Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keeping in touch with old friends

• 12-12-2008 7:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭

Allow me to elaborate: Like most of you, I made my first group of friends in primary school. It is, after all, most kids' first step into the outside world. You have the craic with your childhood chums for 7/8 years then you're torn apart as you go to different secondary schools.

You may make new friends in secondary school (unless your a loser :P ) but alas are torn apart yet again as you set off for college.

I presume the same cycle kicks in when one graduates from third level.

My question is - did or do you keep in touch with your old buddies from these stages in your life? or did you gradually drift apart as your lives went in different directions? Maybe you cut the bastards off purposely cos you found more interesting friends.

Alas you WILL run into these people in the niteclub at the weekend and pathetically keep up the charade that you're still good chums "Havn't seen you in ages mate! What yu doing these days? Give me a text sometime and we'll grab a pint!" Deep down I'm thinkin (1) You know we don't have each others numbers idiot (2) Ever wonder why we did't keep in touch? Urghh

Wise contributors of AH - share your thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Yeah, same thing happens when you graduate from College. Ultimately you'll keep in touch with a few people and sort of lose contact with other friends from primary/secondary/third level but still catch-up occassionally.
    As for the bast**ds you didn't like back in the day, you probably won't see very often - some of them, however, may come back into your life at some stage and you'll be great friends this time.
    As the saying goes "Friends come and go," and it's true.
    There's a few people that I'll probably never lose touch with, but there's also a lot of people that I can take them or leave them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

most of them became scummers / slutbags unfortunately so no reason to stay in touch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

Alas you WILL run into these people in the niteclub at the weekend and pathetically keep up the charade that you're still good chums "Havn't seen you in ages mate! What yu doing these days? Give me a text sometime and we'll grab a pint!" Deep down I'm thinkin (1) You know we don't have each others numbers idiot (2) Ever wonder why we did't keep in touch? Urghh

Theres actually a great scene from Human Traffic that sums up how I feel about this perfectly. Couldn't find it on Youtube tho. Its the one where he runs into his "mate" at the bar in a club and they act friendly. Then the scene is played again in his mind "if they were honest with each other" lol. "We ride the waves of social paranoia!" Classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I keep in touch with my best mates back home. Email, phone, text and the odd flight back. I might be on the other side of the world but a group of us have been friends for close to 25yrs. Friends regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

Not so much my friends from primary school, but i still have most my friends from the forst secondary school i went to, although i'm finding it harder to make time for them with college these days. The ones from my 2nd secondary school i havent really kept much if any contact with. Probably because i only spent 1 or 2 years with them, and the people were definitely not as nice there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

phenomenon wrote: »
    Theres actually a great scene from Human Traffic that sums up how I feel about this perfectly. Couldn't find it on Youtube tho. Its the one where he runs into his "mate" at the bar in a club and they act friendly. Then the scene is played again in his mind "if they were honest with each other" lol. "We ride the waves of social paranoia!" Classic

That was EXACTLY what I was thinking about!!

But yea, I supose I've lost touch with my primary school friends, although I'd still get on with them like!
    As regards secondary, I now have a close group of maybe 5 or 6 friends I still hang keep in touch with and the rest I'd see out at nightclubs and just say well and all that.
    Just at the college stage now :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

I'm still friends with a couple of lads from college from 15 years ago and we meet up as a group at least once a year. Been to weddings, christenings and parental funerals over the years.

I went to another college to do a higher qualification and was never in contact with the group I used to hang around with there. Secondary school I will have a pint with somebody if we meet up randomly but there is no real solid friendships there.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

"Friends come and go,"

Just like Yore Ma so... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Hardly know anyone from primary school anymore. I still hang around with my friends from secondary though, when i get the chance. At this point the idea of never hangin out with them would just be really weird. I've made some really good friends in my course in college though. Not sure how this is all gonna work out after college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Have one friend since the first day of school - but only see each other ocassionally.

