Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gullible friends

• 31-12-2008 5:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭

Whats the worst thing you've ever told a gullible friend? I just convinced mine that New Years Eve is tomorrow and today is only Tuesday! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Jeapy wrote: »
    Whats the worst thing you've ever told a gullible friend? I just convinced mine that New Years Eve is tomorrow and today is only Tuesday! :D

But new years eve is tomorrow ye eejit:rolleyes::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

In pubs/bar/nightclubs when he's gone to the toilet, we tell him that a few girls have been over asking where he has gone and whats his name etc. We tell him this when he comes back; he starts posing and then goes over to them only to be rejected. haha!!! Terrible; I know. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

In pubs/bar/nightclubs when he's gone to the toilet, we tell him that a few girls have been over asking where he has gone and whats his name etc. We tell him this when he comes back; he starts posing and then goes over to them only to be rejected. haha!!! Terrible; I know. :pac:

Lol! You're evil! ...i like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

I told several people who should have known better, that I had just arrived back from important charity work in Nigeria. Complete nonsense and I only said it to see how many would believe me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Crackerspray

I once told my mate the Blair witch project was real and he was terrified for weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Told the old GF that if you click your fingers under water, the friction makes oxygen.

I said you see james bond doing it in a film where he is underwater.

She believed me for just long enough for me to erupt with laughter. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Was in a lecture once in Uni and one of our usual gang was late. He sat down and his voice was almost gone. Said he had some sort of throat infection. One of the lads said jokingly "you probably have gonorrhea in your throat.." to which he said "really? Is it going around?". Picking up on the fact that he didnt know what gonorrhea was, we convinced him he almost certainly had it, so he went around the rest of the day telling people he thinks he had gonorrhea in his throat whenever they asked why his voice was hoarse.

Good times :pac::p

Also once convinced a friend in school that his beloved Chelsea team had been deducted 15 points for fielding an unregistered player (Hasselbaink). He was fuming all day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Told a few people if you type 'Google' into Google, you'll break the Internet

Their response was: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I once told my mate the Blair witch project was real and he was terrified for weeks!
    The makers of the film done that sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Many, many years ago in college one of the lads was going into the newsagents.

Mate #1> Anyone want anything ?
    Mate #2> Yeah, get me a "Marathon"

* Mate #1 comes out with a load of stuff

Mate #2> Hey, that's a "Snickers". I wanted a "Marathon" ;)
    Mate #1> The bitch has pulled a fast one, hold on and I'll go back in.

We stopped him before he actually went in to complain to the shop assistant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I heard a great one from a lad in work.

His mates were out drinking somewhere in America, making up the usual stories to women... eg. they were dolphin trainers.

Anyways, one of the girls mentioned something about "Wednesday".
    "Wednesday" ? Oh yeah, we don't have Wednesday's in Ireland we go straight from Tuesday to Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Ah Americans. Few of the lads were in LA two years ago. One of them is ginger and a bit short, quite obviously a hybrid between a leprachaun and a tall-person.

Because of this cross-breeding his family were shunned and forced to live in the foothills outside the town and make a living as donkey-dentists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Ah Americans. Few of the lads were in LA two years ago. One of them is ginger and a bit short, quite obviously a hybrid between a leprachaun and a tall-person.

Because of this cross-breeding his family were shunned and forced to live in the foothills outside the town and make a living as donkey-dentists.

No Way!!!! Really!??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

JohnCleary wrote: »

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

Conor108 wrote: »

:D:D

Haha, def gonna use that one on someone! :D

A girl I knew, said that loved telling Americans that there are no spoons in Ireland and that we eat cereal with forks and always drink our soup. Some of them believed it apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

heh, one of the lads in work absolutely loves his Thursdays cos there is only one day left until the weekend. so the first few wednesdays i was totally mistaken in saying that god its thrusday. the look in his eye was so great when he realised that it was only wednesday.
    I have a reminder in my outlook every wednesday now to remind him in thursday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

One girl in school we were constantly telling her ridiculous stuff she would believe. One example being on every school trip to cork, theres a place on the way (not sure what its called) where the water surrounds the road completely and we would always tell her that there used to be a city there but it flooded and in low tide you could see the steeple of the church. She even claimed to see it a few times :confused::p

Or another day a musician was visiting the school and said he would be appearing on BBC1 Northern Ireland that night and she said to him in front of everyone "but we only have the normal BBC in our house" :p but we assured her it was ok, because we were all getting the bus to northern ireland to watch it later that day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

JohnCleary wrote: »

Nah, who ever told that was pullin' your leg. I've just tried it and the internet still works, so there! :P:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Nah, who ever told that was pullin' your leg. I've just tried it and the internet still works, so there! :P:D

emmm my google isnt working anymore ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Ooops, my bad? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

When I was a young teen my mates told me the girl that I liked in my class was coming around to my neighbourhood to see me. They got me so psyched, and then so pissed off when they kept saying "you've no chance, we'll be trying to meet her". Of course it was all lies and she was never coming around. Bastards.:mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

sure gullible isnt even a real word, its not in the dictionary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Convinced my girlfriend (now my wife) that pregnancies in Ireland only last 7 months because generations living on an island allowed us to evolve that way, it took some convincing but she believed it, oh how I laughed when I admitted the truth.

I also somehow convinced her to marry me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

redzerdrog wrote: »

:D:D Is administration in your diktuneari ?

redzerdrog wrote: »

'What? It really isnt? Oh hoist by own petard!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭papu

I convinced my brother that if he stopped talking we'd get there faster..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

best one ever:
    a guy i know convinced a foreign taxi driver that be law he was required to get a tv licence for his sat nav!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Sophisticated6y

I convinced a friend that skittles and smarties were the same thing, the only difference was smarties have a brown one. And thus having that extra brown one gave them more popularity in the market etc, he actually fully believed me.

I also fully convinced another male friend that Charlie Bird was one of the fellas that used to be in ballykissangel and that he got his job with the news because of it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Our class in primary school used to give a Valentine's Card to one lad (nasty fat little dumper troll) every year and tell him it was from the year below us. Every year, without fail, he used to go down to the class below us and announce that a girl in there liked him and he wanted to know which one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

Once convinced a mate who had won the bowling match a group of us were playing in to go up to the desk to collect his prize. Duly strolled up and looked for his trophy which we pointed out as the "thing that looks like a microphone". Of course it was the microphone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

That Santa Claus does actually exist except he doesn't distribute the presents, he only makes lists and checks them twice to find out who's naughty or nice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

complete rip off of brass eye but i once convinced a friend that there was such a thing as live weasel fighting in the west end of london. this involves putting a man in a ring, dropping a bag of weasels on his head and he has to beat them to death.
    the kicker is i told her the RSPCAA (animal rights dudes) were all over it cos they were switching the weasels with otters as they were more docile and easier to kill... u just kick its face off.

i also convinced her that me and my 3 mates were starting a boy band

i also convinced her that they sold cigarettes on the moon (dont ask)

few other things. ill remember more later as im hungover :(

btw, shes one of the smartest ppl i know. masters in mathematical physics and such