Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pyjama Drama

• 13-12-2008 1:04am
    Registered Users Posts: 33,241 ✭✭✭✭

So, it appears that the Chinese like to wear pyjamas outdoors. And they're trying to clamp down on it because it looks 'uncivilsed' (a bit like occupying Tibet, one would imagine, but that's another thread).

Full article here:
    http://uk.news.yahoo.com/18/20081212/tod-pyjama-police-fight-shanghai-s-dayti-575248e.html

I'm thinking Dublin Ireland (too lazy to move thread). Would you condemn people if they wore their PJs outdoors? Assuming, of course, they're on a day off, actually wear pyjamas and aren't meeting you for a drink that evening. Is it 'uncivilised'? Or is it a case of fvck it, free country, do what you like...?

Inner city skangers are exempted from the thread: too easy a target.

Peoples, the floor is yours.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I'm thinking Dublin Ireland (too lazy to move thread). Would you condemn people if they wore their PJs outdoors? Assuming, of course, they're on a day off, actually wear pyjamas and aren't meeting you for a drink that evening. Is it 'uncivilised'? Or is it a case of fvck it, free country, do what you like...?

I'd just laugh my hole off at a lad.

Wimmins should be encouraged to wear more skimpy nighties on nights out. Athough that might mean covering up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭omgiluvxmas

yes it just looks stupid but then i prefer having people to laugh at. it seems pretty scummy as you can see it in town all the time where i live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

its a sad day when the nicest thing in ur wardrobe its you 5 euro pennys pyjamas

• Registered Users Posts: 33,241 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

its a sad day when the nicest thing in ur wardrobe its you 5 euro pennys pyjamas

Ah, now, that's a bit presumptuous. What it if were someone in a pair €199.95 Smoothy Silky BT specials? I did say leave the skangers out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Ah, now, that's a bit presumptuous. What it if were someone in a pair €199.95 Smoothy Silky BT specials? I did say leave the skangers out.

if someone paid 200 quid for a pair of pyjamas they should be hung up in an air tight container somewhere and kept for when the pope comes to stay, not worn to tesco!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 inpornitrust

girls only wear pj out when there only tracksuit is in the wash with there boyfriends white socks and hoodie:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Lidl Greenhills today, 13:30, mother and daughter in pyjamas and fluffy slippers. Both looked liked they'd been wearing them for days - and therein I think lies much of the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'd like if my friend wore pyjamas instead of hopping in his car and calling over to me while only wearing boxers.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Jane Doh!

It amazes me how this has become a trend and I see it more and more every day. I think its rank.

People say that its lazyness....I don't agree...why then do they go to the bother of putting on socks and shoes, brush their hair and some even put on makeup.

They do make me laugh though, we call them the pyjama club.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

So pyjama wearing here is just the Irish version of having a Little China district in each City / Town.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Lenin

Just seen some idiot in his 30's wearing PJ's and a housecoat in the Spar down the road.

I think a crackdown is needed. Armed garda checkpoints on all roads. Anyone in pyjamas in public shot on sight! One shot, Bang Bang!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

arent pyjamas traditional dress in china in annyways??

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Lenin wrote: »
    One shot, Bang Bang!

I think the gun is faulty :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

So, it appears that the Chinese like to wear pyjamas outdoors. And they're trying to clamp down on it because it looks 'uncivilsed' (a bit like occupying Tibet, one would imagine, but that's another thread).

Full article here:
    http://uk.news.yahoo.com/18/20081212/tod-pyjama-police-fight-shanghai-s-dayti-575248e.html

Inner city skangers are exempted from the thread: too easy a target.

Few young ones in my place used turn up for work in their pjs of a saturday....Wasn't sexy though...no, no, no.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Ah, now, that's a bit presumptuous. What it if were someone in a pair Š199.95 Smoothy Silky BT specials? I did say leave the skangers out.
    Whats your take on it?
    I think its common and undignified. I also think its hard to keep the skobes out of it, they are the Irish supporters of the trend, them and the ones that have managed to escape their hospital beds.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

if someone paid 200 quid for a pair of pyjamas they should be hung up in an air tight container somewhere and kept for when the pope comes to stay

the PJs or the wearer

Nodin wrote: »
    Few young ones in my place used turn up for work in their pjs of a saturday....Wasn't sexy though...no, no, no.......

What employer would entertain it? Were they sent back to where they came from....bed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

who actually wears pyjamas....

• Registered Users Posts: 33,241 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Abigayle wrote: »
    Whats your take on it?
    I think its common and undignified. I also think its hard to keep the skobes out of it, they are the Irish supporters of the trend, them and the ones that have managed to escape their hospital beds.

This is the thing: but if it caught on in Milan, you ever posh D4 wat would be doing it. Id condemn it then, but not if people just said "feck it, I'm wearing pyjamas, and I don't care what you think!"

Difficult to draw aline between that and the aforemention skobe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

This is the thing: but if it caught on in Milan, you ever posh D4 wat would be doing it. Id condemn it then, but not if people just said "feck it, I'm wearing pyjamas, and I don't care what you think!"

Difficult to draw aline between that and the aforemention skobe...

I see your point, but no no no. I will make no bones of it. Not that I wear the damn things, but Id rather go out in the nip. And Id rather be remembered as the naked crazy chick than the skanger burd in her ugly pj's. You cant seperate the irish jammies issue here. It would be different if it was a new concept here.

Pj's were designed for a purpose, to be worn at bedtime.

I doubt that we will see them on any catwalk any time soon.