Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quins v SF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

For some reason Oelshig's taking the kicks for Stade. I thought Hernandez was their first choice kicker no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

fight!

For some reason Oelshig's taking the kicks for Stade. I thought Hernandez was their first choice kicker no?

Hernandez has been carrying a groin injury recently. protecting that?! didnt know nick evans played for Quins these days.

very easy there. a simple switch and try from 22 out. not really any dummy runners either.

13-11 quins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭ironingbored

13-11 Quins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Some game in awful conditions. Come on Quins!

they are in a good position alright. Barnes seems very critical of Care alot of the time. tis hilarious! what happened the no 8 there?!

crisco10 wrote: »
    they are in a good position alright. Barnes seems very critical of Care alot of the time. tis hilarious! what happened the no 8 there?!

Smashed of the second rows ass, real classy :p

Stev_o wrote: »
    Smashed of the second rows ass, real classy :p

Thats what i thought. potentially the worlds funniest injury.:D:D

16-17 five minutes left.

Hernandez just slotted home a peach of a DG. What a player.

This is the most dramatic drop goal ever. Just wow what a ending to a match.

That ending rivals any final iv ever seen

19-17 Quins unbelievable last 5 minutes. Last minute DG by Evans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

What a finish! Brilliant from Evans.

a drop goal that went to the TMO just to make it that bit more dramatic!

Was hoping for Leinster and Munsters sake, SF won, would increase their chances of a home QF if they were to get thru.

Evans ran that last 30 phases very well, the 2 turned down drop goals were calm as you like. Espeically the second one.

a drop goal that went to the TMO just to make it that bit more dramatic!

Was hoping for Leinster and Munsters sake, SF won, would increase their chances of a home QF if they were to get thru.

Evans ran that last 30 phases very well, the 2 turned down drop goals were calm as you like. Espeically the second one.

Just beyond dramatic one of the all time Heineken cup classic moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Pissing rain, injury time, one mistake and match was over, 29 phases, went thru 1-15, drop goal from evans, thats what rugby is all about, absolute magic

certainly. it was up there with the OSpreys a few years ago running thru 30 odd phases to get a try in the last minute a year or two ago...
    phenomenal. and the stream held up for the whole game. was praying it wouldnt drop away...

certainly. it was up there with the OSpreys a few years ago running thru 30 odd phases to get a try in the last minute a year or two ago...
    phenomenal. and the stream held up for the whole game. was praying it wouldnt drop away...

Had to be better imo dew to the sheer class of Evans to dummy it TWICE and make more ground, iv seen countless times when its come down to a drop goal like that and the OH bottles it and gets charged down just amazing. Add to that Jordan Turner Halls fumble i mean it was edge of the seat stuff

Just had a thought, where was Evans when the All blacks needed a drop goal against france in the 07 world cup?! haha.

cool as you like. i didn't really care who won but my heart was exploding out of my chest!

Just had a thought, where was Evans when the All blacks needed a drop goal against france in the 07 world cup?! haha.

cool as you like. i didn't really care who won but my heart was exploding out of my chest!

He was cursed remember he came on for injured Carter and got injured himself and then McAlister missed the DG :p

Aye agree cant wait for the replays to go on youtube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

what is with teams, either a score in front or behind, kicking the ball away to give the opposition one last chance. 1min left on the quins line and stade miss a DG and fair play to quins going through all the hard work to get their score but surely stade should have sat on the quins line and waited it out. clermont tried it against munster, albeit still 8 mins on clock but look what happened there and in the munster all black match, munster needed to keep ball in hand to try and find a score and instead it was kicked and the all blacks just shepparded it outa play. ive seen it happen in couple of other matches too. are the players minds already in the changing rooms or what?

Chris Keane last week against Castres when a BP was on the cards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

Just beyond dramatic one of the all time Heineken cup classic moments.
    True but what about the easy-to-spot knock-on everyone seems to have forgotten that started the 20-odd phase move in the first place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

I think an exciting end has masked the fact that it was a thoroughly boring second half of rugby.

I know it was a ****ty day but for me that match embodied everything that is wrong with the ELV's.

sm.org wrote: »
    I think an exciting end has masked the fact that it was a thoroughly boring second half of rugby.

I know it was a ****ty day but for me that match embodied everything that is wrong with the ELV's.

A bit harsh to blame the ELVs? On a wet day like that, teams are always going to play the percentages and hoof it long..Which ELV do you think caused that game?

The one I actually like, you cant kick for touch if you pass/carry back into your own 22. Instead we get aimless kicking down the middle of the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Watched this - even with the atrocious conditions it was an enjoyable match. I personally was rooting for SF towards the end to open the pool up a bit.
    Add to that Jordan Turner Halls fumble i mean it was edge of the seat stuff

I was sure this was a knock-on, and Owens called "play-on". I would love to see it again, but I can't believe it wasn't blown. Yet again, more inconsistent refereeing on display, Owens gives players far too much time to release the ball in the tackle.

IMO I think SF can feel very hard done by, that was a knock-on. I'd love to see it again.

Class ending ans massive kudos to Evans after dummying twice to avoid the block and still pulling off the DG.

The one I actually like, you cant kick for touch if you pass/carry back into your own 22. Instead we get aimless kicking down the middle of the park.

Maybe Quins would have put it out on the full more if there were no ELVs but I think SF's line out was such a joke they probably would have kept kicking long and down the centre. And even if the ball had gone out on the full more often. I can imagine the lineout would have happened, passed to the 10 who then kicked the leather off the ball. So the kick would have just been delayed as opposed to avoided. Just a thought.

