Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nearly came a cropper tonight

• 05-12-2008 8:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭

Got the biggest scare of my life this evening on my way home. Thought my number was up. McGinley coach overtook me in Drumcondra but pulled in to my space about half way down the bus, Jeasus they're long busses when it leaves you within millimeters of the railings and your life. The first time I got really scared for my life while out on the bike (or motorbike for that matter) all these years and I dont scare easily. Not going to report it because I didn't get much details as I was red with rage, just remember an 04 DL 4xxxx McGinley coach. Lets start a black list.

Beer, someone give me a beer.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Its a DL reg...that stands for Doesn't Look or Didn't Learn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Sorry to hear that Hungrycol, glad to hear that you weren't injured, coaches can be hairy when they pass.

I had my first fall off the felt tonight. Yes, it was while I was standing still. I somehow clipped my foot off the front raceblade and then seemed to lose my balance and topple sideways. The nice bus driver sat there and let me stand up, I waved meekly in appreciation and righted myself. I'm sure everyone had a good laugh.

Good old cleat-spills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

there can't have been too mcginley coaches on that road at that time.
    says this
    John Mc Ginley Coach Travel is a family owned and managed company operating a fleet of top quality, modern coaches on a wide variety of transport operations from Express Coach services to European tours. We have an excellent reputation for providing the very best coaches offering the latest in comfort and safety.
    Presumably that's only for passengers though.
    contact deets: 074 9135201

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that Hungrycol, glad to hear that you weren't injured, coaches can be hairy when they pass.

I had my first fall off the felt tonight. Yes, it was while I was standing still. I somehow clipped my foot off the front raceblade and then seemed to lose my balance and topple sideways. The nice bus driver sat there and let me stand up, I waved meekly in appreciation and righted myself. I'm sure everyone had a good laugh.

Good old cleat-spills.

Nothing more embarrasing than this kind of fall, at least the only thing that gets hurt is your pride:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

:eek: sorry to hear about it hungrycol, though glad to hear you didn't get squished!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'd report it anyway. You've a partial reg, which combined with the location and time might narrow it down to the particular bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Whats the best strategy for dealing with this situation once it's started?

Presumably since the back wheels have to go where the front ones have been, your best bet is to brake hard and let it pass in the shortest space possible?

hungrycol, how much room did you have to your left before he squeezed you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

el tonto wrote: »
    I'd report it anyway. You've a partial reg, which combined with the location and time might narrow it down to the particular bus.

+1.

The company will know exactly who it was. There's no harm in sending them an e-mail, even if they told the driver to be more careful from now on, it's better than nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Lumen wrote: »
    Whats the best strategy for dealing with this situation once it's started?

Presumably since the back wheels have to go where the front ones have been, your best bet is to brake hard and let it pass in the shortest space possible?
    That is what I've done- I've had Dublin Bus do the same to me to "teach me a lesson" for not using the N11 cycle lane. Braked hard and just about got behind him in time, I would have been knocked off otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Aquinas73 wrote: »
    +1.

The company will know exactly who it was. There's no harm in sending them an e-mail, even if they told the driver to be more careful from now on, it's better than nothing.
    I'd go much further than an email - Report it to the Garda TrafficWatch 1890-205805 and let them take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Lumen wrote: »
    hungrycol, how much room did you have to your left before he squeezed you?

Not much, I always pull in a little to let traffic pass. 99% of traffic on the roads is fine IMO. It only takes that 1% to kill you though.

Unlikely I'll report it. I would imigine these coach companies would give a flying f**k about some cyclist giving out. Besides I'd rather phone them and a pretent to be the Revenue Commissioners Inspection Division and give them the willies that they have a full tax audit in January ;) Merry Christmas assh***s.

No, it's better for my blood pressure if I let it drop. Thanks so much guys for the support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭snack_ie

I got taken out by a van with a trailer, two weeks ago outside the Central Mental Clinic in Dundrum while going into UCD.

The van went to overtake me and as he went past (he didnt leave anywhere near enough room), his trailer hit my handlebars and they got jammed in the steel mesh on the side of it.

The prick then moved back towards the footpath with me attached to the side of him, and needless to say I hit the deck.

