Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laptop to TV wires @ €2 delivered

• 07-12-2008 9:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,284 ✭✭✭

If anyone has a normal CRT tv (not plasma or LCD) and your interested in hooking up your laptop this is amazing value. Its about €2 delivered and covers both the video and the sound.

NOTE: Very high chance you wont get the items by christmas as its coming from Hong Kong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

^^ Its good even for LCD's or plasma's, most of them do have the av input.

Great value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,284 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

It will work with Lcds and plasmas alright but there would be better ways to connect to them like Hdmi, a monitor connection or component, but cheap is cheap :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

Yup for €2 you cant go wrong :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Doodlebug

Great yoke! Ordered one there now - Cheers! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭lushballs

Could anyone be more specific about recommending one for a Plasma TV? Thx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Cully

lushballs wrote: »
    Could anyone be more specific about recommending one for a Plasma TV? Thx

Tell us what connections your Plasma TV has at the back and we might be able to answer this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭rash0001

Is that a DXPoints referral link :rolleyes:

yes, with the 2c (american cents!) worth of DX points i make with each one I was planning on taking over the world. :)

I don't think anyone argue this isn't a bargain alert, so whats the harm in adding it in? Its not like im spaming the place with every item on DX :)

Its a Samsung Plasma and is hanging on the wall with connecting wires for NTL and DVD etc.

Sorry that doesnt help us anymore,

Does it have any of the following:

1:Component
    123130.jpg

2:HDMI
    HDMI-FF_LR.jpg

3.DVI
    hd_connectors%5Cdvi_connector.jpg

4.VGA
    1t-vga-cattx-rear.jpg

Sorry about that Im techless. It looks like #1 on the side of the plasma.

no bother :)

Just to make sure, they are green,blue and red opposed to red,yellow and white?

EDIT: also out of 3 and 4 which on does your laptop have?

Thanks for your patience! I am tech challenged.
    They are red, yellow and white on side of plasma.
    My laptop has #4, VGA.
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭madmoe

Have been looking for one of these for ages, hopefully will arrive before Xmas. Have new laptop with HDMI but the folks at home in the country aint got no new fangled TV's with HDMI on them :-(

What is the difference between yellow, blue and red and yellow red and white component connections?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭,8,1

How many pins does the S-Video plug have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Just be advised that a huge amount of laptops dont have an svideo output. But nearly of them will have a vga out, this will also give a much better picture on the tv, providing it has a vga input. ;)

VGA gives a better picture than s-video? I have both on my laptop as well as HDMI but the folks at home don't have VGA or HDMI on their TV.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Yeh, it does on any tv Ive tried it on anyway.

The svideo will be grand on your parents tv, sure you can get s video to scart fairly cheap anyway (sub €10) to test it out

Sorry lushballs , back to drawing board :) , thats just a standard input the same as any TV would have, you'll need something else for a better picture. under your tv will definitly have one of the 4 connections i listed.

Apparently it has 4 pins.

Nearly all laptops I've seen have Svideo out (except my girlfriends new vostro 1510), but your right VGA would be better if the TV supported it, thats why i said in my first post its for CRT tvs :)

Madmoe, there really isnt a better solution than this cable for a CRT tv, in fact i cant even thing of a different way to hook it up than a S-video cable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭boopolo

Am I right in saying that you wont be able to display video (ie windows media player) with this connection. I think I tried this before.

As the OP said; vga is the better solution or dvi.

So what is the difference between the two different types of component colour sets?

I think some users are getting component mixed up with composite. Component (three cable for video) is for hi def, composite is ordinary video (yellow for video).

This item is Svideo out of computer to composite (yellow). The red and white connectors are for stereo sound.

Now that makes sense....

Does the Wii support component?

Its as boo says:

Component in total has 5 wires: Red,Blue,Green,Red,White, it supports high definition signals. You'll only find it on Lcd screens or plasmas

Composite has 3: Yellow,Red,White, It only supports standard definition signals. It should be on any

@Boo: yes its what its mainly used for.

If all your doing is watching downloaded movies, composite (the set of cables in the original post) should do the job as the resolution of the videos is not that high. Its pretty useless for viewing text though, so word processing and web browsing is not ideal with this connection.

So basically:

If you've a CRT: The only option you have is these cables

If you've an LCD:
    If you're only watching low resolution videos these cables should work just fine
    If you want to browse the web or play some games aswell you need to hook your tv up as a monitor (using connection 3 or 4 in a previous post of mine with pictures*) or hook it up with high definition input like component or HDMI.

@madmoe: Yes it does,i'm pretty sure this is the cheapest cable you will find for it too. I have it myself and it works great.