Yeah but Quins could have used the SF lineout as an attacking option where they clear to the half way, nick the lineout and run from there. Even as you say they then kick from the resulting position it should be a much more effective as Quins would have a much more realistic chance of reclaiming the ball from there.

Granted SF would just continue to boot it down the middle.

Been reading a lot of British journos touting Danny Care as a lions 9 but he's far too rash for my liking.

Agreed. As much as I hate agreeing with Stuart Barnes, that tap in the first half was silly. If Quins had wanted to go for the jugular, the scrum was the call, not a tap and go. Also had a few dodgy snipes where he got himself a wee bit isolated. also, he should of have been screaming for the ball off the forwards at the end...

For sure, penalty or scrum was the way to go. Will Skinner was screaming at him a few times.

Thought Mike Ross held up very well against a good SF front row.

Yeah the whole front row was good espeically considering who they are playing against. Marconnet and Roncero would usually eat up people on a day like that..But, I suspect Ross will never get a cap. There seems to be a conspiracy against him. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I'd agree, however Care was giving fantastic feed of ball from the set pieces and the ruck. His decision making from quick penalties or sniping can sometimes be suspect, but was astonished sometimes with how quick he was snapping the ball out from lineouts and the ruck, especially after watching O'Leary and Whitaker flounder about for way too long.

Putting o leary in the same category as whitaker is insulting both our intelligences.

Its gotten to the stage where whitaker is a complete liability. Leinster should have another go off signing reddan, now that o leary is firmly entrenched as the munster 9 , reddan may just give up his munster dream.

True, while O'Leary has been playing better for Munster than Whits has for Leinster, they're both essentially limiting their teams in the exact same manner. Stringer managed to get that pack and backline moving again thanks to quick ball, which is something neither O'Leary today or Whitaker yesterday was in any way capable of doing, other than in short snippets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Great, great game of rugby. Game of the tournament thus far.Last 10 minutes absolutely heart stopping. Quins the English form team at the moment and one of the few who've adopted to the ELV's. Care needs to be reigned in (just a tad)...But the Quins 8/9/10 axis absolutely brilliant. To take Stade at home and away, you'd have to say Quins looking very good....surely providing the blueprint for the English national team?

toomevara wrote: »
    Great, great game of rugby. Game of the tournament thus far.Last 10 minutes absolutely heart stopping. Quins the English form team at the moment and one of the few who've adopted to the ELV's. Care needs to be reigned in (just a tad)...But the Quins 8/9/10 axis absolutely brilliant. To take Stade at home and away, you'd have to say Quins looking very good....surely providing the blueprint for the English national team?

Of course, you have to remember that Stade have never been a great HC team. But you are correct, the form english team..

Yeah, I'm a great fan of the Quins (though I'm an LI man)set-up. They've worked miracles down there since their return from relegation and their RL set-up is also fantastic.

The academy set up for both codes is brilliant (in league they boast the most homegrown players in their squad of any SL outfit, which given England's dismal performance in the RLWC, is pointing the way forward. Less dependence on SH imports looking for a pay-day and more emphasis on nurturing home-grown talent) and they bring rugby out of its traditional heartlands into inner city working class areas. A brilliantly run outfit, who deserve on-field success....

toomevara wrote: »
    Yeah, I'm a great fan of the Quins (though I'm an LI man)set-up. They've worked miracles down there since their return from relegation and their RL set-up is also fantastic.

The academy set up for both codes is brilliant (in league they boast the most homegrown players in their squad of any SL outfit, which given England's dismal performance in the RLWC, is pointing the way forward. Less dependence on SH imports looking for a pay-day and more emphasis on nurturing home-grown talent) and they bring rugby out of its traditional heartlands into inner city working class areas. A brilliantly run outfit, who deserve on-field success....

Are they just the first team to cop that costly imports arent the way to go? I remember Quins having high profile foreigners before the rest (Woody, Lacroix etc) So they just started early and have realised earlier..
    Also, nothing like relegation to make you look at every penny your spending! :rolleyes:

QFT, what doesn't kill you makes you stronger....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Think Quins have been superb - from being 'the fancy dans' of English rugby to being 'Leicester like' even 'Munster like' this season is a testament to all the hard work of last 2-3 seasons. While they have brought in Nick Evans, if you look at their pack, with the exception of Nick Easter, not too many star names. Believe Mike Ross is Irish qualified and Ceri Jones Welsh qualified, so maybe Declan Kidney and Warren Gatland should take note!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

#Stade deserved to lose with a jersey like that, ridiculous.

any links to the last passage of play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

#Stade deserved to lose with a jersey like that, ridiculous.

any links to the last passage of play?

Go to http://www.ercrugby.com/eng/erc_rugby_tv.php?medid=1968
    and it will eventually load up Sky's highlights of all matches in Round 4. At the moment all the highlights of Round 3 but Round 4 should follow quite soon.

Go to http://www.ercrugby.com/eng/erc_rugby_tv.php?medid=1968
    and it will eventually load up Sky's highlights of all matches in Round 4. At the moment all the highlights of Round 3 but Round 4 should follow quite soon.
    I'm sorry, but until we can manage to get 76,000 into a Pool game of rugby over here, I gotta say, Stade can wear whatever colour they want, their management and owner are clever gits.

I also kinda <3 the Stade jersey for some reason :S