Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noisey neighbours

• 29-12-2008 5:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭

Recently I moved into a new apartment with my other half. It's a nice spot and we are pretty happy with it.

Tonight we were woken up at 3AM by our neighbours. after 15 minutes I decided to call in and ask them to turn down the music, they apologised and I went back in to my apartment. 15 minutes later and no change to the noise level. I called security, they came up about 30 minutes later, it's now 4AM. They were on the balcony and I asked them to be quiet, one girl replied with "tell someone who cares, hahahaha", this was before security arived. Security asks them to keep the noise levels down, and their reply was "they were noisey lastnigh, I don't see the problem". IF we were loud, then why didn't they knock on our door and ask us to be quiet?

Now we are pretty pissed off, not being able to sleep in my own bed. You think they would shut it after all that, but no. It's now 5AM and I am awaiting the Gardai to come. By the time they do I am sure they will be asleep and nothing will be done.

What exactly can I do to prevent this from happening. In the morning I will be making a complaint to the receptionist and emailing the agent who is letting my apartment out. Nothing is worse than being kept awake like this. We have to be up at 6:30 every weekday. It's really not fair.

Thanks for any advice you may have. I don't this matter getting too out of hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

You made noise last night and they left ya off. Some people dont like complaining to their neighbours about sound keeping them awake. You are only new to the place, the way things are nowadays how do they know your not some nutter who would have stabbed them if they called in last night and asked you to be quiet.
    Personally i think you are over reacting. This time of year people like to let their hair down and have a laugh.
    Making enemies with your neighbours by calling security and the cops in the one night and then complaining to anyone who will listen tomorrow is not a very good start in your new apartment.
    Could ya not give them a chance and see what their like when the "party season" is over.
    I would have given a different reply but i keep getting infractions for promoting violince ha ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I 100% agree with Seany, its the holiday season. Some people are working and some are not. Better to let it slide then to get off on the wrong foot with neighbours, especially in an apartment block.

I live in an apartment and I work on a 24-7 shift basis so there has been a few weekend nights where im in work at 7am and there is a party on next door...Instead of kicking up a fuss I sleep in the living room because I feel that it is reasonable to expect that Friday and Saturday nights might be party time for some people. Same applies to holiday seasons.

So sleep in the living room :D and maybe have a friendly chat tomorrow to start afresh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

No offence to either of ye, and thanks for the replies, but people have to work, life goes on, regardless of the time of year. The missus got very little sleep and is now in work for a good long shift. I am more than entitled to my fair share of peace and quiet, regardless of the time of year. One could say that complaining of noise levels living under the M50 would be like talking to the wind, but this is completely differant. Our neighbourhood, like most of dublin, is not one where you get to know your neighbours, I have only seen one other person on my floor in the past month.

If it was the weekend I would have less of a problem. While they claim that we were noisey, we cannot put a finger on it. We watched a film and went to bed, didn't drink, didn't have an argument and didn't have any parties. To be honest I am not here to make friends or enemies. So whatever the outcome with contact of other people, I really don't care. What I do care about is the fact that I did not get the amount of sleep I wanted lastnight.

Also seany, they claimed that we made noise lastnight, I doubt we did. It's a normal response to "please keep it down, your neighbours are complaining about the noise levels".

It's alright for ye to say "let it slide, bla bla bla" but you were/are not in my position.

What are the steps one should take to prevent this from happening in the future? I have made a complaint to the managment of the apartment blocks. What should one do next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

1. Adopt a wait and see attitude.

2. Earplugs might be an idea.

Not your ornery onager

management will probably sort it out now i suppose.

esel wrote: »
    1. Adopt a wait and see attitude.

2. Earplugs might be an idea.

Thanks for the suggestions, sleeping with something in my ear is a big no no. Hurts like hell, uncorftable too. Waiting won't solve anything, best to nip it at the bud now. Am I not entitled to sleep? At a reasonable hour?
    seanybiker wrote: »
    management will probably sort it out now i suppose.

No not at all, I wasn't relying on them. But it is good for the records if it ever arises.

I have gone to my next door neighbours and asked them very nicely that we had work and they were being too loud, it didn't solve the matter. If it happens again, which I am 100% certain it will then what? Should I just let it slide again? and again? And again? Get me? Best to sort it out civilised now than not so civilised later.

