Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

City Break on your own

• 04-01-2009 6:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭

Hi. Looking to head off for the first time on my own and was looking at cities like Barcelona, Madrid, Lisbon, Rome etc.

Can anybody recommend someplace with good shopping and that's safe for the solo traveller? Not really into the nightlife so wouldn't be staying out late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

Paris?

I wouldnt go on holiday just to go shopping, but each to his own... Lisbon is a very interesting city but has not many modern shops; Barcelona is more of a tourist place - great place for sightseeing but again has not many shops in the centre. Grafton St is actually not bad for shopping compared to any of the places i've been in !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭missmatty

I went to Lisbon on my own for 3 or 4 nights in May 2007, found it perfectly safe, although wasn't out too late. There are actually some really nice (and modern) shops in Lisbon, in both the new and old town areas (Baixa and Bairro Alto/Chiado), tend to be small boutiques and stuff.
    I enjoyed myself, went on a day trip to Sintra as well :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Was seriously considering this as well as no one I know seems to want to go away in Jan.

Any more suggestions?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Is there any European capital which wouldn't be considered safe and that has shopping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

Found Madrid great for shopping, giant department stores, the usual mix of European high street (H&M, Zara etc) and then lots of small boutique type places. Very safe feeling city, was there in the early summer but didn't seem overly touristy in the main shopping parts. Barcelona is good, just spread out a bit but has lots of shoe shops, sadly all the really funky ones are leather soled, so useless to wear back home! Can be bit dodgy at night in touristy areas, but you'll be fine before like 11pm. Have found Dublin dodgier. Never been to Lisbon, Rome is super touristy but on one hand that's great, you have lots of shops, but spread out amongst some of the world's most well known historic sites :)

Personally I'd go to Berlin, but that's mostly for boutique shopping (and crashing with friends for free :o), in terms of fashion shopping Milan is brilliant if you hunt out the places, sister bought Prada shoes there for around 100 euro, just had to replace the buckles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

part of the experience is obviously the sight seeing etc, but if you are staying in hostels there is a whole community there that are in the exact same boat as you are.
    just get up and go out to meet people, new cultures, new experiences.

though in saying that, i have done what i think you are looking for. aim for a city and find out everything that should be done. make a list of the top 20 attractions and mark them in order and see how much ya can get done.

Any more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I walked around Prague at 3.20am rather inebriated entirely on my own and nothing bad happened. Another nigh around 12midnight I got rather lost on the trams (went south instead of north) and had to get off at the end of the line at the edge of the city in some industrial dodgy looking area, eventually I got another Tram back into the city centre and I was fine despite being somewhat drunk and on my own, I was rather frightened and expecting to be mugged but was fine thank god. What happened with me was dangerous and a recipe for trouble in even the safest of cities.

The shopping is Prague is great and lower priced than Ireland not Europe's cheapest but a nice mix of east and west with prices to suit all budgets, plus excellent culture and history too, add in great beer and gorgeous women and you have a good short break in the making, I was on Business so had to pace myself though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭CSC

I found Stuttgart a fantastic place for a city break and some really good shops. The people are extremely friendly also (which to be honest surprised me).

More please. Somewhere warm :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭riiight!

It's not somewhere warm but.....I'm going to berlin next month on my own. Was there last september and loved it. This will be the first time going abroad on my own but to be honest I'm really excited. I wanna get a feel for the city and not go drinking every night with a bunch of the lads cos I'm thinking about maybe moving there later in the year. So just really goin to suss it out more than anything. Getting around the city (which is huge) is easy so no need to worry about gettin lost and goin in the wrong direction. English is spoken almost everywhere so that wont be a problem either. Theres loads to do and it has I think the largest department store in Europe. Its full of culture, history and entertainment. Some of the architecture is amazing. Thers so much that I havent seen or done the last time I went and I plan to venture further to the outskirts when I'm there again. Cant wait!!!!:D

Wherever tourists go we are easy pickings, for the sun I'd recommend the Canaries this time of year plus it is Duty Free as it has some special EU exemptions. That is if you want shorthaul within the European sphere or else Southern California.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

with prices the way they are i would nearly seriously consider going across the atlantic.
    another place you can say you were - and more photos for you bebo site ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

More please. Somewhere warm :)

Rome is a truly wonderful city to visit, I would not hesitate to visit it on my own. It had the historical sites of course, but it also has upmarket shopping (Versace, Vuitton, Valentino et al) but also more budget options (like Zara, Mango etc). We went in March and the weather was glorious, T-shirt weather apart from one day when it rained a little. My sister went in February and it wsa lovely then too. It's not hot enough to sun-bathe of course, but lovely for just wandering round, seeing the sites, shopping and of course the obligitory gelato!

