Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running the Dublin Marathon

• 27-12-2008 3:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭

Complete running beginner of 20, me and my friends try to pick something to challenge us each year. This year were hoping for the marathon. Just wondering what is involved in running a marathon. How much training? How hard is it? etc

Just looking on where to look besides the dublin marathon website.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Runnersworld.com is a great website for training advice, basic nutritional advice etc..

I like time-to-run.com and coolrunning.com has some good stuff.

As far as how much training is needed is concerned, it really depends on your goals for the marathon. If it's just to get around in no specific time, run in under 4 hours, under 3 hours etc it's all going to be different amounts of training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Hal Higdon has a range of programs aimed at different levels, so you can get a feel for what's involved. If you haven't done any running before, I'd suggest aiming for some shorter distance races over the next 6 months, before launching into marathon training, e.g. 10K, Half Marathon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 MM3206

I've only done one so far, my dad has completed around 10 or so over the past 25 years, he agrees with these points I have below.
    In terms of avoiding injury, whether long term or short term, I would recommend doing as much running as possible on grass, when you get older your knees will thank you.
    Mind your posture when running, I messed up my back somehow back in April, put me out of training for a month.
    Also, best brand of running shoe on the market is Asics, anything around the 100 euro mark will be grand for what you're doing. I do not work for them or anything, my dad reckons they have been the best for him over 25 years. You will only get about 5-6 months out of each pair before the soles lose the initial bounce, obviously there are numerous variables in what affects this so other posters might contradict me. Just don't expect them to last for much more than 4 months.
    Make sure you have clocked up about 60 miles in the runners you use for the actual marathon. Never wear brand new runners on a long run, you will bleed alot! :O)
    Running in a crowd can be daunting so get some races under your belt between now and then, there are loads on in Dublin.
    If you are planninig on completing the route as a group, then best to train as a group once a week or so also. I saw a group of lads tire themselves out with conversation and mixed pacing cos they had trained individually.
    I personally would not bother with treadmills, go outdoors whatever the weather. Obviously get wet gear. Training when your tshirt and shorts are drenched is horrible.
    I recommend wearing proper running t shirts. Get some tape or vaseline for your nipples and crotch. I won't expand on that suffice to say the alternative is not pleasant!
    Drink water. Lots of water. Avoid energy drinks until long runs and the actual events themselves, for me they seem more effective when consumed this way. Probably in my mind, see what suits you.
    For the first one 5 hours is probably more realistic, but it depends on the individual.

If you drink beer then accept the fact that unless you are one of those naturally superfit people I am envious of, then you won't train with a hangover!... therefore plan your schedule accordingly! :O)

Don't listen to armchair athletes:o). Do your own research on the net, ask people who have completed marathons. There are loads of great sites out there. As you go on you will find what suits you best.

Mapmyrun.com diverts to another page now but it is a very useful tool for doing runs in Dublin.

Don't forget to pick a charity to get sponsorship for! :O)

I reckon it's safest to get a heart check with a doctor. I went to two doctors, one younger lad said marathons were bad for your health, another older lad said that was nonsense, so don't be scared off, check around.

Most of all best of luck to you and your mates, you will enjoy it, it's tough going but well worth it. Just don't drink too much after the race, you will get really drunk on about 4 or 5 pints!
    Enjoy the training!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Also, best brand of running shoe on the market is Asics, anything around the 100 euro mark will be grand for what you're doing. I do not work for them or anything, my dad reckons they have been the best for him over 25 years.

Not necessarily. While they are my brand of choice, that is purely because they are the market leaders and there is a lot more information out there about asics making it easier to choose a suitable shoe for those of us who are too lazy to go for a gait analysis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

mp1972 wrote: »
    Not necessarily. While they are my brand of choice, that is purely because they are the market leaders and there is a lot more information out there about asics making it easier to choose a suitable shoe for those of us who are too lazy to go for a gait analysis.

