Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rossiter family settle with the state for 200K....

• 19-12-2008 1:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭

Now I know this kid is dead when he should be alive, but what on earth is the state settling a legal case for 200K for, there was no evidence whatsoever that his death was caused by the state, in fact all the evidence points to his death being caused directly by a hiding some lad gave him a few days before he was arrested. The family have now been handed 200K for what was an unlawful custody situation, THAT THE FATHER OF THE KID ACTUALLY REQUESTED, in the hope that it might teach the kid a lesson as he was out of control!?!?!

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1219/rossiterb.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭irishvamp90

hey darragh,
    i started a thread about this but was taken down over it being ongoing.yeah its a disgrace the young lad was out of control hanging with scumbags,he got a hiding from an adult and the father didnt seem to give a fcuk.do a fews searches on google the father sounds like a skanger he got arrested for public disorder and one of the witnesss had some link to a scummy family in clommel involved in a murder that gave the evidence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Well the case is closed now so I suppose we can discuss it. This is the type of stuff that makes me furious. This kid was hanging around with complete scumbags, at the time of his arrest if I'm not mistaken he was caught in a stolen car. His father asks the Gardai to keep him in custody overnight in the hope that he might learn something from it. The kid dies in the Garda station, which not one but two independent inevstigations found had nothing to do with his treatment in the Garda station, and what's the outcome, they go to court anyway and get 200K in a settlement! FOR WHAT???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

hey darragh,
    i started a thread about this but was taken down over it being ongoing.yeah its a disgrace the young lad was out of control hanging with scumbags,he got a hiding from an adult and the father didnt seem to give a fcuk.do a fews searches on google the father sounds like a skanger he got arrested for public disorder and one of the witnesss had some link to a scummy family in clommel involved in a murder that gave the evidence

Yeah cos getting arrested for a Public order offence means you're a skanger. Get a trip you fool :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Darragh29 wrote: »
    , THAT THE FATHER OF THE KID ACTUALLY REQUESTED

Get your facts right it was not his father that requested that he be put in cell.

As to having connections with murders well clonmel is a small town and much of the troubles are contained within 2 estates. So its easy for there to be some sort of connection,

John_Mc wrote: »
    Yeah cos getting arrested for a Public order offence means you're a skanger. Get a trip you fool :rolleyes:

He was going down the skanger road, he was out of control, caught in a robbed car when he was arrested. What do you call someone who does that??? A skanger??? I agree...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Banned for personal abuse.

tipp86 wrote: »

Get your facts right it was not his father that requested that he be but in cell.

As to having connections with murders well clonmel is a small town and much of the troubles are contained within 2 estates. So its easy for there to be some sort of connection,

I never said he was connected with a murder, I don't know where you are getting that from. As for what his father said to the Gardai, as I understand it, after he was arrested, his father was called down to the station where he was already in a cell in the station. The father could have taken him home there and then but suggested to the Garda on duty that perhaps a night in the cell might do him some good as the father had come to the conclusion that he had lost control of the kid??? So his continued custody, at the request of his own father, was not lawful and this is why the state settled the case today... That is how I understand it...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

According to RTE:
    AThe State said it accepted that Mr Rossiter's detention was unlawful, that the treatment of Persons in Custody Act was not followed and that the circumstances surrounding his death were not properly investigated

Seems pretty clear to me why there was a settlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭smithy1981

Well the case is closed now so I suppose we can discuss it. This is the type of stuff that makes me furious. This kid was hanging around with complete scumbags, at the time of his arrest if I'm not mistaken he was caught in a stolen car. His father asks the Gardai to keep him in custody overnight in the hope that he might learn something from it. The kid dies in the Garda station, which not one but two independent inevstigations found had nothing to do with his treatment in the Garda station, and what's the outcome, they go to court anyway and get 200K in a settlement! FOR WHAT???

Link to where it says he was caught in a stolen car?????

Me thinks your making stuff up.........