I'd imagine that the management are going to say something to the people. If not at least (as you said) you will have a record of it been brought to attention.
    Lads next door to me have the odd session and can be fairly loud. I was going to go mental on them one night but decided to leave it off cos their only young and i didnt have to be up early the next day.
    Strangely enough the poor lads look tired sometimes. If im heading off on a cold morning i need to use the choke on my bike for a bit. Having no baffle in the exhaust must be annoying for the lads lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

The noise stuff would annoy me.

You are all tenants so contacting the estate agent and making a complaint and see what transpires is a good thing.

And you should follow it up and get a proper response etc from the management co,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 benzogirl

Call the gardai every time they are breaching the peace.That should put a stop to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

I 100% agree with Seany, its the holiday season. !

not for everyone. Completely hairbrained response if you ask me. No one has the right to keep someone awake all night. If th OP gets stupid responses like 'buy ear plugs' etc please ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭garrincha62

Call the Management company and call the Gardaí to complain every time they breach the peace. It's a hassle and it can drive you mad but it should sort it out. I'm was in the same situation myself and it took a while to pluck up the courage to call the Gardaí.
    If your neighbours are constantly being really loud then they obviously are ignorant and selfish. Gardaí every time. Only language these animals understand is the man in the uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Cleberp

4 am is a bit excessive. I used to live in a flat below an Italian couple. Everything was grand until the girl walked out on him. So for weeks he was playing this awful depressing Italian/ Romanse language music at full blast.

Said it to him a few times. No change. So got a lend of speakers and blaired out the worst tracks from Slipknot I could find. After a few days he stopped.

Thought I had handled that pretty well. Til I met him walking up the stairs with his ex back together all lovey dovey etc.

Maybe you just need to matchmake these young upstarts:). Settle them down a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Relax OP will ya, a bit of noise never harmed anyone, let them have a little party at Christmas

Pfft, nice name. Unfortunately you don't have a clue. Ya ask for some help and you get the replies of "OMG your sooo cranky, omg noise never hurt anyone, just chill will ya" No, no I won't just chill.

Also, this proves that you are 100% completely wrong. :)

See I can be the noisey neighbour too, but I know it will backfire and I will be the one in trouble, not them. So I am playing this by the book. Plain and simple. There is absolutely no reason why I should be kept awake for a WHOLE night just so somebody else can enjoy themselves.

I think I will get in touch with the gardai every time they are noisey, thing is... it doesn't help two days later, someone answering my call. Lastnight the Gardai didn't show up, I only rang once though. I will hound them the next time. :)

Thanks for the suggestions though people :)

dodgyme wrote: »
    not for everyone. Completely hairbrained response if you ask me. No one has the right to keep someone awake all night. If th OP gets stupid responses like 'buy ear plugs' etc please ignore them.

What sort of an ignoramus are you to comment on the first sentence of my reply. If you had of bothered to read my reply you would have found that I was speaking on experience.

Oh and FYI, is it spelled harebrained.

OP, I really can understand your predicament but in my view its not normal time of year. I have to work this time of year so I'm not making off the cuff statements. Its extremely frustrating being kept awake when working the next day but is it true to say that they have never been noisy before? If so it's probably a one off, If this were to descend into a tit for tat neighbours tiff you'll be very, very miserable in your abode. I reckon you should let it slide pending future disturbances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Cleberp

Also, this proves that you are 100% completely wrong. :)

Well if they are performing firearm exercises at all hours then you should definitly call the police. Someone could get hurt;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭McCrack

O God will a mod please close this annoying thread or move it to somewhere more appropriate, it's not legal discussion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

wrote:
    oh my god,1 night during the xmas season you where kept up think of all the other people it happens to on a constance basis,stop being a moany guss and let it go,you where young once 2

McCrack wrote: »
    O God will a mod please close this annoying thread or move it to somewhere more appropriate, it's not legal discussion...

How is it not? Why don't you offer some good advice or suggestions instead of whining about it? Yea? God forbid this thread takes up any space.

I am trying to figure out where I stand legally. Making this thread in the correct forum.

I can not control peoples replies. Believe it or not.

The Managment tell me there is nothing they can do, they also say that there is nothing the gardai can do, I cannot do anything, so where do I stand? Do I get a solicitor? Do I take matters into my own hands? Tell me...

Is it Noisy now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Cocoon

It might be worth having a read of this..

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/environment/environmental-protection/noise_regulations/?searchterm=noise%20pollution

I have the same problem every other Saturday night. We work Sundays so for now I purchased 200 pairs of ear plugs from Ebay, there not comfortable and I still feel the vibration of the noise through my head but still better than nothing.

