Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do we have Monday off lol?

• 07-12-2008 1:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭

Yea what the topic says ne bunch of people say we do, the other say we dont it dosent say it anywere so ... thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Kevster

I asked my course head about this on Friday and he said that there are no classes but that the college would still be open (i.e. - the library).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭lol5605

Still dont know what to do still have people saying theres collage have to leave in the next while if i want to be down for tomorow ahh..

okay, I know that it's too late for you now but I'm fairly sure that it'll be open. Where do you live? I live in Naas and it's only an hour on the bus each way. I'm definately going to go to Carlow and, if it's closed, I'll just go back home. I imagine that you've made the decision to go.

Kevin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

why is it closed? and when i was there, we had a rule: if it was closed, dont turn up and go drinking instead, but if its open, turn up and go drinking instead.

... ...and if you don't like pubs and/or drinking, then what do you do? Not everyone conforms to the Irish 'monoculture', you see. I'm going into college tomorrow to study.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭lol5605

If your by a computer and there is classes on would you mind replying to this :P don't want to get out of bed for nothing, thanks :)

Kevster wrote: »
    ... ...and if you don't like pubs and/or drinking, then what do you do? Not everyone conforms to the Irish 'monoculture', you see. I'm going into college tomorrow to study.

...then go have a coke or 7up or water! Theres gonna be people in Scraggs havin loadsa craic anyway. Ya may as well join in! If you're too shy, then start drinking. If you dont want to start drinking, then you need to get over your shyness another way! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Then my son, you have marijuana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

The_B_Man wrote: »
    why is it closed?

Dec 8th, holy day. OOOoorrrrrr...... National Day of shopping!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Bastard of a fecking holy day, came into college thinking we live in a good secular society that pays no heed to ridiculous holy days.
    I'll do an hour of study then go home.

...then go have a coke or 7up or water! Theres gonna be people in Scraggs havin loadsa craic anyway. Ya may as well join in! If you're too shy, then start drinking. If you dont want to start drinking, then you need to get over your shyness another way! :P
    I appreciate the thought! ... ...but no, I'm a mature student (is 25 'mature'?) and am at college to get a good qualification, nothing more. I'm in 4th year and couldn't even name 2 pubs in this town. Let's see, I know that there's a Scraggs (because you've just mentioned it) but that's about it.

I'm in the library now, taking a break from study. I imagine you're in the pub, taking a break from - ummm - something...

Kevin

:eek: is 25 mature? crap! im 26 in feb! finished me 4 years when i was 23/24.

btw, personally (in IT) i dont put too much weight on a good qualification. you need your degree to get a job. once you get that job and work for a while, your experience takes precedence over your qualification. its like your leaving cert. you need it to get to college, but once your in, you forget about it, and its your results that get you into 3rd and 4th year etc. then, after college, since you've no experience, you rely on the degree, but once you have your foot in an industry, your experience takes over, and you leave everything else behind.

but ye look, anyone i know from carlow says that their most fondest memories of carlow are the night life. without encouraging you to drop your books and go out, im jsut saying that im surprised ya havent at least gone out to see what all the fuss is about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

why is it closed? and when i was there, we had a rule: if it was closed, dont turn up and go drinking instead, but if its open, turn up and go drinking instead.

God your mad altogether, wish i was as mad as you! Do you drink all the time ya mad hoor? MAD!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

Irish 'monoculture', brilliant.
    ColHol wrote: »
    God your mad altogether, wish i was as mad as you! Do you drink all the time ya mad hoor? MAD!!

Drinking in the middle of the day, he's a MAD, RANDOM hoor alright.

Pubs can be incredibly boring places during the day, and even at night. They're usually just full with people who are "getting off" on how MAD they are because they are out drinking.
    Theres gonna be people in X havin loadsa craic anyway. Ya may as well join in!

Ugh, I don't know what it is about the above sentence but it really irritates me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

its called a social life

ColHol wrote: »

You have to be takin the piss, ye? I assume you went to Carlow IT? It has the best college social scene in the country! You'd be silly not to avail of it! Drinker or not!

But by all means, if you dont like having fun then go ahead and be boring. Maybe you'd actually have friends if you socialised a bit, instead of coming on here whinging coz somebody mentioned that they used to go drinking in college!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 tricky dickie

Bastard of a fecking holy day, came into college thinking we live in a good secular society that pays no heed to ridiculous holy days.
    I'll do an hour of study then go home.

lad you should not be called irish.
    ireland is a good catholic nation.
    frankie i hope you fail all your exams for working on this day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

frankie i hope you fail all your exams for working on this day

cheers i did an exam on Monday :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV