Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen's day spin

• 25-12-2008 7:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭

Will be heading out 'round tenish from Inchicore up to the sallygap(at a very slow pace) and back via bothernabrenna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

I would if I wasn't in Drogheda!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I would love to myself and indeed had planned to but can't on the advice of my doctor. Enjoy your spin; I will hopefully catch up with you next week when I should be better. New Year's day (not too early :D) or Friday 2nd/weekend should be good.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

4 Mile TT,. Novelty. With Sorrento, 11am.
    Try and make it. Slaughtered now.
    Estimated time is what wins. Prizes for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

I'm in.

See you at St Michaels Church at 10 emty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Might see yee out there somewhere.. Will be going from dundrum to sally gap to blessington and naas in around 30 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Back from a spin in the Kingdom - only me and the wee 'uns with new bikes from Santa out today.

Good to see bikes are still being found under (beside) the tree these days :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

Nice spin,took in kippure as well.Another great day to be out on the bike.

Sorry,forgot to include Verb!!

Very good, cheers for that Emty.

Made it on home by around 2:30 or so after stopping for some chocolate in Blessington. Great cycle, really nice day, particularly good to bump into yee and finally meeting my racing rival

Buffs went well on this trip. Just spotted this

http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/2827_7899.htm

Thumbnails_1x1_Wk01S10.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭Mr. Skeffington

Looks like a nice spin lads, are yous heading out again any time soon, could probably join yous if your heading out on Sunday

Verb wrote: »
    Buffs went well on this trip. Just spotted this

http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/2827_7899.htm

Thumbnails_1x1_Wk01S10.jpg

Buffs rock. Verb (my commute race nemesis:D) probably saved my life today by lending me a very effective polar fleece buff.

Great day, even if I did feel like I was going to die on the last climb out of Manor Kilbride. Emty very encouraging and got me over my self doubt (thanks man).

All in all a great day, lovely conditions. Bitterly cold on some of the descents (especially from Kippure...brrrrr).

The 20 minutes on the hot shower managed to revive sensation in my extremities when I got back home.

Great to meet Barrabus and Verb today too. A full compliment of boards.ie jackets on view too.

Currently eating my own body weight in turkey meat;)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Ye went up Kippure? Rock and roll...

el tonto wrote: »
    Ye went up Kippure? Rock and roll...

Aye rightly, and great fun it was too. How were the Spanish mountains today?

Feliz Navidad by the way:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

looks good lads - i'm green with envy. though it could just be the sprouts. not sure. maybe sprouts and envy... hmmm.

fair play to y'all, any day that you get to the top of kippure is a good one. i hope to be able to rejoin the spins soon enough though i expect to suffer badly when i do. can't wait :D.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

unionman wrote: »
    Aye rightly, and great fun it was too. How were the Spanish mountains today?

Feliz Navidad by the way:D

They are treating me very well. Had a bit of an epic planned for today but got up too late and had to content myself with something a bit more modest.

Bit of snow here, especially up higher, but the roads are clear.

Looks like a nice spin lads, are yous heading out again any time soon, could probably join yous if your heading out on Sunday

I would imagine so,keep an eye on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Waved to a few of ye in boards jerseys sitting on a wall out Johnny Fox's direction - I was wearing a red jacket. Is that "Tourer's Corner" you were at?

Nice day for a spin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭EH

I think I passed you guys at Kippure. I was going up (I was riding a Specialized Tricross and wearing black + red top) and you were coming down. I didn't see any Boards jerseys under the hi-vis jackets. Did any of you guys pass the granny on the Trek racer? I met her at the car park over looking Loch Bray. She must have been 65, full cycling gear and a new looking Trek racer. I was mighty impressed by her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭lizanne83

Pity I missed you guys out in Sallygap area today... I did this same trip from home (sallins/naas up to Sallygap) on Christmas Eve. Was very delightful indeed! The hills around Kippure are lots of fun. I left from sallins through Naas, Blessington and out to sallygap from there. The intent was to keep going until I got to 50km (garmin gps) which brought me a few km's down the glendalough road. I then turned back to complete the 100km round-trip....
    To be honest I'm still quite a "newbie" to cycling. I took it up last October following a running injury (marathon runner: pelvic ramus stress fracture from berlin marathon ub September)
    Running is completely out of question for another few months but cycling doesn't irritate stress-fracture too much. Cycling started out to be a "next best" substitute to running but it very quickly turned into an equal passion and I no longer miss running ability whatsoever.... I'm cycling an average of 50km/day now. I bought a Lapierre S-Tech 200 and all the gear and have had no problems. However, I don't have much to compare with I guess! When I can run again (physio says gradual return around Feb hopefully) I will look forward to some duathlons and maybe triathlons sometime. Is there much action in these threads for duathlons etc? The only events I've ever done is running only so look forward to some new variety now :)
    Lastly, I am experiencing lower-back pain quite a bit while cycling now but am putting this down to perhaps over-doing it (EG: cycling almost everyday now). The bike frame has been setup and adjusted for me in a proper triathlon store so I can't put it down to that. any suggestions, does anyone else have similar complaint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

