Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Housemates

• 04-01-2009 7:55am

My housemates are by far the most ignorant people ever. Theyve been playing music since three. I cant sleep if theres any sound like that. Ive been down three times already telling them to shut up but they just wont stop. Now ive to get up for work at ten. Im exhausted but cant sleep. Ignorant assholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Well you've taken the first positive step - venting your frustrations on Boards. :P

Just before you leave for work you should put on some thrash metal or freeform jazz, blare it at full volume, put it on a loop and lock your door. Then they'll have to deal with it until you come home from work. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Fire with fire. They be drunk and uncaring currently, but see them cower under YOUR sound wavage...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I suggest that this
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1812_Overture

Played loudly the next morning before noon could be helpful.

Hardly the worst ever....I had one go completely postal for no reason other than that she was a headwreck, the morning of a massive exam. She started blaring boyzone ffs and WW3 ensued when I asked her to keep it down. I though my blood would burst out through my eyeballs, its pressure was that high.
    Even she wasn't that bad as far as mental housemates go.

Have a word now they are sober and move out if they are still arseholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Moved from the Nocturnal forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Do you remember the episode of friends??

Change the locks and tell them they do not live there, never have and never will!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

My housemates are by far the most ignorant people ever. Theyve been playing music since three. I cant sleep if theres any sound like that. Ive been down three times already telling them to shut up but they just wont stop. Now ive to get up for work at ten. Im exhausted but cant sleep. Ignorant assholes.

I lived with douchebags like that before. They'd be up until 4 or 5 partying even during exams. Nothing I did worked to shut them up because the truth of the matter is people like that don't give a rip if they're bothering others. My best advice would be to get some earplugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Stones85

Jeez what tools...
    Give them the same back.
    If that doesn't work and they continue with it..... throw a mentler, come down to where thay are and go to town on their cd player.

I oncw had a noisy housemate who while shaggin the gf both would make sooo much fcking noise, I mean 2 doors down were complaining, they didn't give a fck. Other house mate got a bucket of icey water and through it on them one night. Offender moved out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Wait til they're asleep then blare your own music

Start looking for a new house also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

PillyPen wrote: »
    My best advice would be to get some earplugs.

ftw
    Dave! wrote: »

If you can operate you stereo by a timer, lock your bedroom door and program sporadic bursts of loud music at the most annoying times for them. Effective if you're not in the house for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Tbh, that's what the fusebox is for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Dave! wrote: »

Start looking for a new house also

Agreed on both counts.

Had a similar problem with my ex-neighbours. They played their music well into the early hours. When they went to bed I waited nearly an hour, during this time I turned my speakers around to face their bedroom wall and whipped out the Leftfield and cranked up to full volume. Because they were a bunch of scum they werent the cop calling kind. I rinsed and repeated the process until they got the general idea. Of course I repeated the tracks that made that side of the house vibrate. They hated me for that, amongst a few other things I might have done.. W@nkers. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

ftw
    PillyPen wrote:
    Originally Posted by PillyPen View Post
    My best advice would be to get some earplugs.

Sure why doesn't he just lube up and bend over then :confused:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Fighting fire with fire is never a good option when it comes to people you have to share your living space with. I lived in many a party house and many times had to go in for work at 7 on sunday morning with no sleep.
    I loved it because I was of an age where my body forgave me easily for such hideous treatment. When I couldnt handle it anymore I moved on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

The looking for a new place/fire-with-fire combo is the only option here most likely. You effectively now probably won't get on with these people again having raised the issue and have probably become a buzzkill in their eyes, whether you are in the right or not, so you probably don't really have a lot to stick around for. Wrong house for you imo by the sounds of things anyway.

I like the sound of the going out of the house with your door locked option though - preferably starting with a song that takes a min or two to get going so they don't hear you go out and won't try break your door down or anything. Pick something so far from their musical tastes that it'll annoy them to even hear it. If they're dance scobes some heavy metal should do it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

consultech wrote: »
    I like the sound of the going out of the house with your door locked option though - preferably starting with a song that takes a min or two to get going so they don't hear you go out and won't try break your door down or anything. Pick something so far from their musical tastes that it'll annoy them to even hear it. If they're dance scobes some heavy metal should do it.

One of those hypnosis / relaxation tapes. Preferable from the early 90s. Top volume. If you really want to drive them insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

loud_sex.png TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

One of those hypnosis / relaxation tapes. Preferable from the early 90s. Top volume. If you really want to drive them insane.

...as a double-whammy you know they'll never forget what you did to them as they'll probably have a powerful memory after you've done this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

When they produce a daily breakdown of ESB usage and who was in the house and who had a shower.:mad:

Have a 15 minute discussion about what shelf i should but my 2 blocks of butter:mad:

Attempt to assign duties for emptying the draining board and bin:mad: If its full you empty it you bunch of twats:mad:

(threes is more but my s boils at the muppetry )
    then talk to me about house mates

im moving again. Bunch of nutters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Abigayle wrote: »
    Agreed on both counts.

Had a similar problem with my ex-neighbours. They played their music well into the early hours. When they went to bed I waited nearly an hour, during this time I turned my speakers around to face their bedroom wall and whipped out the Leftfield and cranked up to full volume. Because they were a bunch of scum they werent the cop calling kind. I rinsed and repeated the process until they got the general idea. Of course I repeated the tracks that made that side of the house vibrate. They hated me for that, amongst a few other things I might have done.. W@nkers. :-)

Good choice, 'Melt' has the deepest bassiest sound <3 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

i had housemates like that before.music blarin all night till early in the morning.my payback-when they finally went to bed, was time for me to get up, so as they struggled with hangovers and comedowns i cranked up some drum 'n' bass and shook the house down.they didnt do it again after that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

My personal choice for loud house party revenge music

Lacks the irony of leftfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Get a good pair of boots and a baseball bat/hurly and go to town on the music system Office Space style
    Video NSFW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

fusebox

i did it once , worked, he copped what it was, turned it back on but there was no music so i think he got the message.

