Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HELP! My neighbours are a nightmare

• 09-12-2008 11:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

Hey,

I am new to boards and am completely lost! I need help/advice. I live next door to two complete drunken idiots.

They aren't causing trouble every week but when they do they go to town. It is usually a fella the girl is either too pissed herself to care or just doesn't give a crap. He shouts and screams all over the place, they obviously stay up half the night cause hours after they come home they will be out the back garden. All the dogs in the neighbourhood are going mental at the noise of him. He is a knob who would start an agruement in an empty room, you know the type!

I've just had a baby and I know if he wakes the baby my husband will probably be arressted for murder!!!!!! We've tried the nice, please keep it down direction, didn't work, Ive rang the gards which seems to shut him up for a while. But he started again the weekend, and with christmas coming it's only gona get worse. I don't mind anyone having a few drinks etc but he is totally taking the piss.

I know other neighbours have been bothered by him as I saw them once or twice looking out the windows like me. I don't want my husband to go out (although I don't know how much longer I can hold him in), as these things always turn dirty. My problem is the community spirit isn't here for the neighbours to get together on the subject. Someone help with legal / management company advice.

I am going insane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Moved from the Sligo forum. You'll get more help and advice here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 zsmith

Thanks for that, I am a complete forum virgin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

are you renting?are they?i reckon the guards will probably tell you to log and date all disturbances and then get back to them(useless, i know!) but it might be worth while.
    If they rent,complain to the landlords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

It is a shame you haven't the strength in numbers, normally if a good few of ye drop around to complain then they might back down. Otherwise making a log of complaints is a good place to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Log all events of noise, call the guards and report to them every time there is a disturbance, keep a diary of everything.

Its the relevant local authorities environment section who are in charge of dealing with noise disturbance.

Read this link:
    http://www.myhome.ie/advice_news/article_detail.asp?sTagType=&cate_id=&subcate_id=272&newsid=1933

It should tell you everything you need to know about where to go from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi

I can totally relate to what you are going through. I live next door to a complete waste of space who has no respect or consideration for my tenants or myself. The fact that we go out to work in the morning in order to pay our rent and bills doesn't even come into it. What's worse is I own the house. Don't get me wrong I have no problem with normal everyday noise - the issue lies with a massive base up against our adjoining wall which vibrates through every room in my house. There is no getting away from it. He was handed the house by his parents and has never had a job so has no concept of money or social behaviour. (note to parents - do not overindulge your children you ddon't prepare them for real life) After taking note of the continuous head banging noise for up to ten hours a day I consulted a solicitor who sent him a letter. The noise stopped for a while but when it started again I had my solicitor send him another one. In this letter it spelt out what could happen to him which was I would have to bring him to court and a judge would decide when and if he could play his music. This gave him a fright and two weeks later the house was put up for sale. Unfortunately for me with the downturn of the economy he hasn't yet managed to sell the house but at least I see light at the end of the tunnel. Basically the Guards have no rights to enter the house and insist on them keeping the peace. They can do absolutely nothing. Unless they had reason to believe there was illegal activity taking place they are helpless. You have a great case with the fact that you have a baby and your normal semblance of life is being disturbed. If you own the house I would certainly see a solicitor. It is worth the money. If you don't own the house then I would certainly move. People like this have no respect or consideration for anybody. They have no concept on how to behave and feel they are above the law. People would not tolerate this in any other country. Us Irish sometimes just hope it will all go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Burial

Gardai deal with this and they take an extremely dull view of it. If there are more than one other complaint especially from different households, then he'll find his behaviour won't be allowed to continue. I don't know what the law is, but from my experience, there was a "3 strike rule" with regards to noise pollution. If the gardai arrived and there is noise pollution, they would file a report and after 3 strikes, they would bring charges against him. This was the case in my area. Everytime you call the Gardai on this matter they'll begin to know that he is the problem and especially after the 3 strike rule, he will be spending the night in jail everytime there is a call out. They will even interview others privatly to see if they have been affected also.

As others have said, keep a diary of all the things that have happened. Record the noise if possible, mentioning the time and date. This will only help your case. I know it'll be hard to keep a diary considering he acts at night-time while people are generally asleep. If you even got one other person to write a log book also (Sepeerate from your household) it would mean taking action against him is even easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

Never EVER be afraid to call the police in this scenario; after all that is what they're there for.

It's also my experience that in the current economic climate that they're more receptive to complaints about abusive neighbours and anti-social behaviour.

If the neighbours get personally abusive then make sure the police are informed at once and told that the neighbour threatened you. Explain that you are afraid for your safety.

Some time over the weekend try and take the time to sit down with a different neighbour and see if they're inclined to help create a better spirit in your area. Ask then if they'd accompany you to the next neighbour, and so and so on, taking one extra person each time you move.

And I certainly hope it gets resolved for you before the holidays kick in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

lee_arama wrote: »
    Never EVER be afraid to call the police in this scenario; after all that is what they're there for.

Been there, done that. The police will try to tell you differently.

"Sorry, we dont deal with that, its a domestic matter, you will need to take it to the council"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

If they are renting contact the PRTA www.prta.ie - they'll tall you who the landlord is and you can contact them and get them to sort it out. Best of luck!