Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on safety please

• 07-01-2009 4:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

Hi

First of all Im not anti hunting or anti gun or anything like that but can anyone give me some guidance please.

I have had a stray bullet hit my house this week and also have had two hunters plus dog shooting in my back garden (the end is scrubland). Im living in this area 30 years plus and have often seen the guys out shooting and paid no heed but now Im worried as if anyone had been outside my house they could have been in danger kids etc.... I chased them off but not too happy to have to do this - anyway dont want to come across as alarmist but what should I do - my neighbour said just ring police but I dont want to overreact... What is the best way to deal with this - I think myself its a couple of irresponsible shooters acting reckless but this is what gets all hunters a bad name. Anyway, wanted to ask existing responable hunters what should I do here? Is there any rule about how close you can shoot to a house? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭foxhunter

Shamu2 wrote: »
    Hi

First of all Im not anti hunting or anti gun or anything like that but can anyone give me some guidance please.

I have had a stray bullet hit my house this week and also have had two hunters plus dog shooting in my back garden (the end is scrubland). Im living in this area 30 years plus and have often seen the guys out shooting and paid no heed but now Im worried as if anyone had been outside my house they could have been in danger kids etc.... I chased them off but not too happy to have to do this - anyway dont want to come across as alarmist but what should I do - my neighbour said just ring police but I dont want to overreact... What is the best way to deal with this - I think myself its a couple of irresponsible shooters acting reckless but this is what gets all hunters a bad name. Anyway, wanted to ask existing responable hunters what should I do here? Is there any rule about how close you can shoot to a house? Thanks.

I would suggest that you speak to the chairman of the local gun club and find out who the two guys are then have a word with them and if you don't get a positive reaction from them then go the other route.
    If these lads were shooting in your garden with a dog I doubt it was a bullet that hit your house it is more likely to be a few lead shot from a shotgun cartridge.
    These are the lads that get the rest of us a bad name unfortunatly they say there is one in every family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

The fact that the shot hit your house is indicative of unsafe shooting. Was it shot from a shotgun or a rifle bullet, do you know? The difference in safety prcedures is slim, but one is far more easily explained. Personally, I'd try get face to face and have a very stern word with them. I'd inform them that they're trespassing in your garden with firearms and therefore subject to a serious prosecution if you decide to proceed down that road. I'd then inform them of the results of their unsafe shooting and impress upon them the need to take care and only shoot in safe directions. If they're compliant and agree to stay out of your garden and direct their shots safely, then I'd leave it at that. If they get mouthy and act the arsehole, I'd call the police in quick order. They're obliged to identify themselves by law if you confront them as far as I recall, so you'll have their names and details if you want to make a complaint. That should engender god behaviour. As far as I know, it's an offence to shoot within sixty feet of a house or roadway, but reckless discharge of a firearm (such as discharge in such a way that shot lands on dwellings) is a serious offence too. You can proceed with either course of action, but if it were me, I'd have a good strong word first, see whether peace can be obtained quietly and efficiently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

These lads sound look 2 right tools, people who carry on like that make my blood boil. :mad:

Where did they hit your house, do you know was it an actual bullet or pellets from a shotgun cartridge.

What do you want out of the situation? If all you want the lads to do is apologise then contacting the local gun club might be the best way to find out who they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

As far as I know, it's an offence to shoot within sixty feet of a house or roadway, but reckless discharge of a firearm (such as discharge in such a way that shot lands on dwellings) is a serious offence too.

There is no legal distance set out in legislation as far as I know IWM, the 60 feet thing is only a guideline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Vegeta wrote: »
    There is no legal distance set out in legislation as far as I know IWM, the 60 feet thing is only a guideline.

I stand corrected. I have a sneaking suspicion it'd automatically be treated as reckless discharge though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Shamu2

Hi

Thanks for the replies was afraid Id be labelled as anti shooting which Im not have been living around this area for years. I just got a bit of a fright this time... and I agree its probably just a few strays being a bit reckless but thats dangerous. I will check out the gun club route hadnt thought of that and will keep my eye out for them again - I didnt get their names and addresses as I only shouted to them from a distance that they were trespassing, they were too near the house and that they were being reckless and could have hit someone - wasnt too sure about going too close to get names or anything given what happened. I wouldnt have a clue about cartridges or pellets so I dont know what hit to be honest I dont care i just want to feel safe in my own garden now... My house is in middle of a field so theres no way they didnt see it as it was right in front of them! Anyway - safe shooting to all here and thanks for the advice..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Shamu2

