Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tax/Insurance Checks

• 02-01-2009 8:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 44

Alright, I have been driving for the last 8 years. Now for the first 5 years I was never stopped by a Garda road block to have a tax and insurance check.

Now, I would say in the last three years I am stopped about 3 times a month. What is the story with this?? I do not appreciate the hassle, or the fact that the garda do not even explain what they are doing.

Revenue generation at its finest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Yea, they should sack the gardai and replace them with wilson.

You may not be aware of this, but they are combatting the huge problem we have with motor offenses. God forbid they disturb you... At the same time, you will be the first one to complain when you get hit by an uninsured driver. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

FloorBoard wrote: »
    Alright, I have been driving for the last 8 years. Now for the first 5 years I was never stopped by a Garda road block to have a tax and insurance check.

Now, I would say in the last three years I am stopped about 3 times a month. What is the story with this?? I do not appreciate the hassle, or the fact that the garda do not even explain what they are doing.

Revenue generation at its finest.

So you have been stopped at least 36 times in 3 years?

I doubt that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 FloorBoard

God forbid they disturb you... At the same time, you will be the first one to complain when you get hit by an uninsured driver. ;)

That's righ, I have a job to do, taxes to pay so they get their wages.

And my insurance covers me against uninsured drivers.

Hammertime wrote: »
    So you have been stopped at least 36 times in 3 years?

I doubt that.

You live in central Dublin? Maybe you should give it a go, or maybe not if you want peaceful driving.

That's righ, I have a job to do, taxes to pay so they get their wages.

And my insurance covers me against uninsured drivers.

It's also the reason why your premium is as high as it is now. You have any idea of how many uninsured drivers there are out there?

36 times in 3 years is harrassment, go down to the station and complain about it. Comming here definately won't solve it ;)

You live in central Dublin? Maybe you should give it a go, or maybe not if you want peaceful driving.

Yes I do live in central dublin, very central dublin and I drive about 4 hours and 200 miles a day a day, and I've been stopped once in the past 5 years at a checkpoint.

I've no problem the guards stopping me as much as they want, if they were not stopping people I'd be worried

It's also the reason why your premium is as high as it is now.

What will you not believe?

I suggest you have a look at the accounts of an insurance company, my premiums are so high because the law demands, using force as necessary, that I have insurance, as a result the insurance oligopoly can charge what they want. And they do.

Yes I do live in central dublin, very central dublin and I drive about 4 hours and 200 miles a day a day, and I've been stopped once in the past 5 years at a checkpoint.
    Have you them garda number plates my friend was telling me about?

I've no problem the guards stopping me as much as they want, if they were not stopping people I'd be worried

:eek: How humanity has fallen.

What will you not believe?

I suggest you have a look at the accounts of an insurance company, my premiums are so high because the law demands, using force as necessary, that I have insurance, as a result the insurance oligopoly can charge what they want. And they do.

You're unbelievable... really and truly. It's a conspiracy and everyone is out to get you. EVERYONE.

You can think what you want, but i'll be believing the facts and my sources within the industry. ;)

You're unbelievable... really and truly. It's a conspiracy and everyone is out to get you. EVERYONE.

You can think what you want, but i'll be believing the facts and my sources within the industry. ;)

The facts are found in the profit and loss account, not propaganda statistics released by the Garda and Insurance people. Qui Bono?

Have you them garda number plates my friend was telling me about?

Oh dear.

Are you 18 years old? Humanity has fallen because the police are stopping people to check for crime? Have you any comprehension of the levels of violence crime, sexual offences and theft that are occuring in this country?

I repeat i have no problem with the guards stopping me for any reason. I have nothing to hide and nothing to fear, why would I have a problem with it, they are there to protect me.

When someone steals your car who is the first person you will ring for help?

And how do you think the guards will attemopt to recover your car, by tractor beam?

The facts are found in the profit and loss account, not propaganda statistics released by the Garda and Insurance people. Qui Bono?

So when the insurance companies lost many hundreds of millions in the years 2000-2005 did you offer to pay them more to help them out?

So you only have a problem with them when they are making profits, if they are losing money you don't mind as much?

Are you 18 years old? Humanity has fallen because the police are stopping people to check for crime? Have you any comprehension of the levels of violence crime, sexual offences and theft that are occuring in this country??

No, I don't read the Sunday World newspaper.
    I repeat i have no problem with the guards stopping me for any reason. I have nothing to hide and nothing to fear, why would I have a problem with it, they are there to protect me.

LOL

When someone steals your car who is the first person you will ring for help ?

The insurance company, tell them my car is gone and I need the cheque as soon as possible.
    And how do you think the guards will attemopt to recover your car

They won't that is not their job.

So when the insurance companies lost many hundreds of millions in the years 2000-2005 did you offer to pay them more to help them out?

The didn't.

So you only have a problem with them when they are making profits, if they are losing money you don't mind as much?

Thats's right, the problem is that they always make massive lo-la. You see the game is rigged.

Thank God the school holidays are nearly over.

A school pupil, what with my turn of pharse? I am deeply offended.

Hammer, it is safe to say that this man is not from this planet, nor has he any idea of anything that's going on. In fact he seems to be extremely paronoid and everyone is out to get him. Seems to be stirring a bit pot of poo in other words.

I don't listen to the garda reports, nor the insurance company reports, I do however believe in indipendant reports and CEO's of insurance companies who happen to be very close friends. Why exactly would they lie? Oh, that's right, they're all out to get me, take every penny I have, right?

