Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying ski pack - Livingo.

• 23-12-2008 10:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭

Hey all, just a quick question. I booked flights and hotel in Livingo but haven't booked the Ski pack, basically I will be looking for Intermediate lessons, ski pass and equipment.
    Booked everything with Directski but they seem to have put up the prices of their ski packs (due to the sale they're having :confused:).

So basically, should I book with Directski and save the hassel, or book the equipment / passes / lessons there when I arrive?
    Will it save any money?

Thanks,
    H2DC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,140 ✭✭✭olaola

I'd wait until I get there tbh. You don't know which skischool Direct Ski are going to book you with, and you don't know which ski rental place either. And I'd be fairly certain that it ain't anywhere that salubrious. TBH we always go for Intersport when we arrive, in my experience they have the newest gear and shops all over the gaff so you can change stuff if they don't suit/fit/whatever. Nothing will ruin your holiday more than crappy boots or skis.
    The ski passes are the same price no matter who you buy them from. So no difference there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

Another disadvantage to having prebooked your ski hire is on the first morning when you collect your gear you're in a huge queue as everyone else on your bus is using the same shop.
    Also, as in another current thread, it's almost always way cheaper if you can shop around. Not sure about Italy, but in Austria there is always a discount factor, usually all you need do is ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

Definitely wait. Ask in your hotel or bar about best places to hire, best ski school etc, and if there are any discounts. There nearly always are.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Cheers for the replys; so far I haven't booked anything yet as I'm hoping to get 2 other lads along with us. Sounds like booking when we get there is going to be the best option. I was only keen on booking the package with Directski as it was so handy the last time and everything was arranged / waiting for us the next day... No wasting our first day haggling with reps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭tywy

if you're worried you can usually book with the reps on the bus on the way to resort anyway if you do feel like getting stuff out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Declan1

We've had people who needed lessons with us the last couple of years and we've found it best to get a private instructor for those that need it. If there's a group of you it won't be that much more expensive and you'll get far more attention then if you're in a big package holiday group. You'll probably learn as much with a private instructor in a couple of days then you'll learn in a big group in the week.

Just my 2 cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Polarbear2020

Cheers for the replys; so far I haven't booked anything yet as I'm hoping to get 2 other lads along with us. Sounds like booking when we get there is going to be the best option. I was only keen on booking the package with Directski as it was so handy the last time and everything was arranged / waiting for us the next day... No wasting our first day haggling with reps.

If you still have not booked yet, here is a little tip. Go to the english Directski website, where they have the exact same packages as the Irish site, only difference is they are quoted in sterling instead of Euro. Pick to fly from Belfast in the search options, and because the Euro/Sterling is now almost one for one, you make immediate savings of literally hundreds.
    It is the exact same holiday, just priced @ approx35% lower.

Once you dont mind the drive to Belfast, its a very handy way to save a lot of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 amyloneill

im off to pas del casa in feb , just done a quick search on directski . flights and hotel from dublin 789 euros or 569 euros (give or take a 20 euro with the exchange rate) from belfast. thats a saving of 440 euros for myself and the MRS just from going from belfast instead of dublin. its abit of a drive but at that saving sure you nearly could go on a second holiday !!! we're really getting a raw deal in ireland . Financial Regulator must be on hoildyas himself !!