And to say 2 independent investigations found had nothing to do with his treatment in the Garda station is also bull. The reports were by and large inconclusive. Some experts thought the damage was done 2 days previous while other experts thought it happened when he was in custody. The truth is we'll never know, and all that matters is a child is dead. His parents have been trying to get to the bottom of this for 6 years now. They've probably spent alot in that time, Why anyone would begrudge them the money is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

Darragh29 wrote:
    He was going down the skanger road, he was out of control, caught in a robbed car when he was arrested. What do you call someone who does that??? A skanger??? I agree...

Not true. He was hiding under a parked car when he was arrested. He had been chased by Gardai through the town because he was acting the eijit and causing a disturbance. That's not quite skanger territory, its more 14 year old kid acting the twit territory.

The fact is his was detention was unlawful and the Gardai mucked up, regardless of what his father consented, if the Gards couldn't understand his legal rights its a bit much to expect the father to have done so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

Shouldnt really be assaulting the poster... but yeah i knew him and yeah he was a skanger... roll eyes elsewhere unless ya can prove otherwise i believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

Get your facts right it was not his father that requested that he be put in cell.

What? thats complete BS... its a small town granted... but its not easy to be connected... if someone is connected then they are also a skanger... and without a doubt its a huge minority connected... so not a "mass" thing

smithy1981 wrote: »
    Why anyone would begrudge them the money is beyond me.

Because it was there responsbility to parent him and teach him right from wrong, not the job of the Gardai...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

, in fact all the evidence points to his death being caused directly by a hiding some lad gave him a few days before he was arrested.

Quite the oppossite. Have you been following this case at all?
    and the father didnt seem to give a fcuk

A baseless allegation, considering that theres plenty of evidence to the contrary.
    The kid dies in the Garda station, which not one but two independent inevstigations found had nothing to do with his treatment in the Garda station

Two invesigations conducted with a very narrow scope. Considering the Gardai themselves have now said that the death was "not properly investigated " I find it hard to understand why you're coming out with this now.
    caught in a robbed car when he was arrested

Do you actually know anything about this case? Or did you just arrive with a rant on your clipboard and decided here was as good a place as any to dump it?

What we're seeing here is more abdication of responsibility from parents who just don't seem to get the fact that they are responsible for the safety and welfare of their child and nobody else.

I understood he was caught in a stolen car and I might have been wrong in this regard.

How on earth can this kids parents decide to sue the state for their child being arrested??? Why was he being arrested in the first place, have they asked themselves that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭smithy1981

darragh29 wrote:
    How on earth can this kids parents decide to sue the state for their child being arrested???

"The State said it accepted that Mr Rossiter's detention was unlawful, that the treatment of Persons in Custody Act was not followed and that the circumstances surrounding his death were not properly investigated."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,513 ✭✭✭✭cson

What we're seeing here is more abdication of responsibility from parents who just don't seem to get the fact that they are responsible for the safety and welfare of their child and nobody else.

I understood he was caught in a stolen car and I might have been wrong in this regard.

How on earth can this kids parents decide to sue the state for their child being arrested??? Why was he being arrested in the first place, have they asked themselves that???

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negligence

Why do you think the State settled out of court? They obviously thought it was going to cost an awful lot more if they lost.

No, we are not. Should you put your child in school for the day, the school is responsible for the safety and welfare of your child for the day.

No, you are wrong in this regard. I really shouldn't have to point it out twice.
    How on earth can this kids parents decide to sue the state for their child being arrested??? ???

Because he (a child of 14 years) died in state custody. Or does that not strike you as sufficient cause for concern.....
    Why was he being arrested in the first place, have they asked themselves that???

