Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mondello Park Driving School

• 21-12-2008 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭

Has anyone had any experience of the place recently? We've all heard the adds offereing 'low 2005 prices' but just wondering how much is the basic mazda 3 + one seater package and is it worth it?
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭FreeFallin

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I work at the track and I think the pricing for the starter course is around 225e but dont quote me on it. Is it worth it? Well that depends on what you compare it to. A race weekend will cost around 1000-1500 depending on what class u are entering. And if you bin it on the first gravel trap you are finished where in school we will pull you out of the gravel. It is a great introduction to motorsport and if you listen to myself or one of the other instructors you WILL go quicker.

It sounds like good fun, and yeh compared to race weekends its cheapish... but its still alot of money to part with.. decisions decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭FreeFallin

It is but its like doing a flying lesson its a once in a lifetime experience. Just convince a family member or wife to buy you the voucher :)

No wife yet thank God! But thanks for the advice/after hours sales (you should be getting overtime here), id love to do it, but will have to wait and see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

I work at the track and I think the pricing for the starter course is around 225e but dont quote me on it. Is it worth it? Well that depends on what you compare it to. A race weekend will cost around 1000-1500 depending on what class u are entering. And if you bin it on the first gravel trap you are finished where in school we will pull you out of the gravel. It is a great introduction to motorsport and if you listen to myself or one of the other instructors you WILL go quicker.

Hey lightning ive a voucher for the Mazda package what days do you do? I'd like to do it asap before i forget, again.

If you could pm me some details i'd appreciate it, cheers

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I did the school a number of times and each time it was great craic. I did it with the Marshals club and we got it for free so I can't comment on value for money but for the experience, it was brilliant.
    If you do the school, just don't get involved in racing as Lightning and the others may not like it (ahem)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Hey lightning ive a voucher for the Mazda package what days do you do? I'd like to do it asap before i forget, again.

If you could pm me some details i'd appreciate it, cheers

I'd advise you to wait till the weather gets better, if it ever does. I did it recently but the track was really cold and a few corners never really defrosted properly. Spun out once, then wasn't pushing as hard after that as I wanted to do all the laps.

It was a good laugh but I'd much rather have done it on a warm grippy track where I could have pushed harder. Instructor was good and it was great fun, but hold out for a warmer track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

I got a present of a voucher for the Start Line Course and I am booked to do it next week. I am a bit concerned though as I am vertically challenged.
    At 5 ft zero, will I be able to reach the pedals in the racing car?? I have seen short people being propped with cushions at the start line. Any fellow shorties done the course ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

Its a day out you wont forget!! I did it at the start of June and it was awsome!! I had such a good time and it improves your ability to carry speed through corners even if you thought you were good at it before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

jos28 wrote: »
    I got a present of a voucher for the Start Line Course and I am booked to do it next week. I am a bit concerned though as I am vertically challenged.
    At 5 ft zero, will I be able to reach the pedals in the racing car?? I have seen short people being propped with cushions at the start line. Any fellow shorties done the course ??

They have different sized cars so you should be fine. When I did it they where all sizes of people and everyone got into a car. They did have to adjust the seat on 1 car but it only took a few min.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bookerboy

Was it Mondello that got themselves alot of bad press last year for not honouring vouchers that were giving out as Christmas presents if they were five minutes out of date??
    Even took up a Joe Duffy show if i renember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

We should be able to fit you in, we have two small cars (single seater number 1+2) so it shouldnt be a problem. Failing that we can throw in a lot of cushions and other things to make you fit!

Brilliant, thanks for that, it puts my mind at ease. I am really looking forward to the experience.
    Cheers:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭asmobhosca

bookerboy wrote: »
    Was it Mondello that got themselves alot of bad press last year for not honouring vouchers that were giving out as Christmas presents if they were five minutes out of date??
    Even took up a Joe Duffy show if i renember correctly.

Legally a gift voucher in Ireland cant "expire" but many companies put an expiry date on anyway because its never challenged by anyone.
    However they have no legal right to refuse to redeem a voucher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 PumpAnswers

Hi Guys,
    Going on Sunday, getting a video done and bringing herself with the camcorder aswell. I will post a link to the Youtube next week. Cant wait for sunday. Vroom Vroom :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

This thread is 2 years old! Post the vid up in a new thread if you wish;)