Last week when I left for work Sunday morning I left a Led Zeppelin CD on repeat for the whole day, haven't heard anything since. Lets hope they got the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

The maximum fine for conviction on breach of noise regulations is €3,000 or 12 months in prison or both.

I must admit that this is an appropriate penalty. This type of legislation is essential in the modern Ireland where so many of us have no choice but to live in flats and semi/terraced houses with very little sound proofing.

OP I would be of the opinion that you should speak with the owner of the apartment prior to going this far. That way, if the noise continues, you will be able to inform the Local Authority that you have approached this from every avenue.

It sounds like you're being fobbed off by the management company as most leases managed by these companies tend to include a clause for noise levels. They are right however in that a Garda can only ask the residents to keep the noise down; unfortunately they do not have powers to help otherwise.

Keep with it, OP. With the cost of rent these days I think the least a tenant is entitled to is a little peace and quiet.

Is it Noisy now?

No. What's your point? I lost one nights sleep, which in turn ruined my whole day, I wasn't able to work much yesterday and I fell asleep at about 6PM, didn't wake up until 4:30 am this morning, completely messed up my sleeping pattern (which wasn't that great in the first place) and I am still affected by sunday nights antics. 3 1/2 hours of them partying has affected over 2 days of my life.

I won't go any further with this, I am not looking to sue or to even get my neighbours in trouble with the law. If they are asked to be quiet and they do so, and I get my sleep then that's the best outcome.

Rent is 1200 a month, it's what we pay for security on the premisis, secure car parking, being very close to the M50 the luas and work. It's pretty expensive I know.

It's just unfortunate how the apartments are set up. Their sitting room is beside our bedroom. Our sitting room is beside our other neighbours bedroom. Can you picture that? Bad layout in my opinion :)

It may not happen again for some months, if it does I will take matters further.

Thanks for the replies people :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Most people are still on their Christmas holidays for the moment, I would say hold tight and see if it happens again on a day that it's inexcusable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

What are the steps one should take to prevent this from happening in the future? I have made a complaint to the managment of the apartment blocks. What should one do next?

I had same problem years ago.Two girls moved into flat upstairs from me and every night for the first two weeks it was party central. I went up every night and asked them to keep it down and they did (never inviting me in) The last time I knocked on their door one of the boyfriends answered and told me to mind my own business.

I did.

Next time the landlord collected the rent I told him the two women upstairs were prostitutes and I didn't appreciate the clients knocking on my door by mistake at all hours of the night.

He didn't throw them out but the parties stopped and I never saw that boyfriend again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭yourmano

Having difficulty with neighbours, not the only one though. They have turned their house into party central recently and do not take kindly to correction. To be honest it seems we have done all we can. Gardai were called by another neighbour, they kept it down but then began screeching for almost an hour afterwards. They'll be gone in 2 months, should we just grin and bare/bear (too tired from lack of sleep to care!) it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭itsallaboutme!!

if they are going to be gone in two months id just grin and bear it to be honest!! calling the gardai (iam one) doesn't really make an difference to those who know their rights!!!. Gardai have no legal power to enter someones residence and make them stop being noisy in their own home all they can do is politely ask at the door would they mind being quite! sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't.
    if noise is an ongoing problem and the house is rented its the landlord one would need to be calling on. if they do nothing its a case of recording everything and then contacting the local authority environment department re noise pollution.(same if the premises is owned by those casusing the noise)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Weekendrambo

yourmano wrote: »
    Having difficulty with neighbours, not the only one though. They have turned their house into party central recently and do not take kindly to correction. To be honest it seems we have done all we can. Gardai were called by another neighbour, they kept it down but then began screeching for almost an hour afterwards. They'll be gone in 2 months, should we just grin and bare/bear (too tired from lack of sleep to care!) it?

I hear ya ...

I just had enuff ... Playing COD4 on xbox tonight ... The neighbours where that noisey. i could hear them over the rapid gunfire.

Rang the gardai ... Hate doing it for a matter like this but, it sounded like they where kicking the sh*t out of some woman. Or maybe the too much booze sent them over the edge as soon as they heard the Micky Jackson news ...

Same old same old ... Arrived ... Tell them to keep noise down etc etc

What can I & my fellow neighbours do now? The house it rented but we dont know by whom ???