lizanne83 wrote: »
    Lastly, I am experiencing lower-back pain quite a bit while cycling now but am putting this down to perhaps over-doing it (EG: cycling almost everyday now). The bike frame has been setup and adjusted for me in a proper triathlon store so I can't put it down to that. any suggestions, does anyone else have similar complaint?

Your back is probably not used to particular stresses of road biking.
    I find riding out of the saddle strengthens the lower back. I used to do that when my back hurt me. This guy is a big advocate of strengthening the lower back by riding out of the saddle http://cyclo-core.com/.. He is also big in to Hindu Squats (check em out on youtube) to build core strength which would help lower back pain.
    A shop fitting doesn't mean you cant change the bike to around make it comfortable ..

hey Lizanne,
    I would think that the lower-back pain might be from your back getting used to this position.100km is a fair distance to be starting off with, it might take a while to "break in" your body so you might want to think about doing less on some days and seeing if that helps.We go out nearly every saturday in that area so keep an eye out on friday here and you could join up along the way.

EH wrote: »
    I think I passed you guys at Kippure. I was going up (I was riding a Specialized Tricross and wearing black + red top) and you were coming down. I didn't see any Boards jerseys under the hi-vis jackets. Did any of you guys pass the granny on the Trek racer? I met her at the car park over looking Loch Bray. She must have been 65, full cycling gear and a new looking Trek racer. I was mighty impressed by her.

Hi EH, I think I said hello to you alright. Didn't see the lady you are talking about though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Nice photos folks, so I thought I would add a few of my own.
    A few photos from Christmas spins in Kerry.
    One at the signpost is Molls Gap midday on Christmas day (a lot of cyclists out).
    One with the view is Healy Pass on Stephens Day (Christ that one is a tough bugger). Again, a fair few people out.
    Enjoy the rest of the holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

ROK ON wrote: »
    Nice photos folks, so I thought I would add a few of my own.
    A few photos from Christmas spins in Kerry.
    One at the signpost is Molls Gap midday on Christmas day (a lot of cyclists out).
    One with the view is Healy Pass on Stephens Day (Christ that one is a tough bugger). Again, a fair few people out.
    Enjoy the rest of the holidays.

The Healy Pass is one of the most picturesque climbs around, I really love it. The missus has cousins at the foot of it, so we head there a bit. It's not the steepest climb, although it looks very intimidating. That said, there is a ramp towards the end.

That Dolan is a lovely looking bike.

Raam wrote: »
    The Healy Pass is one of the most picturesque climbs around, I really love it. The missus has cousins at the foot of it, so we head there a bit. It's not the steepest climb, although it looks very intimidating. That said, there is a ramp towards the end.
    Yep, lovely part of the world. Wife is from the area, so also down here a lot. First time up Healy Pass. Not that steep, but found it tough none the less.
    Coming from Lauragh, the last switchback, to the bridge, up to the ramp at the top is spectacular.

el tonto wrote: »
    That Dolan is a lovely looking bike.
    Its a nice bike alright (way too good for me). However a white bike makes it a real pain in the ass to keep clean.
    But now that I have a white bike, I am thinking that I need white shoes and overshoes:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭lizanne83

Thanks for the advice barrabus, I know core work is v-important for strength..... applies to running & cycling. I'm limited in some movements though past few months (eg: squats irritate stress fracture etc...) I didn't cycle at all today, too sore so just walked, so plan to get 50km cycle in tomorrow.... once the forecasted "severe frost" clears :)
    Cheers Emty for letting me know about the Saturday jaunts! I will schedule the odd Saturday for that direction and will look out for ye! Plan to join the Naas wheelworx tri club Sunday morn cycles when resume in January again. They usually head out beyond the Blessington direction too....