*the problem with this im not sure if it handles sound as well, i know that connection on its own does not handle sound on its own, sound would possibly work with the help of this cable, but i dont know for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Great Bargain OP

Its as boo says:

Component in total has 5 wires: Red,Blue,Green,Red,White, it supports high definition signals. You'll only find it on Lcd screens or plasmas

Composite has 3: Yellow,Red,White, It only supports standard definition signals. It should be on any
    Not exactly true.

Video:
    Component itself has only 3 wires Red, Blue & Green.

Composite has one yellow wire.

Sound is seperate
    You can bring your sound by either two other phonos or a optical etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

LCD TV Has just got HDMI input, Laptop has just VGA output - any way to link them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭fox007

lushballs wrote: »
    Its a Samsung Plasma and is hanging on the wall with connecting wires for NTL and DVD etc.

Help needed on this one too I have a toshiba satlite laptop as far as i can tell it does not have a red green etc out put or hdmi cable what cable do i need to use to hook it up to a plazma screen please help tryin to watch a footy match on line tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

fox007 wrote: »
    Help needed on this one too I have a toshiba satlite laptop as far as i can tell it does not have a red green etc out put or hdmi cable what cable do i need to use to hook it up to a plazma screen please help tryin to watch a footy match on line tonight

what model is the laptop and what model is the tv?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭fox007

yea its a satellite l 40 series toshibia laptop

and the tv is a samsung 32inch plazma hd ready

hope that helps can ya help me get this connected to my tv anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I've been buying so much junk from dealexteme lately. Great prices. Especially on small items which are never stopped for customs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

fox007 wrote: »
    yea its a satellite l 40 series toshibia laptop

and the tv is a samsung 32inch plazma hd ready

hope that helps can ya help me get this connected to my tv anyone?

If you give me more specific model numbers it would be easy enough to see what you need, but 32 inch plasma is a little vague, and I'd need to know which specific model of the L40 series the laptop is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭wasim21k

sorry for hijacking but i m looking for one cable but cant find it anywhere, i need cable with one end (female) s-video and other side composite (male).
    i can not find this type of cable.

BTW i got these, feel a little cheap but they work perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭fifib

received mine but it doesnt work. can only get sound coming through on tv. have a dell 640m. boyriend has an acer aspire and it works perfect on his.
    any ideas why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭pissed

Got one for the brother, same as above got the sound to work but no picture. Do you have to enable any settings in the laptop for to get the picture on the tv or should it just happen automatically??

Edit .... its a Hitachi laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭dubmick

possibly a silly question but could I use one of these for sound only?

I've a DVI connection on my laptop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

There'll be an option in your video card panel to output to whatever screen you want, or clone the display, etc. It won't just work straight when connected.

Yes you use it for sound only - it's a standard 3.5->3.5 input. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭pissed

There'll be an option in your video card panel to output to whatever screen you want, or clone the display, etc. It won't just work straight when connected.

Thanks got it working tonight and just as you said. right clicked on desktop and set output to tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Is the S-Video for use with laptops different from older S-video cables ? I've an old S-video which I used with my old Panasonic Mini DV camcorder. It's only got 4 pins so I'm guessing that's why I'm not getting a picture when I hook it up to my TV through scart adaptar. I know there's more than 4 slots for S-video on the female end i.e the laptop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Animo

Just wondering what the input cable is like for the PC/laptop? My laptop has a HDMI and VGA ports but the cable in the picture doesn't look like them or any port on my laptop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭badker

Would this cable work on a new Philips HD tv with a Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop? Thanks for your input

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.4256~r.32743617

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

Sorry that doesnt help us anymore,

Does it have any of the following:
    4.VGA
    1t-vga-cattx-rear.jpg

That pic is freaking me out :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭badker

Any help with that previous post lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

badker wrote: »
    Any help with that previous post lads?

Does that picture freak you out too?

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭moneyminded

My laptop has only VGA out and TV has only 3 pin (red yellow and white) in or scart, Cannot find a cable to connect my laptop to TV? pls let me know if anybody can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭M450

sugarman wrote: »
    Should work no problem, i use the one off my dads old dv camcorder. You probably just have to configure the video setting on the laptop for it to output.

AFAIK the extra pins are for sound? Which would explain why i dont get any through the tele, but then again originally i thought s-video was only for video.

Is the laptop by any chance a HP? I have a HP laptop and the S-Video port has 7 slots. Apparently this is some sort of special TV out that enables you to get a HD connection between your laptop and TV. It also doubles up as a standard S-Video port. So a 4-pin cable will work fine in it.

Kinda explained here, with instructions on what cable to get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭M450

badker wrote: »
    Would this cable work on a new Philips HD tv with a Dell Inspiron 1545 laptop? Thanks for your input

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.4256~r.32743617
    That's for connecting the Wii to a HDTV with component video input (Red/Blue/Green connectors) and the other red and white connectors are for L/R Audio.

So... no.