Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speeding

• 19-12-2008 12:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

Evening, i was pulled over last night for speeding and the gardai took my reg and insurance details. They didn't have a gatso or lasec and did not say i would be recieving penalty points just to present my licence and insurance cert. Was just wondering will i have to pay a fine and get penalty points? I realise i was in the wrong and am regretful but need to know as im going away for a month in a week and a half and dont want to get a summons. thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Odds are you will get the fine and the points. This is just my opinion. Be sure to produce your docs before you go, or that's another offence. If you'll be away, can you arrange for someone to check your mail and pay the fine within the prescribed time?

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 robbo88

even tho they didnt have a definite speed i was doing and didnt say i wud get anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

robbo88 wrote: »
    even tho they didnt have a definite speed i was doing and didnt say i wud get anything?

First, txtspk hurts people's eyes and brains. Stop.

Second - virtually zero chance of you being summonsed, but you'll most likely get €80 fine to be paid within 21 days and 3 points. You must inform your insurance company too or they'll turn around and not cover you if you have a crash later on.

sorry bout the txtspk!! ye thats what i thought however they asked me to present license tomorow which i thought was a bit odd as i had to do this previously for not having my license with me (no punishment etc.) they also had no way of judging an exact speed so im really confused?

If you didn't have your licence with you then yes, you've to present it usually within 10 days. Doesn't matter if you've done that before.

As far as I know if two Gardaí say they were following you and you were clearly speeding, you're better off taking the fine and points. If you object and it goes to court, they'll just hammer you.

Also, I'm pretty sure now that speeding is 2 points fixed, max. 4 in court so most likely you'll just get the two.

ye if i get the fine il pay up straight off but i did have my license last night tand they asked me to present it to a garda station again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pipsqueak

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    First, txtspk hurts people's eyes and brains. Stop.

Second - virtually zero chance of you being summonsed, but you'll most likely get €80 fine to be paid within 21 days and 3 points. You must inform your insurance company too or they'll turn around and not cover you if you have a crash later on.
    its 28 days and fine increases to 120 euro after 56 days actually

and 2 points not 3 sheez!!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

As far as I know, They have to of proved yo you at the time that you were speeding. i.e showing you the gun or a printout. When I got stopped for speeding I was shown the gun at 67 kph in a 50 zone :(

incorrect again, gardai do not need to show you the gun. also the ultralyte 20 20 doesnt do print outs!

they had no gun they pulled me over claimed i was doing over 100 which i definitly wasnt it was 75 80 max nd then had a look around 4 drugs?

well you wont be getting a fcps for speeding then

fcps?

fcps?

fixed charge penaly system

o right thanks, but do u reckon therel b any sort of fine? its just cos the last thing i wanna arrive back to is a major fine!!

You were pulled in for a reason ok? The reason was prob this... you were driving around with a mate or two on board right? prob a tad over the limit teeny weeny bit? search conducted sec 23 mda act 77, neg result, took details, asked u to produce docs and licence.?? Just produce ur docs tomorrow, end of story it was a stop & search
    happens 1000 times a day , forget about it cos he has!

na i was just comin home over the mountains from a friends nd they were sorta parked in the road ansd followed me down? pulled over told if i wanto keep my license id wanto be careful asked outta the car cis i had a box of smokes nd i assume they thought i had some weed on me was checked nd they told me to present docs after them tellin me i was doin 100kph in a 60 zone sorry bout this just never happened before so not 100% what the protocol is

o right thanks, but do u reckon therel b any sort of fine? its just cos the last thing i wanna arrive back to is a major fine!!

What did we say about the txtspk?! Eyes falling out of my head at this rate between both of ye...

@pipsqueak - re 56 days/€120, knew that, didn't mention it - he should have the cop on to pay it in time anyway ;)

Didn;t know it was 28 days though. All the better :D

:DNo bother amigo!

na i was just comin home over the mountains from a friends nd they were sorta parked in the road ansd followed me down? pulled over told if i wanto keep my license id wanto be careful asked outta the car cis i had a box of smokes nd i assume they thought i had some weed on me was checked nd they told me to present docs after them tellin me i was doin 100kph in a 60 zone sorry bout this just never happened before so not 100% what the protocol is

Just a btw, only way a garda can prove speeding without the laser and gatso is by calibration of the speedo over a fixed distance. and the auld calibration is never done anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Some cars (but not many) have dashcams which also records speed of the vehicle its trained on but Im unaware if this has or is being used for speeding offences.

Sounds to me more like you were driving a bit fast or whatever and they wanted to have a better look at you. Its not an issue so produce documents and forget it.