Hi Vegata
    Looking at it it seems to be a single mark at the back of house, I dont want or need an apology all I would like is for these two to think about what theyre doing and to act more responsibly... might be a big ask though.. I will start with the local gun club and hopefully will get through! Could have been worse but dont want it happening again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭dos29

Another option would be that maybe they're not members of a gun club, so maybe check with the owners of any adjoining/surrounding land to see who might have permission to be shooting in the area, and while your at it, if the land owners know of anyone shooting that area without permission. Its a disgrace that they have firearms without the cop on of knowing what constitutes a dangerous shot.
    If you have no joy in finding out who they are by the gun club or landowner routes, I reckon head to the guards. They have the records of who has firearms in the general area and MAYBE they can help track them down. Obviously I dont think the guards should be the first port of call, (or very effective in any case!), but these guys are dangerous, need to be held accountable, and need to be "educated";).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

there is a good article in sporting gun this month on how far shotgun pellets will travel. The BASC also have information on this subject. The fact they fired in the direction of the house from what appears to be very close is worrying. And that the ifnorant so and sos beat your garden thats annoying.

The new rule of thumb is 300 yrds for shotgun pellets to be have lost there poke. Taking into account all the variables

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭berettadt10

Hi lads
    I agree with cavanshooter. I have noticed at some clay grounds last year that some layout well over 300yards apart, and that pellets were landing on us for other stands, you would be suprised how far thay will travel with wind. On the issue of shooting near property, this is not acceptable and gives us all a bad name!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

The recommended exclusion zone for clay shooting is 275m.

I think the op was on about a bullet, which could have come from a long way awayrather than pellets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭berettadt10

Your spot on pullandbang. A bullet which makes it worse. Not sure on the exacte legal distances between clay loayouts, but certainally last year we were getting hit with pellets, and the stands were more that 275m apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

I think myself its a couple of irresponsible shooters acting reckless but this is what gets all hunters a bad name.

I have to agree with you there and even more reason they should not hold firearm licences. If the role was reversed I would notify the local Gardai & lodge a complaint. (I am a shooter myself & I discipline myself to very high standards when out handling a firearm & I expect others to do the same).

You were lucky this time, no one was hit. If this is left unchallenged then they might give it a month or two then come back and maybe someone might get hit or they may be reckless elsewhere and hit someone.

In my book, there is no second chance, not with firearms. Fair play to you for your mature approach to this.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Reading the op, I think the stray bullet hitting the house and the two shooters in the garden are two different incidents.

The stray bullet is inexcusible as no one should fire without having a safe background.

Two shooters at the end of a garden is just plain bad manners. Beating out scrubland at the bottom of a garden can be done safely provided no one discharges a shot towards the house - and the owner doesn't mind.
    Nothing wrong with hunting out good cover where cute pheasants will hide (beside houses) as long as it's done safely and you don't fire towards the house. I've done it on may occasions - sometimes I shoot if I know the owner doesn't mind, other times I just push the birds out and follow them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

my advice to any shooter who wants it is to steer clear of houses all together........discharging a firearm near a house is just pure stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Hi

firstly you should have rang the guards as this is more of what going on in this country .people getting firearm licences that have no respect or regard for people or property .for some to go on to your place of residence with a loaded fire arm is not acceptable end of story .if your child is shot the next it will be too late . we as sports men and firearm owners can not stand over this to have a family afraid in there own home .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭LOUTHSHOOTER

Its these type of gob****es that gives us safety concious shooters a bad name.Shooting is under enough pressure as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭p28559

am dumbstruck that any shooter would be so mad as to discharge a shot in close proximity to a house. in keeping with the previous comments such behaviour does deserve mention to the gardai.

i believe that a firearms licence holder is "oblilged" to produce this cert on request from another licence holder or a person who has clearly identified themselves as the land owner.

am sure the local shooting community would be able to quickly narrow the identities of the people involved. lets face it shooter jealously guard their permissions as do the clubs.

maybe a few no shooting signs might help or evena danger kids at play.

then again given the number of road signs with bullet holes in them it might be pointless.

our club has had 4 seperate incidents with unauthorised shooter over the xmas break..

the shooting community is going to have to be seen to be very pro active in self policing in order to ensure that the vast majority of responsible shooters dont suffer.