You seem to know everything, yet you know nothing at all. PFFT...

A school pupil, what with my turn of pharse? I am deeply offended.

arse?

What an appropiate slip, Mr Freud would piss himself.

I don't listen to the garda reports, nor the insurance company reports, I do however believe in indipendant reports and CEO's of insurance companies who happen to be very close friends.

Independent reports. Now who would pay for that? O.K the government do. Now are they still independent?? If they are it will be the last time they get that contract.

Anyway how is Barbados this time of year? I hear that is where the fat cats "winter".
    they're all out to get me, take every penny I have, right?

The nail has hit the head. Not quite every penny though, but just enough so that they have it large, but not so much that you are left with rioting as a last resort.

arse?

What an appropiate slip, Mr Freud would piss himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭JackFrosty

Ye seem to have completly lost the plot lads! Anyway getting back on thread, i dont mind been stopped by the guards, it only takes a minute or so and your off again.

Excuse me for bringing this topic back on track!!!

JackFrosty wrote: »
    Anyway getting back on thread, i dont mind been stopped by the guards, it only takes a minute or so and your off again.

Principles, pricniples is what this is all about.

I can only imagine what most people think of ANPR cameras. Ah, sure they all love us, our benevolent betters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

what do you drive? I've been stopped twice in the last 3 years I'd say.... 3 times a month seems excessive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

FloorBoard prolly drives a Jap Wavin pipe special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Garda resources are allocated differently. The one's out at checkpoints are rarely going to be breaking down doors, there's someone else allocated to that.

I've been stopped probably 10 times in the last 18 months, breathlysed 3 times and tax/ insurance checked 6/7 times.

They may also be looking for someone in particular and using a tax checkpoint as a cover.

2/3 minutes a month is less time than I spend opening and closing the front door at home or setting the alarm.

The OP is a complete sh1t stir and I find myself, not for the first time in recent weeks, exercising a LOT of restraint to refrain from personal abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Independent reports. Now who would pay for that? O.K the government do. Now are they still independent?? If they are it will be the last time they get that contract.

Anyway how is Barbados this time of year? I hear that is where the fat cats "winter".

The nail has hit the head. Not quite every penny though, but just enough so that they have it large, but not so much that you are left with rioting as a last resort.
    This guy cracks me up even if all he does post is heterogenous shíte yoked together by stupidity.

What a pointless thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

This guy cracks me up even if all he does post is heterogenous shíte yoked together by stupidity.
    Say what now? 4WD supercharged shíte at that......

+eleventy one on the Wavin.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Everyone else is thinkign the same thing readign your posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I was thread fishing so sorry in advance.

I went through a checkpoint in Montpelier/O'briensbridge Clare/Limerick river crossing today and I must say the Gardai from Killaloe really love that spot.

They had a van pulled over and I got the usual glance at my tax and Insurance. There was nothing behind me or coming towards so I said I would ask the Garda a question about what that new black contraption on the boot of the traffic corps is.

I didnt know they were here but its ANPR...................... on the boot? Would It not have been wiser to fix something to the front of the car?

BTW his first response was "Im sorry sir but thats none of your concern?" which kind of annoyed me tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Berty wrote: »
    I was thread fishing so sorry in advance.

I went through a checkpoint in Montpelier/O'briensbridge Clare/Limerick river crossing today and I must say the Gardai from Killaloe really love that spot.

They had a van pulled over and I got the usual glance at my tax and Insurance. There was nothing behind me or coming towards so I said I would ask the Garda a question about what that new black contraption on the boot of the traffic corps is.

I didnt know they were here but its ANPR...................... on the boot? Would It not have been wiser to fix something to the front of the car?

BTW his first response was "Im sorry sir but thats none of your concern?" which kind of annoyed me tbh.

There are cameras on the front as well...think they're hidden in the grill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I have seen a couple of cars fitted with ANPR and both have had the rear camera just above the rear window on the roof. The forward looking camera was fitted on the front windscreen just in front of the rearview mirror.

Its no big secret tbh so probably shoulda just told you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

You could be an enemy agent, after all.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

furtzy wrote: »
    There are cameras on the front as well...think they're hidden in the grill

Wouldnt be a great idea putting a camera behind a grille cos of any front end damage would automatically knock out the camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

TheNog wrote: »
    Wouldnt be a great idea putting a camera behind a grille cos of any front end damage would automatically knock out the camera.

That might ruin the camera, but the recorder might be in the boot or elsewhere in the car. :D

I have seen a couple of cars fitted with ANPR and both have had the rear camera just above the rear window on the roof. The forward looking camera was fitted on the front windscreen just in front of the rearview mirror.

Every single Traffic Corps vehicle I have seen has them on the boot lid and this goes for both saloons and hatchbacks for Mondeo's. I have not seen any other makes or models of Traffic corps with ANPR.

If the M50 cannot read number plates then what chance have the traffic corps. They will get an alert from ANPR, turn and give chase and then realise that the 08 is actually a 06 and does not actually relate to the ANPR result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

The boot mounted ones on the saloon cars don't look like the survive a rear end impact either

furtzy wrote: »
    The boot mounted ones on the saloon cars don't look like the survive a rear end impact either

Or a baseball bat, hurley, stick etc and may have the same ill fated future as Garda aerials.