Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do when getting harrasing calls and texts.

• 16-12-2008 7:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

Whats the first thing to do when a person is getting an amount of calls which when answered there is no one on the line. She is also getting unwanted text messages.
    Can the phone company find out who is calling or is it a job for the Gardai?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭smares

If you ring the phone company they can block the number from your phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

If you contact the gardai they can authorise a trace on incoming calls with your phone company.

Had to do it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

IF she is sick of it she can just ring the phone company and get them to change her number for free, and then just only text her number to the people she wants to have it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

Had this happen me before, rang the phone company , they said its a Gardai matter, went to the Gardai they sorted it, then it started happening again off a different number obv it was the same people, so i rang the phone company and they changed my number, and now i only give my number to people who i want to have it , and there under strict instructions not to give it to anyone without asking me 1st, and this has got rid of the problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

if you know a buddy with a satellite phone borrow it and give them that number to call, talk away to them on it for a while. when they get the bill you will never hear from them again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

towel401 wrote: »
    if you know a buddy with a satellite phone borrow it and give them that number to call, talk away to them on it for a while. when they get the bill you will never hear from them again

It will be kind of obvious that the ringing party will be ringing a non irish number as it will have a different prefix instead of +353 i.e. +88. Inform the gardai as they have to authorise the network operator to look at the phone records held by the core network (Mobile Switching Center) for who rang the OP's mobile. Id suggest that the OP keeps a diary of when you recieved the nusance calls you so that you can provide this information to the gardai who can in turn provide this to network operator. Even if they called you from a mobile it still is possible as the other party probably registered their details to avail of free credit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

smares wrote: »
    If you ring the phone company they can block the number from your phone

no, they cant block the number from your phone. they will just tell you to contact the gardai.

your best bet is to change phone numbers and that way you have a clean break of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

had this happen to an ex - turned out she was mentally ****'ed up and was leading on other men and then having asked me to text one of the numbers to ask them to stop, I started to get the abuse. Except it was actually her with one of a number of phone numbers. Make sure it's happening for real would be my advice. I called the number one day to try and have qwords - she was in the bathroom - a buzzing came from her bag. I hung up, it stopped. I called again, it started again. :eek:
    Make sure it doesn't happen to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

who007 wrote: »
    had this happen to an ex - turned out she was mentally ****'ed up and was leading on other men and then having asked me to text one of the numbers to ask them to stop, I started to get the abuse. Except it was actually her with one of a number of phone numbers. Make sure it's happening for real would be my advice. I called the number one day to try and have qwords - she was in the bathroom - a buzzing came from her bag. I hung up, it stopped. I called again, it started again. :eek:

wow amazing what people will do for attention. all very good advise, never realised the gardai could help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

oh my god! horrific... for both of you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I think I dated her.

Get her to change her number and if she doesn't want to do that ring the guards.

Never answer private numbers, if any of her family have unlisted numbers ask them to text her before ringing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

TheZohan wrote: »
    I think I dated her.

me too...:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Slaygal

the same thing happened my sister about 3 years ago, lots of abusive calls and texts
    so she went to the local Garda Station and told them what was happening. the Garda in question was lovely and rang the number and gave the person a warning. The calls stopped after that. Has your friend tried this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

change phone number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

It will be kind of obvious that the ringing party will be ringing a non irish number as it will have a different prefix instead of +353 i.e. +88. Inform the gardai as they have to authorise the network operator to look at the phone records held by the core network (Mobile Switching Center) for who rang the OP's mobile. Id suggest that the OP keeps a diary of when you recieved the nusance calls you so that you can provide this information to the gardai who can in turn provide this to network operator. Even if they called you from a mobile it still is possible as the other party probably registered their details to avail of free credit.

you'd be surprised, although this would be more suitable for a stalker or someone who desperately wants to call the person. i got a few eejits to call +88216 land, even a Nigerian scammer. shame I wasn't there to answer it :(