They did, have and do. Considering he was a model child until just a few months before, I'm sure they're wracked with guilt, shame, and regret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

smithy1981 wrote: »
    "The State said it accepted that Mr Rossiter's detention was unlawful, that the treatment of Persons in Custody Act was not followed and that the circumstances surrounding his death were not properly investigated."

yes it's a shame that the taxpayer has to pay the family when they probably didn't cause his death. But just once, I'd like to see a senior guard lose his job over something like this. The guards are a law unto themselves with no accountability to anyone and whatever they've said happened, it was probably much worse since they wanted to cover it up and settle out of court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Now I know this kid is dead when he should be alive, but what on earth is the state settling a legal case for 200K for, there was no evidence whatsoever that his death was caused by the state, in fact all the evidence points to his death being caused directly by a hiding some lad gave him a few days before he was arrested. The family have now been handed 200K for what was an unlawful custody situation, THAT THE FATHER OF THE KID ACTUALLY REQUESTED, in the hope that it might teach the kid a lesson as he was out of control!?!?!

http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1219/rossiterb.html
    Maybe the father saw the road the kid was headed down and decided to teach him a lesson by letting the cops keep him in a cell overnight.

hey darragh,
    A guy around the corner from me had his house raided by the cops on several occasions. He's known to deal cocaine.
    My cousin used to go out with this guy's girlfriend.
    Does that mean my cousin is linked to a scumbag drug dealer and is therefore guilty by association?
    Am I then linked to him through my cousin?

Seriously, this kid is dead. Have a bit of respect for his family.

None of you were there the whole time and do not know exactly what happened. I'd be wary of passing judgement on something you know nothing about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

hey darragh,

Ah excuse me!! I know that family and I knew brian, yes because of google you MUST know everything about it, so they MUST be scumbags

Cop on for yourself you know nothing quit spreading hearsay !!!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Nodin wrote: »
    No, we are not. Should you put your child in school for the day, the school is responsible for the safety and welfare of your child for the day.
    At the the time of his arrest, his parents were responsible for him. If his parents were doing their job as parents, he wouldn't have been arrested.
    No, you are wrong in this regard. I really shouldn't have to point it out twice.

I've already said I could have been wrong on this point, get over it.
    Because he (a child of 14 years) died in state custody. Or does that not strike you as sufficient cause for concern.....

They did, have and do. Considering he was a model child until just a few months before, I'm sure they're wracked with guilt, shame, and regret.

Of greater concern to me is the amount of kids that are responsible for anti social behaviour and tormenting hard working communities, causing familes to have to move house, and people to live a life of terror. The kid who shot a man to death the other day started off being a small time trouble maker like this kid was when he was arrested, again, WHERE ARE THE PARENTS OF THESE KIDS???

This whole episode and it's cause can be traced back to his parents.

In this context, I cannot understand them claiming from the state for damages, they should be sueing themselves, because they didn't protect their own child. If they did, he wouldn't have been hanging around with scum and getting arrested.

At the the time of his arrest, his parents were responsible for him. If his parents were doing their job as parents, he wouldn't have been arrested. .

At the time of his death, the Gardai were. Thus they failed in their responsibilities. Your idea that his parents had somehow failed because of his arrest is trite, simplistic and incorrect.

I've already said I could have been wrong on this point, get over it. .

Not "could have been". You are wrong. There are various facilities avialable on the Net to check this. When you decide to make various pronouncements about a dead 14 year old child, you can either get your facts straight, or - in the event that you make an honest error - clearly correct it. So far you haven't had the decency to do either.

Of greater concern to me (.........)??.

So you do actually just want to rant about 'wayward youth', and the young Rossiter lad is a mere vehicle to your purpose then.
    This whole episode and it's cause can be traced back to his parents..

Gven that this behaviour was relatively recent to the child, clearly thats again a trite, simplistic notion, that seeks easy answers.
    In this context, (.........)

More nonsense.

Ah excuse me!! I know that family and I knew brian, yes because of google you MUST know everything about it, so they MUST be scumbags

Cop on for yourself you know nothing quit spreading hearsay !!!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
    Careul now.
    I know it's a touchy subject, but name calling won't help.