The prick, whether he saw me or not drove off, unfortunately I didnt get a reg (was gone by the time I got myself to together) and the car behind didnt see it either.

Luckily I was wearing a helmet (which cracked) and only left with a badly bruised shoulder and some scraps and bruises. Could have been worse though.

Scared the Jaysus out me though.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Similar to Hungry Col, I almost got pinched in by a truck on the way to Waterford with Blorg. I remember thinking, "oh good god, is this thing actually going to pass me before it gets any closer?". I had the curb immediately to my left so I couldn't move in, although I guess I had an out if things got really hairy: I could just bail on to the path. That assumes that I would have had the time to do it :)

Blorg, can you remember the name on the truck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Raam wrote: »
    Blorg, can you remember the name on the truck?
    Wavin, it was imprinted fairly firmly on my mind, I was on your wheel and he missed your bars by no more than an inch (2.54cm.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

blorg wrote: »
    Wavin, it was imprinted fairly firmly on my mind, I was on your wheel and he missed your bars by no more than an inch (2.54cm.)

It makes me shiver just thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Hungrycol wrote: »
    Unlikely I'll report it. I would imigine these coach companies would give a flying f**k about some cyclist giving out.
    You don't have to chase the coach company. Just report it to the Gardai and they'll follow it up. It will certainly focus minds at the coach company when the Garda comes knocking.
    snack_ie wrote: »
    I got taken out by a van with a trailer, two weeks ago outside the Central Mental Clinic in Dundrum while going into UCD.

The van went to overtake me and as he went past (he didnt leave anywhere near enough room), his trailer hit my handlebars and they got jammed in the steel mesh on the side of it.

The prick then moved back towards the footpath with me attached to the side of him, and needless to say I hit the deck.

The prick, whether he saw me or not drove off, unfortunately I didnt get a reg (was gone by the time I got myself to together) and the car behind didnt see it either.
    Bummer. I pass this spot regularly, and the road is quite narrow, though I've never had problems passing a transit-sized van, if they take up a sensible position on the road. It is amazing that these things can happen and no-one gets a reg. What time of day did it happen? It might be worth hanging around at the same spot/time to see if the van is on a regular route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭snack_ie

Yeah it happened 9.30 on a Friday morning (last week though)... the car behind stopped to check me out but didnt get a reg unfortunately... I could persue either cause my front wheel was fupped and he gone by the time i got myself together.

Could have been worse. Unfortuately I have seen a couple of crashes along that road.

I know it narrow, but there are so many stupid unneccessary cycle lanes close by, that road could do with one here, or at least marking down the side so cars stay out as there are so many cyclists going to UCD from the Dundrum, Ballinteer, Rathfarnham area...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

You should phone McGinley. They're a family business in a small Gaeltacht town in Donegal, and there's only 3 or 4 busses a day.
    So if you phone to complain, and you know what time the bus passed, they'll know what bus it was.
    Annagaire isn't renouned for a large number of commuter cyclists, so the driver probably just isn't practiced enough.
    If you explain it in a friendly calm way, they'll take you seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

The main road through dundrum is awkward alright.

I avoid it completely and cut through Rosemount estate just after the petrol station. Brings you out onto the Goatstown road which has a reasonable cycle lane and plenty of space, straight on down into Clonskeagh and past UCD. Avoid having to go up Bird ave too which can be a bit annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Wez

Verb wrote: »
    The main road through dundrum is awkward alright.

I avoid it completely and cut through Rosemount estate just after the petrol station. Brings you out onto the Goatstown road which has a reasonable cycle lane and plenty of space, straight on down into Clonskeagh and past UCD. Avoid having to go up Bird ave too which can be a bit annoying.

Dissin' the Ave? :P

I live there, and know that road well, could definitely do with cycle lanes! Considering it's solid traffic most of the time, a cycle lane would help stop people stopping right beside the curb. Coming down from Dundrum direction would warrant one even more, considering the speed people decend it after flying down from the mountain spins especially.

Horrible situation to be in, that's when you realise how vunerable you are on a bike! Noticed the other day that I was leaning like 50-60 degrees on the inside of a bus.. One wet manhole cover/patch of ice and I'd be sliding right under the D. decker!

Be safe out there!