Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doom & Gloom on RTE new Years Eve

• 01-01-2009 12:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭

Did ya ever see anything like that .............

Negative stuff all the way from Tubridy , Hook , O Connor & whats her name ..Liz o Sumthin

OK we know its a recession ..............surely there is some good news out there for 2009 ..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Utter sh!te i mean dear god all they needed was someone screaming "Wont someone please think of the children"

Yet again our lisence money going to waste. Fireworks on BBC1 Christy on TG4 Jools on the BBC2 and that was the best we could come up with

Well to anyone who reads this thread happy new year and sure look we'll make the best of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Watched BBC 1 myself, it was very good and of course spectacular fire work display on the Thames at the London Eye.

Did ya ever see anything like that .............

Negative stuff all the way from Tubridy , Hook , O Connor & whats her name ..Liz o Sumthin

OK we know its a recession ..............surely there is some good news out there for 2009 ..............

Ironically them overpaid no talent **** wont have to worry about recessions. i half think the media like to go on about it a bit and rub our noses in it. Now if only tub-of-sh*t-ridy and co would have the talent to match their salary, then we'd listen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭MonsieurD

It was total ****e. I have never seen the like of it. The show started out fairly ok. But the last segment was absolutely dour. We all know that the **** has hit the fan (economically speaking) but could they not have pretended just for an hour to talk about the better things this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

Thought it was bad all right. No need to get Hook and O'Connor on the sofa having a competition for who can be the biggest whinger.

I'm getting sick of seeing the same faces on RTE to be honest.

Was tuned into Elton John most of the night and flicked over to Tubridy occasionally to see how appalling it was.

I don't know which was worse, Tubridy or Katherine Lynch, thank god for Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

Tubridy was dire. I don't normally watch these 'ringing in the New Year shows' anyway, but I turned over now and again to RTE 1. I ended up watching a repeat (as I hadn't see the orginal airing) of the Big Fat Quiz 2008 with Jimmy Carr over on Channel 4 - have to say, it was far more entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Having renewed my TV lisence last week I felt particularly galled at what RTE were offering.

Tubs is bad enough but the guests were awfull.
    I was more interested in what Katie Taylor had to say than any other of them! And I dont know what to say about Katherine Lynch's brand of "traveller humour" on RTE 2

So last night I was mostly watching the BBC, also because I think Kate Silverton is hot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

That show was possibly the worst new years eve TV I have ever seen. I think even Tuberity himself was embarrassed at the end. Hook and O’Connor are two of the biggest Plonkers and moaners I have ever heard.
    Happy new year me arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

If they tried they could not have screwed it up better, utter scutter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

It's the same every NY's eve - RTE television always f**k it up.
    Imagine emigrating a decade ago and coming home again and seeing that
    sh*te.
    Nothing changes round here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

HOW DARE YA ALL !

How dare you question the calibre of this top class entertainment offering from RTE, our prestigious state broadcaster last night.

HOW ARE YOU ALL!?!?!?!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Switched over to Jools Holland once those moaners started, glad I did, went to bed feeling a little more cheerful!:)
    Happy New Year to everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

I'm far more sanguine about RTÉ than the tiresome pack hatred of it so prevailant on this board.

That said, the 'year review' section was close to vomit-inducing. Let's review the review:

+ D5 Woman (I'm asuming she was just some random person they found loitering around the studio) wearing an 'Obama' hat and expousing how capable he is and how much better he is than very polictian in the history of mankind. Yeah, maybe give the guy, say, ten days in office before you tell us he's the best president evar the next time, ok?

+ In true Irish commentator form all three where completely ill-informed on the US and the world in general, ranging from Hook single-handily bestowing statehood to the District of Colombia to them effectively asserting that the European Union should give us billions to vote yes to Lisbon. Hmm, yeah, that wouldn't cause any sort of domino effect.

+ Fat Guy (note: the one that doesn't shout at rugby players whenever RTÉ do get rights to a rugby match) asserting Fianna Fail should have changed leaders again and the only reason they didn't is because they have no leaders. Yeah, because them going into what already will be a bloodbath of a local election will be made much better by saying 'Look!!! We're just as fractious as we used to be!!! If you vote for us we might even embrezzle YOUR money!!'.

