Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I think ill have a ciggie, i've been a good boy.

• 07-01-2009 11:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭

hey, on new years i smoked my last ciggie. It wasnt a resolution or anything, i just didnt feel like smoking. I've had it on my mind to quit for 2 or 3 years now, but never bothered as i felt i wouldnt commit to it if i felt i had to give them up or that i was not able to smoke etc. For some reason i dont have any reason or want atm, so im not. Day 8 starts tomorrow. im was smoking 15 a day, 40 with a nights drinking. I've been around groups since i quit who have chain smoked around me, and it hasnt made me want a ciggie or anything. This is a very weird feeling. Let it be known, i dont think i've quit, im just not smoking because im not in the mood to. (i think thats why i havnt smoked yet)

I've been smoking since i was 13, im 25 now. In the last 3/4 years i've been getting mild chest pains, nothing mental, just "whoa! Didnt like that feeling, its gone now, grand nothing to worry about...". However, im off them nearly a week now and im getting really worrying pains that i've never had before.

My heart feels like theres a big bubble or something trying to pass through it and my left arm has a light sensation from the shoulder down about 6 inches. My lungs are hurting also, around the front, not the back. This is more worrying than anything i've experienced from smoking.

Has anyone else had this sorta feeling when they quit? I've no urge to quit smoking, im kinda just doing it for the craic.. I do feel a little bit better than usual, but nothing amazing, im not missing out, but im not gaining anything either, other than this fking heart pain.

Oh, i might have a mood problem actually, but it needs to be provoked, im very laid back, but i seem to be able to take less sh1t atm.

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

Maybe the pains aren't real? It could be your brain trying to trick you into smoking again. On the other hand, it could be something that needs to be checked out. Go to your doc and get his/her opinion on the whole thing to be sure. 8 days in is the worst part over...sure you wanna go back?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 retailzombie

Hey!

I gave them up nearly three months ago. Woke up one morning and said that's it. Before I knew it three days passed and then another two. On the fifth day I found mysef in a smoking room amazed at the control this little white stick and a rather expensive one at that had over so many people!!! Now I won't say it was easy, but the next morning I was so so proud of myself for not touching one. I smoked since I was 13 and turn 28 next month so it's not like I just had a puff every now and then! Too be fair I had 3-5 days of feeling light headed but that was it. Every day is different, some days I'll think about a fag early in the morn other days it could be 3pm. Don't stop going out or doing the "normal things" that may involve socialising with friend smokers, keep doing as you would normally do. For me the best thing about giving up is knowing I don't stink, seriously, anyone who's given up in the past and come into close contact with someone who has just outted a fag will cringe at the thought that they once smelled like that in front of another person. It's quite embarrasing! Of course it's not all that easy, I've put on close to a stone in less than three months but I'd rather the couple of extra pounds than smeling like a dirty f****r!

Fingers crossed for ya !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

hmm, ill hold off then. Was gonna have a smoke to smooth out the transition 8 days later. I've never 'quit' smoking before so i dont know what having one smoke will do to me. Will i feel like having another, or will i just leave it at that?

My friend has herbal tobacco (litterally, not weed) and he said to try some of that. The nicotine isnt being missed at all, the only thing i miss if the feeling of inhaling.. But then again, if i sit here and asses my breathing, slowly inhaling - it feels relaxing, and easier than usual.

Cheers for the support etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I used to feel pretty much the same during some withdrawl phases.

others I didn't feel any.

are you getting up much phlem up?

If your worried go to your local GP for a checkup

ntlbell wrote: »
    I used to feel pretty much the same during some withdrawl phases.

others I didn't feel any.

are you getting up much phlem up?

If your worried go to your local GP for a checkup

No phlegm as of yet i dont think, im recovering from the flu. Anything i cough is from that i think. Just this weird pain i have going, and a slight tightness of the chest.. Its weird, its easier to breath, but my chest is tighter..

Im only starting to notice this stuff when i really think about it tho.. might be a good idea to stop thinkin about it! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Yeah, I'd recommend seeing a doctor.

It might not be anything, but it will set your mind at ease if nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 retailzombie

Believe me, if you do take a drag off someone, that's all it'll prob end up being. Trust me ;) The taste and disgust at yourself for having so many days nic free will control you more than the urge to finish it or have another. The phlegm is just part of your cold :confused: or your body attempting to clear out all the ****e that's been built up over the years:p As for the friendly smokes, I totally get the inhaling sensation, but please don't have one! You need to say no and go cold turkey. It's the only thing that works! Would you believe since the time I got up this morn til the time I read ur response in my inbox ( 14.5 hours later ) I hadn't even thought about a fag. Like I said, everyday is different! There's a cool website called quitnet.com, it tells you how much money you've saved, life saved and how many ciggies it predicts you haven't smoked. I'm off to check mine!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

red_ice wrote: »
    hmm, ill hold off then. Was gonna have a smoke to smooth out the transition 8 days later. I've never 'quit' smoking before so i dont know what having one smoke will do to me. Will i feel like having another, or will i just leave it at that?

My friend has herbal tobacco (litterally, not weed) and he said to try some of that. The nicotine isnt being missed at all, the only thing i miss if the feeling of inhaling.. But then again, if i sit here and asses my breathing, slowly inhaling - it feels relaxing, and easier than usual.

Cheers for the support etc..

Fair play to you for quitting man, trust me as the days go on you will start to feel better and better. I'm off them 4 months now and can actually have a kickabout with the lads without gasping for breath after 5 minutes :)

I was the same as you, missed the actual feeling of holding the fag and inhaling the smoke, but got the nicorette inhaler and was amazed at how similar it felt to the real thing. It kind of bites in the back of the throat just like a fag when you inhale, but you'll only need to take 1 or 2 good pulls to kill a craving. I probably sound like an advertisment for it with how much I go on about the inhaler, but I would honestly recommend it to anyone trying to quit.

Best of luck man and let us know how it goes!

DarkJager wrote: »
    Fair play to you for quitting man, trust me as the days go on you will start to feel better and better. I'm off them 4 months now and can actually have a kickabout with the lads without gasping for breath after 5 minutes :)

Nice one, fair play!

DarkJager wrote: »
    I was the same as you, missed the actual feeling of holding the fag and inhaling the smoke, but got the nicorette inhaler and was amazed at how similar it felt to the real thing. It kind of bites in the back of the throat just like a fag when you inhale, but you'll only need to take 1 or 2 good pulls to kill a craving. I probably sound like an advertisment for it with how much I go on about the inhaler, but I would honestly recommend it to anyone trying to quit.

Best of luck man and let us know how it goes!

I Cant have a substitute, i only settle for the real thing, and any motion towards the feeling of a ciggie would make me want one, but what ever works for you, gl with it!

day 11 now, again, i am still without any want or interest in smoking. Had a bunch of people over at the GFs house last night, loads of people chain smoking, i was drinking my beers, didnt miss smoking at all, barely even thought about smoking if im honest. One thing however i have started to notice my already short fuse has been nipped down to 1 warning and im off. Also, im not sleeping at all! I thought it was because i was sick that i wasnt sleeping. But now its a joke. I went to bed at 1 this morning, and woke up at 4, lay there till 5, got up went downstares, watched telly and nearly bought a paint roller from the shopping channel.

Didnt really think not smoking would effect me like this - not good!