Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Blame it all on Hollywood............

• 08-01-2009 4:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭

With the Scandal from last weekend i really feel we need to start point the figure at someone! and Why not Hollywood! Of late there movies involving gambling/poker/veges have all involved some sort of dodgy dealings

Rounders: Worm kept fixing cards
    The Grand: Cards were introduced by a player to change the outcome of a hand
    Lucky You: a son folds AA (the best hand after calling an all in on the river) to his fathers pair of KK
    Oceans 13: All the house games are rigged so the house cant win
    The Deal: some Tool folds Aces full for all the loot after calling an all in to a pair of Kings or something close to that

etc etc

Is it any wonder people still associate poker with dodgy dealings and say its all luck, Why cant we have a poker movie that ends with one guy shoving with 10 8 off and being called by A7 suited and pre flop pusher catches an 8 on the turn to win! he doesn't even have to be the best player, i would actually go see this film twice just to support the idea of fair game!

If the likes Eminem and Marlin Manson can be indirectly blamed for school shooting due to the content of there songs, surly we can blame Hollywood for Galway :D

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Tight Ted

pgodkin wrote: »
    The Deal: some Tool folds Aces full for all the loot after calling an all in to a pair of Kings or something close to that

Reminds me of this

• Subscribers Posts: 32,850 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I blame cheating fukers who have no morals or sense of fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I blame human nature. Wherever there's money, there's fraud and scams.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

There are bad scummy people in every single walk of life, Poker is no different. It's just how the world is unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

Tight Ted wrote: »
    Reminds me of this

Phil Ivey's face in that is classic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭DeadMoney

AdMMM wrote: »
    I blame human nature. Wherever there's money, there's fraud and scams.

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭Flipz4Rollz

You can find cheating in everything not just poker -Soccer(Match fixing,Performance enhancing drugs),Olympics and cyclying to name just a few. Where there is money there will always be people trynig to get a significant edge whether its legal or illegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭mocata

I blame Umbrellas for causing rain, every time i see people carrying them about it is pishing down. stop buying em ffs!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Do I need to remind you of the biggest cheating scandal of all time?! that Time ross folded to rachel on friends cos she really needed the money and he wanted to stick his love truncheon in her excitment tunnel????

Tight Ted wrote: »
    Reminds me of this

oh for sweet jesus's ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭pgodkin

zuroph wrote: »
    Do I need to remind you of the biggest cheating scandal of all time?! that Time ross folded to rachel on friends cos she really needed the money and he wanted to stick his love truncheon in her excitment tunnel????

OMG i forgot about that! anyone see the new movie coming out about a dice player goin to take a big score against a casino using trick dice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭kennyrsb

dont think you can blame movies for this sort of stuff, some people are going to take advantage of situations if they can, the important question is how this happened over and over again througout the tournement so that its not repeated

ur looking for a serious thread, those are elsewhere. lighten up.

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

I blame the parents.

Another thing,I'd say all the poker players wearing hoodies are up to no good.

In England a bunch of lads hanging around in one place wearing hoodies get slapped with an ASBO.

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭mocata

in all fairness a lot of poker players are v v ugly so surely an allowance cud be made for them?

Icarus152 wrote: »
    I blame the parents.

Another thing,I'd say all the poker players wearing hoodies are up to no good.

In England a bunch of lads hanging around in one place wearing hoodies get slapped with an ASBO.

You and i sir may have some words:D i am hoodie wearer at a poker table for life, and im a really nice person and if you dont think so i'll stab you!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭kennyrsb

Hey Zuroph i was just thinking.......**** you,
    i feel happy now

Omg personal abuse, ban!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭alanbb

I'm tired of people whinging about the lousy rep that poker and other card playing games has.
    There's no smoke without fire. The top level may be pretty free from manipulation because it's a tightly controlled environment. But smaller games are much more open to cheating, and are actively targeted by sharps.

alanbb wrote: »
    I'm tired of people whinging about the lousy rep that poker and other card playing games has.
    There's no smoke without fire. The top level may be pretty free from manipulation because it's a tightly controlled environment. But smaller games are much more open to cheating, and are actively targeted by sharps.

What level are you playin at that you think a 2k game in ireland is small????:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭alanbb

pgodkin wrote: »
    What level are you playin at that you think a 2k game in ireland is small????:confused:

Sorry my friend, we seem to have gotten our wires crossed here.
    I was just referring to the smaller poker nights and tournaments in pubs which are often self-dealt. You would be amazed how lax they are.
    I swa it myself only a few weeks ago, I posted a thread about it.

Are you talking about a particular game or tournament in particular? I did see mention of some sort of "scandal" from last week.

I'm not a very regular poker player, can anyone clue me in?