Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flatmates

• 27-12-2008 2:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭

Hey there

Just lying up in my room chilling out, well, trying to, but find it hard with my bunch of flatmates downstairs having a few beers.

These guys, inc. landlord, are excellent all year round, but in the run up to Xmas, and during the holidays, they go wild. Parties, beers, and all that I can take, but they get into these massive heated arguments at about this time, and they all start roaring at each other (not arguing, but just discussing) Thing is, this all tends to pour out onto the stairs, and one of the girls is a real screamer, and she has this horrible loud voice and laugh.

Now every other day of the year theyre fine, and they always clean up after their messes, but when they do party I cant stand it!! Im not moaning about them as flatmates at all, Im just amazed that this has only ever started to bother me since I quit the drink myself.

This got me thinking: Anyone else live with people, who may be very nice and all that, but do annoying/odd things from time to time? Someone has to have something worse to make me feel better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

Yeah, I thought my housemate was bang on. We had a few people over for a xmas party and she was hammered. I put my hand down her knickers cause I thought she was plastered, and she called the bloody guards!!! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Are you that weirdo housemate that seems to be common in every shared house who doesn't partake in drinking with the others? I hate that guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

D-Generate wrote: »
    Are you that weirdo housemate that seems to be common in every shared house who doesn't partake in drinking with the others? I hate that guy.

haha, no I do, I partake in the fun, but I don't drink. That doesnt make me a wierdo. But I get tired quicker than they do obviously, and then by the time I'm ready for bed theyre all only getting fired up!!

But as I said I have no problem with it, it just so happens that it occurs alot over the christmas (and why shouldn't it) that I get a little crabby from lack of sleep!!

But hey, I have longer holidays than they do...woohooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Oh, the girl with the loud voice would do it for me. Doesn't matter how much of a party animal you are or how pissed you are, that girl will need to be shot before peace can be restored.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I hear earplugs work a charm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

So does living on your own kold ;)

Get a flat on your own, I lived with a few people, that... well I simply didn't like. Drugs were involved with some sappy stories. I just moved out and in with my other half... best decision ever :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

^ Sorry, couldn't help it!

But yeah that does sound a little sucky. Hmm could you not partake and be on the dry or just lep out for a walk or flicks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Sit upstairs and complain further on internet forums of those downstairs with actual lives.

That will definitely show them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

peanuthead wrote: »
    Hey there

Just lying up in my room chilling out, well, trying to, but find it hard with my bunch of flatmates downstairs having a few beers.

These guys, inc. landlord, are excellent all year round, but in the run up to Xmas, and during the holidays, they go wild. Parties, beers, and all that I can take, but they get into these massive heated arguments at about this time, and they all start roaring at each other (not arguing, but just discussing) Thing is, this all tends to pour out onto the stairs, and one of the girls is a real screamer, and she has this horrible loud voice and laugh.

Now every other day of the year theyre fine, and they always clean up after their messes, but when they do party I cant stand it!! Im not moaning about them as flatmates at all, Im just amazed that this has only ever started to bother me since I quit the drink myself.

This got me thinking: Anyone else live with people, who may be very nice and all that, but do annoying/odd things from time to time? Someone has to have something worse to make me feel better

Paul???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Tri wrote: »
    Paul???
    Screaming girl on the stairs???

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

peanuthead wrote: »

Err... what? You are just after saying it but you can't see that the above looks to be your real problem. It doesn't look as they have changed, you have.

And what do you mean you're "not moaning about them as flatmates," right or wrong, yes you are moaning!

As I said, it looks like you have changed, not your housemates and the rest of the house seams to be ok with what's going on. So, you have a few options -- ask them to keep it down, or at least keep it down in the hallway, or get earplugs or headphones, or move out.

My current housemates do this every single weekend. All weekend. They'd start drinking at 1 on Friday and finish up at around 3am Sunday. Luckily I work practically all day Saturday and Sunday (usually 11am-10pm shifts), so I miss them during the day. But it's when they come back at night at around 3 am playing this god awful "oo ah up the ra" bollox and stupid repetitive dance music. And if I go down telling them to be quiet, they might turn the music down a tiny bit, but keep talking at the top of their voices.

I'm moving out soon so I don't really care anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭not14talk

D-Generate wrote: »

Thats me this year whoop :D

There is four of us in the house and the two second years always go mental but me and the other lad in 3rd year are never out because of the work load we have.