I knew this point would be picked up on. But I agree asics are my runners of choice but probably won't suit everybody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭hallstatt

if your anyway active and not obease you say your only 20 you will well be able to walk the marathon but defo not run it without a lot of training. and yea id go with the asics buzz too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

+1 for asics

get a second pair from another brand and alternate them in your training. The shoes last longer and you get a great feel for the difference in brands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭plodder

Assuming you're not massively overweight, then ...
    at age 20, I don't think you need a heart check. When starting from scratch, the most important thing is to avoid "novice" injuries, usually caused by too much, too quickly. Use the 10% rule - don't increase the length of your longest run, or your total weekly mileage by more than 10% (per week). For my first year and a half of running, I never ran on consecutive days. I was in my late 30s then, so it's less of a problem at age 20. But after 5 years, I havent' had a serious injury. You could consider doing some other activity on days off running, like swimming or cardio workout/light weights in a gym.

On shoes. Asics have a very good web application that takes you through the various factors when deciding on which shoes are best for you. For me, it turned out, they couldn't recommend any of their own shoes (I was too heavy) so I use Adidas now. But I used to have Asics, and I always found them very comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

Well done and congratulations on the first step of completing a marathon ie deciding to do it.

I was in a somewhat similar (NOT 20!) situation this time last year and for the first 4 months the more I ran the less I thought that I would be able to complete the marathon. Bear this in mind, end don't get disheartened in the early months - the distances will increase and become "easier" with time and training.
    As regards the training regimes referred to above (Hal Higdon etc.), these are all proven to give results but I would not reccommend sticking rigidly to any one. Base your training on one but do what suits you (and your possible injuries). Everyone is an individual.
    Injuries - they will come. Good running shoes will combat alot of these. The most pernicious of injuries is the shin splint - this is developed from the constant pounding on the road as the distances increase closer to the main event. Watch out for that. Train on grass whenever you can.
    You should look forward (within reason) to your next training run and as Plodder said I would recommend training every other day (ie try not to do too many consecutive days, although you are young and body recovery time will be shorter than us late 30s!).
    As regards the Marathon itself, it will be great, it will hurt and you will wonder why you have put yourself through it, but......
    Again congratulations on the first step, now the next one....
    Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I knew this point would be picked up on. But I agree asics are my runners of choice but probably won't suit everybody
    I always wore Asics also but the last pair i got were Newbalance and actually loved them felt great. Have to pick up a new pair tomorrow so not sure what to get now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Lads,

Get your feet assessed in a proper running shop such as Ampibian King or Runways. Establish whether you are neutral or if you pronate etc. Then armed with this info go and get the appropriate shoes for your feet. Brands are less important than getting the right type of shoe to suit your gait.

In my case I am a neutral and have used Asics Nimbus, New Balance 162(I think) and Brooks Glyercin and have found them all to be spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

Thanks all for the advice. I'm going to use Hal Higdon but double it maybe as the Dublin Marathon is not till October and most programmes are for only 16 weeks. MM3206 said to run on grass. Is it that bad to be running on a treadmill when starting off?

I'll decide more bout the runners when running longer distances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

NoelJ wrote: »
    I'll decide more bout the runners when running longer distances.
    To be honest, if I was you I'd get some shoe recommendations at a proper running store as soon as possible. The longest distance I've ever done is 10k, which isn't that much, but I know I am very sensitive to changes in my shoes even covering these short distances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭plodder

NoelJ wrote: »
    Thanks all for the advice. I'm going to use Hal Higdon but double it maybe as the Dublin Marathon is not till October and most programmes are for only 16 weeks.
    Not sure what you mean by doubling it. Most marathon programs assume a particular level of fitness and weekly mileage before you start the 16 weeks. So, I think it is better to (slowly) build up your general fitness and mileage, and then start a program.
    MM3206 said to run on grass. Is it that bad to be running on a treadmill when starting off?
    It's all about reducing the risk of injury, which is why grass is better than other surfaces. Nothing wrong with treadmills per-se, but just make sure you do some running on the road though, because the distances/pace etc. are not realistic on treadmills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Plus you are nice and sheltered in a gym without variables such as the weather, having to sprint to avoid a car or traffic light change etc. that all boost alertness which is important with big crowds in a race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

could someone recommend a heart rate monitor on a watch. preferably one that doesnt need the band that goes around chest if poss. and any idea of price, even roughly. thanks. are they useful?