Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horizontal safe ?

• 15-12-2008 8:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Rather than a safe that stores the guns in a standing position, is there such a thing as a safe that will store the guns in a horizontal position / lying flat if you know what I mean.
    If there is such a thing where might I get one ?
    I am looking at changing / getting a larger safe, I have an ideal location but it is restricted in height but not in width.
    Many thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Simply take bog std safe and lay it flat in your hiding place??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 whopwop

:confused:Now why the hell did i not think of that !!!!

.....THANKS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

whopwop wrote: »
    :confused:Now why the hell did i not think of that !!!!

.....THANKS

If this is going under a floor, I have another litle trick that will conceal it. You get an actuator which is operated by remote control and you then have a trapdoor with no visible means of opening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

please tell us more?

murph226 wrote: »
    please tell us more?

Well a linear actuator is a motor driven ram which can be fixed to the underside of the trapdoor. The one I have is 12v (I had to put in a transformer to power it from the mains). In line with that there is a remote control unit which will activate the linear actuator using a remote control (like one you use for your car locks).

linearactuators.jpg

The trapdoor hinges are also hidden using 'soss' hinges which are routed into the edge of the door and the floor and so completely invisible when the door is closed.

218.gif

http://www.firgelliauto.co.uk for linear actuators and remote controls. I got the Soss hinges from Haefele Ireland, but they're trade only. If you talk nicely to your local kitchen installer, they should be able to get them for you. You might also be able to get them online from the UK or the USA, but they are expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭gofaster_s13

What happens if your transformer or actuator pack up as is common for them to do ??

Well if the actuator packs up I'm f***ed :D, though I'm hoping that I'd have advance warning that it was on the way out.

If the transformer packs in, I have a cable running to another hidden location which has spade terminals for a 12v battery which will also work for a power failure or outage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

Cheers RRPC:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

rrpc wrote: »
    Well if the actuator packs up I'm f***ed :D, though I'm hoping that I'd have advance warning that it was on the way out.

If the transformer packs in, I have a cable running to another hidden location which has spade terminals for a 12v battery which will also work for a power failure or outage.

Pretty elaborate, good job.
    So did your local FO see this ? I'd love to see the reaction :D

"And on this side Garda I have a retinal scanner and breathalyser before the door will open"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Retinal scanner and breathalyser? Feck that, just get an iris scanner, it'll do the same job and you can't just pop out rrpc's eyeball on a fountain pen to get his firearms then, so Wesley Snipes will be up the creek when the Wicklow Gardai arrive in their official panda ;)

rrpc wrote:
    If this is going under a floor, I have another litle trick that will conceal it. You get an actuator which is operated by remote control and you then have a trapdoor with no visible means of opening.

The Fritzel method, good call!

spideog7 wrote: »
    Pretty elaborate, good job.
    So did your local FO see this ? I'd love to see the reaction :D
    Sadly at that time I hadn't figured out how to handle it, so all he saw was a loose trapdoor with no hinges. He did say "I like what I'm seeing already" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Or a totally cheaper method..
    You need three things.[1]Crowbar [2] Hammer& nails.[3] Chainsaw
    Use crowbar to prise up all floorboards where you intend to hide gun safe.
    Have a beer,decide which area the safe will go in the best.Chainsaw away any inconvient beams.Have another beer.Bolt in gunsafe. Nail back floor boards.Have another beer
    To use,
    Keep crowbar handy for prying up the floor boards,retrive firearms from gunsafe.Nail back floorboards when done.Repeat as often as access is needed.:D:D:D:D:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

forget our retinal scanner and your breathalizer ...... i sleep beside a yoke that does all that and then it tells you wheather you can go out shooting or not .But ive discovered that if you throw enough drink into it the night before it will say yes to anything!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If you used a small pneumatic actuator and brought the line and connection to somewhere nearby, but hidden, you could forget about motors and use a foot pump ;).