Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

vrt debate

• 05-01-2009 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭

hi all,im lookin to buy a vw golf mk1 gti cabriolet in the uk and have come across a cracker for great money.have started to look abroad as the euro is nearly on par with sterling at the moment....now have enquired about vrt on the revenue website and their lookin for nearly two grand??? more than the cost of the car...should it be paid or could i get away with it...for a little while at least??? all thoughts or experiences would be very helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

should it be paid or could i get away with it...

If you give the vrt to the government, there only going to be giving it back to the bank you got the money off, suggest you keep the money to cut back on red tape and free up resources within the public service, you would be breaking the law, but I would admire you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

ha ha drunkmonkey thats what i was thinkin too.we're on the same wavelength!!!! chances of being done would be slim i would say as i live in country area and only for sunday use....sunny sundays ...so definatley not use....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i think you should pay your whack.Otherwise the rest of us are subsidiising your classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

The total cost of the car legally on the road in this Country should have the VRT included. If you dont want to pay it, then dont buy it.

You may feel it is extortionate, but its a tax, and you dont legally have the option.

I too would love to be selective about which tax I can pay but I cant.

I wouldn't be so sure about not getting caught either, the net is closing and they have the resources now as well as the fact that revenue is down they have more incentive than ever.

It is also illegal for any Irish resident to drive a car on froreign plates, no matter what you insurance company, or anyone else tells you. They, after all, only want your money, but they can still decline a payout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭ondafly

I could be dreaming but I think I saw a '70s VW Golf cab for sale yesterday on pistonheads - this might be a better option, as you would only pay the minimum vrt on it - €50 or so euros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭ondafly

doh ! not on pistonheads, was on Vagdrivers.

heres the link

http://vagdrivers.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=22973

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

should it be paid or could i get away with it...for a little while at least??? all thoughts or experiences would be very helpful
    What's a "while"? i.e. What year is the car?

well i was talkin till maybe the summer as building a house at the moment and might have a few shillings spare then..car is 1988...thanks for the comments lads all taken under consideration...great site ondafly..just joined..thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I'd be looking for a 78-79 Mk1 Golf GTI if I were you.:)

i know anan but not readily available im afraid was in contact toaday with a guy for a 79 but lookin mad money had one sussed in meath but guy decided not to sell it was an 80 or 81

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

How much was the cabriolet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Pagoda113

I would be inclined to agree with the others. I would weigh up the total cost, car, flight, ferry, VRT, road tax & insurance and see if you still want to buy the car. If the car isn't over 30 years old you will be paying full tax and if it isn't 20 years old, it won't qualify for classic insurance.

I brought in a '91 Clipper Cabriolet last may. VRT was €800 at the time. Great car, immaculate with a new hood and full history but I got very little use out of it. I probably did less than 1,000 miles with the crap weather we had last year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

69749.JPG
    Whats the story with the MK1 jetta in the background,is it a roadgoing car?

have done the sums and its still worth it even paying the vrt....its 1988 so i know the tax will be a pain but ferry over and back reasonable..what do you reckon the vrt on this would be 88 vw golf gti 8v cab??

beautiful clipper by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Pagoda113

Thanks Chiefwiggum.

The Mk 1 jetta is a 1982 Diesel. It is running but needs a fair bit of work. I have 2 other Mk 1 diesel Jetta's. The car covered in the other corner is a 1980n Mk 1 petrol Jetta in similar condition to the Golf wit 70 K miles.

I also have a couple of Mk 2 Jetta's in various states of repair.

have done the sums and its still worth it even paying the vrt

do you mind me asking around how much roughly your spending on the gti? I'm guessing around 5k, it seems expensive, no?

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/GTI/200850191167080/advert :rolleyes:

roughly including vrt i'd say with ferries and insurance and stuff a good bit less than that add...car is in very good nick...with just a couple of small jobs need doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

so pay your VRT and be legal.

Customs will clock your car coming off the boat and they will chase you up. Its a new world out there.

They have the power to come onto your property and take the car off of you whether its on the road or not... only takes one nosey neighbour. to get it back you will need to pay the VRT, a fine and a daily storage charge.

They have the power to come onto your property and take the car off of you whether its on the road or not.

You need to understand your rights including your Constitutional Law Rights, your EC Law rights, your Human Law Rights and the European Law Principle of Proportionality.

The Revenue or Garda have absolutley no right to walk on to your property and impound your car for VRT

Oh yes they do... you should pay it at the port of entry by rights unless you are a registered dealer who have a special dispensation

You need to understand your rights including your Constitutional Law Rights, your EC Law rights, your Human Law Rights and the European Law Principle of Proportionality.
    And under those laws don't you have a right to free movement of goods within the EU law too? ;)

not as regards VRT..ireland has a dispensation...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Customs will clock your car coming off the boat and they will chase you up. Its a new world out there.

They have the power to come onto your property and take the car off of you

Utter rubbish. Whilst they may have a uk reg of the car, they don't have the importers names and address (unless stopped and questioned, and that rare in my opinion).
    And the likelihood of them showing up at yer house about an old car worth 1k or so is NIL. If it was a 90k Porsche maybe. Lets be realists here.

i think it would be rare to be stopped...and if so put on a russian accent and claim not to understand him...works for them and have seen it with my own eyes.im not coming into a southern port anyway...so they cant prove how long i have the car for .could be fresh off the boat as far as they know..im not tryin to avoid it but interested in peoples opinions on it...thanks for the replies

the point is THEY dont have to prove it...YOU do....

all the barrack room lawyer advice is no good to you when your car is in the pound

well how many cars do you know that have been impounded..if that easy, pounds would be full of yellow reg.former russian and polish owned bmws audi,s and vw passats

not many perhaps , but its the chance you run. They ARE increasingly watching.

corktina wrote: »
    not as regards VRT..ireland has a dispensation...
    Ireland has a dispensation from the right of it's citizens to the free movement of goods?!

From who?

Wonder how this lot are getting on.

as regards VRT, Ireland has a special dispensation to charge it....

So you said...

I'm asking who had the power to grant one EU State exemption from Article 25 of the Treaty of Rome?

I can find plenty of info why VRT shouldn't be allowed, but none on what happened to allow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

It's not just Ireland. Several EU countries (Austria, Denmark, Holland) have rather punitive import taxes (called something else of course) and they all still stand.

This has been discussed to death on the motors forum and there will be no further discussion on illegal activities here.

closed