+ Tiresome Bertie bashers and Bertie apologists.

I think this is why even David McWilliams and Eddie Hobbs look competent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

we can't compare to the uk where they had a popstar singing on battle ships with huge guns directly behind her, go forth and conquer lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

LOL at this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

New Year's Resolution - I'm giving up watching RTE.

I've come to the conclusion that there is nothing of worth on either RTE1 or 2 anymore.

Not one good drama, home made or imported.

The news I can just get in the paper.

The Week in Politics and Questions of Answers matter nothing any more as we still have the same government and come the next general election when the economy is beginning to pick back up, FF will have their spin doctors out again and we all know the rest.

No comedy = No laughs = Defeats one of the main purposes of TV.

Sport = In fairness to RTE, that is one department where they are competent.

Films? The Deer Hunter and Midnight Express, the two best films RTE were showing during Christmas both started after midnight and didn't finish until the early hours of the morning! They didn't even show L.A Confidential either ffs!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

mobby wrote: »
    That show was possibly the worst new years eve TV I have ever seen. I think even Tuberity himself was embarrassed at the end. Hook and O’Connor are two of the biggest Plonkers and moaners I have ever heard.
    Happy new year me arse

i agree , tubridy did look embarrassed , i mean what was that about , seconds after the new year arrives , we get to hear two self inflated egos ( hook and o, connor ) offer opinions that no one asked and while o connor was right to call that o kane twit on her blather about now being a good time to buy property , it wasnt the time or the place to engage in confrontation , most cringeworthy piece of tv ive seen in years on rte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

Whom in RTE can we e-mail a link to this forum topic? We don't shout enough about these things, let's begin the year on the attack!

juuge wrote: »
    Whom in RTE can we e-mail a link to this forum topic? We don't shout enough about these things, let's begin the year on the attack!

Woah, tiger.
    This could be like the beginings of the Civil Rights movement, huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

juuge wrote: »

Why JOE DUFFY Of course! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Had to laugh at Brendan O Connor whinging about paying his 3 grand mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

sweetie wrote: »
    Had to laugh at Brendan O Connor whinging about paying his 3 grand mortgage.

He should do the decent thing and let a few homeless people shelter from the rain under his ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭whoami1

Complaints can be e-mailed to complaints@rte.ie. I know because I've just sent one, but not for Tubs. I complained about the AWFUL rubbish which was on before it, rather deceptively called "Now That's What I Call The TV 2008". Definite case of anything but "what it says on the tin". :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

whoami1 wrote: »
    Complaints can be e-mailed to complaints@rte.ie. I know because I've just sent one, but not for Tubs. I complained about the AWFUL rubbish which was on before it, rather deceptively called "Now That's What I Call The TV 2008". Definite case of anything but "what it says on the tin". :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

+1 - that was AWFUL fancyfull rubbish. Why do they commission this ****e?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

The ?Now that what I call 2008? (or something) was funny. I liked Tubridy's casual outfit for the night... and then I flicked channel :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Was RTÉ's offering pre-recorded again this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Bond-007 wrote: »

I dont think so. Brendan O'Connor made a number of remarks about how he had loads of partys he could have gone to, and for people not to think that the only thing that he had to do on New Year's Eve was to come to the RTE studios with a number of "strangers". I like Brendan usually, but I thought this remark was disrespectful.

I thought Keith Barry (who I actually worked with when he was a formulation chemist) was good, and Leo Sayer just lit up the show. But aside from that, the show seemed to be put together haphazardly,

Liz O'Kane - Never liked her or her sister. She's irritating and really didnt have anything interesting or humourous to say.

Brendan O'Connor - Seemed like he was in worse form than usual. Had a few prepared "jokes", some of which worked some of which didnt.

George Hook - was in bad form too, and another negative voice. Dont think any of them really new enough about the economy/politics to comment to be honest.

Tubridy, as was mentioned already, was embarrassed by it at some points. But I think he did well in the circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭hot fuss

Bond-007 wrote: »

No, it was live, and it wasn't pre-recorded for the last two years either as far as I know..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

It was sh*te. Everyone in my house actually stated this and was like what the fook is this.