At the the time of his arrest, his parents were responsible for him. If his parents were doing their job as parents, he wouldn't have been arrested.

I've already said I could have been wrong on this point, get over it.

Of greater concern to me is the amount of kids that are responsible for anti social behaviour and tormenting hard working communities, causing familes to have to move house, and people to live a life of terror. The kid who shot a man to death the other day started off being a small time trouble maker like this kid was when he was arrested, again, WHERE ARE THE PARENTS OF THESE KIDS???

This whole episode and it's cause can be traced back to his parents.

In this context, I cannot understand them claiming from the state for damages, they should be sueing themselves, because they didn't protect their own child. If they did, he wouldn't have been hanging around with scum and getting arrested.
    So your parents knew exactly where you were all of the time when you were 14?
    You must have never left the house.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Although his detention was unlawful with regard to the treatment of persons in custody regulations..

His detention was authorised in writing by his father and both the gardai and his father allowed him to stay in the garda station because they though it was the safest place for him.

The gardai tried to cover themselves in case something (like his death) did happen by getting his father to sign the waiver. A lot of people die in police stations as a result of incidents occurring before they went into custody.

The fact that he died in the station which was probably as a result of a beating he recieved two days earlier is an unfortunate event both for the gardai and his family who have had to go through years of legal proceedings and inquests. No proseuction as far as i know has been taken against anybody with regard to what occurred in clonmel garda station.

There was no evidence to sugggest he was beaten to death by gardai, however his co arrested said that he himself was assaulted by gardai.

With regard to this many arrested people beleive the gardai cannot use force to arrest them. So when the gardai do use restraint procedures or more effective procedures including strikes and baton strikes they believe they have been unlawfully assaulted.

As long as the force used was no more force than was necessary to effect the arrest, it is lawful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Did anyone see some of his buddies at the time who were called in as witnesses? Lets call a spade a spade, they sure are some scumbags! No doubt AH's PC brigade will come down now on my judgmental opinion but seriously, he would have probably grown up to be right scum.

At the time of his death, the Gardai were. Thus they failed in their responsibilities. Your idea that his parents had somehow failed because of his arrest is trite, simplistic and incorrect.

Please read what I said. At the time of his ARREST, he was the responsibility of his parents, not the Gardai or anyone else. His parents failed in their responsibilities so he was involved in antisocial/criminal behaviour and ended up getting arrested. If he wasn't arrested, he wouldn't have been in a f*cking Garda cell now, would he??? So as I said, the whole episode began with his parents not taking responsibility for their child.
    Not "could have been". You are wrong. There are various facilities avialable on the Net to check this. When you decide to make various pronouncements about a dead 14 year old child, you can either get your facts straight, or - in the event that you make an honest error - clearly correct it. So far you haven't had the decency to do either.

I already said I was wrong on this issue, will you get over yourself. It doesn't matter whether he was in a stolen car or whether he associated himself with criminal damage, the fact remains the same, he was involved in criminal activity. I just happened to get his case confused with another young person who was caught in a stolen car a few years ago and also died in Garda custody.
    So you do actually just want to rant about 'wayward youth', and the young Rossiter lad is a mere vehicle to your purpose then.

Gven that this behaviour was relatively recent to the child, clearly thats again a trite, simplistic notion, that seeks easy answers.

More nonsense.

You obviously don't have an issue with antisocial behaviour and don't have any appreciation whatsoever for the damage it does to communities and the menacing effect it has on people in communities.

Brian Rossiter is now another statistic, that kid should and would be alive today if his parents took their responsibilities as parents more seriously. The fact that this behaviour of his, according to you was a recent development, was all the more reason it should have been managed better.

Instead of looking at this, what do they do??? They sue the state! Not good enough in my opinion.

Careul now.

So your parents knew exactly where you were all of the time when you were 14?
    You must have never left the house.