Also earplugs wouldnt go amis until you get out of that house and select your next housemates a bit more carefully....

orestes wrote: »
    Moved from the Nocturnal forum

Oh.. so that's where I posted it. I couldn't even remember I was that tired.

I should be doing an essay right now. One that is quite important, but I can't because I'm just too shattered to even think about it.

I've found a new place and am moving in after my exams next week, so only a few more days. The worst thing about is that they know I work weekend mornings and yet they always ALWAYS insist on doing that stupid ****. Funnily enough they have to wake up earlier than me weekdays, yet I never do anything like that to them. Some people are just ignorant I guess.

The only problem with earplugs is that I will almost be certain to sleep in if I don't hear my alarm. That's the only reason I never got any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

play some of this lol

Alestorm FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Wait till they go out then sh1t on their pillows.

Doc wrote: »
    Wait till they go out then sh1t on their pillows.

Yeah .. I'd rather not do something that might get me locked up.
    Well you've taken the first positive step - venting your frustrations on Boards. :P

Just before you leave for work you should put on some thrash metal or freeform jazz, blare it at full volume, put it on a loop and lock your door. Then they'll have to deal with it until you come home from work. :cool:

The first step was actually my going down a total of 3 times during the night to tell them to turn down the music; at 5, at 7 and then at 8. On all three occasions, they didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Why not go down and join them?

And then just anally rape em!

I heard them snoring downstairs in the sitting room. I've my speakers against the ground, full blast, playing the loudest music I can find.

Ahh. Revenge :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Thats why you should get nicer flatmates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

noooo play the ****est music you can find and put it on the loudest vol it can go !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Full blast, this'll sort 'em :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

dmcg90 wrote: »
    Thats why you should get nicer flatmates.
    Or friends:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

lol my housemates drive me mad too.

regarding the music, I'm living in a place called the Sydney terraces. Theres apparently no rules regarding noise here. Music blaring solidly every night of the week. 75% of the street drunk/drugs at any given time. Its mental. they also have the "Monday night club" where anyone who doesnt have a job stays up drinking and blaring music. I see them on my way to work the next morning still goin.

Then my current housemates did a list of jobs for xmas,
    keep stealing my food and putting it on their shelf,
    take stuff off my shelf without asking, including opening brand new stuff and using it.
    have the Air conditioning on sub-irish temps 24/7. I keep sneezing and i'm in 35 degree weather!!
    they havent bought milk/jacks roll/butter for months.
    they control the TV.
    we were forced to go out for the girls bday last weekend coz "oh but u have to!", then we went to her choice of club but it was packed so there was a 45 minute queue outside, during which time we argued with her to go somewhere else to which she replied "oh but i've never been here before!" to which i replied "I'm going somewhere else. c ya!" and brought everyone else!
    then there was the xmas dinner they charged 35 each, since they spent 210 on the whole thing. they bought the normal stuff, but then loads prouts, trifle, did the stuffing wrong, bought basically a few other things i dont eat, as well as a few other housemates dont eat, and then invited their friend over to help eat it without charging her, but then still charged us full price. they went out and bought the food without our knowledge too. first we found out was when they asked us for the money, so i couldnt tell them not to but the other stuff.
    they also all smoke! I hate smoke! between the 6 of us (5 of them) theres always someone smoking! like 24/7! while sittin around watching 2 and a half men and home and away/neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

dodgy dutch gabba FTW

<
    " frameborder="0" allowfullscreen>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

The_B_Man wrote: »
    while sittin around watching 2 and a half men and home and away/neighbours.

If you didn't watch such crap on tv, you wouldn't have that problem.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

i feckin hate all types of soaps!! its them that control the TV, due to not having jobs and parkign themselves in front of the TV from before i get home! I dont watch them, THEY watch them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Turncoat

• Their toothbrush, your toilet (deeply satisfying) and tell them after they've brushed.
    • If they use a stereo open their speakers and replace few of the wires with a lower resistance level.
    • Worst case scenario - call the guards if they do drugs.
    • Castor oil and their milk (a few drops only)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Pour acid in their beds. The corrosive type, not the happy pills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Vengaboys loudly.

Their ears will bleed soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

When they produce a daily breakdown of ESB usage and who was in the house and who had a shower.:mad:

Have a 15 minute discussion about what shelf i should but my 2 blocks of butter:mad:

Attempt to assign duties for emptying the draining board and bin:mad: If its full you empty it you bunch of twats:mad:

(threes is more but my s boils at the muppetry )
    then talk to me about house mates

im moving again. Bunch of nutters.

You hardly live in tullyvale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

Cianos wrote: »
    Good choice, 'Melt' has the deepest bassiest sound <3 :pac:

Funny, from listening to leftfield so much at morning after sessions i'd probably sleep better with it:-p must give them a listen-been a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

eyedrops??;)remember where you put it though:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 BuddyGlass

Anyone ever have the phenomenon of housemates cooking at all hours, filling the gaff (and your room) with random smells - and occassionally setting off the smoke alarm at 4am? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

If they won't listen to you, then unleash a vicious and vulgar display of violence and that will ensure that they will never dare question your authority again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Jigsaw wrote: »
    If they won't listen to you, then unleash a vicious and vulgar display of violence and that will ensure that they will never dare question your authority again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Neesa wrote: »

Full blast, this'll sort 'em :D
    No this is the sh1t that gets you killed:eek: