Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ultimate fantasy dinner party guestlist

• 19-12-2008 12:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭

Ok Im sure this has been done before but if you were having a dinner party and you could have anyone at it, (dead or alive!) famous or not so famous who would it be?

Il start....

Billy Connolly

Heath Ledger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

A few hookers who are paid up for the night

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Leonardo DaVinci, Michelangelo Buonarroti, Jesus, Mohammed, Buddha, Einstein, Hitler, Confucius, Alexander the great, Aristotle, Newton would be on the list. Followed by some young ladies of ill repute but voluptuous charms. While the others were arguing.....

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Hitler and Churchill. FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

that chick who works in the spar in town, the chick who works in lemongrass, the chick who works in the post office and alexa chung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Wibbs wrote: »
    Leonardo DaVinci, Michelangelo Buonarroti, Jesus, Mohammed, Buddha, Einstein, Hitler, Confucius, Alexander the great, Aristotle, Newton would be on the list. Followed by some young ladies of ill repute but voluptuous charms. While the others were arguing.....

Good list. Jesus wouldn't be on my fantasy guest list but he'd definitely be my fantasy caterer. Wine from the tap and all the fish and bread you can stomach.
    Billy Connolly

Heath Ledger

I don't think they'd make great guests. Heath Ledger killed himself so would obviously still have some issues even if he was alive and Billy Connolly's fight with depression is well documented. Could end up being a bit of a downer really. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

*waits for someone to say yore ma*
    Actually the guy who thought of that. *thump*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Just two people at my table. Me and Nigella Lawson. Hmmmmmmmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Whoever can tell me what the willy is going on with banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Anne Doyle is all I need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

well heath ledger purely to look at :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

well heath ledger purely to look at :)
    Are you sure? He's been dead for nearly a year I can't imagine he looks all that any more. Saying that I probably still would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Ruu wrote: »
    Anne Doyle is all I need.

*falls over

Are you sure? He's been dead for nearly a year I can't imagine he looks all that any more. Saying that I probably still would.

LOL :D

LOL :D
    Just to let you know you have the best username ever. Quality crisps they are. It makes me hungry though.

why thankyou! i had just finished devouring a bag when i registered! empty packet was just sitting there staring at me!

they have changed the shape of them recently, texture aswell... im a true crisp junkie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

two girls one cup

doubt anyone would have any appetite after seeing that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

george bush, nelson mandella, jhon loyden, sinead o conner , and after that i cant think but id deffently want lots of arguments :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

10 clones of myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

The popes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

The actors who play the senior crew members from star trek the next generation and voyager, but they have to remain in costume/makeup and stay in character at all times... commander Data doesn't get to eat or drink anything and Worf has only gets to eat bowls of worms.
    If at any point someone drifts out of character or fails to tell an amusing star trek based anecdote when prompted, I press a button and a trapdoor opens underneath their chair, where a water-slide takes them into a dark cellar, right into a slimy 'gunk' tank, where Noel Edmonds and mister blobby are waiting to host a game of strip-deal or no deal.
    The game will be piped into the dining area for the rest of us to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Winston Churchill, because he would come out with some amazing one liners and he knew how to drink.
    Johnny Vaughan, because he has me in stitches
    Jeremy Clarkson, in fact all the Top Gear boys, again, they have me in fits of laughter
    Dara O'Breen, comes across as the sort of guy I would like to go on the piss with
    Nigella Lawson, she can do the cooking
    Tony Adams, so he can tell me exactly wtf is going on at Pompey
    Michael Collins, would be great to talk to someone from that period of history and he is the only one of the leading republicans of that period i have any time for and it would be great watching him and Churchill re-inact previous discussions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Switcharoo

Larry David
    Donald Fagen
    Stone Cold Steve Austin
    Ricky Gervais
    Frank Zappa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

elvis presley... nice to look at and to listen to (the young elvis obviously, not the rhinestone-wearing bloated one)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Gerry Adams, Sinead O'Conner, The Pope, Ian Paisley and maybe Bono.

I love a good argument over dinner :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 eoinmaclove

Pat Spillane
    Martin O'Neill
    Deko from Paranoid Visions
    Bob Mould from Husker Du
    Jennifer Saunders
    Anthony Foley
    Donie O' Connell who used to play hurling for Tipp
    Matt Cooper
    Owen Heary
    Ken Livingstone
    Colin Farrell
    BP Fallon
    Ken Loache
    Niamh from Fair city (don't know her real name).
    Russell Crowe - he's aussie so he'd probably do the food on a barbeque, so we'd all be happy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Ok Im sure this has been done before but if you were having a dinner party and you could have anyone at it, (dead or alive!) famous or not so famous who would it be?

Such a boring overused question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Table for six:

Groucho Marx
    Julius Caesar
    Oscar Wilde
    Nell McCafferty
    Helen of Troy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Such a boring overused question

and yet you felt the need to comment :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

dunphy - giles - alex higgins - john mcenroe - edmond Burke - oscar wilde - donagh o'malley - howard marks - morrissey - peig sayers - elaine from seinfeld - larry david - alexie sayle - richard pryor - joanna lumley - miriam o'callaghan - wolfe tone - red hugh o'neill - rory o'connor (high king) - John O'shea - roy keane - simon geoghan - duncan stewart - declan ganley - ciaran mcdonald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Socrates, Cleopatra, Gandhi, Marie Curie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

Gordon Ramsey - he can do the cooking
    Hugh Fernly Whittingstall - he can help Gordon
    Mary Robinson - she can break up the fights in the kitchen
    Declan Ganley - Mary can talk some sense into him
    Courtney Love - General fodder of madness
    David Bowie - he is there for me to seduce
    Dara O'Brian - conversation king
    Jennifer Saunders - stolen from eoinmcloves party - good call eoin.
    Colin Farrell - poached from Prosperous Daves party

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Nigella Lawson (who will also be the chef)
    Graham Linnehan
    Dermot Morgan
    Michael McIntyre
    Lee Evans
    Mohammad Ali
    Marylin Monroe
    Frankie Boyle
    Laurel & Hardy

A fun night all round:)

Laurel & Hardy

Whatever you do, make sure you send them separate invites. I sent them a joint invite for my last soirée and they got fierce pissed off over it. Really went out of their way to make sure I knew they weren't a couple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

Marco Pierre White to do the cooking (Ramsay was his b1tch)
    Jennifer Anniston and Angelina Jolie for eye candy and later, mud wrestling
    Russell Crowe and Colin Farrell for pre dinner drinks (and during dinner and after dinner as well)
    Chris Rock for entertainment
    Def Leppard for music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Thom Yorke,
    Stephen Fry,
    David Firth,
    Kurt Vonnegut,
    Garth Ennis,
    Richard D James,
    Keira Knightly,
    My buddy Chris,
    Bill Hicks,
    Leonardo Da Vinci,
    Joseph Heller,
    Damon Albarn,
    Edvard Munch,
    Banksy,
    Amideo Modigliani,
    Brendon Small,
    Friedrich Nietsche.

I would invite all the lovely people who have yet to vote for poster of the year. They are all such awesome people and there would be free booze and cake.

mmmmmmmmmmmm cake...

damn it im hungry now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

The cast of Goodfellas
    The X Factor Judges and presenters
    Graham Norton
    Sean Connery
    David Bowie
    Edward Norton
    Lads from top gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Coco Chanel; Cristobel Balanciggia; Alfred Hitchcock; Alexander Flemming Cleopatra and Antony Jeff Buckley Robert De Nerio All members of the Smiths Picassio Giotto De Bondone My Dad and my great great great great great great great great grandparents..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

This is why she would get an invite to said dinner party.

No need for plates. I will happily eat them out of her knickers :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Axl Rose and Slash (hopefully it would kick off and the truth would finally come out)
    Rocky Marciano and Muhamad Ali (so I could finally get to see that fight)
    Katie Melua (no explanation needed)
    Jesus (free wine and fish and bread, plus it seems like he was a genuinly nice guy)
    Eamonn Dunphy, Brady, Giles, Bill ( seem like good craic on a night out)
    Richard Pryor (funniest man that's ever lived)
    Anna Friel (She can stick around with me and Katie when every one else leaves)
    Bob Marley (so I have someone to smoke with)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,969 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Shane MacGowen, Oliver Reed, George Best. Serious session.