People have the idea that Rome is very expensive, my feelings were, that you could do it as cheap or expensive as you wanted. One of the best meals we ate, was down a little side street and it cost less than €50 for two with wine! If you walk a few street away from the main sites, the restaurants are literally half the price of their counterparts right in front of an attraction.

As for safety, I felt perfectly safe, I suppose like anywhere, you just have to use a bit of cop on, especially when you are by yourself. I would feel more nervous walking round Dublin than I did walking around Rome.

ncmc wrote: »
    Rome is a truly wonderful city to visit

Cheers.

Im a fussy fcuker and most of the cities on Ryanair were dashed from my mental list for been either too "stag party ish" (not good if you're on your own) or "minus 12 in Febuary" so Rome could be a winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

Santiago de Compostela- beautiful, friendly city.
    Aerlingus fly in there afaik.

stay at the hotel altair

What would Madrid be like on your own?

might sound a bit strange but i think it would be great for a long weekend..most people only use for access to the lakes or for skiing... great restaurants and a short train ride to Milan...restaurants are cheap by Irish standards ....lovely bars where for the price of a drink you get a selection of tapas free ..its very clean and very cosmopolitan ... as for the shopping ...I went in to the la Perla lingerie shop where a bra cost 300 euro:eek::eek:..... there's a medieval center with cobbled streets great for strolling around ..a funicular that takes you up to the top for a fabulous view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

I'd definitely recommend Rome too! I'm a girl in my early twenties and spent a few days there on my own last September and felt perfectly safe. It's great for shopping if you want the big names, but they have the cheaper shops too. And you even get to see some of the sites while you're browsing around the main shopping area (eg. Spanish steps and trevi fountain). I did the usual touristy things like the colosseum and the Vatican and really enjoyed it. There's loads to see if you're into ancient ruins, history, art etc. I didn't stay out late at night and didn't want to eat alone in restaurants so I just snacked along the way from stalls, supermarkets etc. The weather was scorching when I was there so in the evenings it was great just to sit outside and cool down with some gelato :) It’s also a very easy city to find your way around. There are only 2 metro lines and they intersect and take you to most of the places you’d want to go (it was great for me because I have a terrible sense of direction!). It’s the only place I’ve been too on my own but I definitely wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

mumhaabu wrote: »
    The shopping is Prague is great and lower priced than Ireland

Since when? :confused: Brand name gear is at least as expensive as here when I went in Sept 07, and probably is now more expensive with the massive fall in clothes prices here (and not just tourist aimed stores, everywhere. Was told the same by Czechs/ Slovaks living here). The only chap stuff is to be got is off the Asian street vendors, and tbh it makes penneys gear seem like Armani, it wouldnt survive two washes.

I was going to buy a Czech national football jersey as a bit of a souveneir (went for Ireland vs Czech Rep), they were 75 euro anywhere I looked (pretty bad considering they were about 60 euro back in Ireland. Given the reductions Ive seen on foreign jerseys in the last few months they can prob be got here for 20- 35 by this stage).
    add in great beer and gorgeous women and you have a good short break in the making,

Another thing that surprised me. The Czechs are known for their beer culture yet pretty much every bar, club or restaurant only sells at most two beers on tap. Everywhere sells Pilsner Urquell, which is ok but gets a bit samey after your fifth day and 50th scoop of the stuff. The odd place sells Budvar bottled, and Gambrinus on tap. Varied me bollix! The only place selling more than 3 brands was the Irish pub.

Dont get me wrong, it is a great town for going on the lash and I will be back, but hordes of fake (probably) drug dealers, money converting conmen and gypsy prostitutes operating on O`Connell Street in broad daylight wouldnt be tolerated, yet their equivalent (Wenesclas Square....which isnt really a square....hmm) is full of the above.

I hit Amsterdam on my own after my mate pulled out at the very last and had a cracking time with a hostel gang (a Turk, an Aussie, two yanks and a gorgeous Turkish bird we acquired on the last day ). Great craic, still in contact with them on Facebook, we will make a reunion trip someday :D Of course you could get unlucky and get stuck in a dorm with a quiet crowd or some English scobes (the Dam is full of them) but its worth the risk IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

for shopping at the moment i dont see why you would look past the UK with the exchange rate. I think Berlin and rome are good for shopping too. People mentioned spain portugal but i reckon for me anyhow the clothes are crap. Anyone mentioning eastern europe had in my opinion too much to drink unless your big into stalinist clothing.

shane86 wrote: »
    Since when?....

Well I was in the Czech Republic in July 2008 and found stuff there to be quite good compared to Ireland. Top rated stuff was substantially cheaper than Ireland but is still *dear* if you know what I mean. Designer goods were better value than Ireland, Booze and fags were for pennies with 200 ciggies for 760Kc or €26, €2.60 a box compared to €8.50 in Ireland. Spirits likewise which I stocked up on in Dutyfree but the prices actually include the duty.

Wenceslas Square (Václavské náměstí) is Prague's equivalent of O'Connell Street but is not a square and has the National History Mueseum of the Czech Republic at one end (well worth visiting if you are inltellectually minded). I changed Euros to Koruna in a store there and got a better rate than Bank of Ireland gave me, (never change in the street) and I saw no prostitutes either Gypsy or otherwise, there are however legal brothels off the side streets but it is not in shoved your face like Amsterdam or Las Vegas.

Czech beers are ubiquitous yes but when in rome.... Irish Bar's are not really worth it unless you have to get the GAA as I did and caught Tyrone v Westmeath in Rocky O'Rileys which was not that nice tbh. There is another Irish pub near the astronomical clock square :confused:(can't remember the name) but it is a proper square anyway and this was busier and a far better atmosphere.

The rule of thumb is when you go shopping anywhere new avoid the city centre touristy areas and you will find value, Wenceslas Square is expensive enough as is Central London, Grafton St., the Las Vegas Strip 5th Avenue NY etc. I went to a shopping mall called Zlicin Mall at the end of one of the Subway lines and got great value there, womens clothes seemed good value and I picked up a memory card for a Digital camera in Electro world for around €19 when I was getting it for €35 in Ireland.

Prague and the Czech Republic are good but are one of the more expensive countries in "new europe" and the rule of thumb is the further east you go the cheaper it gets. If a person wanted real bargain then the balkans or Turkey would probably be the place to go but the UK is leading the way at the moment with the collapse of the Pound.

Balmed Out wrote: »
    for shopping at the moment i dont see why you would look past the UK with the exchange rate.

Yes but a kip like Manchester Vs Spain? I dont really see the argument :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

mumhaabu wrote: »
    there are however legal brothels off the side streets but it is not in shoved your face like Amsterdam or Las Vegas.

Are you sure you went to Prague? Half the time we were walking with our fists clenched when the African lads would approach you in gangs to try and sell their club to you (not that we are adverse to strip clubs of course :) However a gang of people surrounding tourists, it wouldnt happen in Dublin as said)

Actually having travelled quite a few places now it is surprising how lazy the police are abroad.

Designer and brand name clothes in Ireland are often two thirds cheaper than a year previously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Famous45

Stockholm, Tromso (Norway), Gibraltar, Boston.

Any of the above and you'll find it hard not to come back to me and say bravo, sir.

Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Went inter-railing on my own around Europe in the early 2000s, and have taken several city breaks since. I've never really seen too many cities that are dodgy, maybe Amsterdam, Palermo and Glasgow, but once you keep your wits about you...

Places I'd recommend: Florence for culture and food, Ljubljana (such a cool city, opposite of Ireland with no real drink culture), Oslo (though it's pricy), Berlin. Paris is really nice too.

If you're stuck for things to do on your own, or want to meet people, a walking tour is a great idea. Even better, a pub crawl.

Bloody hell, almost forgot New York. Been there 5 times, never any trouble whatsoever, can't recommend it enough.

markesmith wrote: »

Bloody hell, almost forgot New York. Been there 5 times, never any trouble whatsoever, can't recommend it enough.

You did New York on your own 5 times?

Fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

You did New York on your own 5 times?

Fair play!

Sorry PMF, never went on my own, but would definitely. Such a great "town".

Cool, I was thinking it would be a bit crazy to do it 5 times solo ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Just back from Venice and be warned, it got down to -4 at night there! So just because it's Italy and on the sea, don't take temperature for granted. However, Venice during Carnival was an amazing experience and would be very much doable on your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭bluecell99

I have done Budapest on my own ,twice.It is a big friendly city and felt safe there at all times day and night.It has a wondeful walk along the Danube and a great choice of affordable restaurants.The river is crossed by about eight bridges which you can walk across as a pedestrian to see the castle(views from there are fabulous).Take a stroll around Margaret Island ,a bit like our Phoenix Park,which has two hotels and the dental clinic for all those fillings!

The architecture is superb and on a grand scale .Best thing is to do a walking tour from the old town which includes a cruise on the river.A bus tour is a good idea also and should make a stop at the famous Heroes Square(great way of meeting like minded tourists).

Overall everything is cheap,many people have some English and the option to pay in Euros is in a lot of bars and restaurants.Do the famous Gellert spa on the Buda side and enjoy an ice cream in the adjoining cafe.

People very friendly and you dont get the impresssion that the city is some kind of tourist trap.

Second choice would be Copenhagen,a friendly and pleasant city ,very easy to get around and things to do include the fabuloue Tivoli Gardens and the Royal Palaces.Changing of the guard worth seeing.Loads of small bars and many places pedestrianised with the longest shopping street in Europe.

Irish bar somewhere along here also.I remember walking around this city at night and found it safe and fine.Dublin is far,far more dangerous.