But I might be moving out in a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭likely_lass

Varkov wrote: »
    Yeah, I thought my housemate was bang on. We had a few people over for a xmas party and she was hammered. I put my hand down her knickers cause I thought she was plastered, and she called the bloody guards!!! :confused:

hahahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Hot girl on the stairs???

FYP.:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

My current housemates do this every single weekend. All weekend. They'd start drinking at 1 on Friday and finish up at around 3am Sunday. Luckily I work practically all day Saturday and Sunday (usually 11am-10pm shifts), so I miss them during the day. But it's when they come back at night at around 3 am playing this god awful "oo ah up the ra" bollox and stupid repetitive dance music. And if I go down telling them to be quiet, they might turn the music down a tiny bit, but keep talking at the top of their voices.

I'm moving out soon so I don't really care anymore.

Ha Ha! You live with stupid culchies!

Is it possible to scratch a CD in such a way as to only 1 song would not work? That would come in mighty handy. There's some god awful song they have on repeat sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Invest in a pair of earplugs, or play some really loud computer game. :D

The only problem with ear plugs is that I need to be able to hear my alarm, or else I'll just sleep in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

The only problem with ear plugs is that I need to be able to hear my alarm, or else I'll just sleep in!

Well since your zombie survival mod brush up on your survival skills in left4dead :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Varkov wrote: »
    Yeah, she should have been grateful... especially if she's fat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

I never had any bad house mates, I always found them very quiet?

Wait, does that make me the obnoxious loud annoying housemate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I hate those girls that scream loud! I usually stick a piece of meat in their mouths and it shuts them up... well after the initial gagging and gargling it does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

why dont you join in? i think the fact that you said this wouldnt bother u if you drank sums it up, as in, ud be doing the exact same yourself, so im afraid ive no sympathy for you!!!!

i started a thread a few months ago about my housemate, but kinda different to you. she is an ignorent,rude, vile monster who has not life and personality and just wants to moan all the time bout every thing. so, i moved out last week. last straw was she complained to the landlord bout my girlfriend sleeping over now and then. she is pushing mid 30's and is about 10 years older than the rest, so theres obviosuly going to be clashes as she wants different things. as to why people like this dont live on their own ill never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

Annoying housemate? I think I was one. I lived with my OH and his best friend. Well I had a friend over and we were drinking, listening to music. We offered the friend to join in and he grumbled and went on his laptop, typing away.

Maybe he was complaining on a forum? :D
    The annoying thing for me was I used to be up at 5.30, so it upset me when he got irritated and threw his phone at the wall at midnight in irritation and anger :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I've generally been lucky but I did share a house with a girl who had a bit of a fck buddy thing going with a couple of guys. Her room adjoined mine and I could hear a lot through the walls. It's not nice trying to sleep when you've got people going at it hammer and tongs in the next room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Well to reply to a comment made by one poster about me only being mad cause Ive changed (stopped drinking) Well yes I have changed, but they have too.

I realise I didnt go into too much detail about that, but the reason for that is that obviously I dont want them to know this is me in the event that they may be on here too.

But all I can say is that they too have changed recently!! But anyway, the Xmas season is almost over now so it should all be back to normal soon!!

Someone also wrote that if I don't like them (which I do by the way) I should move out on my own!!

OMG!! If I had the cash to do that in the first place I wouldn't be here!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Placid_Casual

Reading threads like this, i'm glad I live by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Reading threads like this, i'm glad I live by myself.
    Me too.

Take that as you will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Crackerspray

Me and my OH used to have a flatmate that ran to his bedroom every time we came through the front door! He was really weird and used to give out or try to put us off anything we did (eg. going to the gym, going on holidays etc.) or insist on informing us about how bad the food we ate was... apparently cheese is very cancerous! :rolleyes:

Strangely enough, I bumped into him at the gym a number of times and I often found him eating the exact same foods he gave out about!
    He also used to use all our milk and orange juice so I started putting laxatives in them (well they were mine after all:D), the problem soon stopped! We had to get him out soon after!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I complained a lot about my current housemate (it's just the two of us, owner occupier) but I think we're both getting used to each other. She's just used to everything her way, and as she owns the place there's only so much I can do.

OP I can respect how annoying it is, and how you're venting here rather than making a scene about something that they will probably think you are blowing out of proportion because they weren't sober and you were. In the past I lived with a group of very nice people who didn't understand the volume of noise they created while locked, but as I worked icky early hours I wasn't always able to join in the craic and had to go to bed early. As a light sleeper it wasn't the best of fun, but if I was to go down and complain constantly it'd have been miserable for all of us.

It's all about balance imho. Nobody's perfect.