My parents were annoyed at how crap it was and they watch a lot of horrible crap on RTE.

We actually switched over for most of the night to watch repeats of Father Ted on More4 because it was far more entertaining than the crap on RTE. Switched over again to listen to the sour bastids complain about the economy.

Thanks lads, not really the time though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

If RTE is that bad (which I think it is) dont watch it. I have a few hobbies which keep me entertained, our telly could be sold in the morning and I wouldnt care. TV in general is an insult to the average human intelligence and what gets branded as entertainment is a joke. The best thing about a TV is the 'off' button.

Thats great but why do we have to pay for it if we aren't going to watch it?

RTE gets guaranteed subscriptions from every household with a TV (unless they try to not pay of course) so if it is a worthwhile service, why not just make it optional like Sky and people will pay them if they want to.

Ah come on folks. It surely was one of those 'it's so bad it's good' shows.

Lots of drunks in the audience wearing wigs? Hilarious. Leo Sayer as the international celebrity? Genius. He was barely a star in 1980. And the three flutes on just before midnight to tell us the sky is falling in (Hook), the sky is falling in but Cowan is the best man but Bertie was better but I have friends but I'll say anything at all and sometimes make it risque too (O'Connor), and the one who is an expert on property and now apparently American politics because she had a strange hat (don't know her name).

It was brilliant. I was glued to it, in the same way one might be fixated by a train wreck following an accident. Of course everyone involved, producer, director, should never be left near producing a programme again and should have their right hand chopped off for such drivel. I remember the really crap ones in the 80s when Thelma Mansfield might be the star, and I thought they were grim and had missed about 20 years of it, but this one was the pits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Thank God I'm not the only one who thought RTE was S**** on New Years Eve ~ I went channel hopping from 11:30 right up until midnight, I thiought RTE was totally crapp . . . turned over to BBC One which I thought was right on the button (like they always are) With the Big countdown followed by a massive 20 Min Firework display (Via my Hi Fi system) nice :) I also thought Jools was Greeaaaat on BBC Two (pre-recorded or not)?, got in a bit of Elton at the O2 on UTV which was really FAB, had a good belly laugh at some of the stuff on the Big Fat Quiz on CHN4, flicked back to RTE One 11:55 (Holy ****) what a load of horse manure > then back to BBC One just in time for Big Ben.

So why cant RTE get it sorted on News years Eve? every year its the same little parochial chat about how far we have come so far since 1916 & God bless Joe Dolan, the credit crunch, doom & gloom etc etc etc, I mean to say, Why cant they do something different for a change ???

Camelot wrote: »
    So why cant RTE get it sorted on News years Eve? every year its the same little parochial chat about how far we have come so far since 1916 & God bless Joe Dolan, the credit crunch, doom & gloom etc etc etc, I mean to say, Why cant they do something different for a change ???

Because there is no incentive for them to do anything other than what they feel like. They don't care if your entertained or not. The only reason they put anything on is because they have to.

Skeleton crew of a few RTE staff in the office and everyone else in RTE is out on the p*ss enjoying themselves and probably not watching RTE if they are managing to enjoy themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

O Connor and Hook,the two most annoying Corkmen ever.

I think it summed it up when that wanker O'Connor piped up with the line "I'd like to make it clear, I had options here tonight - I could have been to parties etc - and not stuck here with loads of strangers"

LOL
    Some mess of a show. Cringeworthy muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

"Who else do we have?" "Who else is there George?" x 20
    "Obama, Obama, Obama, Obama"
    *Cringe*

Awful broadcasting. RTE got it wrong this Christmas, but generally I like our channels. I thought Ryan was actually quite good and the way he dealt with the three fools who were under the impression that they were being let into the Questions and Answers studio for the first time. "This is great television", BOC thought while he refused to let George Hook talk about the recession which will have no effect on him. I like the way Ryan gave away things to the audience. He did it well.

I'd just like to say I hate those people who pretend not to watch TV or act like it's realistically expendable.

Sir, I'll give you €50 for you television, seeing as you're offering.