others- happy days!