Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Years Eve

• 27-12-2008 11:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭

Does anybody have anything exciting planned or different for New Years Eve besides house parties. House parties are fine but we go to them every week and would like to do something different for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Most overrated night of the year. As usual I'll probably do nothing and not even notice when it's midnight. Might even be asleep by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Working tonight, New Years day+night and the following Sunday night, so it'll be an early night for me on NYE. Bit pi**ed off, but I'll be earning money rather than spending it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

love ringing in the new years. but hate going into town or anything cuz its always way too crowded! so just simple aul house party for me this year :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Ned Flanders and I will probably be doing our annual tax returns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Been out in town for the last 3 years for NYE and im definatly not doing it again this year, way too crowded and full of scobes off their chops on ''X'' and 16 yr olds who cant handle their drink puking their rings up everywhere. Mates house for a few tins and a game of Rock Band for me. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Having a few people over to ours, then over the road to the local where there's a lock in I think because they all used to work there so just an easy, local night. I'd never go near town on New Year's Eve again, always a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

For new Years 07 myself and about 12 friends went over to Portugal for a 3 night, 4 day stint.
    It only cost €200 for flights and accommodation and we had the best time.

Last year we went to a restaurant in leeson street, for 100euro each we had a 3 course meal, with drinks, and we rang in the New year there. When the evening was over we walked outside to a string of taxis, all with their yellow lights on, ready and waiting to take us home. I couldn't believe it.

Don't have any plans for this year yet though, maybe this thread will give me some inspiration :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Girlfriends birthday is the 31st but the house mates are also having a party. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Working thankfully, I absolutely hate the night (to go out on).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Probably just take a dump and some sedatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

New years eve is my most favourite night of the whole year.

I love it so much. The anticipation of the year ahead is just deeeelightful. And if you've had a shyte year, how lovely to celebrate the fact that it's over.

Aaah - can't wait.

Have no feckin idea what i'm doing though.:rolleyes:

I'm working until 5 on New Years Eve and back in work at 2 on New Years Day.

New Years Eve and St Stephens Day are perhaps the most annoying nights to be out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭FoldedShirt

Go to the beach. Did it once before and always get strange looks when I mention it. It's worth it just for that. If you're lucky it won't be raining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I'll be working, but where I work, its never actually busy on NYE, so wont mind too much really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Have to miss out on it now cos I can't get a babysitter and I'm secretly glad to have an excuse to avoid it. It's just usually a hassle: being stranded in town, the pressure of what you're going to do and the anti-climax.

Far prefer going out 21 -30th December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

Go to the beach. Did it once before and always get strange looks when I mention it. It's worth it just for that. If you're lucky it won't be raining.

have to agree here. a buzz down the beach with your own friends is always a great laugh. you may have to put up with the occasional knacker but its worth it for the craic thats had :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Going to the gf's cousin's wedding. Should be a bit of craic anyway.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Probably just take a dump and some sedatives.

Don't take the sedatives before the dump. You don't want to be falling asleep on the job now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Pullin' the schtomach off meself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A word of caution.
    New Years eve is notorious for break-ins for obvious reasons.
    If you have anything especially vabuable, hide it well if your going out to celebrate.

A friend puts some of his cash, items, etc well wrapped and into rubbish bins!
    I know a business owner who does the same every night. After been broken into a number of times, they still haven't gotten the cash!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Went to a friend's place last year, there was only 4 of us. The other three got pissed, I stayed sober and didn't enjoy it that much.

This year I'll probably just stay at home or else go to my sisters place.
    I refuse to go out because I'm unsociable and don't enjoy drinking that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Nope, not doing a thing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

i hate new years eve with a passion! so shall be staying in, crappy tv and and loads of munchies! i hope!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

emo!! wrote: »
    i hate new years eve with a passion! so shall be staying in, crappy tv and and loads of munchies! i hope!

+1 , I shall also be getting locked at home on my own tonight
    Pop back later for my drunken ramblings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

My girlfriend's in another country so I'm not too bothered about going out. Probably will end up going out somewhere and leave about 12.05.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Its the most overrated night of the year. Hate it so much.

Though i'll probably go out and just be pissed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I like NYE but HATE christmas, a guy i worked with is having a house party-should be great fun!

Can't remember my last NYE in town too damn expensive and a waste of money-house parties ftw:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

renting a cottage in leitrim with about 10 of my mates.we do it every year and always have a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

staying in, crappy tv and and loads of munchies! i hope!

same goes for me i think, not mad on goin out that night either, and house parties are boring these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Mimibear

+1 But since I didn't head out for stephens night I may have to head out New Years or the friends might not be too impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Mimibear

df1985 wrote: »
    renting a cottage in leitrim with about 10 of my mates.we do it every year and always have a great time.

I think this is a great idea, its a bit late to plan it this year but deffo an option for next year, id rather spend NYE with close friends rather then be crushed in a packed pub full of the ppl you manage to avoid all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

18 of us off to Edinburgh....went to bed at 11 last year....and town was sh1te the 2 years before that.

So depending on how Edinburgh goes....I'll go away every year, have a house party, or go to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

Lexus1976 wrote: »
    Does anybody have anything exciting planned or different for New Years Eve

I'm putting lipstick on my thumb and index finger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Hopefully go to a friend's place or else boards...either way drinking!hate the countdown though,usually step outside just before that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Think there was another thread on this, I posted I was going to my local. I have changed my mind now, not going to bother, just going to stay at home, and have a few drinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Hopefully go to a friend's place or else boards...either way drinking!hate the countdown though,usually step outside just before that.

I will be the only single person in a house full of smug couples.

I'll be stepping out the backdoor with my friends dogs to walk the beach at midnight - unless the token single man thats been invited is worth a second look, but lets face it, that rarely happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Me too ,it is a sad time for some.
    I'll be in and out of here though , just not at 12:00.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Screw goin to a pub on new years paying jacked up prices and getting drink spilled all over you. I'm headin to a mates for a house party and get rat-arsed on sparkling wine and beer for a fraction of the price I'd spend in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭victoriaa

walk the beach at midnight... hmm.. that sounds tempting. now i only have to find some willing dogs ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Will prob be doing nothing AGAIN this year except watch drunken ppl wander up the quays from the warmth of my front room...i've never been out on NYE so i wouldnt mind experiencing it at least once :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

As my dad was born in Scotland, I'm going to paint my face blue and white, attack the British Embassy with a big stick and party like it's 1299.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

havent a clue, houseparty no doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

babysitting I think.... yuck, hope there's something good on tv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

so think il just avoid all calls and texts for the day regarding what im doing. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Lexus1976

Might go to a restaurant for New Years eve and stay there for the count down. Any restaurant recommendations in the dublin area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Going to Stuttgart to spend New Year's with my gf. Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

ninty9er wrote: »
    18 of us off to Edinburgh....went to bed at 11 last year....and town was sh1te the 2 years before that.

So depending on how Edinburgh goes....I'll go away every year, have a house party, or go to bed.
    I've been to Hogmanay and it's was brilliant. Too crowded though but after a few beers I didn't mind so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 epkdub09

I <3 GuanYin wrote: »
    Most overrated night of the year. As usual I'll probably do nothing and not even notice when it's midnight. Might even be asleep by then.

I think Xmas is overrated. New Year's Eve at least is the end of a year or 365 days off your life. It's something as worthy celebrating as is your birthday. ;-p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

heading to clontarf castle for nye. Ticket cost €120 and we get 4 course meal band & DJ. Blacktie night. About 30 of us headin in. Should be fun. I think there were over 200 people there last year!