Rest of friends were made through work or socially

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

My best mate was in my class for primary, different secondary schools up till 6th year then we reunited for the LC =]

I'm still good mates with people I've known since I was a kid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

I have a very selective memory thats not without its faults so its ended up that I managed to forget the name of a person when I met him out that I was in the same classes with for 5 years and that I even sat beside for a good few classes and knew quite well (sorry Bernard). The issue is I hated secondary school and disguarded so much information I absorbed there that some babys got thrown out with the bathwater whereas on the other hand I remember details from computer games I enjoyed at the time with extreme accuracy. The likes of bebo has done wonders for my friend rememberance though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I see my old schoolmates from time to time on Garda Patrol / Crimeline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

All my best mates are the ones I went up through the ranks with in school. Still hang out all the time. Some have spread about, but we meet up a couple of times a year for teh partytime. I never really made close mates though college. A lot of people i'd get on with, be it through the course or sport, but don't keep in touch anywhere near like I do with school mates.

As much as I hated it in the 90's, I actually thinksecondary school is quite possibly the best phase in someones life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Fizman wrote: »
    All my best mates are the ones I went up through the ranks with in school. Still hang out all the time. Some have spread about, but we meet up a couple of times a year for teh partytime. I never really made close mates though college. A lot of people i'd get on with, be it through the course or sport, but don't keep in touch anywhere near like I do with school mates.

As much as I hated it in the 90's, I actually thinksecondary school is quite possibly the best phase in someones life!

Liar.

Have a shïtload of homework due Monday, and have 2 maths quetions done,

Fûck you honours maths and fûck you quadratic formula

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Been mates with my best mate since the first day of school. Rest of em are maybe two from national school, a few from secondary. tbh I am only in reg contact with one lad from college- most of my college mates only came in at most 3 times a week, and most of that time was spent smoking spliffs in the car park :p As for the college girls, most of the ones I made the effort to get to know (yes, the hot ones, obviously :) ) had left by the first November, havent a clue where they are now or if they even remember me (over 4 years now like). So yeah- college was pretty boring, and quite cliquey I found, the fine birds and the sound lads either dropped out or never came in. I will have a chinwag with a few of the lads I see in the local pubs the odd time but tbh only one I can still contact who I would be on the sesh with (none of the old crew seem to be on bebo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭patrickSTARR

i used to hang around with scumbags who thought it was fun to start fights, cut them out and moved on. i do the same with ex girlfiends, i just cut them off 2, but everyone else wud just drift apart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I am in touch with some of my childhood mates, might not see them for a long time, but doesn't matter... it's weird. Keep in touch with ONE school mate and 2 or 3 college mates... Rest of them were tossers :P

As you grow up you just grow apart from a lot of your mates. It's pretty natural. You will always have your good mates :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I don't remember one friend from my school days, but I keep in touch with alot of the lads I trained with during recruit training in the army.

I've also kept in touch with most of the lads I've been oversea's with too, except the lads pre-internet & mobil phone days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

i've one good mate from primary school... lived around the corner from me, her older sister and my auntie used to be best mates too. she doesnt really use internet much so i dont get to keep in touch with her as much as i'd like, but whenever we do meet up, it's just like old times.

mates from secondary, no, not really. mate from primary carried on as a mate from secondary... lost touch with most of those guys coupla years ago. one i keep in touch with a little more, love her to bits, but we're just always swamped for time. or have free time at opposite ends of the day/week.

college, yeah, one of the guys from college, ill always be good mates with, even if we do go months without contact at a time.

and after that... haha, it's just boardsies after that, i probably chat more with them than most of the feckers i know from real life, cos none of the fekcers from real life ever log on to chat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

giggsy664 wrote: »
    Liar.

Have a shïtload of homework due Monday, and have 2 maths quetions done,

Fûck you honours maths and fûck you quadratic formula

Is this the infamous -b formula you speek of? that stuff is simple