No they didn't but I was taught to have some respect for myself and not hang around with the local shower of scum that was in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

Careul now.

name calling??? how is saying cop on name calling???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

RoundTower wrote: »
    yes it's a shame that the taxpayer has to pay the family when they probably didn't cause his death. But just once, I'd like to see a senior guard lose his job over something like this. The guards are a law unto themselves with no accountability to anyone and whatever they've said happened, it was probably much worse since they wanted to cover it up and settle out of court.

Almost fully agree.

Some junior guards should bite the bullet too.

Taxpayers' money hard earned money being (ab)used to protect guards...again. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

One thing I've hated about this is that every paper printed a picture of the kid when he was 7 years old when in fact he died at 14.

Please read what I said. At the time of his ARREST, he was the responsibility of his parents, not the Gardai or anyone else. His parents failed in their responsibilities so he was involved in antisocial/criminal behaviour and ended up getting arrested. If he wasn't arrested, he wouldn't have been in a f*cking Garda cell now, would he??? So as I said, the whole episode began with his parents not taking responsibility for their child.

I already said I was wrong on this issue, will you get over yourself. It doesn't matter whether he was in a stolen car or whether he associated himself with criminal damage, the fact remains the same, he was involved in criminal activity. I just happened to get his case confused with another young person who was caught in a stolen car a few years ago and also died in Garda custody.

You obviously don't have an issue with antisocial behaviour and don't have any appreciation whatsoever for the damage it does to communities and the menacing effect it has on people in communities.

Brian Rossiter is now another statistic, that kid should and would be alive today if his parents took their responsibilities as parents more seriously. The fact that this behaviour of his, according to you was a recent development, was all the more reason it should have been managed better.

Instead of looking at this, what do they do??? They sue the state! Not good enough in my opinion.
    Is it not enough that they lost a child?

Please read what I said. At the time of his ARREST, he was the responsibility of his parents, not the Gardai or anyone else. His parents failed in their responsibilities so he was involved in antisocial/criminal behaviour and ended up getting arrested.

Again, a massive oversimplification that has no bearing on reality, or the history of the specific deceased.
    If he wasn't arrested, he wouldn't have been in a f*cking Garda cell now, would he??? So as I said, the whole episode began with his parents not taking responsibility for their child. .

'If she hadn't gone out drinking with her mates, she wouldn't have ended up being raped' would strike me as a similar fallacy.
    I already said I was wrong on this issue, will you get over yourself..

Actually you said "I might have been wrong " and "I could have been wrong". You were being mealy mouthed about it. No caveats were required.
    It doesn't matter whether he was in a stolen car or whether he associated himself with criminal damage,..

Actually it does.

the fact remains the same, he was involved in criminal activity. I just happened to get his case confused with another young person who was caught in a stolen car a few years ago and also died in Garda custody.

..and perhaps when they all start to blur into one, you might ask yourself just what has you so angry at a dead 14 year old child.
    You obviously don't have an issue with antisocial behaviour and don't have any appreciation whatsoever for the damage it does to communities and the menacing effect it has on people in communities
    I don't suppose your powers aid you in predicting sporting results as well?
    Brian Rossiter is now another statistic, that kid should and would be alive today if his parents took their responsibilities as parents more seriously. .,..

From what I can gather, they did.
    The fact that this behaviour of his, according to you was a recent development, was all the more reason it should have been managed better..,..

So a new disease should be treated more easily because its just arrived? A wonderful (and yet again trite and simplisitic) view of things. How have we not copped on to this as a species before....
    Instead of looking at this, what do they do??? They sue the state!

Heres the thing. A young fellah who starts acting the bollix out of the blue is a shock to the system. While figuring out what the fu/ck to do, you don't suddenly cease caring enough to not bother acting if they die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

What? thats complete BS... its a small town granted... but its not easy to be connected... if someone is connected then they are also a skanger... and without a doubt its a huge minority connected... so not a "mass" thing

Depends on your definition of connected i have came in close contact with a good few from this group and i by no means have any criminal record well.....not really.....